Proton Iriz to be launched in Indonesia in May, “should be cheaper than in Malaysia,” said Proton Indonesia

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 007

Less than a year after its local launch, the Proton Iriz looks set to be introduced to the Indonesian market this May. “We will definitely bring it in [to Indonesia] this year. The plan is to launch it in May,” Proton Edar Indonesia (PEI) sales and marketing head Winara Arigayo told the press in Jakarta recently.

There will be minimal differences between the Malaysian and Indonesian versions, according to PEI. Interestingly, Winara believes that the B-segment hatchback will be priced cheaper in Indonesia as compared to Malaysia. “It should be more affordable here. We’ll see how it goes soon,” he said.

By how much, we’ll just have to wait and see. The Preve and Suprima S had both been launched in Indonesia in 2013, but neither carried prices lower than their respective retail prices in Malaysia. Could it be that the potential Iriz SV we spotted earlier is meant for our neighbours?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Its not ‘should be cheaper’ but should be ‘will be cheaper’ as all our vehicles prices are higher than them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
    • Nissan on Feb 11, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Malaysian salary is also cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • Iriz can be free for all i care it still looks uglier than a baboon’s backside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 55
        • lpost on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:55 am

but prettier than your backside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:30 am

Why cheaper in Indonesia? It is because lower tax than in Malaysia. Now people can see that govt didn’t give enough protection to Proton. Yes, there are still protection to our national car but not much during Dr. M era..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Those who buy Iriz here really sohai! You guys are subsidizing Indonesia Proton owner also. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • Bersih 2.0 on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Ah Beng, now you show your true color. Which BN Taiko ask you to post here? Is it the A-Hole above called Ipost?

• Proton Suck Our Money on Feb 12, 2015 at 3:22 pm

In the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies and new technology used. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM70,000.

The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM35,000). After discounts, the Toyota will be sold about US$18k and the Almera about US$8k in the US.

Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. We all know MITI controls all the car prices to protect Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of protecting the dying Proton. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an additional 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM 2 billions from LHDN.

We are fed up of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • Hypothesis on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:44 am

Indonesia top selling car is Toyota Avanza while ours is Perodua Myvi. More or less similar average salary RM3,000.

But Indonesia allow Toyota car price RM10-15K cheaper than our Toyota price. Thus, Indonesia salary is worth ‘higher’ than us (although earning same RM3000) can buy cheaper Toyota.

Conclusion is, having national car is bad, stupid and cruel against rakyat money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • nusudon on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Nahh..Padan muka kamu SEMUA Malaysian, IndonS DAPAT beli murah! Terima kasih Proton.

• Rakyat on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:33 pm

We don’t care if Proton sell junks but we care when Proton is using the rakyat’s money to sell junks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • crocx on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:51 pm

I doubt even without p1 the tax would be abolished

• ProtonGSC on Feb 11, 2015 at 8:58 pm

P1 fansboy buying expensive LOCAL MADE car then neighbours country !!!

P1 fansboy “padan muka” keep supporting your beloved DrM and cronies !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 18
      • Burong on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:49 pm

in Malaysia, we don’t have a choice if budget limited. If budget allow, who doesn’t want a premium car? So ended up in Malaysia made car, where u buy local is still more expensive than neighbour.

Proton, shame on u. Earn local ppl money, and go to do marketing oversea and sell them cheap cheap, hoping to eat some market share there. u should appreciate local buyer n give them more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 6
        • Arell on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:28 am

You do have a choice. Buy used car and don’t waste your money on high interest payment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
          • Don’t you know used car interest is higher than brand new ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:03 am

Govt please..please..reduce the loan period from 9 years to 5 years. Bashers will know how to appreciate Proton if it realized!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • anonymous on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Example instead of buying a new 80k car with 90% loan. Buy a used 30k either in cash or part loan, Even high interest still works out cheaper…

• Bersih 2.0 on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Ah Beng, is this your BN’s masterplan for Proton domination? Finally you let it out

• Hypothesis on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:47 am

Imagine if Proton able to reduce cost assemble Iriz in Bangladesh factory and exported here at cheaper price, the fanboys also very proud of “buying fully-imported CBU Proton”.

