Different bumper spotted – is this the Proton Iriz SV?

proton-iriz-rear-bumper-0001

It has been barely a quarter since the Proton Iriz was launched, but we’ve spotted what could be a new variant undergoing testing. Courtesy of reader Nevin Sansom, these pics show a debadged Fire Red Iriz with trade plates cruising on the Guthrie Highway.

Looks pretty standard, like a normal Standard, at first glance. But upon closer inspection, the mule’s rear bumper looks like a single piece unit without the separate diffuser section on the RM42,438 1.3 Standard (which is of a simpler design compared to that on the Executive and Premium) that is in contrasting black. Here, it’s all body coloured.

From L-R: Different diffuser design of the 1.3 Executive and 1.3 Standard. Both are separate pieces

Our eagle-eyed reader says that the wheels and front bumper are similar to the Standard’s. However, unlike the Standard, this car wears a 1.3 Executive spoiler.

Are we looking at a potential new entry level Proton Iriz SV variant? Prior to this, the national carmaker has introduced “Super Value” variants for the Saga and Persona sedans. It could also be that we’re reading too much into things, and this car is merely the 1.3 CVT – deliveries initially penned for December 2014 – trying on a different outfit and undergoing fine-tuning. What do you think?

Proton Iriz 1.3 Standard

Proton Iriz 1.3 Executive
Proton Iriz 1.6 Executive
Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kahkah. so now how many iriz already sold? 2k? 3k? after this got plan to make axia rival pulak or not since axia nowadays so laku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 85
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Don’t you notice: Proton can sell or not, it keep on rolling up different versions.

Can sell or not, doesn’t matter! Must keep the money burning, cronies keep earning.

Can’t sell? Ask billions from government lar in 2015! Buy Proton cars or not, Malaysians are supporting Proton (just different channels).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 89
      • concr on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:17 am

You talked as if other cpmpanies dun ask and dun get those incentives. 200.million just for tin.milo license? Is that worth it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Proton Iriz the best I drive from KL to Australia no problem P1 jamin 100k miles still can work…

Ah Beng must be glad, coming sv can even more fuel economic with the current proton CVT. Others eat smoke jer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
          • lolol on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:21 am

Yes, Iriz can swim from KL to Australia no problem. I heard the new bumper can float Iriz on the water since it has a big fat assssss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:52 am

For Proton fanboys, this Iriz can land on the moon, NASA is modifying it to land on MARS soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Euro Five on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:20 am

The Iriz seats are very supportive and comfortable especially on long journeys. I first hand experienced it during Christmas. Good stuff from Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 17
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Why these bashers are so stupid comparing Iriz which cheap Axia? They suppose to be smart enuf comparing Iriz with new Myvi 2015. After p2 launch the new facelift,then we’ll see whose the real winner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 18
          • Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:15 am

Commercial wise, the real winners comes from total sales figures, not bragging about technical superiority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
          • Sales figures OK, safety KO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
          • 1Malaysia on Jan 04, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Of course Proton the winner. Proton blood sucking the rakyat’s money how to win? Without Proton, everyone’s a winner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • Albert on Jan 03, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Same Lorr,I checked ,Proton sold 8203 units but Toyota(with hefty car taxes)sold 8394 units in Nov 2014.
        Imagine,UMW beating Proton in monthly sales now.
        Proton will end 2014 probably with 115,000 units, a far cry from 138,000units in 2013.A drop 0f 17 %.
        2 factories with a combined capacity of 1.2 million units , producing only 115,000 units!
        In 2-3 years if sales keep dropping by 20,000units yearly,Proton….insaf lah.Lebih baik BITE THE BULLET ,RETRENCH SEMUA and get a GIANT AP license,and lelong the 2 plants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 22
        • Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:18 am

Lelong the Shah Alam plant will do, the Proton City plant can produce re-badge or assemble for other manufacturers, may be also can lease to the car manufacturer from ‘Middle Kingdom’.

• jacksonljs on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:41 pm

You know why, the RM3,000 rebate really works as a psychological effect as if they are striking RM30k – RM3 million jackpot if they buy their ultra luxury ‘brand’ toy cars. However, they should instead prepare at least RM30k for hospitalization bills (or buy more PA insurance) if anything goes wrong that was supposely can be avoided with VSC. Somehow we have to blame the carbuyers also because this bloodsucker car distributor will continue to offer very low safety spec, ie only 2 airbags and ABS brakes, VSC too ‘costly’ to include where in fact very less expensive to include nowadays (but can afford to put ‘nice’ things which is for me is ‘rubbish’ for baseline/medium line version which can be fitted aftermarket later)

• Same L0rrr on Jan 04, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Even if Iriz has 50 airbags, there is no use, because the car is in the SHOWROOM, not on the roads. I wonder why a showroom car need so many airbags?

What car Proton sell the most? Saga and Persona! How many airbags they have? 2!! Do they have VSC? NO!!

Enough of Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

If Proton really concern on customer safety, put the airbags and VSC in the customer’s Saga/Persona/Exora/Satria Neo!! Not the showroom cars Preve/Suprima S/Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
          • kainoo on Jan 04, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Hahahaha same lorrr repeated his grandma stories, saga persona are all old cars. Vios is new , got VSC? NO!

Iriz in showroom? Then people will buy lor, why you ask p1? Stupid fella

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 05, 2015 at 3:17 pm

In your logic, Vios actually much older, we start selling it in 2003.

