Proton Iriz open for booking in Indonesia – 1.3 Standard only, under RM67k, launching February 18

It’s been nearly two years since the Proton Iriz was tipped to go on sale in Indonesia, but the national B-segment hatchback is finally open for booking in the republic ahead of its launch in a week’s time on February 18, according to Auto Bild Indonesia.

Only one variant will be offered there for now – the base 1.3 Standard powered by a 1.3 litre VVT engine that produces 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, mated to either a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT. It will be priced below Rp 200 juta (RM66,700), and is set to take on the Perodua Myvi (badged as the Daihatsu Sirion there), which retails from Rp 162.5 juta (RM54,200).

Explaining the lack of higher-end 1.6 litre models, regional head of Proton’s ASEAN international sales division Shahidin Sahamid said, “We have looked at the tax scheme in Indonesia, which places a higher tax on vehicles with engines larger than 1.5 litres. So we are launching the 1.3 litre model first.”

Indonesian-spec cars will be pretty much identical to those sold here, coming in with projector headlights, 14-inch wheels, LED tail lights and black door handles and mirror caps. Inside, there are fabric seats and a two-DIN head unit with Bluetooth connectivity. Safety-wise, there are dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and stability control; the latter isn’t available in its competitors there.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz 1.3 Standard MT

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• pengayuhbasikal on Feb 10, 2017 at 11:54 am

boleh survive ker dengan harga RM60K di Indonesia ni ?….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Kunta Kinte on Feb 10, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Home country also fail big time, you think can survive in Indonesia?

Hello, in Indonesia Toyota is so cheap lah. The gomen there not like in Malaysia ketuk the rakyat. Their Kijang is so affordable. It is the Toyota Unser.

Who on earth will buy an Iriz Junk when you can get a Toyota Unser for the same price?

This shows that Iriz is a big failure and Proton plans to dump all in Indonesia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 35
      • silent reader on Feb 10, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Classic example of a serial Proton basher!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Matt farrel on Feb 10, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Actually..the kijang just got really expensive, the base model starts at 280 million rupiah and tops at 450 million rupiah…the best selling car in Indonesia is the Avanza and its Xenia twin alongside the mobilio and ertiga

• Kutuk katak on Feb 10, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Please lead the p1 and our country, we need so so so smart people like you to save us. Pls pls pls you are so so sohai smart

• Pipu who dun wan early afterlife, unlike here?

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 10, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Hello. In Malaysia iriz 1.3 standard is 40k. That is inclusive of 70% customs excise and 6% GST. Which means the car is only around 20k. So CIF price maybe 23k, no import tax under AFTA and only 10% sales tax for hatchbacks. Still want to sell at 66k? Proton is full of bull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Maybe on Feb 18, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Hello, Proton in Malaysia only have 10 tax. Just check their price tag in Langkawi.

• wow they’re bringing the ugly looking variant there?

haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • Kunta Kinte on Feb 10, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Proton is such a failure. Still wasting money opening showrooms in other countries and wasting money.

Like their Singapore showroom. Have to maintain millions per annum, pay the abang abangs expats pay and yet, only sold 1 car the whole year last year.

Proton should be prudent like Geely. Look at Geely. Started in 1998. Proton started in 1985. Before that Geely was just a fridge maker.

Now Geely is so rich, they can even buy Volvo up. Sales are so good.

Proton needs to learn how to run a business.

Hopefully geely injects some brains into Proton and tell them not to waste money marketing their cars in places that it cannot sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • jinggo on Feb 10, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Haiyaa… just play far far with your myvi lor.. if skidded just blame daihatsu for lack of ESC.. LOL

• Bro, i own an Iriz. So I know standard version looks so ugly especially because there’s no spoiler

• Jonn Dol on Feb 10, 2017 at 3:24 pm

Dengan keadaan ekonomi semasa, produk P1 yang tampil dengan harga murah berbanding jenama lain merupakan satu kelebihan. Harganya yang berada dalam ka­tegori mampu milik oleh orang ramai, tanpa perlu bimbang tentang kualiti dan komitmen bayaran bulanan yang tinggi.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2017 at 12:13 pm

It’s good that Proton intends to keep trying in their export markets, but I really hope that the final price of the Iriz 1.3 will be much closer to Rp. 150j than 200j. If possible, under Rp. 150j.

The Iriz will go up against the Sirion/Myvi in Indonesia, and some of the smaller A-segment hatchbacks like the Ayla/Agya/Brio etc. In 2016, Daihatsu/Perodua sold 2,655 Sirion/Myvi units in Indonesia. This is compared to 1,081 in 2015.

Anyway, as always, I wish Proton good luck and all the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Delloid on Feb 10, 2017 at 1:43 pm

So far your Iriz no more power window problem again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Its better if the price is closer to boon/myvi like here, but I guess their local agent there must have some kinda marketing gimmick to price it so. Its unfortunate that P1 export is dictated by the local resellers.

• I think the reason Proton unable to price their cars lower is due to;
    1) Greedy on profit margins
    OR
    2) Unable to source cheaper vendor/supplier due to cronyism

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Bapak Bangkrut Nusantara on Feb 10, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Inferior ruler still comfortably sticks to ancient tax system based on vehicle engine capacity LOL

• Faiz Roslan on Feb 10, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Proton please remember to share with the country you owe big time how many models you sold per model per month per country. No need to be scared. Truth are truth. No need to hide under the carpet. If your junk cars can’t sell say it out loud also. Be proud. No need to cover up by saying things that are not true. That is lying to the country, lying to your people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • At last u dropped ur amateurish reverse psychology act, and play the RBA role u were suppose to be. Bravo.

• Mikey on Feb 10, 2017 at 1:54 pm

And we think P1 is treating M’sian Bad ! At Rp 200 juta, it has already priced itself out compare to Daihatsu Sirion there which retails from Rp 162.5 juta. Wonder what Indon will think ??!!

• samadyassin on Feb 10, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Major failure expected. P1 management should be sacked for approving this. If you cannot compete with the tax structure of Indonesia then just stay away.
    No use going into that overcrowded segment with low yield and hoping for a miracle to happen.
    Indonesians prefer an Exora type vehicle rather than this puny Iriz.
    Guess P1 trying hard to clear the massive over stocked 2015-2016 stock pile at its warehouse plus at outsourced yards.
    All collecting dust & exposed to the rain & shine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 10, 2017 at 3:06 pm

LOL….siapa nak beli?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • too slow too slow on Feb 10, 2017 at 3:54 pm

Launched back in 2014, but took almost 3 years to export to a neighbouring country. We should have our own Iriz facelift after almost 3 years

• Same L0rr on Feb 10, 2017 at 3:57 pm

CamPro vvt cam sale ah? Cvt punch? Aiyooo!

• taknaktoyota on Feb 12, 2017 at 4:17 am

Why not? 4 speeder gearbox and ancient engine sold here for decades

• Amran on Feb 10, 2017 at 4:13 pm

That why Proton need to put 1.3 cfe/turbo to offer the exec & premium model in indonesia.

• Jangkerik!