Mazda CX-5 facelift CKD previewed – 2.0 and 2.5 litre, 19-inch wheels on 2.5, identical prices expected

Mazda CX-5 2.5L CKD facelift-1

Bermaz has previewed its upcoming offering, the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the facelifted Mazda CX-5, at the Saujana Golf and Country Club today – the updated version of the popular SUV was previously only available in fully-imported (CBU) 2.5 litre guise.

This is big news indeed, as it means that that the facelifted CX-5 will now be cheaper and offered in both 2.0 litre and 2.5 litre versions, the former in Mid Spec (formerly GL) and High Spec 2WD (4WD discontinued) variants and the latter with either 2WD and 4WD. Bookings are already open, with the cars going on sale as soon as the prices are confirmed.

As such, unfortunately, no official pricing has been given for either models, but a source at Bermaz has said that prices should remain the same as on the pre-facelift models – given that Berjaya Auto CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh has already stated that prices of Mazda vehicles will be retained at the current levels for the time being.

Mazda CX-5 2.5L CKD facelift-2

As such, expect the prices to hold station – the current car is priced at RM129,559 (solid paint) and RM129,952 (metallic paint) for the 2.0 litre GL and RM143,938 (solid) and RM144,338 (metallic) for the 2.0 litre High Spec 2WD.

Moving up, the 2.5 litre 2WD CKD variant is currently priced at RM149,075 with solid paint and RM149,475 with metallic paint. The 2.5 litre 4WD CKD variant is new here – expect it to be much cheaper than the RM175,343 of the imported model. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance.

Both the 2.0 litre and 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engines has been carried over, the former making 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, and the latter producing 184 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm.

Mazda CX-5 2.5L CKD facelift-12

Also retained is the six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission, but it now receives a new, more responsive Sport mode, selectable via a rocker switch on the base of the gear lever. Comfort has also been improved – cabin noise levels at a cruise are said to have been reduced by about 10%, while the seat structures have been redesigned for better comfort and cornering support.

Standard equipment is much the same as before on the 2.0 litre models – the Mid Spec model retains the current GL’s use of automatic projector halogen headlights and bulb-type fog lights and tail lights, as well as 17-inch alloy wheels. Inside, there are fabric manually-adjustable seats, push-button start, the new MZD Connect infotainment system, a six-speaker sound system, a reverse camera and cruise control. Navigation is now available as an option on the base model.

High Spec variants gain new self-levelling adaptive LED headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED fog and tail lights and front parking sensors. Step inside and you’ll find keyless entry, leather upholstery, a power-adjustable driver’s seat and a standard navigation system.

Mazda CX-5 2.5L CKD facelift-25

It’s the 2.5 litre CKD models that bring the biggest difference – you get the same kit as on the 2.0 litre High Spec model, but the big news is that you’ll now gain the bigger 19-inch wheels. If you’re looking for the snazzy new two-tone design that was launched with the facelift, however, you’ll be disappointed, as they are the same silver wheels that were on the pre-facelift 2.5 litre CKD model.

Further inspection reveals more differences, as the 2.5 litre CKD facelift model loses out on both the sunroof and nine-speaker Bose sound system on the CBU models. Safety kit remains the same, however, with all models getting six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and traction control.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Where is Najib's Promise???? on Feb 03, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Let us not get excited about the price because Rm130k is still big money for most Malaysians. In the US, this car is US$20k, a very affordable car. Even your Burger King or McDonald’s worker can buy this car outright with 1 year salary.

In Malaysia, even professionals have to take a loan just to pay a so called cheap car like this and suffer 7 years of payment. Somemore, our GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world. Most people in Malaysia still earning RM1200 and below.

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised us 30% car reduction. This car, by right, should be RM130 – RM39k (30%) = about RM90k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 11
    • Peugeot gip >30k discount. So why no clap hand to Najib?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 73
      • Sam Shazy on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Must buy CX-5 for PDRM, JPJ & Kementerian instead of Toyota Fortuner #2airbags

• No way, this is people’s car, don’t flood all roads with PDRM, JPJ & Kementerian. Old Santa Fe still their best choice.

• Every1canTalk on Feb 04, 2016 at 8:15 am

You though is Jibby asking peugeot to have such discount? lol

• That’s the point. Even without cut in tax car dealer can reduce cost. Profit margin to high. Less buy, low price.

• Gargantia on Feb 04, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Kid go read last year 2015 what that MAI CEO says about Malaysia excise duty taxes and “dealer margin”… then you will disagree with your own foolish idealism !

• George Abdul on Feb 04, 2016 at 9:08 am

Tell ajib cut 75% of excise duty tax and abolish AP system then we talk… 30% discount just a “peanut” for cronies !

• donkey bodoh on Feb 04, 2016 at 9:54 am

This john aka donkeykong aka kzm is getting more and ore stupid by the day

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 03, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Why is car prices either just the same or getting higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. Malaysia is actually a very rich country IF there is no songlapping. Malaysia is far richer than Singapore because we got oil, gas, tin, rubber, gold, bauxite, iron, kelapa, kurpum, copper etc. Singapore has ZERO. Why is Singapore richer than Malaysia? Again, very simple, it is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions. Now he is a free man.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship. In Malaysia, you are rewarded for songlapping.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why car prices are not going down.. Our guardians are more interested in Songlapping than fighting for the rakyat to get lower car prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 7
  • Open Letter to Najib on Feb 03, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Hello Najib, where is your promise to reduce car prices? All sudah naik. Even Proton, you ask us to support also naik. Bermaz maintain but all naik so much.

Besides car prices, why our petrol prices so high at RM1.75? According to global prices, our oil prices should be about 90 sen per litre. Already 30 years we kena screw with super high car prices, now, you want to increase even more?