So don’t twist the logic here. Proton still selling Saga and Persona and most people are buying it. When you say Proton is safe, I just wanna ask “Are Proton most popular models Saga and Persona safe?”

Iriz in showroom so long already and HOW MANY on the roads, compared to Perodua Axia?

Some cars are destined to be showroom cars only, not on the road cars. Iriz is one of them. Why? We all know the answer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • To make Axia rival = Take out VSC

Tada… Introducing the new Iriz SV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
      • if it comes with abs + ebd..
        and under 40k.. i think its great already..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
        • Nazgul on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Wrong move Proton
          Even under 40k for Iriz people still choose Axia.
          Axia SE at 36k is complete cars.
          While Iriz under 40k will be kosong cars.
          Just focus on your VDC and your direct rival Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • axiasd on Jan 04, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Under 40K Axia is ‘Complete’ car without VDC

• salambangi on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Dear Proton

Where’s my Proton Iriz CVT 1.3 Silven Moon Dust that I booked at a Proton dealer in Section 7 Shah Alam nearly 3 months ago.

I’m very tempting to cancel my booking if I dont get it by January. My next choice is either the facelifted Myvi or Hyundai I 10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 18
      • No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:23 pm

why not picanto which have much more feature than i10….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
        • picanto ride n handling terrible!

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 05, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Riding in tow truck and waiting in Proton garage experience is even worse.

Don’t forget it is a Proton. Everyday we saw Proton break down on the road blocking the traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:43 pm

You think i10 handling is good?

• Atoy-ot on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Dun downgrade to Myvi or i10, must go for Jazz, Fiesta or Polo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
        • No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:02 am

bang, you tau harga fiesta dan polo ke tak tau? So much different compare to Iriz la abang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
          • please be sincere. u mean prize with tax right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:15 pm

If not? Prize without tax? Why I should say the price without tax? Do you think I will think that make any sense?

• kadajawa on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:16 am

So much different when have protection. When no protection, not much difference. Langkawi people will think you no sense to buy Iriz

• kadajawa on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:19 am

Iriz got No more Value in Langkawi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • So what, you stay there?

• Many people live in Langkawi kah?

Kahkahkah

• kadajawa on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:39 am

Langkawi people not Malaysian kah?

• Whatever you do, just stay away from iriz. Then you are safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 53
        • Greasemonkey on Jan 04, 2015 at 11:53 am

Hey,buy what you can afford to maintain,otherwise sendiri susah.Cheers.

• Proton, your customers are complaining. What are you going to do about it? Design a new bumper and call it SV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
      • Albert on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Mr.Salambangi,Proton has lots of production problems and office politics now,according to insider sources.
        They sold less than 120,000 cars in 2014.Tanjong Malim(capacity 1 million units) producing 50,000units ,Shah Alam 70,000 units.(capacity 150,000units).
        Those dead wood in Shah Alam playing politics and refuse to relocate to Tanjong Malim.
        The botak MD got no more hair to lose.He is taking ponstan daily to kill migraine.
        Just cancel booking and book Honda,Nissan or Toyota.Just lengthen your loan by 2 more years with slightly higher instalment.
        A rushed and half baked Iriz will give you plenty of headache later.
        Same Lorr,this is another Toyota prospect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
      • Itachi on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Bro, same here. Exactly what i feel now!!! I was booking 3 month ago, still yet get the car. Just curious what are the proton fellow doing. Really wanna cancel my order if can’t get this few week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • #thepowerofdream on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:49 am

U feel me bro…
          Give up on the IRIZ oredi and got used Honda City 2009 full spec.

• Itachi on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:34 pm

Haiz… No even hand over the proton iris to other now wanna make new design. Bodoh lah proton.if no I really wanna cancel my order.

• trollmaster3000 on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:37 pm

so far i’ve only seen 4 of those on the road ever since it was announced months ago.. whereas there’s a lot more axias with different colors and variants.. i’ve lost count already.. so if there is such a thing as a rivalry between them.. axia obviously won by a hundred miles..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
      • Dun BS. both axia and iriz are not flooding road like those saga myvi vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:25 am

Some do like to exagerate, but really, the instance of spotting an Axia right now is more than spotting an Iriz on the roads. This may point to the efficiency and speed in producing cars among the 2 rivals.

• why compare 2 different segments..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • went to alamanda putrajaya on sunday, saw a total of 2 iriz.. 1 axia..

• Pelanggan kecewa on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:42 am

Whatever it is, we still did not get our car yet. Waiting and waiting and waiting for 1.3cvt. No exact reason from PROTON. Why? What’s the problem? We want our car a.s.a.p!!!!!!

Call salesman, he said we’re waiting for the car too. We don’t know the exact date too. Waiting from HQ. It’s Proton Branch but they didn’t even know about it? Seriouslyyyyyy

Dilayan macam ni, I couldn’t accept this.

• Itachi on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Me too. But I got letter said I can get the car by Dec 2014. But until now no news at all. The salesgirl promised can get by December now she promise can get by January. WTH if can’t said can’t run waste our time. Bodoh proton.