• Adik manis on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:57 pm

And Ah Beng will be proud to work in Bangla

• Kuwoo on Feb 13, 2015 at 8:43 am

what’s wrong with bangla.. they are human too, and you definitely not superior than them

• OMG…If P1 sell Iriz expensive in Indo, who want to buy? They will rather buy T & H loh…..

• Hypothesis on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:34 am

Iriz SV = maybe for Indonesia market first. If not laku there, then no need to sell it here also.

• Iriz Fan on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:21 am

From Indon, Iriz are on the track to make blockbuster sell to Australia, UK & Japan!

• kanakuning on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Sounds like the Indonesians will be receiving a a highly down-specced version if we go by this report.

No ESC, 2 airbags and many extras taken off??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
    • Nope bro,the specs will be slightly the same. Its cheaper because of less tax. Our tax for cars are damn high. Unbelievable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 2
      • ProtonGSC on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:00 pm

And some fanboys keep saying Indo and Bolehland having same high taxes.

Eat this P1 fansboy… Keep making fool by proton and cronies !!!

And please wake-up…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 11
        • Where? I didn’t read one
          You bluffed a lot kid
          Go back to your mom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
          • Go back to school and learn to read, kid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
          • Saying here saying there, but where?
            Copy paste here or you just bluffed big time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • ProtonGSC on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Cnn still talk logic better then you @cmm.

Go back to school kid.

• Don’t give lame excuses.
        Go tax free Langkawi. The 1.8 Inspira is more expensive than the original 2.0 Lancer.
        Tak payahlah nak tegang benang basah.

• Albert on Feb 11, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Mr.Kanakuning,maybe the INDON IRIZ got no petrol tank,exhaust pipe,no radiator,no aircon,no music player and central locking.
      Anyway,remember the proton grand entry to Turkey years ago?Australia? Indons are better educated now,they are not bodoh,Proton.Those Indons working in Boleh land whats app every damn thing here to their loved ones there,including Anwar’s sodomy.
      Proton is on chemotherapy and radiation therapy.There is no hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • albertstupid on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:23 pm

You make fool of yourself, I think you just bought a car without those parts, even tyres!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • alldisc on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:11 pm

opi is correct.

minimum of 70% custom excise duty for any car plus another 10% of sales tax (to be replaced by GST?).

this means a myvi selling at 40K is actually only 24K dealer price (profit margin included).

and for a CBU car with 5,000cc the taxes are in the region of 190% in total. this is why a Jaguar XJL 5.0 selling at over 1.1 million ringgit in semenanjung has a price of abt 420K in langkawi.

unbelievable.

the reason i bought a 1993 iswara as my ride. cost me 3k. a whole lot cheaper to maintain and reliable too, better than a VW i must say. parts are readily available. not fun to drive but efficient enough A-to-B mode of transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • same loh on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Then you have no face driving a p1 according to Same Lorrrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • jacksonljs on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:37 pm

but somehow still far more better than a spending more than RM100k for a brand new ‘jamban’ made cars WITHOUT ESC/VSC plus ‘unknown’ or ‘poorer’ built quality nowadays (still want a VSC-equipped car, you have to go for the top spec one, minimum price RM136k).

• kadajawa on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Thanks to Proton protection lah. How much do you think the same car sell in Langkawi? Less than 100k can get a car with VSC and more RELIABLE than Proton’s PUNCH CVT

• IrizX on Feb 12, 2015 at 2:12 pm

The car with Punch CVT is the ‘jamban’ car as the car jerks like when you’re doing your business in the toilet

• Low Budget on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Good choice! Not letting B.N. Gomen suck your cash.

• BehaveYourself on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:51 am

Hey dude, please don’t compare your 1993 Iswara with a decent car. P1 still have a long way to go if compare with VW.

• Nak buat damage control lah tu.

• pinkturbo on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Will be interesting to see how it will be priced, most definitely a downgraded spec version… much like the base level Axia..

