2015 Honda Civic Type R teased – 270 km/h top speed!

Click to enlarge.

These are the first official pictures of the production-spec 2015 Honda Civic Type R, which will make its debut at the Geneva Motor Show early next month. They’re not particularly revealing, but the red badge, front under spoiler, huge wheels with red Brembo brakes and all-red meter displays with the special +R button are enough to make us giddy with excitement.

Also confirmed is its 270 km/h top speed, which will top the front-wheel drive hot hatch class. Getting it there will be a direct injection 2.0 litre VTEC TURBO engine with between 280 to 300 PS. Meanwhile, a flat underside, rear diffuser and bespoke rear wing will provide plenty of aerodynamic downforce, Honda says.

The fat four-piston front brake calipers are designed specifically for the Type R by Brembo, and are matched to massive 350 mm cross-drilled discs. They fit nicely within the red-lined 19-inch alloy wheels, which are painted black for a nice contrast against the iconic Championship White colour of the Geneva show car.

2014 Honda Civic Type R Concept

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Wow! So promising..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Abu Sayur on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:37 am

Focus Rs will eat this alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 106
      • Don Juan De Marco on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:39 am

If you talk about the upcoming new Ford Focus RS, that’s a 4WD hatch. Which is absolutely ridicilous if you compare with the FWD Civic Type R. You can only compare the Ford Focus RS with Merc AMG A series & VW Golf R.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 16
        • Abu Sayur on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Its still in the same segment. Then why people compare the Rs4 to the M3 and C63?? One is four-wheel drive the others rear wheel drive?? And all with different cc?

Further the golf R and A45 both has a 2.0 Turbo same as this Type-r, so its also a fair comparison to this type-r.

Sure the Focus Rs has a 2.3 turbo but so those the Wrx Sti hatch a 2.5 turbo. At that time it was also compared to the Golf R mk6. All are sports hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 29
          • Don Juan De Marco on Feb 11, 2015 at 3:20 pm

That’s because in general, as the power ceiling goes up, FWD will be disadvantaged compared to 4WD & RWD cars when it comes to absolute driving /handling performance (Sub-300bhp is pretty much what FWD car could handle). Unless there’s a weight handicap on those 4WD or RWD, like those Supertouring Car days..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
        • hi there.. i think your arguement kinda of invalid…if u put it that way, then there is not much car the honda is benchmarking their car as a cotender…yes, they sure are fwd, but the competitor im sure gonna be golf r, focus rs and others….unless you consider mazda mps as a contender or golf gti…wake up dude…i am not agreeing to abu sayur since the car havent made the appearance yet…however im sure there are rivals…my 2 cent, its time for civic type r fan to be inferior of the turbo….from humble owner of fd2r…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • James Cortez on Feb 15, 2015 at 10:24 am

of course you can, same size engine. In the states car and driver compared WRX vs Golf Gti. Honda chickens out and does not dare to produce the same engine output as A45 AMG.

• No more Value on Feb 15, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Be calm and wait for review only. Do you earn any money if this type R or RS win the review? You won’t then why bother?

• A better comparison to this Type R would be a Scirocco R and Megane RS275. A RS3/A45 AMG/M135i/Focus RS/Golf R400 would definitely be a tad faster than this FF hatch.

• Policeman on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:42 am

Don’t worry, come to Malaysia, our pariah Government will jack it up to RM400,000

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 25
      • kington on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Nolar.. FD2R was RM200K kan… this one probably RM240K kut…..

Anyone knows if this will feature torsion beam at the back?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Now the Proton fanboys, including the noisy but crawling modded Wira/Waja/Saga can just put the ” The Power of Dream” sticker on their rear windscreen and dreaming they can drive up to 270km/h in their Proton now.

The Power of Dream, best to be seen on Proton’s drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
          • Natural on Feb 14, 2015 at 8:22 pm

you are seriously need to check your brain dude..

• Arumugam on Feb 15, 2015 at 3:32 pm

The commenter above me is dreaming too much. Too bad you can’t afford your own car not even Kancil.

• No more Value on Feb 15, 2015 at 7:37 pm

pity one.