• weeee on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Looks like an obese Hyundai i10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • muhammad naim on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:25 pm

SV ke RV ke lembu ke aku takkan beli sebab ada lambang proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 57
    • Lembu got more RV than Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 16
    • Samah Khan on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:46 am

senang je, tukar lambang Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mercedes Benz, BMW atau AUdi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:31 am

Its a pity, 10 years of shoddy quality cost the Proton Big,Big Time now. No matter how good are Proton now, people still too pessimistic to buy.

• Will the “SV” still comes with ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and Electronic Stability Control as standard?

I hope so. Please remove all the luxuries eg. projector lamp, silver grille, etc. but retain safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Proton Supporter on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Yes, please remove the car seats, car doors, spare tyre, sterling wheel, air cond… but most importantly must have “VSC” yo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
    • Matchy on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:27 pm

That is the current Standard version la… what other thing that you want them to cut further? ^^;;

I think this SV version will probably remove all the safety features just like the suprima standard.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:25 pm

– Steel rims
        – No need projector lamps
        – Maybe just 2 or no power window.
        – Normal bulbs instead of LED.
        – Manual side mirrow adjustment.
        – Reduce reading lamp to 1 bulb from 3
        – Maybe no radio.
        – no reverse sensor.
        – simpler info display (remove fc reading, distance to empty etc)

• Nazgul on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Current standard version just make it 1.6 mt and at under 48k price.
        Surely i rush to proton dealer now.
        I don’t need all those gadgets.
        What i need is your VDC and powerful 1.6 engines.

• Poor sales? Need a even lower end version to drive some sales volume?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • dr.terror on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:31 pm

SV version? even 1.3 standard also hard to sell?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:48 pm

I just hope its a mule for the new torque converter cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • lol lol on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:48 pm

No sales? Perhaps…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • OMG. That exhaust pipe is so UGLY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Malaysia Hate Perodua on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:50 pm

say goodbye to perodua axia!!!
    nobody is going to touch that useless tin milo once Proton Iriz SV launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 51
    • Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:36 am

In your dream only, in 6 months time, you will see plenty of Axias on the roads, many ex motor mat rempits will also buy Axias.

• Nazgul on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:25 pm

It’s too late for that.
      Sales for Axia is like tsunami now.

• Still living in your delusional Proton world uh. Open your window and stand for 1 hour…you’ll notice 22 myvis, 4 axias. Iriz you stand 1 day and wait also got none.

• Mental Problem Perodua Fans on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Habislah perodua axia!!!
    nobody is going to touch that useless tin milo once Proton Iriz SV launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
    • proton salesman boleh pegi mampos on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:08 am

silly proton salesman do anything for sesuap nasi!porah!! lying scumbags!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Same comment? Different name. Kan sudah kantoi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Samah Khan on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:49 am

P2 owner rela mati asalkan jimat minyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Same Same Lol on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:11 pm

P1 owners rela get con by Proton cronies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • glivine on Jan 04, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Con what?
        Much better than Japs cars that have Takata airbags issue

• No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Launch less than half year already want to lelong? Can imagine how good the sales are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Proton sometimes mix-matched accessories to entirely random power train. Before release there is Iriz that have touchscreen HU, wearing standard bumper, leather seat, standard rim etc.

• Rowena Proton Fans on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Good news!!!
    Proton pls launch fast and this model will bury that axia kosong car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • Yala… just launch it. At least can take some of the burden from P2. P2 worked day & night struggling to meet the booking.

• Pls launch it ans sell none. you’ll die faster that way

• Rowena Proton Fans on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:59 pm

axia full spec Rm 42000 or Rm 63000 Iriz 1.6??
    of course Rm 63000 proton Iriz!!
    buy axia full spec Rm 42000 is a waste of money!!!
    stupid tin kosong car axia!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 37
    • proton salesman boleh pegi mampos on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:08 am

typical desperate protong salesman ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Rowena Proton Fans on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:06 am

i am not sales agent.
        i just a normal Malaysia people who want a good car to drive.
        axia is a dangerous car,some more rubbish and look ugly,so i never want this car.
        Proton Iriz??Yes it is my choice,will get one soon.
        Iriz is a good and safe car and can be consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
        • Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:41 am

Motor Cycles are rubbish private transport machine and yet lots of people owning it, so what is the point? The point is affordability, just like the Axia is more affordable than Iriz for many people.

• rowena bongok on Jan 04, 2015 at 4:33 pm

dey girl, you want good car to drive, iriz is your choice?dey u pegi sekolah ke tak?? good and safe car?? dey i baru beli 1 week gear already problem, airbag sign went off then masuk workshop some more..good car? poodah..typical protong saleswoman

• Samah Khan on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:53 am

Tapi P2 fans rela bayar 42k utk tin kosong sebab nanti blh isi byk minyak dlm

• Rowena Proton Fans on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:02 am

stupid people like samah khan say this:
        Tapi P2 fans rela bayar 42k utk tin kosong sebab nanti blh isi byk minyak dlm

you see stupid people uneducated don’t know how to reply English,no wonder very poor just can buy rubbish tin kosong car like axia.

smart people will buy Proton Iriz.
        will go and place order soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
        • policeman on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:37 am

I believe he was making fun of P2 fans.
          He was on your side.

Bodoh betul kau ni. Tengok aku reply bukan dalam English.

