All-new Mazda 6 revealed – Skyactiv tech, Kodo design

The next-generation Mazda 6 has made its world debut at the Moscow Motor Show, and we now have full details of Mazda’s D-segment challenger, which is the second car after the CX-5 to marry the carmaker’s Kodo design language with Skyactiv tech. This is an important model – Mazda calls it the flagship model of a new generation of vehicles.

The focus is on driving pleasure. Program Manager Hiroshi Kajiyama describes the new 6 as “a car that handles so well it seems to respond directly to the driver’s intentions rather than the physical manipulations of steering, braking and accelerating.”

“In short, the new Mazda 6 offers the ‘joy of driving’ that people have come to expect from Mazda, but the experience starts even before you get behind the wheel and lingers long after the drive is over. I can’t wait to see the look on the faces of people getting out of the car after their first time behind the wheel of the new Mazda 6,” he adds.

The 6 was never the biggest car around, but this one is spacious. The front wheels have been moved forward by 100 mm in relation to the A-pillars, and a 2,830 mm wheelbase (30 mm longer than current Accord) delivers good cabin space.

At the back, knee clearance is 43 mm better than the previous model, while leg room, at 984 mm, is 37 mm up on the old car. The length of the rear seat cushion has been increased by 20 mm and the seat back length by 33 mm. Overall length is 4,865 mm.

Up front, the driver gets an i-Drive style “multi commander” to control various functions via the five-inch colour centre display. Trip management information is displayed on a 3.5-inch multi-info display in the meter cluster, which has a classic three-dial layout. There’s no colourful illumination like in previous Mazdas – this one is more classy and serious.

Underneath, the Mazda 6 sits on a Skyactiv chassis that comprises front struts and rear multi-links, tuned for “agile driving performance in the low to mid-speed ranges and stability during high-speed driving.”

The Skyactiv body structure makes wider use of ultra-high tensile steel, reducing weight while at the same time improving torsional rigidity by about 30%. The car’s slippery shape and optimised underbody contribute to a class-leading coefficient of drag (CD) of 0.26.

Two Skyactiv-G petrol engines have been announced, a 2.0 and a 2.5, both chain-driven, direct injection four-cylinder units. The smaller unit is the one with the higher compression ratio (14:0 compared to 13:0 for the 2.5) and it makes 150 PS and 210 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The 2.5L does 192 PS and class leading 256 Nm of torque at a rather low 3,250 rpm, which is a good thing. Six-speed transmissions are available – one has a choice of manual or auto for the 2.0, but the 2.5 is auto-only.

There’s more. The new 6 debuts i-ELOOP, Mazda’s brake energy regeneration system which begins charging a capacitor (a unique method) the moment the driver takes his foot off the accelerator. Electricity stored in the capacitor can then be used to power electric components throughout the car. This lessens burden on the engine and improves fuel economy. Mazda’s i-stop start-stop system, with a class leading engine restart time of 0.35 seconds, is also present.

By the way, claimed combined fuel consumption is 6.1 litres per 100 km for the 2.0 auto with i-stop and 6.4L per 100 km for the 2.5 auto with i-ELOOP and i-stop. Kerb weight for the family ranges from 1,340 kg to 1,410 kg.

Available safety kit include High-Beam Control System, Adaptive Front-Lighting System, Hill Launch Assist, Emergency Stop Signal (hazard lights rapidly flicker in the event of panic braking), Rear Vehicle Monitoring, Lane Departure Warning and the infrared Smart City Brake Support. The latter auto brakes the car below 30 km/h to prevent or reduce impact.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• polo saga on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:53 am

nice design!!

check out this awesome video

• 1Malaysia on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:47 pm

what a cut and paste design..

front/side: new merc/beemer
      rear: new hyundai sonata
      side: new f30 beemer

mmmmmmm no passion only cut and paste :)

• Somebody here is jealous…..

• dongc on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:19 pm

ok the engine is weaker than Hyundai/Kia 2L Gamma GDI but ou get mazda badge, you have right to brag!!!!!

booooooooooo

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Can you please compare Hyundai with Tata or Geely instead?

• my word…the front looks like merz n Beemer? So u also mean merz copies from beemer or vice versa? The side looks like a Beemer and the rear looks like “new” sonata? (all of us haven’t seen a “new” sonata yet) .
        Just becoz u manage to see some similarities in the design, this doesn’t mean they ” cut n paste”. The Mazda6 is based on their kodo design which came out before , say the F30 Beemer… And u talked about passion from Mazda? Mazda is one of the most passionate car companies on earth, not only in design, but in technologies as well.. U must haven’t come across with their skyActiv technology ( go and do research, u greenhead).
        Oh yea, I notice u only know how to use description such as “cut n paste”, go learn some new words or u will everytime end up “cut n paste” ur previous comment onto the new ones..