If not mistaken the other Proton models sold there are priced higher than ours so this Proton Indonesia statement doesn’t make much sense for now. Sounds like he jumped the gun there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • NowItMakeSense on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Now this article makes sense:
    http://paultan.org/2015/01/02/spyshots-proton-iriz-new-bumper-sv/

Probably they are preparing for the Indonesian version with lowered spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Super on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Iriz SV is an additional variant to boost Iriz sales locally. The same strategy for other models i.e Saga n Persona.

Traditionally, Proton will not exports down spec cars to oversea. Most of it exports cars better spec n sell lower price than domestic. You can see Proton @ UK, Australia n middle east.

• Joe Jambul on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Malaysian still waiting for their booked car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • NowItMakeSense on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Remember the previous article on IRIZ SV spotted? Might be that one is intended for the Indonesian market.

• P1 and P2 both are low class car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 29
  • Dahcakap on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Elok la tu…sampai bila lah nak kena tindas cam ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Brave you self on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Everyone brave youself. Proton haters are coming. But i think Iriz for Indonesian market has lower spec than Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
  • here tax like a boss of cos la there will be cheaper..zzz

• pomen on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:29 pm

proton export model always cheaper than selling locally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • first, Proton take Rakyat Money for RnD.
      Next, Proton sell to Rakyat at expensive price.

Conclusion: Dont buy Proton to be double charged by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 21
      • They call you Proton hater … you suppose to angguk angguk to all they say and do…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • p1 dun collect tax, duh
          you never pay tax ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Minister on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Yeah, P1 never collects tax but P1 needs G to protect it. Never heard of protection?

• I’ve heard sort of protection everywhere in world, China, USA, Australia, Europe, so what?

• pokmang on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:33 pm

maybe jokowi fall in love with iriz, driven by tun at 150km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • of course la here more expensive. here we got many proton fans supporting proton. can sell expensive cars to these people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 14
    • here everyone love Proton… this is best car in the world…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • magenta on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:43 pm

What to do

If you can afford Ford will you buy P1 / P2 cars?
      Don’t look down on others just because they drive local cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Arell on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:33 pm

If you can afford Mercedes or BMW you will buy junk ford?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Arell on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Sell it there as Proton Bangsat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Arell on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Why spend RM500million to develop this car? Just license the 2005 Colt from Mitsubishi and ask Lotus reface it and soup it up. You have Lotus in your basket, please use it!

• coltD on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:30 pm

That car can score 5 star Australasia NCAP like Preve?

• And do you think Proton haters just gonna let that thing happen without bassing it?

• ikead on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Colt cannot handle well like p1, boring

• It’s either Proton being plain dumb or happy to be dumb on what the consumers want. This is just a B-segment hatchback car targeting at lower income group moving from motorcycle to a car.
            What 5 stars, what handling you are talking about? What is more important to this group of people is reliability and cheap to maintain. Moving from bike to a car is already a big jump in terms of safety. I bet Proton uses anti blast glass and kevlar in their next model.

• biker on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Bike – 5K
            Axia – 23K

Sorry still wayyyy expensive

• P1 Sucks on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Conclusion: Proton supporters are stupid lol, support expensive cars and make the rakyat suffer as well. For those who like to support Proton, please go and pay double the tax to Proton, Proton will be thankful to you. The rest of the rakyat should be excluded from excise and import duty when buying other cars, thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • Heard that car under 1.6cc got lower tax there..donno the detail

• panjang on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Better for Modenas to sell bike there rather than Proton selling their car.

• nabei on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:40 pm

cjeaper or dearer i will never buy a proton

• Aero (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:54 pm

So, the Preve costs more in Indonesia than it does in Malaysia. The Suprima S is the other way round.

My guess is that hatchbacks are believed to be ‘cheap cars’ in Indonesia. Sedan cars (except taxis) are considered more ‘premium’. Just my guess. It makes sense because the most popular Indonesian LCGCs (Low Cost Green Cars) are all small A-segment hatchbacks.

Proton Indonesia probably knows that the Iriz cannot cost too much or it won’t sell due to the much cheaper LCGCs. The Iriz won’t compete with the LCGCs though, it will go against the Honda Jazz and Ford Fiesta, two popular B-segment hatchbacks there, and also the Toyota Yaris and Daihatsu Sirion (rebadged Perodua Myvi).