• Inspector on Jan 04, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Hahaha, Proton supporters like to bash among themselves

• As the name say, Proton supporters lack brains which is why they support proton.They can’t seem to get the fact that Proton is a car manufacturer that can’t compete with anything on eart which is why they have to use their tongkat and tax foreign imports higher

• To Rowena Proton Fans,
          Please don’t lump yourself with clever people since you’re not one. Clever people don’t buy either P1/P2 rubbish.

• bentleywww on Jan 04, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Yes clever people will buy luxury cars like Bentley, Bimmer Audi and Merc

• no name on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Ha ha ha. No wonder we don’t even get the car *1.3 cvt std/exec* yet. Delivery date has been delayed. But no explanation from Proton. Suka sangat -.-“

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Albert on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Your excellency Danny Tan,insider leakage indicated sales of Iriz is screwed up by multiple factors including slow deliveries,customer complaints about the cvt gearbox,blockbuster Axia eating its rightful market share.
    For 2015,at Myvi kind of pricing,Proton knows its sales will plunge to less than 100,000units if it cannot come out with cheaper variants.
    We have Saga SV,Persona SV and now,Iriz SV on the horizon.
    Sooner,we will also get Preve SV,Suprima SV,Inspira SV and Satria SV.
    Its going to be another round of JOM HEBOH POTONG HARGA CARNIVAL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
  • iriz std on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:24 pm

fm radio player only, two speaker
    manual window
    manual side mirror
    old meter (no rpm, only speed, fuel and water temp)
    single airbag
    no abs no ebd
    no central locking
    steel rim
    no fog lamp
    no rear wiper
    no usd no 12v output
    no sound insulation
    black color front bumper
    black color door handle
    pvc seat

cut cost spec to be continue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:22 pm

if you have some common sense then you should know 2 air bags is a must on every new vehicle.

• It’s not common sense. It’s regulation. These proton people… main tembak je. Common sense konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • mechans on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Basher pun mainntembak je. Poor build quality la, more money for spare parts la

ingat p1 tu VW ke asyik rosak je keje. Belambak atas jalan tu bergerak elok je. Bkn kat SC
          ptuih

• No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 2:09 pm

The rule is inside the regulation. If we know the regulation, it is common sense. If we dont know then we dont have common sense.

• Another attempt on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:06 pm

If P1 can get the manual one for 34k and CVT for 38k with full blown safety, it would increase the sales. That’s my suggestion.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Just my hunch; I doubt this is an Iriz SV. It’s too soon for a SV model. Besides, there’s already a very competitively priced and specced Iriz 1.3 Standard.

If this is an Iriz SV model, please Proton, whatever you do, DO NOT remove your Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) safety package. Don’t fall to Perodua’s level just to lower pricing and gain more sales. In time, Malaysians will realize the importance of car safety and ESC, and in time, the Iriz will establish itself as the best entry level car for the safety concerned.

I strongly believe this is an export market model. It looks like a compromise between the Iriz 1.3 Standard and 1.3 Executive. Just my dua sen, I could be totally wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Maybe for indo n thai market or might be SV model to compete with mid range axia

• Yes, if remove VSC, nanti Proton supporters takda muka, cannot boost their cars got VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • marveled on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:25 pm

You want to vompare with what? Myvi?, come on that tin milo cars dare to go 140kmh on highway, just to endanger its driver ans other drivers.

please stopcomparing so so hadling car with those p1/contis

• Hahaha… i like this “p1/conti” part. hahaha
          You mean p1/Trabant?
          Anyway, syok sendiri wont get you anywhere.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:45 am

Why everyone else doesn’t have common sense like Aero?

• soreh on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Bcoz bashing p1 is fun????
        (Especially for same lorrrr and the bangang gang)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • syiok-syiok on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:33 pm

But not as fun as the syiok sendiri P1 fans
          (Especially Ah Beng and the bengong gang)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • soreh on Jan 04, 2015 at 6:38 am

That’s p1 bashers in disguise! Everyone knows.

• Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:46 am

To be on sale in Bangla, testing on Malaysian roads now?

• brazbuz on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:14 pm

It is actual design for iriz standard variant before they decide to make a blacked strip on lower part of the rear bumper

• Ho Ho Ho on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:22 pm

watever it is, this bumper looks better compared to the one with diffuser.

• I think this is Proton Myvi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • botol on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:12 pm

If it is indeed a new variant or SV variant, i dont see why proton should invest in another bumper design, testing etc and incur more cost to produce a cheaper variant car… doesnt make economic sense… so my take on this pic is that its a test car with some old prototype bumper stuck on and everybody is just overthinking…

• Ray (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:36 pm

They removed ESP in the baseline Suprima S, so perhaps this will not run away from the same fate. I wonder why Proton wants to make an SV variant for the Iriz when the 1.3 standard is about the same price as an Axia AV, let alone the overpriced Myvi XT. Trying to steal some of the SE’s and G’s sales?

I absolutely love the Iriz, the looks, the spec sheet and the way it drives. But from what I can see, the Iriz is a flop, despite being so good. It’s really hard to spot one on the streets of Penang and let’s all face it, if you’re on the market for a new B-segment hatch with 60-70k on hand, will you consider the Iriz and actually end up putting your money on one? I bet many will be driving home with a Perodua or top up some cash for the entry level Jazz or Swift.