• Mangkuk Hayun on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:33 pm

jepun tech mana ada passion/innovative.
          semua nye tiru.
          pi drive conti; alami perbezaan nyata :)

• pelar on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:32 pm

To 1 Malaysia, There is nothing wrong with transforming old elements into new configurations. My 86 dash, handbrake and even the front ‘humps’ bear close resemblance to 2001 boxster. The key word is not to copy blindly.

• Mangkuk Hayun on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:34 pm

86 tu kereta murah/tak te “soul” yang dijual pada harga mahal.
          jepun2 berangan lawan conti; tak terdaya lagi

• stealth on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:44 pm

sales man from the mazda rival detected.. ehehe

• blrel on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:00 pm

150 PS and 210 Nm at 4,000 rpm
        yaaaaaaaaaaawwwnnnnnnn

• Davincci on Sep 02, 2012 at 2:27 am

You drive proton.. I guess.. 1 proton. Boleh..?

• pelar on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:49 pm

I am in total agreement. I am quite disappointed with the new camry. As for Accord, I will have to wait and see. I am driving an 86 now and will probably get this as a second car. My whole family has been staunch supporter of T&H for at least 20 years. Truth be told, T&H have excellent after sales service. However they have stagnated in the design department. Hopefully , Bermaz’s after sales service rivals that of T&H.

• _xXx_ on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:55 am

nice huh, ok, change the wheels for you from 18″ to 15″ AT NO COST.

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 1:33 am

Bermaz decision on CX5 just goes to show how bad Berjaya Group is when it comes to managing customers perception

• If the front grille lower line that links up the headlamps can sort of illuminate at nite to the rite amount of brightness, it will b extremely cool…and this will make other car makers and after market parts makers to follow suit, much like what audi did with th LED in the headlamps..

• Lex Luthor on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:54 am

One word: Gorgeous.

• Storm on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:55 am

What a beauty….Mazda the best looking Japanese car.

• Paul Ten on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:56 am

DOW !!!!!!! All FIVE THUMBS UP !!!!

• Jeremy Clarkson on Aug 29, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Finally a SAMURAI STYLE car to LAWAN all the GANGNAM STYLE cars in terms of design.

• ChelseaMerule on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm

I’ve got only two thumbs and two toes…. Anyway i’ll gladly put those four UP !!!!

@JeremyClarkson HAHA Samurai vs Gangnam

• rockStar on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:57 am

Really Nice Designed!

• Wan Luqman on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:00 am

FINALLY! honda & toyota, take note! this is how you do a facelift.

although the interior design could be better.

• CheeKai on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:43 am

This is not facelift laaaa…. All New Mazda 6

• underskinned on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:52 am

This ain’t a facelift, this is a totally new generation.

• Wan Luqman on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:59 am

Sory, my mistake…cant wait for this. Already drooling. Hope the pricing right

• Forget about pricing. If you can afford just buy. If cannot afford then take other option.

• Joe Radzif on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:13 pm

There always a Proton and Perodua..
          he he he
          in case kalau tak cukup bajet

• Facelift?? forget it..
      About the interior: I like the interior very much. It doesn’t wow u at first urglance but this the design which will grow on u. With the clean and solid lines (and the white color illumination meter, it looks expensive! ). This is the design that will stand the test of time, no doubt.

• Alexxis on Aug 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Yes, It is Classy. ‘m driving 2.5L now, and Already book this one even before the debut. On the road for this car will be at 1st quarter in Japan next year.

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:15 pm

How much will your current unit fetch at the used car yard?

• inlinehacker on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:02 am

Look so WOW! hope the price after tax in Malaysia is not too much~

• nice design for both interior and exterior, fuel consumption is low in its class, powerful engine……but i when it comes to malaysia, i think the price will be markup a lot.

• …..nice car

• ismail saad on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:04 am

wahh best tuu..in my list.

• PROdigy on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:05 am

The dashboard design is so different with the concept design…. I still prefer the concept design.

• Bell&Ross on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:08 am

very very handsome…though its lost some of its sleekness of the concept

• Falling in love with Mazda 6 on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:09 am

This is the only Japanese car maker who designs car with passion nowadays. Kodos to Mazda..
    I will definitely get this if price is justifiable and pocket allows.

• bystander on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:11 am

Sexy beast! Can’t wait for a testdrive – I also wanna see how my face will look like :P

• Mr Cool on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:18 am

The back look like Elantra

• I dont think the back looks like elantra, but i agree that somehow the rear does not look that great compared to other aspects of the car

• The reason why it looks a bit similar because Elantra rear light looks like the previous Mazda 6. This Mazda 6 is just evolved from its previous design. So as usual, the Koreans are the one that looks for inspiration from others.

