Proton to use Bosch diesel injection systems

Robert Bosch is in talks with Proton Holdings Bhd on supplying diesel fuel injection systems. Bosch currently supplies Proton with engine mnagement system parts, brakes, brake calipers, ABS systems, actuation systems, wiper washer systems and fuel injection systems. The companies are exploring options to use Bosch’s diesel fuel injection systems if Proton develops diesel-powered vehicles.

A diesel Proton Arena soon? Or a diesel SRM for the diesel+hatch loving European market. Proton used to have 2.0 litre diesel Proton Wiras, and the gearbox used for that car has been sought after by car modders for it’s supposed strength

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• usetodrove mydadswir on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:33 pm

Wow…a diesel car again…cool. i wonder if they gona make it a 4×4 for the engine..

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:45 pm

May i know which generation of Bosch diesel injection systems that Proton going to use? Is it the 3rd generation Common-Rail Direct Injection with Piezo Injector which being used by the latest mercedes, or just 1st or 2nd Generation which only come with solenoid injector? I have a hunch Proton will only take the 1st generation.

If im not mistaken, the 2.0 old diesel engine is not developed by Proton in any way. And it is a very very old tech.

• Yeah it was a mitsubishi diesel, didn't even have a turbo.

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 6:52 pm

Mitsubishi is not known to produced smooth running diesel engine.

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 7:00 pm

Before we think about building a diesel engine, we must first make sure that our diesel fuel supply is of a higher quality with low sulfur. High sulfur diesel is not so suitable for modern diesel engine and in some cases can couse problems with the engine parts such as injector nozzle. This is especially true for the 3rd generation Common-rail Direct Injection with Piezo Injector.

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 7:21 pm

Better buy HONDA new diesel engine and modify the mounting onlylah! It was the Best Diesel engine on earth now, Mistubish'S Diesel engine is only so-so nothing GReat. Again Developing another new Diesel engine will KILL POTONG …..no way to cut down the cost!!!

I think it is only good for POTONG'S research use because POTONG volume is too……….Small…………no ecomonical to do so!! Don't you think so?

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 7:49 pm

SEE FU: "Honda 2.2 i-CTD diesel engine is the best in the world" ? I dont think so.

May i know the best in what?

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:08 pm

Silence!!! like Gasoline Engine with less vibration noise!! Go and check HOndA's new Diesel engine Website lah…….MybOY Dude!!!

If no Honda then WHO ELSE ???

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:15 pm

SEE FU: "Go and check HOndA’s new Diesel engine Website lah…….MybOY Dude!!!"……All manufacturer will tell people that their engine is the best.

I give u one example, Merc latest CDI with 'piezo injector' is even better.

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:31 pm

Myboy arr!!

Honda's Diesel engine had been awarded as Most ECO and Silence Diesel engine…..its not Said by CM from Honda lah KAWAN!!

Also Pls Tell me how can POTONG install or use MERC latest CDI PIEzo InJECTOr engine?? How much?? Who will buy it??? How to fit it in POOTONG car.

Too f**king Dammn sangat really TOTEMO.&%$#$$%%&………not logic KAN!!??

Honda's engine should be reasonable price and size just fit to POTONG cars!!!! Agree ??? Anyway Up to You to agree or not.

YAU MOU GAU….CHORR!!!! Dude!!

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:35 pm

SEE FU: I agree if u say it was a good engine and cost effective. What i dont agree is about "the Honda diesel is the best in the world".

Peace :)

• E-nabill on Nov 21, 2005 at 8:41 pm

definatly thats the way to go , im nt sure if campro has a diesel option , otherwise thy wil source from somebody…bt ya…diesels now are talk of the town specially in Europe..it makes sence to put it in the Arena first..NOT SRM!

• Marmitecrab on Nov 21, 2005 at 9:06 pm

I think it makes more sense to add WHO declared the best engine etc, etc. It's important to know who is the body awarding these titles. For all you know, the award comes from Ah Beng Car and Auto publications and has no credibility whatsoever.

As you know, Japan is a very advanced country in terms of automotive but they are also very homogenous in their awards. Better to use a more impartial organisation/body. Also if our local newspapers award "Best Car/Engine", it is to be taken with a pinch of salt as they may not possess the best skills/equipment to give a credible rating and is most likely just an opinion only.

Example, a lot of publications will say the BMW diesel engines are the best in the world, which I have no doubt about, but then again, benchmarked against who/what/etc.