• As said, Penang people are smart not to have it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
    • ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:35 am

Those who looking at safety first will consider Iriz at 60k bracket.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:41 am

True. The Iriz has a superb safety rating but I think the main thing that puts people off is the overall ownership experience. Maybe Proton has progressed, I don’t know as I do not have any Protons in my car porch. It takes time for Proton to change its brand image and public perception, perhaps.

• Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:51 am

They screwed themselves up big time, other manufacturers, not neccessary car manufacturers should take this as a very good lessen.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:29 am

Today Almighty Snack Bar very sad.

So I would like to say thanks to Proton.

• CyberPatrol on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:40 am

It a right direction to react for dampened sales,with compounded by issues of CVT despite not related to this model but a negative impact when consumer making a purchase decision. I would consider Proton IRIZ but with negative statement of their product on CVT and Proton engineers did not publicly deny it.

I would relate it quite similar to old story of power windows problem (happen to me) by just refrain myself going in a jeopardy again.

Once bitten twice shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:50 am

what u tokking?
      Think in English then type it. Don’t think in Chinese and type in English. Sense got lost in translation!

• I think he wrote in chinese and got google to translate it to eng.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:44 am

I see one almost daily… One in my condo as well… Its white… It somehow looks more expensive that what it is… N looks alot bigger than in pictures actually..
    Im just curious, why do some ppl here think that having more variants of da same model means that it canot sell ???
    A vios has 4 variants….and in December, toyota actually overtook proton in sales… N as we kno majority is made up of all sort of vios variants…

I mean u can sell alot more if u can give more choice to buyers… They probably have da SV moniker to compete with da Axia n Not da myvi… 2 birds 1 stone situation…
    Assuming it comes with dual airbags n abs only… Without da other bills n whistles..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • nabill (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:46 am

Damn you Auto correct, its bells n whistles

• Ray (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:26 am

I agree that the Iriz looks premium and upmarket. However, having more variants of a same model might sometimes cannibalise the sales of other models under the same brand. The Saga might be at risk if the Iriz SV goes to somewhere between 35 and 40k as it will definitely appeal to those who appreciate the hatchback proportions with better looks and build quality. In this case, I can understand the omission of ESP (if it happens) in the SV Iriz, frankly.

• fanofthisite on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Methinks Proton would not mind losing Saga sales to Iriz at all esp since Saga will be coming up for model revision or change not far in the future.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:00 am

Can someone give a big fat slap to these so called national car maker? wake up lah, koreans cars are speeding way ahead of you guys with better technology and design. stop politicking just do the job to serve the nation. people first, not crony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:37 am

What crony? You mean DRB? UMW? Vendors?

• NO MORE NATIONAL on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:37 pm

What national car maker? Proton has been fully privatised and sold to DRBHICOM. STOP CALLING IT A NATIONAL CAR MAKER. Danny Tan should not mislead the crowd by calling it a national car maker.

• Minister on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:37 pm

If so, can we add import duty to Proton’s car to increase the income of the country and even out the playing field of the automotive industry?

• Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:56 am

Technically Proton is a private company, in reality, the umbilical cords are still tied to Mama Gomen.

• bambooriver on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:07 am

I notice there is less comments on iriz now… people dont care anymore about a little car that is overpriced and take too long to deliver. Sad.

• Bruise on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:33 am

I notice there is more comments on axia now… people care about a kosong car that is overpriced and take too long to deliver. Sad.

• Crony on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Yes, we are sad that less people are interested in Proton as there are less income for us. Come on, support lah Proton

• ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:43 am

There is lot of negativity on the CVT this time around. The CVT has been in Proton cars since the Saga FLX. We don’t see much noise on the CVT back then. There is some complaint, but not like this. Probably those who test the car first time test drive Proton CVT.

I guess the Iriz is too good for the CVT? Everything else is perfect now and people start on nitpicking the gearbox alone even though this gearbox has been in few models before. And this CVT is them most improved version than models before.

IF this is the case, i think it’s good news then. Proton just need to improved the powertrain, everything else they did a good job.

But maybe next time when the powertrain improved, malaysian condemn the logo need to change to something els?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Bat Out Of Hell on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:15 am

This is so true. Took the words right out of my mouth.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:41 am

The Saga’s CVT isn’t all that great though. It drones and whines and makes the car feel slow and sluggish, though it does help in improving the Saga’s fuel efficiency, a bit. Perhaps most can overlook these shortcomings due to the the low price? This is however, different in the case of the Iriz. Proton markets it as a premium global model and of course, expectations are set high, so it’s no surprise when people complain of the CVT.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 6:01 pm

It’s never the greatest CVT box. But the one in Iriz is an improvement over 2 version of CVT found in FLX > Preve > Suprima.

I start to wonder that since there is not much to bash on this Iriz (especially in term of design, package and safety/handling), the CVT was the highlight this time around. Although it is the better CVT in Proton models.

• freakie on Jan 03, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Who cares about feeling when actually it’s faster than BLMs

• fanofthisite on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:22 pm

yes, been beaten flat by one with 4 adults from a traffic light stop thru bends and a further 5 km of straights . struck me as zippy and great handling

• Dont worry proton if ur car ‘tak laku’ gov will buy the car thenn convert to office car or police car etc also can like the other model b4…

• darkermarker on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:20 am

come on, Proton. There is NOTHING to talk about about new bumper….Please……

Kedai Abang Sdn Bhd (without support from Govt, grant, etc) in Malayia got more bumpers and bodykits to offer….