• CheeKai on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:20 am

Finally…best design and features for Japs make D-Segment. All these years Gangnam Style rocked the automotive design language…this one Jap can be highly considered! If local version have all the goodies packed into this car I’ll trade my conti for it.

• Bermaz do you accept trade in?

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 1:35 am

If its a Korean that you want to trade in, try selling it yourself first.

It would be really painful to see 50% of kimchis wiped out within first 3 years of ownership

• xiper on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:25 am

this car reminds me of F30, however the technology and design is nice!

• Sevin on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:25 am

my thought is in front face of new mazda 6 has a bit looks like bmw new 3 series =-=, btw, this mazda 6 looks aggressive and sporty, no doubt its design seems like a concept car!thats a great started of mazda

• mantoi on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:25 am

fuyooo!!! terbaek! cun! i’ll tend to support reduce car price campaign

• underskinned on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:27 am

Looks good. The front grille looks like Mercedes CLS and the side profile looks like something Jaguar might come out with.

I mean it in a good way, not “Copycat!” kind of sense.

• Kelvin on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:30 am

Sleek and beuty.

• getting my friend to ditch his FD2 for this one

• Nice design from Mazda. This is what you call moving forward!… Not what Toyota (latest Camry) and Honda (upcoming 2013 Honda Accord) came out with. Brake energy regeneration and Skyactiv is interesting. Kodo’s(kudos)to Mazda.

• _xXx_ on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:41 am

wow, so many likes huh, Bermaz is think how much to sell now….probably 2.0L 160k, 2.5L 199k

• should be lower..
      2.0 – max 150K
      2.5 – ~180K

their target buyer also young-middle age with deep pocket.. uncle type definitely doesnt suit the style..

• Alexxis on Aug 30, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Yea, according the the sales agent, the price for new mazda 6 2014 won’t have much diff from the current one. 2.5 around 17xk – 180k.

• ss427 on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:48 am

Well I do agree Mazda is the ONLY Jap manufacturer these days who still knows how to design and build a highly desirable car.. :) Not bad at all.. and this is coming from a Korean car fan haha LOL :D

Park the new POS Camry and Civic next to this… man, WTF is T&H doing these days?? :( Their products looks like its at least 10 yrs old even at launch.

One thing though, the SkyActiv engines doesn’t look at powerful as it should be, esp with all the high tech geewhizz in it.

Just 148hp from the base 2L unit? Rem, Hyundai/Kia 2L Gamma GDI makes a heady 178hp WITHOUT any forced induction too haha. Abd torque o/p between 2 engines are virtually the same as each other.

Looks like we have no choice but to choose the 2.5L if you want proper big power.

The rear end looks like a flatten Sonata ah… The Japs are copying the Koreans? :p

Of cos, our Maserati and Hyundai Junk bro will still say that Toyota 4AT and 12 yr old 2L 1AZ-FE is still the best and the Mazda 6 6AT will never beat Toyota 4AT no matter what happens… LOL

• skypirate on Aug 29, 2012 at 12:05 pm

you should look at the weight too. the new mazda6 is only 1340-1410kg, compared that to the mazda3’s weight 1180-1315kg. 256NM of torque @ 3250RPM is more than adequate to move the mazda6 from landstill, the best of cuz would be the 2.2L turbo diesel, with 440NM of torque… it can literally fly from landstill.

• NONICKNAME on Aug 29, 2012 at 12:21 pm

I think the reason why they only put 148hp is to lower the FC, but at the same time u did not suffer in term of power. HP is not important compared to torque. U didn’t drive 200km/h everyday

• I’ve made my booking 1 month ago. It looks good in general.

Wifey barred me from booking elantra when launched, no regrets doing so. Mazda6 is sexy!!

• Storm on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Can you please for once cut this crap thing of copying Koreans? Mazda is the car company that always emphasize on defying convention. They always do thing differently as I can see. By the way 2.0 power is 150 PS and 210 Nm at 4,000 rpm as stated here. Sonata 2.0 power is 165ps and not 178ps while torque of 198nm at 4600 rpm. How many times people have to be reminded that torque is far more important than hp?

• ss427 on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Bro, read carefully. I didn’t use Sonata’s 2L Theta II as a comaprision.

I’m using Hyundai’s latest 2L Gamma GDI as used in the Euro market i40 (among others). The i40 is sold in Sillypore here and the Gamma GDI is supposed to be the most high tech NA Korean engines till date.

Since Skyactiv is supposed to be DI, high compression engine, Hyundai’s Gamma series will be the perfect competitior for it..

• Stability Control on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm

I think 2.0L Gamma GDI doesn’t exist. It’s actually, 2.0L Nu GDI, right?