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 9:12 pm

Marmitecrab: BWM diesel (Solenoid Injector) i the best untill Merc CDI with Piezo Injector arrived. However there is no doubt that the BMW will regain its position once their new diesel arrived.

I agree with ur statement about the award.

• MyBoy on Nov 21, 2005 at 9:15 pm

Please note that BWM do have diesel with Piezo Injector, but right now its limited to certain model only. Wait untill its available to all model.

• SEE FU on Nov 21, 2005 at 10:27 pm

Okay I get your means, I ate back the word BEST DIESEL on EARTH….change to BEST DIESEL engine to use by POTONG. Can arrr??

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! Peaceful :P

• iQbaL on Nov 21, 2005 at 10:36 pm

hey…anyone of you seen the perodua kancil special edition? the ad is out on radio. Paul, can u get us some pictures…

• as far as i know, in euro they use small diesel car with turbo..

the palm oil diesel that was develop not long ago – if i was not mistaken and all of sudden was abondon. Now only came back to be talk about.

• muteki on Nov 21, 2005 at 11:05 pm

bagus la macam tu SEE FU. jangan gaduh2. cheers to everyone !…yamseng.

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 21, 2005 at 11:31 pm

diesal cars are poluutants! Malaysian Diesal is "dirty". It is not as clean as EU diesal. Dirty Diesals has more carbon particles and is one of the factors contributing to asthma

Unless malaysian oil industry changes the formula for diesel, there is no point in buying a diesal car in malaysia. It would spoil your engine….

• HumanSanzz on Nov 22, 2005 at 12:49 am

Anyone knows abt Mercedes E250CDI.It is a diesel also.But this car really underpowered.Wah lau kek sei me lar.how to drive leh????///But to those who really like to floor their car pedals,u can try out this car coz everyday i sure kasi push the pedal kao kao mia.Can train my kicks at the same time.Hehe.Paul do u know anything abt this diesel car.Can i install any turbo to charged up this car as my dad will buy it soon.I dun wanna drive a underpowered car leh.Plz help.

MyBoy do u know anything abt this car????Any concrete suggestion to advise me mar????Coz u sound damn pro in those diesel engine car.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 22, 2005 at 2:00 am

Sound damn pro ar? Not really reassuring.

Dunno abt the Benz's new Piezo or wat. But I read before abt Honda's CTDi..

'The Honda Accord diesel has scored its first award in 2005 – winning the "New Diesel Car of the Year" category in the Fleet Excellence Awards, published in this week’s Fleet Week magazine…… …………This latest accolade follows on from the Accord i-CTDi’s success in the Auto Express New Car Honours and in the Top Gear Awards last year.' – from http://www.carpages.co.uk/honda/honda-accord-25-0…

SEE FU, You might be correct after all. YAU KAU …. CHOR!!

• aksMs on Nov 22, 2005 at 2:32 am

Hehehehe

eRis-Aeir4s: Everyone got the right to fancy any car maker, right? Only people who can't accept other people's opinion will bash one. What's wrong with you bein a Honda fan? Would anyone bash me if I say I'm a "kipas-susah-mati" of Toyota? But save that, I think I might get bash if I say I'm a P1 or P2 fan. LOL!

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 3:16 am

eRis-Aeir4s: I suppose u dont know what its mean by “New Diesel Car of the Year” please think harder about the word 'New'.

Here are the resul of "Best New Engine of 2005". It has a standing by categories, that u can browse for ur self. Here i provide the link for the averall result.

If im not mistaken, the engine with Piezo Injector is not yet available for evaluation at that time.

Overall result:
    http://www.ukintpress.com/engineoftheyear/winners…

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 3:24 am

Honda 2.2-litre Diesel i-CTDi did become the category winner, but thats not enough to make it apear in the overall chart.

Let us wait for the next year award in order to see which Piezo Injector equiped engine will win.

For years to come, Piezo Injector is the way to go. But solenoid injector is not going to die just yet, its still a good choise for budget coutious user.

• MutantTomato on Nov 22, 2005 at 3:33 am

Monkey: You're an idiot! Work over there, but don't know how to spell diesel! DiesAL it seems… Moron! Shaddup Shaddup Shaddup!!! :P

But its true la… Malaysian diesel quality is sucky man! I shudder to think of maintenance costs for a turbodiesel or even a diesel engine, especially the newer, more high tech ones… Oh well, hopefully they will come up with a way to use the palm oil derived diesel our boys have created.