We are giving the Government free money. Each time I fill up 50 litres for my tank, I am giving RM50 free money to the Government.

Calculate that with about 10 million road users, Government makes RM Billions Per Day untung. Plus from GST collection alone last year, that was over RM100 billion. The tax you collect from our cars alone amount to RM10 billion per annum…..still want to hantam somemore?

You hantam Malaysians with petrol prices, car prices also you hantam Malaysians. Our car prices are 3X the car prices globally. Tiga kali ganda. And yet, our GDP per Capita is one of the lowest in the world. Singapore petrol prices are so much cheaper (despite Singapore not producing oil) to Singaporeans cause Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5X that of Malaysia.
    Why are we paying so much for petrol when we ourselves are an oil producer.

You ask us to tighten our belts and eat kangkung and your RM1 chicken but you spend RM500 million on a brand new jet despite having 4 other jets in your hangar.

How lah Najib? Ask your crony Vincent Tan kasi turun harga sikit lah. Already he untung so much free contract berlambak given to him. Untung billions per annum

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 7
    • Syukurlah kepada BN dan UMNO kerana bagi rakyat kereta yang harga berpatutan. Terimakasih kerajaan yang saya sayangi.

Tetapi, saya cadangkan kerajaan naikkan harga minyak dan harga kereta supaya kerajaan ada lebih duit untuk pembinaan negara dan rakyat.

Semasa ekonomi jatuh macam sekarang, saya rela tolong kerajaan yang saya sayangi!

Syukur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 84
    • nekajis on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Support ISA like Sinapor no SONGLAPPING

• I dont mind losing out the speaker and sunroof and get what a huge different price compare with CBU and he most important is the safety is the same. Good job MAZDA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • THE *

• The advance stuff is the MZD, Electric brake & LED should make buyer happier compare earlier batch.Just waited almost 1 year ago

• stasta on Feb 08, 2016 at 10:57 pm

why this cx-5 lacks safety features which are already available in mazda 3 ?
        1. blind spot monitoring.
        2. self city braking.
        3. auto high beam
        4. cross traffic alert

• CX5 129k or Jamban Camry Rm165k on Feb 03, 2016 at 8:40 pm

With spec like this, who wants to buy jamban Camry or jamban Altis? Mazda offer VSC and 6 airbags. Jamban Altis and Jamban Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. 2 airbags for RM165k?????

Toyota is a good car. But only in overseas. In Malaysia, UMW has been cheating Malaysians with poor safety cars. In overseas, all toyotas come with VSC an about 6 to 10 airbags.
    In Malaysia, because of the fact that UMW is GLC and Government owned, UMW can do anything.

In Malaysia, UMW is known as Al Capone or Mafia. They strip the Toyota to basic level and sell you the Toyota, which, in global standards are highly dangerous.

In Malaysia for example, even top of the range Camry costing now RM165k has only 2 airbags and no VSC. The global Camry, which only cost US$22k, comes with 10 bags, VSC and about 20 other safety features taken out from UMW’s version of Toyota.

Why does UMW do this? Simple. They want to reap more profits at the expense of your life. How can we stop this? We can’t. UMW is the Government. So, as you know, in Malaysia, you cannot complain against the Government

UMW also don’t care if Toyota lose money or kill more lives in Malaysia. Janji their cashcow Perodua brings in the bulk of the cash, they are happy.

Tonight many UMW salesman, including our famous Same Lorrr and Sam Loo are moving to Bermaz to apply for job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • Sammy Loo on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:40 pm

The sales of Vios is already more than Mazda’s entire sales. This is excluding the C-segment leader, the Corolla Altis. Even the sales of Hilux itself is sufficient to be on par with Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • smarttess on Feb 05, 2016 at 2:45 pm

To be fair, you need to also mention how “unsafe” Malaysian equipped Nissan SUVs and pickups are – RM100k to RM175k, and just 2 airbags, so Toyota are not alone in this respect.

• Wondering when are they going to launch Mazda 6 CKD…

• gavin on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:41 pm

19 inches are going to be very expensive to replace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Jimmy on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:13 pm

Where is:
    1. tyre pressure monitoring system
    2. hill start assist
    3. hill descend control.

• even the top spec cx5 lacks features that are already available on mazda 3 , like:
      1. auto braking.
      2. auto high beam.
      3. blind spot monitoring.

• DPCraft on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:57 pm

No Bose 9-speaker :'( thats was one of my favourite thing in this car…

• Safety first on Feb 04, 2016 at 2:21 am

Lets not rant about kimchi blh blh. At a good note, Mazda has not forgotten the safety aspect. Lets just look at Nissan Xtrail for an instance. Even 4wd specs merely come with 2 airbags and nothing more. If you want more have to blow your own baloons.

• kazanixm on Feb 04, 2016 at 8:02 am

This does not make any sense! how come a CKD car can be same price with CBU cars?

Seems like Bermaz is trying to gain more profit. Definitely when they declared the car is CKD, the tax will be lowered as the car is locally assembled (unless the parts is still priced high)

But i still believe the part is not that pricey compared to the tax price they get discounted (or some sort)

• Jimmy on Feb 04, 2016 at 1:01 pm

What are the vehicles classified under EEV in Malaysia?

Are CX-5 and Mazda3 receiving EEV incentives?

If yes, then probably Mr Bijan did something to try to lower vehicle prices. Is it the fault of the greed of those car distributors?

• Out of budget on Feb 06, 2016 at 9:17 am

Saw the pricelist in Mazda promo fb.
    2.0L HS cost 146k, 2k more as compared to pre facelift. Reasonable looking at the upgrade.
    2.5L is 159k, 10k more expensive. Damm!!!