Rear legroom for i40 is 850mm, vs 984mm of this new Mazda6. And yet Mazda6 weigh less, compared to i40. In fact, Hyundai didn’t reveal it’s curb weight in their website. Wonder why… However, this info can be obtained at Hyundai worldwide website, stating that it’s curb weight range from 1444kg to 1563 kg (vs 1340-1410kg of Mazda 6). Moreover, combined fuel consumption for Hyundai i40 is 7.5 liter per 100km (vs 6.1 of Mazda6). When in traffic jam of stop-drive driving style, definitely this new Mazda6 will excel in FC due to the i-ELOOP technology.

These are the advantage of SKYACTIV technology. It’s not just about the engine.

• Storm on Aug 30, 2012 at 7:42 am

You are comparing a model that sold in Malaysia with the one sold overseas? Didn’t you know that car companies tune their car differently in different countries due to climate and fuel? Terror la you. And by the way, a car is not only about engine, engine and engine. Skyactive is more than an engine. It’s a combination of light Skyactive chassis, body, engine and another important component is the transmission. You want a more powerful engine in a heavy car with poor transmission efficiency or a less powerful but fuel efficient plus light but strong chassis with innovative efficient transmission? All these contribute to fuel efficiency and also the ACTUAL driver’s feeling on POWER. Don’t just look at the paper on power but what’s the overall package that comes together. A more powerful engine is not necessary more powerful than a less powerful engine on actual driving.

• Exactly, and hyundai/Kia power rating though look good on paper, they r not as powerful as it should be, furthermore, Mazda always measure the power on the wheels, which is the final real power….and we don’t see 210nm from a 2litre n/a engine often, not even the the previous civic type R…

• typeRbodo on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:22 pm

woi type R power apa, preve turbo pun tak larat nak kejar lol seemmmmppppuuutttt

• This is what we are waiting for! Go Mazda!

• Bermaz, it’s time to go all out for a price war with H & T. Now or never. Price it right and we will all ditch H & T.

• Kimchee on Aug 29, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Nice sexy new Hyundai ! Wanna how much it cost here ?

• Please read the article carefully.
      Then take a good look on the pics.

• Archangel on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Dude, it’s Mazda. Learn English back because your grammar so bad.

• Mr Cool on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:06 pm

What he meant was, it looks like Hyundai dude.

• Archangel on Aug 30, 2012 at 6:56 pm

You blind or you don’t know a simple English word? He said nice sexy new Hyundai. There is no word “it looks like Hyundai”. Go back and learn English please.

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:00 am

Campare Hyundai with Geely or Great Wall, not Japs

• Storm on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:07 pm

You should turn your monitor or Ipad upside down and read….

• macroman on Aug 29, 2012 at 12:27 pm

WOW! it looks like a combination merge of a BMW 3series (side) and a KIA forte (front light), and a hyundai (behind?). which means to say,. LOVE IT!

• Are you out of ideas already? Even can mention the front light looks like Forte?

• Where do I sign the dotted line?

• Jeff Lim on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:53 pm

It is open for booking by Bermaz. 1% refundable. Book yours now.

• Alexxis on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Just 1k for booking. Started since early this year, just visit the Mazda show room at Jalan 222. I’ve booked mine on June.

• Kalun on Aug 29, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Mazda RX-9 please with Kodo design. With rotary engine.

• Jonjo on Aug 29, 2012 at 12:47 pm

I WANT THIS ASAP!….

• satrian on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Really the best design out fr Japanese Line….anyway the back and back side profile remind me early 2000 Lexus and the cockpit nothing much to say….but overall the best Japanese car to say……..

• optimus on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:20 pm

somehow lack the ‘wow’ factor like the previous mazda 6 when release.

• That’s what i’m talking about. This is one hot car. Can’t wait to see more of this on the road.

• Look at that sleek and handsome body styling….

• helmi on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Listen here Accord, Camry and Mazda 6. I will buy those who offer the cheapest price.

• torque on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Wow…so u r the type who’s buying car just base on the which one is the cheapest? That is by all means ur rights but heed of advise bro, never settle for the cheapest!! Put ur money on which car manufacturer that putting their heart and soul in producing cars, which one pumping more money in RND and design teams so people like us would proud to own one. Camry by all mean I always see as UNCLE car, that’s why u need to study Toyota’s main plan in South East Asia…the VCAC! Go figure that one out bro..

• not a car enthusiast on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Bermaz, pls do NOT bring white coloured seats here. Get dirty easily and looks ugly too..

• ABTguy on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:18 pm

I hope the power figures quoted above is like that of CX 5, on wheel HP !!

Mazda definitely has a winner on the pipeline !! In fact I think this is the most beautiful D segment car in the market in 2012 and 2013 !

• No rear aircon vent?

• Archangel on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:34 pm

AWESOME !!