By the by, Monkey's my friend. So thats why I'm flaming him! So please, to the others who think I'm being mean, chiiiiiiiiiiiiilll la homes! :D

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 3:39 am

MutantTomato: Yeah, as i said:

"Before we think about building a diesel engine, we must first make sure that our diesel fuel supply is of a higher quality with low sulfur. High sulfur diesel is not so suitable for modern diesel engine and in some cases can couse problems with the engine parts such as injector nozzle. This is especially true for the 3rd generation Common-rail Direct Injection with Piezo Injector."

• macspeed on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:31 am

one of the fav diesel engine i have read about is the BMW 535d….(35 used to differentiate from 530)

a cool 3.0 inline six twin turbo diesel…..stupendous…..

0 -100 kmh in 6.5 seconds…

35mpg fuel consumption

272 bhp

560NM!!!!!……very very powerful car…250kmh limited max speed

37k pounds…….reli expensive….without tax alredi RM260k

• toolan on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:48 am

hey guys new waja will be available next month. its named proton chancellor.

its 2.0 v6. dont no more. can anybody do some dig up?

• macspeed on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:50 am

i think its a proton waja executive….given a 2.0 v6….the chassis will be very capable for it…

saw in the news too…..sadly the same tired looking design……sooner or later sure got more news

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:59 am

macspeed: It is the best diesel on the chart.

• macspeed on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:35 am

myboy:

yeah i agree….autocar once said, buying that car is more than enough….M5 is not ncecessary to get the same amonunt of power..more specifically torque

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:30 am

well… the best low sulphur diesel that is extracted from our country is sold to foreign country edi la… all left is we buy lousy high sulphur from saudi arabia lah….

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:46 am

MutantToms,

no spell checker lah this thing. I cant operate without spell checker!! English SPM 1119 I kenna a C4 balls. Kan Tee Too (translated as "f*ck spider"). Thats why my Inger-land nots sos goods!

I thought of bringing back a diesel car when i eventually come back to malaysia, but ballacks. Diesel in Malaysia ment for lorrys and the likes. Useless for the newer diesel engine cars.

Perhaps there is a conspiracy by the gah-men to not improve the quality of Malaysian diesels so as not to "eat" into Proton's market share, untill they come up with a diesel engine of their own. Hmmmm……pitty isnt it that every decission made by the gah-men always has some hidden agenda attached to it.

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:05 am

iamamonkeysoareyou:

From what i heard, BMW 530d (2nd Gen Common-rail Direct Injection with Solenoid Injector) working just fine with our diesel. However i do agree with u that our diesel supply is of a lower quality. We need to improve our diesel quality fast.

Anyone can contribute some extra info on BMW 530d in Malaysia?

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:20 am

MyBoy,

All I can say is wait for about 2/3 years and look at the BMW 530d owner's repair/service bill.

No doubt diesels are good, in terms of milage, etc. But are they actually better for the environment cf petrol engines? Someone I know came across a kid whose asthma worsened when he came close to diesel cars. A sign perhaps?

Monkey

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:20 am

iamamonkeysoareyou:

Good idea. We just have to wait and see.

From what i know (more on theory) diesel with high sulfur will give some negative effects to most modern diesel engine.

• malaysia diesel is inferior. Ask any Miri guys and brunei Citizen. THey will tell you that Brunei diesel can give you more milages for the same litre quantity.

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Nov 22, 2005 at 3:04 pm

Yo Monkeyboy,

I know I can just speak to you about this tomorrow morning, but what the heck…

The stigma all these while about diesel being bad for the environment and all were true. But that doesn't mean it's any better to use petrol. Both types of fuel give out bad emissions, but diesel gives a more noticeable product, i.e. thick black smoke. That black smoke is actually highly concentrated unburnt hydrocarbons. The content of petrol emissions is less of unburnt hydrocarbons, but alot more NOx, as petrol combusts at higher temperatures. Yes, the thick and black unburnt hydrocarbons can give a direct effect on respiratory systems, especially towards younger people. But NOx can give other bad effects, especially smog/haze as there is a chemical reaction occuring in the atmosphere bla bla bla… (some scientific crap that I'm sure alot of people wouldn't bother to read). Basically, just because people can see and smell diesel engine's emissions, and can't see petrol engine emissions, doesn't mean petrol engines are better. That is why people are spending shit loads of cash in improving both petrol and diesel engines' emissions.