• mrupai on Mar 01, 2015 at 6:22 pm

So this is unbeatable by Proton saga? well hum.. okay dude.

• BoringRakyat on Feb 12, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Its 300hp , turbo , honda , imported , fancy interior / exterior , brembo brakes and etc..

takkan you nak harga 150k ?

• why not? im sure honda can do it. sell us quality with less price. but not sure rosmah will allow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • you can’t never be out of Rosmah shadow unless you detach your PR brain from your colon… pathetic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • Oooo……… aaahhhhh……..

• berserker on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:19 am

This is it. Honda is about to create a legend again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:35 am

Turbocharged fwd? I foresee massive understeer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Don Juan De Marco on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:35 am

It’s got some trick front suspension design & diff to reduce the understeer, something already seen on Renault Megane RS and the Ford Focus ST.

• So what? There are loads of hatch wt Turbocharged FWD….GTI ..etc..etc..

• Won’t it be massive torque steer because of fwd? The differential would have to work overtime to keep the car straight when the boost kicks in…

• I’m guessing some kind of electronically controlled diff is in that.

• Head Hunter on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Don’t forget torque steer as well.

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:45 am

VTEC Turbo…

*drools*

• Why the current Honda Civic Fails in Sales Volume:

1. Lack of “Legendary” Type R Civic in the market.
    2. Smallest C-segment in the market.
    3. Similar design to the old generation Civic. Most will not buy a new car with the same old design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • SamNotVtecFan on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:05 am

Finally “Bonda power of dreams” fans could say ‘Vtec and turbo just kickin bro’…

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Vtec kickin oso useless la.Still smell my smoke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:06 am

hehehe I saw “front” sensor on that nice bumper. Usually other car makers nicely “hiding” those sensors but here really saw it so obvious. Anyway let’s wait for the official announcement at Geneva.

• justkickinbro on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:07 am

Finally “Bonda power of dreams” fans could say ‘Vtec and turbo just kickin bro’.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:14 am

270km/h is quite fast for an FWD car – is that the fastest production FWD? How does it do that from “only” 280-300bhp? Must be a pretty light car.

• Now you learn Honda. don’t always dreaming.

“The power of turbo”

• Fahmi on Feb 11, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Yeah.. Long awaiting for this, turbo with VTEC… Finally Honda give in to the ‘turbo’ craze… Though not able to buy it, financially,for now..

• cant wait to see this pitted against the focus RS.

• Gracke on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:54 am

Would like to know…is it possible on sale in Malaysia? any news??

• DonkeyKong on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:59 am

Still a low-class ah beng car at the end of the day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
  • shame_loo on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:03 am

Great car for rich Ah Beng. Super Rich Ah Beng will go for 2nd hand GT-R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • hazamiey on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:31 am

Manual only.BOO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 59
    • Three Pedals on Feb 11, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Can’t drive manual? Boo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
    • Veneno on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:34 pm

can’t use three pedals..?? BOOOO.. not a real guy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • RealManDrive3Padel on Feb 11, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Booo.. U must be one of the kid that whole of your car in house is auto transmission.. spoil brat. haha poor u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • MitchelJohn on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Of course it’s manual, it’s not meant to be driven by boring drivers like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • manual on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:58 am

booooooooooooooooooooooo, auto? u gota be kidding me. Legendary comment of the century i suppose

• Real man drive 3 pedals. BOO

• disable people like u never drives manual… boooo loser

• Manualism on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:22 am

Just put some sticker on your car, “Modern man use three pedal” and shut up!

You should amputating your left leg..

• jatusvincere on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:48 pm

enjoy your gay automatic gearbox car

• bolehland on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:35 am

If less than rm200k, i will buy

• mason_ on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:52 am

Under 200k?!.then u had to wait several year for secondhand or recond unit.hehe

• why waste money a RM200k Civic when we can buy
        RM175k 2.5L Camry or Cheap RM170k 2.4L Accord.

Driving Civic is of the lower status.
        non-turbo give u higher reliability for high speed driving too.