• neutral on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:36 pm

its a very nice design…very japanese and organic…true to the concept….BUT…tech wise…I still don’t understand why Jap companies are not downsizing engines like their euro counterparts…2.5L producing 190+ hp??? With all the skyactiv stuff…fuel efficient..yes…but Ford is capable of producing 240hp from their 2.0 ecoboost…perhaps it’s time for Jap companies to look into turbocharging? The upcoming 2013 Ford Mondeo is a very good looking car too…by the time both these cars reach Malaysia…this segment is gonna be real interesting indeed…

• malaysiamah on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:34 pm

look at the torque figure…

• Wallstreet on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:17 pm

There is a reason why the Japanese still prefers to stick to N/A engine. As what they always emphasize, reliability. Everyone are awed with this VW TSI engine but how many actually know the number of Golf and GTI had their engine kaput? A friend of mine Q5 use up to 2 liter of engine oil per month, yes you read it correctly 2 liter/month. Germans are here to repair his engine but after 1 month of repair, same problem occurs. Big cc engine gives you the comfort and quietness without stressing the engine and that’s the big advantage. How many of you actually floor your engine everyday? Now with these new speed trap cameras everywhere, you will be grateful to drive a non turbo car.

• torque on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Can’t say I argue with…so true!

• Kuda Laut on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:00 pm

ko ni sesuke hati kau je nak condemmed VW.. GTI aku xd pape masalah pon korang ni mebongak lebih la.. ye ye je nak convince kan org ckp la member pkai Q5 lah pe lah..

• What part of it is true and what part not? I seriously think he dunno what he is talking about when he said “Big cc engine gives you the comfort and quietness without stressing the engine and that’s the big advantage. How many of you actually floor your engine everyday? Now with these new speed trap cameras everywhere, you will be grateful to drive a non turbo car.”

• Alexxis on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm

110% Agree.

• people will still come back to this dilemma……..resale value how?

• guys, better book fast… otherwise you ll get 14inch rim instead of 17inch…

• Fadzly on Aug 29, 2012 at 8:13 pm

I already booked. There was already quite a large number who is already put their booking at jb branch.

• skyactive is the biggest load of marketing bullshit from Mazda. I dont even know whats the benefit skyactive have over other compatitors. And still no turbo engines eventho they have this technology on the 2.3L for years giving them the ability to migrate this technology know how to smaller capacity engines.

• Eviance on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm

This is the answer.

http://www.mazda.com/mazdaspirit/skyactiv/vis.html

• AlexLHthis on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Gunnam style?!!
      This is GUNDAM style!!!!!!!!!

• Dude, read the review on skyactive technology. Bermaz even organized a media drive to penang for them to review the car and technology themselves. high compression ratio, good FC, even comparable to hybrid engine and much more.

• to me, it is nothing special. high compression on a N/A just mean better response and better torque at lower end giving a better stronger spread of torque over the rpm band. However, high compression on a n/a proves to be nothing spectacular because the gain is very little. The technology is reach its peak with regards to increasing compression. The correct way to go is turbo. Eg. there is no way in hell a skyactive 2.0 can out do a 1.4tsi both in terms of power and fuel consumption. so to me, skyactive is a load of marketing hogwash that brings no distinct advantage over some of its competitors.

Going head on with a hybrid in the city. No way in hell. Going against it on the highway, is the wrong comparison because hybrid shines in city usage. Diesel shines on the highway.

• torque on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:23 pm

1 thing I do agreed with u is that no way in hell the Skyactive is better response and power wise compare with the TSi…and that’s a FACT! However, being involve with VW itself I will take the N/A engine chances of reliability against the TSi anytime of the day…that too is a FACT!

• baffled on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:18 pm

you probably didnt bother to read about the skyactive tech and why mazda chose this path instead of going turbo for the time being..its a N/A technology with a fuel consumption and emission almost on par with a hybrid..you dont need a battery etc but still manage to get efficiency of a hybrid without sacrificing on performance and handling of the car (lightweight+higher output)..and thats a great feat..skyactive is not about producing the highest power..its all about adhering to the regulation limit of countries such as euro and america..its getting more and more stringent..mazda has an advantage in the future where they can turbocharge this skyactive engine when the emission limit becomes much lower or even pair it with a battery..it has always been the mazda’s culture to think outside the box and that truly is an engineering feat!

• Alexxis on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Hi, dude lcms, we’re here comparing Cars, and Car not only including engine, it includes many components as well. Anyway, besides all these, at very least, did you ever drive a Mazda? If not, please do so. With that only can make a proper comparison in all aspect. I’m a current mazda 6 owner, Full Tank is costing me around RM 110 and it get’s me up to 570 KM for normal city drive. I am not a racer and Usually I drive at the speed at 110 KMH on highway and only at 2k RPM.