People always knew that diesel engines give high power outputs compared to petrol engines, especially at lower revvs, (that is why diesel engines use turbochargers, so that the power output at higher revvs can also be huge) The problem they had was from emissions point of view. The technology and knowledge available in producing efficient petrol engines with low emissions has been around for quite some time now. But it is only recently that researchers have found out ways to improve emissions for diesel engines. That is why there is a sudden boom, if you like, about the benefits of diesel engines etc.

Because diesel engines use direct fuel injection and compressed ignition, the use of Computational Fluid Dynamics (which have only been available very recently) have made a big impact for people to understand the flow structure inside the diesel combustion chambers, which affects the efficiency of the combustion process. Now they've understood it, they can design the cylinder heads and pistons to produce optimum flow structures for combustion. Also people have produced better ways of fuel injection, eg. the Piezo Injection (do you guys have any clue what Piezo Injection is and what it does, or are you guys just quoting websites?). In all, they have now produced more efficient diesel engines that is more environmental friendly.

Yes, the quality of the diesel oil available also plays a big part in the engine's operation, but I think it affects reliability issues, more than it affects performance. As in, if you use low quality diesels, your engine needs to be serviced more regularly, your catalytic converter needs to be replaced maybe earlier than the specified period etc.

Monkeyboy, probably the kid you were talking about came close to an old lorry with a f*cked up engine, that is why it affected the kid's breathing badly. New diesel engines, such as the Honda CTDi or Merc CDI, shouldn't have a bad effect to that magnitude.

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Nov 22, 2005 at 3:15 pm

Alamak, panjangnya tulis again….

Sorry guys, got carried away.

Btw,

[Half-Half PBâ„¢] Hatukngkau said,

November 21, 2005 @ 10:30 pm

well… the best low sulphur diesel that is extracted from our country is sold to foreign country edi la… all left is we buy lousy high sulphur from saudi arabia lah….

———————————————————

Is that true? I mean, I though people extract crude oil/petroleum, and after that it would be distilled/processed to become the different oil types, instead of straight away extracting low sulphur diesels. To be honest, I think it USED to make sense to export good quality petroleum, and import inferior quality petroleum. Since there wasn't a huge demand of good quality oil in Malaysia, why not export it to give extra cash for the country. But I think it needs to change already, as people nowadays have more environmental awareness etc. Furthermore, it sickens me to think that any extra cash MIGHT actually go into some corrupt politician's pocket instead of being used for the country's good. I might sound cynical, I am…I've given up trusting Malaysian politicians now, be it the national front, or any opposition party. Monkeyboy, I agree with you, ALMOST all decisions made must have a hidden agenda behind it. Sucks, doesn't it?

• KISIO on Nov 22, 2005 at 3:51 pm

paul… takde cerita pasal new proton "Chancellor" ka?

sorry off topic :-)

• KY drives on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:45 pm

you guys love to write comments longer than paul's article.

• Chancellor is Waja Stretch 2.0 litre with Perdana Engine … that was only 20 unit for Asean Summit.. 2 seater at rear passanger seat

all black colour.. i watch in tv last nite..

• SEE FU on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:15 pm

WAJA CANCELLED..LIOA?? What a unique name!! wah…ha..ha…. :)

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!

• falai on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:46 pm

dude…i caught the SRM doing test drive on video last saturday when i was heading to my cousin's house in Putra Heights at USJ. it was damn cun man!!trying to upload it, but i dun have any space in the net……..

• MutantTomato on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:07 pm

Monkey: Buy some car that has a high resale value here, come back, and after some time, sell the car la! Make some cash man! Whut lerrrrr yewwww?! :P

Heck, the current piston operated engines, diesel or petrol, are inefficient. No matter what modernized parts are put in, thye are still inefficient. So I guess we will have to make do. As for the environment and all that, I share your concerns. But at the same time, I care about the "thickness" of my wallet too… Driving a petrol engine car is causing premature thinning of my wallet! :P At the very least, diesels will keep my wallet plumper for longer.

La, if you really want to get value for money, get a Wankel engine or better yet, wait for the Quasiturbine to come out. That engine is DA BOMB man! Can use spark plugs but the best version is photo-detonation! No spark plug required! The fuel-air mix is compressed until self combustion happens. So, no fuel is wasted e.g. sent out in exhaust gasses.