Driving Type-R with Hard suspension in Malaysia road.. such not-comfortable and passengers will have backache too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 69
        • You dont say on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:21 pm

why dont you ride a bicycle instead of taking a car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • macam la driving camry and accord ada status sgt..LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
        • Why still consider about Camry and Accord?! Mamak Nasi Kandar boss can drive a Mercedes CLS. More comfortable than both and more performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • blaster88 on Feb 12, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Duh? Are you serious? Comparing Type R with Accord and Camry?

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Who says Honda has gone soft…haha this is their answer to the world.

Saw the cockpit pic…funny they put the start/stop button up there with all the meters.

• kampung kia on Feb 11, 2015 at 2:27 pm

can tapao kampung spec Wira 4G93T ke..

• trololo on Feb 11, 2015 at 3:20 pm

last paragraph “The fat four-piston front brake calipers…” flat four or fat four ? correction.

• myexgfisaFD2R on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:05 pm

For many years Honda has been controlling their lust to produce such monstrous cars (apart from the NSX), ignoring how other car makers racing each other to produce powerful 2 liter turbocharge cars like the Evo, STi, Golf, etc.

FD2R is the last true Honda Type R, the last 2.0 engine NA powered with FWD ever produced by them. Basically Honda is trying to say that they have achieved to maximize the power of 2.0 NA engine at its fullest and now it’s time for the CTR to upgrade itself to turbocharge world and play with some other big boys.

Well done, a great step forward for Honda, can’t wait for this new CTR to officially arrive here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:27 pm

i seriously hope that wicked rear wing makes into final production. either way, welcome back honda we missed you.

• Yawn… Just another Honda.
    So?

• Aizul Hachiroku on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:52 am

Missing now is Honda Civic TypeR in sedan form, look like the only Civic TypeR sedan is FD2R which is the most successful normally aspirated Honda Civic TypeR.

• Jolok Ah Beng on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:52 am

When people think of Honda, they will think of yellow hair pimple face ah beng. In US, honda is known to be rice boy favourite.

So, unless you like to hangout in puchong, jinjang or cheras, better don’t buy such low class car.

Go buy VW, Audi, Mercedes and BMW. Only got class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • blaster88 on Feb 12, 2015 at 3:16 pm

I own an Audi and BMW and live in Cheras. How? Shall I sell my 2 cars and buy a Honda or move out of Cheras? But…but…I have no pimples to match my Honda? I am rolling on the ground…

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Stupid fellow. Its gold/ blond. You colour blind or wat?What is wrong with gold hair?

• geekster129 on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:55 am

Unicorn farts with turbo this time.

• anonymous on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Bila nak keluar kat malaysia ni?

• TurboGuy on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Yo.. Vtec kicks in..
    Yo.. Turbo kick in..
    So tempting to get one…

• Most important question.. If come in to malaysia.. How many airbags will have?

• Shame_loo on Feb 13, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Air bag, no idea. Plastic bag, sure can get plenty of it…

• JDM4EVA on Feb 14, 2015 at 2:56 pm

just wait for the JDM spec, should be a better buy

• Megane on Feb 15, 2015 at 12:32 am

Estimated price… RM 950 x 280bhp = RM 266k

• Head Hunter on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Then my triton should be priced at about rm129k!!! Wow, I never knew I was getting a bargain!!!

• kacimara on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:37 am

Flawless comment until I guess they all are engineers.

• dato kayap on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Saya tersangat suka kenderaa bemotor keluaran honda khususnya kkereta…tapi saya xmampu…biar sekadar minat…dan bersemagat untuk memilikinya

• sstone on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:58 pm

i’m cumming…!!

• I tought type r discontinued. But in wrong. Its back. Bravo

Mann… why i feel I missed 3-pedal car

• Fractured Thumb on Mar 02, 2015 at 12:31 pm

According to a reliable Honda source. It won’t be coming to Malaysia anytime soon. This Type-R is for the European / North America market. If you want one you gotta import one in yourself :)

• jatusvincere on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:47 pm

kids nowadays really pity, don’t blame them because of disabling to drive a manual la

• Honda r on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:09 pm

I’m still 15 yr old…but I can drive manual and auto already…hha yg tk tahu tu..memang noob!!!..not a real guys…