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 1:38 am

But DSG on VW is a well known problem

• Wallstreet on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

You don’t even know benefits of skyactiv over other competitors and you say its a marketing bullshit?? Its people like you that make Honda and Toyota selling like hot cakes here because as you said it yourself, I don’t even know the benefit of driving a Mazda so it must be a bullshit marketing.

• MazdaCx-5 on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Mazda cx-5 skyactiv 2.0 from KL to Kangar only used a little more than half a tank of ron 95 at 110-130km/h
      Honda cr-v 2 litre used full tank + another half tank to Kangar.
      Saved a hundred bucks!

• U don’t read much, do u?

• Obviously u don’t read much…

• stunning! But is this just a massive facelift?

• NO, THIS IS NOT.

• Well, it certainly seems like one. The arches, especially the rear door looks familiar. The current Mazda 3 is in fact facelift. But, facelift also it’s was done better than the ‘all new’ Camry, which is essentially a very big joke.

• javin on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:16 pm

No paddleshift?!!

• I use my paddle shift only on first few days after I got my new car, 2 years now and I never even touch that at all. I have been thinking that they should just take that out and offer us something more useful. So, its good and I guess Mazda knew this too..

• shftr on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:04 pm

no use then let it be, in case you want to use it, it’s there for you

the thing is, it MUST be there

• You must be a typical city driver and I can understand that.. I also never use my paddleshift when I drive in KL or highway but when I balik kampung to Terengganu using the trunk road (Jabor-Bkt Besi) which some of u might know it.. then you’ll understand the important (or advantage) of having a paddleshift when you have to overtake lorries and long queue behind drivers who never bother to overtake lorries at 60kmh…

• i just can’t wait to see how the all new Mazda 3 will look like – incorporating the Kodo design

• mirror mirror on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Not bad, not bad at all…maybe the side profile looks too long. My fav is the interior design of the car.

• This new 6 if priced c.RM130k-140k really make Bermaz berjaya.

• Maserati on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Pricing for 2.0 shud be arnd 150k, 2.5shud b rm180k .fantastic as always, but dont know why mazda doesnt sell well in msia. Just count the numba of mazda 6 u see now.

• dunno why lol..
      Because of brand blindness for toyota and honda la.. dunno why.. LMFAO…

Good that you didn’t spew shit about korean cars in this single comment. This has saved you from hell.

• Stability Control on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Some of us forget that SKYACTIV is not just about the engine.

SKYACTIV-DRIVE: For auto tranny; to combine the advantage of CVT, Dual-clutch and conventional AT and compensate their disadvantages (less fuel economy, less direct feel, less shifting quality etc).
    SKYACTIV-MT: For manual tranny; to achieve lighter shift effort with a short shift lever stroke, and 16% of weight reduction.
    SKYACTIV-BODY: High-steel used in body structure has been increased from 40% to 60% (with more than 5% of 1500MPa high tensile steel).
    SKYACTIV-CHASSIS: Newly developed front and rear suspension systems and power steering. Improvement to comfort and security. The entire chassis is 14% lighter than the previous model.
    i-ELOOP: Capacitors can be charged and discharged much more rapidly and unlike batteries (like in Hybrid sytems used by Toyota & Honda), they aren’t prone to deteriorate with regular use.

Bermaz, please ensure to put STABILITY CONTROL in 2.0 variant of this ALL NEW Mazda6, since current Mazda6 model is only available for 2.5L variant.

• scoobydoo on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:02 pm

most important of all is Bermaz dont later give smaller size wheel rims but no price reduction (like CX5 case)

• ernie on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:07 pm

T & H you will lose badly soon. get ready.

• g-mey on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Very nice.. for the name, instead of Mazda SIX.. maybe can change the letter I to E..

• ProTips on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Engine stop, and regenerative braking?

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo~ T_T orz STO

I hate these two things with a passion. Kills any fun of driving.

• altimatess on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:03 pm

I reckon this could be turned on/off.. no ? hope that’s the case..

• altimatess on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Already in the lookout for my next D-segment purchase early next year, hope this comes in on the right time and with the right price.. this looks absolutely stunning… well done, Mazda, you’re still in the game !

• Maskcooler on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Very very cun la :)

• arcana on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:18 pm

i wonder how many of those features mentioned will be maintained when it reaches malaysia…
    come on bermaz, ur CX-5 is quite loaded when it came here, do the same formula with attractive pricing and ur bound to get tons of waiting list….

• Really hope this will give Toyota and Honda some tight competition. They must realised they cannot stay on top forever with minimal effort. Despite not good financial like Toyota/Honda, Mazda still can come out with good design and technology.

• I’ll be hoping that this car will reach our shores before the end of the year. Need a car by year end. Narrowed down my option to Kia Optima K5 and the new Mazda 6. I do not believe that i will be saying this..i’m not considering offerings from both Toyota and Honda. Hope to make a correct choice in the end…

• Alexxis on Aug 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Sales will start in Japan end of this year, on the road 1st Quarter next year. From the Agent, they told me 2nd quarter. I’ve made my booking.. back in June. My brother is Driving K5, after I tried it, I’m still prefer my Mazda in term of quality and power.