Its still a new thing but hopefully, we will see it soon…

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:34 pm

MutantTomato,

" if you really want to get value for money, get a Wankel engine". Are u kidding?

"or better yet, wait for the Quasiturbine to come out.". Can u please explain a bit or give some link, im a bit lazy to search the internet. :D

• Marmitecrab on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:40 pm

Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed Junkie ,

You very long winded but fantastic stuff and full of information. Didn't know can learn so much here. I thought this place only for bashing of national cars aka Proton!

Keep up the good work and don't worry about what KY jelly said. I'll still read your posts.

• intermilan on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:27 pm

hi,

can anyone explains the detail of Rexton diesel engine. is it using high tech diesel engine or some old tech engine. sorry, but i tak ingat which model.

my jiran owns one and everytime the rexton is started, the smell is so foul la… i kena tutup all the pintu and tingkap.

• MutantTomato on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:44 pm

MyBoy: Welllllllllll… Wankels have slightly better combustion compared to pistons. But heck, I'm making a comparison between Wankels and older piston engines la… The newer ones will surely outclass Wankels. :D

The Quasiturbine is similar to a Wankel but instead of having 3 chambers, it has 4. Really cool stuff man! Still in development. Check it out at:

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/quasiturbine.htm
    (Go here for a simple but effective explanation)

http://www.quasiturbine.com/
    (Go here for everything you want to know about Quasiturbines)

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:01 pm

MutantTomato,

Is it viable in the near future or is it just the engineers wet dream?

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:06 pm

MutantTomato,

It is a known fact that rotary engine cant match piston engine in term of torque and also efficiency.

But who know, in the future this may change. But i still think that its hard for rotary to match piston in term of torque.

• Driven2020 on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:49 am

Wankel engines are fuel chugglers lah.

• MyBoy on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:28 am

Driven2020,

"Wankel engines are gas guzzler" Thats exactly what im trying to tell him.

But The Quasiturbine Engine is in deferent case. However, The Quasiturbine Engine will take decades just to match our modern piston engine, according to howstuffworks. :D

Here are the quote from howstuffworks:

"The Quasiturbine may not be a competitive engine technology for decades."

• Driven2020 on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:44 am

yalah no doubt wankel engines are high output engines. But it seriously lack of torque but compensated with high rev RPMs.

mileage? it may be 1.3L but the FC is even worse compared to a 4 cylinder 1.3L engine.

Still wankel engines potential have yet to be fully realised. Mazda RX-7 FD first started out with 280ps turbo'd wankel now 250ps on RX-8 NA configuration. The Mazda engineers will have to find ways to lower fuel consumption if they want to introduce wankel to their entire fleet (i forgot where i read that from). For now, drinks petrol like water and for ppl where petrol is like spending candy on a baby..cheap.

quasiturbine looks to be a promising technology but too many moving parts in the watever-u-call-it cylinder. at least the rotor inside the wankel rotary engine is a single piece component. with the quasiturbine's multi hinged "cylinder" expect some fantastic catastrophical failures lol.

tho its an interesting invention but hardly attractive for mass production.

• Spyder on Nov 28, 2005 at 10:37 pm

If they would just give VW what they wanted…

Proton wouldn't have to be talking to Bosch…

• Bob Poon on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:33 am

why is it bad

• Bob Poon on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:33 am

your so mean

• I remember when waja launch, they said will come with 3 engine. 1.6mitsubishi engine, 1.8renault engine. and 1.9 turbo diesel renault engine.

But for so many year haven see waja 1.9turbo diesel.

I think the problem is malaysia diesel car road tax make people didnt think about diesel car. so proton didnt plan to sell this model.

Best diesel engine from japan is isuzu, in the past, honda civic use isuzu engine on europe market.

for europe small car diesel engine should be renault.

• rexis (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 10:38 pm

Wankel engine has a maximum theorical efficiency of 10% while pistons are some 20+% efficient. Wankel engine need to rev high to get power. So tell me, how wankel engine save your petrol?

Quadsiturbine? Listen to them is so fun, especially when they talk about how good the fuel economy this thing will be. But until one working model fitted on a car, dont expect anything yet.

Fuel efficient engine? Try VW eco-racer. At least its more realistic then a quadsiturbine

• Cracker (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:17 pm

Hey All,

My first post here, just wondering if anyone has seen or knows of one

of these Quasiturbine Engines actually working as a Gas Engine. I've seen

the demonstration on Quebec TV, and they ran it with compressed air.