• I remember last time PT article mentioned UK will get the Iriz first… among other international market lol… now where is the news??

• Insider on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Heard that proton got screwed by their new iriz ecu supplier bosch. No UK project unless they pay up rm10 million

• spongewai on Feb 11, 2015 at 8:28 pm

resign pls??!

• darkermarker on Feb 11, 2015 at 8:32 pm

hahahah…Malaysian kena screwed kaw kaw by proton and the govt again. Oversea proton cheaper than indon proton, with similar spec. Pulak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Jual sini tak laku. Jual sana pun tak akan laku! Jimat duit baki tutup & bungkus aje lah!!@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Jual sini tak laku. Jual sana pun tak akan laku! Jimat duit baki tutup & bungkus aje lah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Rosdi on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:19 pm

This is one good looking car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • takNakP1 on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:22 pm

this is one of the many fxxking reason that I will nvr buy this brand anymore. i even nvr walk near any of their new model road show

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Arell on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Patiently waiting for news ‘Proton closing down for good!’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • only saga sv and exora turbo standard sell well, why?
    this is what malaysian need,very easy analysis

• For Proton user..this must be sour..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:52 pm

WHY CHEAPER???

Why?

Malaysian always buying the most expensive proton. We are subsidizing them. NO!!!

• Steve Kok on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Cheap or no cheap u also cannot sell lah.
    Kampung Champion only.

• leonardo on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:20 am

What are the specs for Indonesia market?

• i think people who spend 90k for a vios because they feel higher class than proton is dumb.

• lolol on Feb 12, 2015 at 6:33 pm

I think people who pay extra for a proton because they feel higher class than perodua is dumb.

• car-fans on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:45 am

Oppss… Msian lagi yg kena! Local made but price is higher … Indon getting cheaper then us?

Harap Pagar – Pagar Makan Padi!

Apa punya Gov/Proton !

• ayooo on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm

The correct peribahasa is harapkan pegar, pegar makan padi. Pegar is a species of bird.

• May be it’s just a marketing gimmick to get Indonesian public attention.

“We’re getting cheaper car than Malaysian folks…”

Though possibly they’d get SV version.
    And later possibly they’ll introduce SV version in Malaysia to repair the damage…

Buzz here and there.

• Hypothesis on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:58 am

What if the Iriz SV here also expensive than Indonesian Iriz SV? Damage control again.

• azrai on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:14 am

I thought Jokowi will rebadged this car. Sure it will be cheaper, because our excise duty is 75%.

• LandoCar on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:52 am

Cars cheaper in Indonesia? Yes and no!

Even if Proton Iriz sells cheaper there, the financing system will still make it expensive.

You need to place a 40% down payment with a maximum loan period of 4 years. And the interest rate can be a whopping 10%.

• DrDooM on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:24 am

DrM is surely fooling Msians. If Proton can profit by selling cheaper at Indonesia, why is he continue to squeeze more money from Msians?

• Iriz Fan on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:24 am

Iriz is the perfect car in the world!

• Kepala otak on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Malaysians get ripped off the moment they buy a car.

Enough said!

• Proton_bodoh on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Hahahah… padan muka Proton fanboys

Apa logiknya jual kat Malaysia lebih mahal dari jual kat Indon?

You only have yourself to blame if you still buy Proton.

kakakakakaka. Puas hati aku :D

• malaysia also struggle to supply, now want to export to indonesia?

• have to be cheaper on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Have to be cheap as a Ford Fiesta in Indonesia is same price as Proton Saga here in Malaysia

• Arell on Feb 12, 2015 at 8:56 pm

If I were Proton, I will license mitsubishi Lancer (those evo456 body) and fit a campro 1.3L 4 speed auto and fuse in some Lotus DNA and sell at Myvi price, then that will really rock the boat. So far all Lotus look seems to be lasting… Think Saga LMSI and Satria GTI. They are cars that never seem to look outdated! What to do? Proton is a car company who is run by people who know nothing about cars!