• Davincci on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:28 am

I waited Camry and Civic, which is total disappointment. Both brand offering old tech higher price.

Look at ford focus 2013. That’s a WOW

Please don’t mention about resale value. suffer 5-7 years with non value added vehicle is just a sad story

• ahmadfaris93 on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm

This car looks classy compared to the new Mark X. Mark X has an ugly face. Mark X tries too hard. Mazda 6 ftw !

• unforgiven on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:41 pm

RM80k soon? Or must we really remove the current G in order to enjoy the real price? Please don’t tell us to wait for another 4/8 years to enjoy the price drop.

• when they say wait for another 4-8 years, this means they have no political will to do it and are buying time. When the deadline runs out, they will come up with the same excuses (still cannot compete bla bla) to drag for another 4-8 years. So and and so forth.

The truth is, there is no way for P to catch up because other players are progressing at double/triple the speed that P is progressing, in order for them to survive in the open/unprotected market.

No doubt, in 4 years time, P will progress and be better than what it is now. But, out there, other players will also progress. Not only that, they will progress at such speed that only widens the gap between them and P.

• So, if there is anyone out there who believes that the day will come when P will be able to stand on its 2 feet and compete with the rest and hence the protection will be lifted – wake up and get real, because that will not happen

• Unforgiven on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:34 am

Agreed, as those are ‘free money in the pocket’ system. The longer I postpone, the more I have.

• JapanGuy on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:21 pm

this car is really awesome. i would say interior n exterior best on its class. engine wise will win too. hope the fullspec remain with sunroof, added with rear sun blind, rear air-con vent. hope fullspec pricing is same with camry 2.5v. i can see bermaz is upgrade their service center. hope the next 5 years mazda can stand same par as honda.

• Sam Loo on Aug 31, 2012 at 7:50 am

The funny thing about Berjaya Group is that they have traditionally been a hit and run company. Not sure if they will be serious enough to commit Mazda and set up reliable SC’s like what UMW did

• Awesome design, maybe I’ll upgrade to this when the facelift version arrives a few years later

• This car ought to be considered in its class :)

• Summicron on Aug 30, 2012 at 12:02 am

Please take my monayyyyy!

• Shinari3 on Aug 30, 2012 at 12:11 am

the earlier Concepts – SHINARI(best shape), TAKERI(good), and finally actual Mazda6 new design… still ok (but has been soften n less sharp looking).
    Maybe SHINARI shape is reserved for future RX9 !

• Gavin on Aug 30, 2012 at 12:29 am

Somehow for me, the engine missing a turbo doesn’t appeal as much with only some marketing terms , if a diesel I can live with

• drrif on Aug 30, 2012 at 5:49 am

I already cancelled my order for Honda Accord. Now Mazda 6 or 3 year old C-Class is the ONLY option. Hope Camry and Accord sales crash. H & T deserve to learn a lesson.

• Any reason why you didn’t consider for F30 320i which to be launching on Oct since C200 is within your budget

• Fadzly on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:13 am

I cancelled my 508 booking. Accord is way not in the list. Waiting for mazda 6 now. Book now or u might wait for another 1 year waiting list like the cx5

• shawal on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:06 am

it looks good with those 19″ rims …
    bet those will cost extra…. -_-“

• I booked mine at Bermaz 1 month ago. I encourage you to prebook now to avoid long waiting periods. Sales consultant told me waiting period is 10 months after official launching of CX-5.

• opaixx on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:57 am

d most expensive part in d car is the capasitor, and they put in the engine area, under the battery..

herm…
    1. Malaysia banyak hujan dan lopak lopak.
    2. Electronics thing cannot work efficiently kalau panas + parking luar rumah.
    3. Pencuri tak curi tayar ni, pencuri curi capasitor saja, senang nk curik, buka enjin saja.
    4. Welcome Lynas.. your ‘rare earth’ thing inside that engine.. hahahhaha

• That worries me too. I hope they will bring in the i-ELOOP as a std in the Mazda6.

• SonyMuniandy on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Before you relate this Mazda’s Electric Double Layer Capacitor (EDLC) with Lynas, can you share with us what type of material used to produce the capacitor?

• Rare earth is everywhere bro… Have u ever heard ‘dop material’ inside the capasitor? And we read it as capasitance?? Hehe

• RedBeanBun on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:36 pm

rare earth in the notebook you online, in all the mobile phone u using as well..

• matlimmutu on Aug 30, 2012 at 12:39 pm

some says this car copy other cars, actually everybody is copying a little bit here n there nowadays!! so it is normal, it is up to us buyers, we like the design, the brand, the quality, etc.

