Volkswagen Malaysia teases Polo hatch facelift again

We're here at the Volkswagen's Pekan plant ready for the ultimate tour! #volkswagenmalaysia #werkstour #pekanplant

A photo posted by Volkswagen Malaysia (@volkswagenmalaysia) on

Volkswagen Malaysia has teased the facelifted Volkswagen Polo hatchback once again, this time on its @volkswagenmalaysia Instagram account. The teaser image shows a red Polo hatch and a grey Jetta in the Pekan assembly plant. Thanks to reader sudonano for the tip.

The teaser shot we featured yesterday of a Polo hatch bodyshell being assembled featured the facelift tail lamps, but today we get to see the facelift car’s front.

polo-hatch-fl-werkstour-insta

Most of the car is blocked, but the facelift bumper’s new fog lamps can be seen clearly through the gaps. The facelifted bumper design features slimmer fog lamps that are positioned at the upper edges of the bumper in a design very similiar to the B7 Passat currently on sale in Malaysia.

Have a clearer look at the images below showing the difference between fog lamps of the pre-facelift (on the right) and facelifted Polo hatchback (on the left).

Indian-spec Volkswagen Polo facelift

European-spec Volkswagen Polo facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kumar on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:36 pm

i hope those are different rims. the present ones look horrendous.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Hey hey!

I’m pretty curious to see VGM’s move now on the Polo CKD. The Fiesta, Jazz and Kia Rio all have complete safety specs on their top end variants, so I’m really hoping that they also upgrade the safety on this thing.

In terms of driving & handling, while I personally find the Polo 1.6 feeling a bit lazy compared to the 1.2 TSI, it’s pretty comfy and feels somewhat nice, especially as a highway cruiser. And not to mention, unlike the Fiesta’s Powershift, this was much smoother, and had a bit of character compared to the CVT on the Jazz.

• Because 1.6 Polo uses a torque converter auto, not dual clutch (i.e. 1.2TSI, Fiesta).

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Yeah but even then torque converters if tuned right can give quite a good experience. Case in point, the 8HP by ZF in BMW, the Aisin 6 speed in MINIs, and even the Aisin 6 speed in the US market VW Golf TSi 1.8T.

• intermilan on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:59 am

Bro,

Some people don’t even know that you can/should/could/must tune or program automatic gearbox against engine characteristics, power, torque, load etc to achieve the best power & gearbox performance.

And auto g/b tuning/program objectives could be different, from 1 car to another. Some were tuned for smooth silky drive and some were tuned for best performance and response.

For any car with automatic gearbox, gearbox tuning / program can have significant influence on deciding whether the car is ‘good’ or ‘bad’.

• winliaolor on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:15 pm

*yawn* at least myvi can do better facelifts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Just No on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:41 pm

I think in terms of design, even China Car can compete with BMW. But performance, we all know about how well VW is. In addition, most of the problems arise before have been solved by VW. So, no, just no, you cant simply compare VW with local carmakers.

• Jonn Dol on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Exterior-wise, the facelift would not be complete with out the LED DRLs. VW Malaysia must include this item!

• No point teases… a lot of consumers already gave up on VW… pls give a real sale figure this 1st quarter as proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Dee Dee on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:56 am

haha. if u dont like this tease, just turn around and look at the others.. there’s a lot of consumers still loved to vw because they know what is vw.. sale figure doesn’t mean nowadays because of economic situation, i think all manufactures got same problem too.. their sales were dropped

• momoi on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:37 pm

1. Logo = Volkswagen.
    Malaysian laugh at u. Bad Quality Germany cars DSG always fail. Sometime car fails at carpark, sometime car fails at highway. DSG issue is so frustrating and causing so many White Rats Regrets buying this Cheap Germany car which has been selling in Malaysia at Japanese car price range.

#VW = Low Class Germany Car.

2. What kind of dashboard is this?
    Datsun? 1990s Proton Wira?

Where is the prestige?
    Where is the class?

ok.. added with DRB-Hicom Sofa… Comfortable like Germany cars?
    only the suspension is good, best in it’s B-segment Hatchback class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
    • What prestige and what class? VW is memang low class german car (entry class). Is a car for the common folks, that’s why it’s called Volkswagen (folk’s car).

And jap car price range? It is at that range in the global market. You really funneh la momoi.

• Agree with you @Name. Dont simply say something youre not even sure about. Learn some more and come back.

• intermilan on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:07 pm

The pre-facelift Polo, launched in January 2014, is priced at RM89,888 without insurance, road tax etc.

RM5K higher than other Conti direct competitor’s on offer. A letdown as it is bland and poorly equipped too.

Then last month, it was offered for a little less, RM83,916 i.e. RM999 for 7 years, full loan (no d/p and 0% interest). To clear stock obviously.
    Still mightily expensive (for a stock clearance exercise) for a car that raised a lot of hope but ultimately shunned by target buyers. In short, a failure.

The facelift Polo (not new Polo, mind you), will most probably command higher price point.

If so, as with current Polo, there’s nothing to offer against it’s B-segments competitors beside the faux pride of owning a piece of German engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Merc real Euro on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Tease for what…. People are not exactly dying to buy VW these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • True. It’s just a facelift anyway. Not like it’s a brand new model.

• Not very true on Mar 20, 2015 at 3:50 pm

If your kind, i think yes, but every car brand got its own supporters. Even a noob FC like Leicester City got fans. Why bother spend your time here if you hate VW so much? GO find something else to do that would make you some profit. :p

• Lolol on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Whats there to tease when no one wants it. Lol. As with most things they do, shiok sendiri.

• Morris Chong on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:43 pm

I hope the polo can be equipped with ESC,4 airbags, change a new design steering (like the Golf MK7)and a touchscreen radio.

• RAtaWkd on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:52 pm

I hope the facelifted Polo can be equiped with ESC(Electronic stability Control),4 airbags,new steering same as the Golf MK7 and improve the interior quality.

• Tiger on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:26 pm

No wonder the zero downpayment pomotion, to clear stoks…but seriuosly pls fix the damn boring interior really really cip looking wit all those blank buttons its a deal killer

• Johnny on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:18 am

i think if vw want to clear their stock, what’s the point they built up new facelift? why just goand sell the old stock? hahaha everythin came out with high cost mowadays.. if u want more better and good looking, you need to add your price brother..

• wajib on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:00 am

Without TSI engine & 17″ rim European spec, this NA 1.6 engine is a third world car for Asean & India. Better buy Fiesta, Swift or Rio.

• veryfreenow on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:11 am

Vw only like proton with added gadjets and turbo or supercharged engine. There’s nothing to be proud with this german engineering.superior ivtec engine very humble and super reliable.if ivtec put super charger or turbo even audi engine rendered useless.das auto my a**. Germans got to learn from asians how to make cars.

• leekowchai on Mar 20, 2015 at 11:43 am

TSI engine – problematic
    1.6NA – out dated and problematic
    VW quality in Malaysia is like Proton now. It will be hard to change this general perception.

• Brader Bunga on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:59 pm

haha. it looks so weird when comparing vw with proton.. i think vw more better quality than proton because vw got no power window’s problem. haha.. it seems like not in the same range to compare both..

• civicEK on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:03 am

who want to buy this car lah, small yet pricy.

• anonymous on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:15 pm

diamond is small yet still got lots of ppl buy what..
      what do you expect for?
      vw is more technology car compare to other brand
      you pay for more performance mah..