Is this all I could expect from you, Proton??

Wonder what is next…..
    Is it more body sticker selection?
    more choice of colour?
    or more rims to choose from??
    different in-car player?

You probably think you have done great, but in the comparison among other makers, you are lagging behind…..

Proton, are you sure you what is global car, as you have mentioned before??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Global car is about complying hundreds of UN regulations, which is iriz had already accomplished. That is global car. It’s about rules and regulation.

Lot of people do not know the meaning of ‘global car’.

• Why the “global” car not sold in EU?

• fanofthisite on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:24 pm

why dont you try selling some products in EU straight away and come back and tell us ;-)

• drMpower on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Because this global car IS going to be sold in europe. It did those tests for it to be eligible to be sold there so dont u worry kiddo this will be sold there

And another thing, speed up the manual 1.6 premium. I personally know hundreds booked the manual. And in my place i saw atleast 10 units already

• Same L0rr on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:27 am

Are you sure? Proton’s engine is not Euro 5 compliant, you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • drMpower on Jan 04, 2015 at 9:24 am

Oh the engine. All know edi about that. Proton sourcing a euro 5/6 compliant engine. Just like other big manufacturers doing so hang on there kiddo ur wish wanting this to be sold in europe will be happening soon

• banshee on Jan 04, 2015 at 9:25 am

CFE / campro turbo is Euro5 ccompliant

• cendol (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:40 am

People always upgrade,
    People always go higher and higher.
    But Proton is other way round, going lower and lower

I suggest Straight away introduce ‘K’ spec, ‘K’ stands for Kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • I thought Vios J was out later than more equipped variants?

• fanofthisite on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:28 pm

exactly and someone i know who bought the top spec Vios screamed murder bout supposed loss in future RV when the TRD spec came out. Wonder what he said when J version came out. Damn , shld have asked him

• Same L0rr on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:33 am

Lies, lies, lies. You’ll know all the variants of the new Vios came out at the same time if you bought it. Stop spreading misinformation if you don’t know. Don’t create story of someone you know bla, bla, bla… Typical supporters, only know how to reka cerita to misled others

• required on Jan 04, 2015 at 9:31 am

Who cares about it comes out later or before, TRD Sportivo has nothing to shout about, only syok sendiri TRD stickers, no performance upgrade / revision

• @required

Penipuan terbongkar no “required” to give explanation? Haha

• Vios J stands for Vios Joke.

• I support.. Can be said as Kangkong version oso..

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:06 am

Hmmmm,this maybe the SV version or the R3 version that’s still on RnD stage.And I want to say something to people who say that the Iriz rarely on the road and some say tak laku.Proton have 17.000 thousands and now more of the Proton Iriz order.Proton just want to fulfill the order and then they will deliver it.Proton say that they will delivery all the Proton Iriz on January 2015.But now also Proton already delivered some of the Proton Iriz about 100.And my sister also just received her Iriz CVT Premium on the 1st January after she sell her Jazz2014 that have so many problem.She’s happy with it!!But with the previous Jazz,regret like hell!!Go Go Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Rowena Proton Fans on Jan 03, 2015 at 3:03 pm

this one i not agree.
      Honda is also a good car,include new Honda Jazz and City.
      why i say good? I also drive new City,and it is excellent.same as new Jazz.
      I know u also support Iriz,but no need to critisize new Jazz,as it also good car.
      if it is myvi or axia,sorry lah cheap tin kosong car only uneducated people will buy those tin kosong car.

• fanofthisite on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:36 pm

the person said the Jazz they owned had problems. Did you go stick your head into their car and find out before proceeding to bash someone for liking their other new purchase? I didnt see he said Honda is bad company making bad products , but that their experience with their model was unfortunate.And then you go insult others over their hard earned money on purchasing practical Peroduas. The tin kosong is in your thinking. Go buy an Accord lah, I hear its a better car than Jazz and City, Mr Almighty educated dimwit.It is a better sign on more educated people perhaps.

• Don’t insult people la by calling people dimwit… Keep the comment clean, use sarcasm instead. :P

• 17,000,000 Iriz.. wow.. where did that number came from.. Axia lose liao…

• Ananz on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:00 am

Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:34 pm
      Hey bro,you rarely see the Iriz on the road now because Proton just want to fulfill their Iriz stocks then they will delivered.Maybe next year all the booking will be settled can receive their car.But now also Proton already delivered some of the car.And my sister just received her Iriz Premium this morning.Her previous car is the Honda Jazz.It got so many problem but I don’t want to mention the problem because I don’t want the Proton Haters go crazy but one problem I can say is it suck too many oil,and always break down.And she’s happy and satisfy with her Iriz than her previous Jazz.Go Go Proton!!
      Iriz the best. When I compare my mother Picanto,my sister Jazz and my father Iriz,Iriz win.Iriz have better power,fuel efficiency,safety,and handling,belongs to Iriz.I have to say that Picanto handling and safety is OK,but the Jazz handling is crap!!Go Go Proton!

All the comments above are posted in the middle of December and he stated his sister got the Iriz premium on the morning of 18th Dec. Now he says his sister got it on the 1st January??? Oh and looks like his father also got an Iriz before his sister. 3 Iriz in the family??