• Chow 1 on Aug 30, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Wow wow wow

• warlock on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:02 pm

This one will definitely offer significant alternative to Accord and Camry.

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Not even Proton after sales service can even come near to that of Toyota and Honda.

But I must say that this is due to the long presence of UMW in Malaysia, with great commitment to making Toyota brand name strong.

Mazda is a great car, but under Berjaya, I would think thrice

• amirad on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:32 pm

The front end of this car resembles a Hamadryad ie. a King Cobra, my favourite snake. Its intelligent, fast and only eat other species of snakes. This car will probably eat T and H.

• MazdaFTW on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:37 pm

The new accord not even near impressive. This, however is stunningly beautiful. Look at the lines and that aggressive wheel arch! One thing though, kinda disappointed with the placement of the lcd screen. nevertheless, this is one sexy beast.

Now, one thing to consider.. I drive a Mazda3, and the after sales of Bermaz is down the drain. Outdated website and no passion to push the brand like T and H does.

Please Bermaz, please improve on EVERYTHING.

• rifan on Aug 30, 2012 at 5:44 pm

I agree positioning of LCD screen not nice. Housing and surround ugly. Actually whole interior a little boring. May look better in diff colour..

• RedBeanBun on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Mazda Malaysia please form….the CX5 and this Mazda6 sure making sound to the market

• Ti Yam on Aug 30, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Cancel my plan to buy Kia Optima K5. Gonna wait for this to launch in Malaysia :D

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Great Decision. Never buy Korean

• Let’s not be too critical about the kimchis. They made great stride over the last 5 years which is impressive. My only complaint about their car (in general) is the local distributor handling them. What the heck, they raised additional 2k recently for the elantra which is locally assembled. If not for great korean fan base, I doubt Sime Darby can be that cocky. Anyway, to “hell” with them, Mazda should be taking the forefront now!!

• Mario Gomez on Sep 01, 2012 at 10:19 pm

this mazda is very ugly compared to my new Kia Optima

• HONpengDA on Aug 30, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Next year 2013 will be launch both 9th gen honda accord and 3th gen mazda 6 in our bolehland

• cruzer on Aug 30, 2012 at 8:48 pm

finally this korean hater appear – Sam Loo

• RedBeanBun on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:33 pm

wondering how the camry buyers are feeling now…

this car will whacked all the accord/camry/508/teana buyers…cant wait for it to launched here..i will wait 9 months for that no problem..

• Blackjkx on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:20 pm

As for me,Wait for 2014 Alfa romeo 159 replacement.

• Manfurb on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:47 pm

U buy now the price will be around rm170k for 2.5……lets wait till the new goverment takes over n fulfill their promise to slice the taxes. Then mazda 6 will be much cheaper maaaa….

• Storm on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:33 am

You wait la… two more generation of Mazda6 after this model, you still wait. We have been talking about cheaper car 10years ago. This is not going to happen even with the new government. The whole industry will collapse and are we ready to bite the bullet? No yet.

• Not true. I talked to the agents in Bermaz. 2.5 model would be around 185k.

• Davincci on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:32 am

Hope the price of 2.5L don’t exceed 185k, other wise it is consider too expensive..

• shliu on Sep 24, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Even exceed RM185k is still be worth. Camry & Accord is make in Thailand or Indonesia but Mazda 6 is fully imported from Japan. For me i will take fully imported from Japan car.

• looks like mazda 929

• shliu on Sep 24, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Currently, Mazda is really look sporty than T & H. T & H is really getting unlce look. Especially the new camry & civic

T & H’s market is start to get affected by Mazda.

• VolksGuy on Sep 24, 2012 at 9:38 pm

This car is pretty awesome. if i were camry buyer when i see this M6 passby i will curse myself of being stupid.

1 thing worry is after bought at 185k Mazda 6, then 1 year later they make CKD version at RM170k. like the current mazda 3. but of course we cant compare the quality built by msian and japanese. somehow worry and will affected the 2nd hand value of this car.

• VolksGuy on Sep 24, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Mazda is the hopes for japan and it is the new coming star. Look at the camry and incoming accord. i do not think accord will spec properly.

for the appearrance i would say quite nice, as even now whenever i see the current Mazda 6 pass me by, i will still have the fresh look feel. however, when i see sonata, i think it’s abit dated. not to mention the camry, it is like previous generation for me lolz.

so hopefully bermaz will expand the branches and service center well start from now.

• Accorder on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:38 pm

I currently drive 2007 accord. Thinking to change the car since it is already 6 years old. In my list now:
    1) C200 AMG (recond)
    2) Passat
    When the all new M6 comes, it really gives me a harder time to pursue. I am worry i am still ending up using my accord for the next 6 years.. :)