• WAK KEBUK on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:27 am

Proton sepatutnya membuat kereta mengikut kemampuan majoriti Rakyat Malaysia, bukan mengikut kehendak majoriti Pemegang Saham sebab sasaran jualan ialah pada Rakyat. Pemegang saham Proton tidak berminat guna jenama Proton….

• Please harga turun 10ribu ,terlalu mahal la…syiok sendiri,tapi tak syiok rakyat.

• axia tak bagus on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:44 pm

axis kereta paling murah,,sebab tu banyak jual..

harga kereta d malaysia ni mmg mahal gile..

sebab tu kena beli yg murah..axia lh yg murah..

drp 24k utk manual..mmg murah…

kalau iriz juai 24k juga..babai axia..

• Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 11:03 am

Sokong! Iriz kosong RM 24K.

• jacksonljs on Jan 04, 2015 at 4:11 pm

True, axia cost as low as RM24.6k, but in reality (sometimes it hurts), they are most reluctant to sell it to public, especially with tight budget (minimum 6 months to get it delivered after booking). Most of them on the road currently are G variant costing RM29.8k – RM33.2k.

• Jet Lah on Jan 03, 2015 at 3:24 pm

I love Super Veloce variants!!

Salut to DRB HICOM, since taking over Proton, they have been applying their space-age knowledge from their knowhow of assembling VWs and Hondas.

• transformer on Jan 03, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Frankly speaking, many still wait and see Iriz quality…

Most will wait Iriz owner to tell good and bad before put down their hard earn money(high price & longer loan repayment) because too many nightmare from previous ownership of this brand.

• transformer on Jan 03, 2015 at 6:25 pm

not only this brand but i think most will also think thrice before buying a Korean makes too…

On other hand, Japanese reliability makes everyone trust them…

• Heng Lee on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:52 pm

…even if they might get killed by shrapnels from a faulty airbag in case of an accident.

• Low Budget on Jan 04, 2015 at 11:07 am

Think thrice on Korean brand? No need-lah, total sales per year worldwide tell you that no need to think thrice. However, the local agents here are not so good in marketing and supporting the service level on those cars.

• sammy on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:01 pm

In my opinion, this car needs a conventional and reliable automatic gearbox… even a 4 speed one. Cvt is poor in this car.
    Is not a bad looking product the iriz… just make it a reliable one. I am not expecting high tech. . Just a simple, reliable, low maintenance work horse like the good old Nissan Sunny.

• Same L0rr on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:05 am

Yes, just like the “dino” 4 speed auto gearbox that supporters like to bash. It’s more reliable than the “high tech” Punch CVT

• frossonice on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Perhaps now is the time for Proton to go out and sell boatloads of Protons to others countries and then Malaysian will take notice.

• Power on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:55 pm

if protong can change the cronies suppliers, they would have making money already with better pricing..

• Power on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:57 pm

bye bye Iriz..cant even live the hyper for a year…

• asal malaysia aman on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:48 am

tak sampai lagi 1 tahun.. tapi dah muak dah aku tgk iriz kat jalan raya.. sebijik mamam kereta murah china.. dah la gemok semacam.

• pleds on Jan 04, 2015 at 9:38 am

Kau ni mesti peminat Almera, Vios dugong dan yang sehodoh dengannya

Hahahahahahahaa

• asal malaysia aman on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:46 am

wow myvi berlampu exora
    kretif sungguh potong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Any cars can be similar to other cars nowadays

• yohoo on Jan 04, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Audii and bimmers have too similar frontal faces across the range, lagi kreatif

• jimmy on Jan 04, 2015 at 9:59 am

nothing new , same strategy , cheap version and premium version…… do u see 208 or fiesta have cheap version????

• Ong Chee Boon on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Seriously Proton? We do not care what new variant you are testing right now, just speed up your production schedule and deliver the booked Iriz(s)!

I have already seen more than ten Axia on the road already, but not a single Iriz?

We all know Iriz is a good car and it is better than Myvi & Axia, but it is meaningless if the production cannot keep up with the marketing hype. Please do not find excuses Proton, your Iriz is not those limited edition luxury marque (e.g. Maserati, Tesla, Aston Martin) that requires custom-hand-made and deep technical complexities.

From the above post, I can see those who have booked Iriz are being disappointed and tempted to switch to other brands already.

Kia Picanto is one of the model that can replace Iriz totally if Proton keep delaying its delivery.

I have test driven one Kia Picanto before. Very decent for a small car in terms of driving dynamics. Safety features are on par too. If you like small cars, Kia picanto will be a nice alternative to Iriz.

• Albert on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Proton probably sold 115,000 units for 2014.This is even worst than my prediction of 120,000 units at the start of the year.
    Now,a friend of mind is getting very angry cos his Iriz 1.3 is still not delivered after 120 days.
    With a gargantuan production capability of 1.2 million units,Proton is struggling to deliver its” GLOBAL SMALL CAR,GAME CHANGER”..the new Iriz.
    What a shambolic turn of events.Blockbuster Axia (with an order exceeding 60,000units)is flying off the yard in numbers now.
    Tun,how to export if your deliveries are just IMPIAN,not reality?No wonder Proton Australia is selling less than 70 cars monthly.You want to be jaguh dunia?Not even jaguh kampong.It is jaguh kosong!
    Insaf lah,Proton….the writing is on the wall…the shithole is getting deeper.It is really mission impossible.

• Samad Jain on Jan 04, 2015 at 7:21 pm

I saw a Iriz showcar at Kajang Tesco today. Everyone just walked past it and didnt bother to see it. The salesman just busy chitchat drinking coffee and playing his smartphone…

I dont think Iriz is gonna sell.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jan 04, 2015 at 8:03 pm

who would even bother to look at a brand that causes malaysians to suffer higher car price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Botol on Jan 04, 2015 at 11:35 pm

At less than 20% market share i dont think proton is benefiting from the high car price of other makes.. If like old days of 50% market share your comment is valid. UMW group combined market share is around 40+ % so maybe they are the ones enjoying the benefit compared to their competitors. Proton typical bolehland bumi business… Chew the food for them also dont know how to swallow… In the end ask somebody else to swallow for them but they want their stomach to be full

• Lol you stay there for hours or for minutes?
      If for minutes of course maybe noone gets in

• Lol you stay there for hours or for minutes?
      If for minutes of course maybe noone gets in

• yeah right.. blind basher always tell lies..

• protonfan on Jan 04, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Drb.. u must sack the person who decided to produce iriz with the 1.6 NA engine and end up making cvt problem more prominent. Iriz should have the CFE turbo engine from suprima then cvt rubber band effect is less felt because of turbo higher torque and can get to fasfer speed earlier. FC is bad anyway for NA and TURBO so should not be an excuse. The proton engine dept so useless.. just big salary and travel everywhere.. power fail, fuel consption fail, emission fail, transmission fail, smoothness fail, look also fail… saga engine still look better hahahah

• Bangsar guy Zali on Jan 05, 2015 at 8:59 am

I see that most commenters with Member status here are reasonable people who do n’t fly off ranting…
    most member comments are intelligent and considered while guests just go off the rails …

anyway what is so weird about a new bumper, most car companies start work on improvements and facelifts emmediately after a product is launched. Proton bukan Brothers lah, manufacturers do far more testing on simple things like bumper for so many reasons, including legislation and market requirements and weather and materials stability etc

so this could be an SV, which means they are looking forward as most companies offer cheaper variants half way into a model’s life after all the early adopters have taken up their orders and they chase after those who want the car but want a good price..

• Bangsar guy Zali on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:10 am

Anyway, I also think that the Proton Iriz is a decent looking car and it seems most of the reviews have been quite good, apart from the CVT issue

I am looking for a compact car and I think I will drop by a Proton showroom just to see if all you who are so angry with Proton have any real reasons for smashing the Iriz or you are just angry with Proton for some other reasons

• K Dan on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:16 am

so what if it is an SV, a low cost option is always good
    it’s all about choice
    if you like the Axia, go for it
    if you like Iriz, also go for it

To me I think the Iriz is a better looking car than Myvi or Axia, that’s my opinion from just seeing the car

Safety features are great but in Malaysia people still don’t want to pay for safety features so I hope Proton will keep safety features even if they make SV version

it’s so weird to see people making fun of safety features in Proton, even if you don’t like Proton… don’t you wnat to be in a safe car?

Bottom line Proton needs to improve image to sell cars, maybe the cars are better now but the name still makes some people very angry….

• Antifreeze - stay cool on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:24 am

Apehal pun Proton kena ambik hati rakyat Malaysia
    so many years of anger at Proton some real, some political, some whatever

whatever…. it is up to Proton to prove to Malaysians they are competitive and can make good cars at good price

don’t listen too much to the very angry or the very puji puji
    listen to the middle ground because most people live in the middle ground, not extremist

Proton must give people reason to like them back…

Rakyat Malaysia want to be proud of their own, like they are of Air Asia and Petronas….

Proton must be patient and slowly win back people heart, build cars that people want and people want cars that they can afford from people they trust…

Design, features, and styling or everything else important but secondary… kalau tak macamana Toyota boleh number one in the world…bukan cantik bukan laju, bukan sedap bawak tapi….

• Antifreeze - stay cool on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:29 am

Samad Jain – I agree with you… Proton Salesman/woman need big attitude change…. No one wants to buy from tidak apa salesperson

My brother wanted to buy Preve and salesman offered to sell him Honda City instead…. inside Proton showroom… hahaha crazy

• proto-drive on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:16 am

wait for a minute, isn’t that too early to introduce SV variant for Iriz, and i don’t think this is for foreign market either, so in my theory i think they are testing several new automatic transmissions to replace that sh**ty Punch CVT2+ transmission…..

• Iriz is a good car. The CVT problem is exaggerated. Why? Because Malaysian love to complain about proton. Small issue pun nak complain. I own Iriz as my third car and it is great. Even my mom, 64 years old can drive the car easily to kedai. I also see genuine effort for proton to improve their after sales service. I get notification for maintenance, updates and recall. The service center now open on Saturday so I can send the car for maintenance at my convenience. Right now, seriously thinking of trading my old city to a preve but the preve suspension is a bit too sporty for my taste.

• Jet Lah on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Hallo Paultan

I spotted an Iriz with slightly lower tyre pressure! Is this a new variant in the pipeline? Eksaited!!!

• Last week (7days) in Klang Valley, I saw 3 Ferarri, a number of Axia and…. only 1 IRIS….

Proton Iris, it is more exclusive than Ferarri in Malaysia !!

• kreta rosak on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:08 pm

people Wannabe..War of the Words: The Rise of the Keyboard Warrior