Proton Chancellor 2.0 V6

Proton Chancellor

Proton has announced the availability of the Proton Chancellor beginning 15th December 2005. It will debut during the ASEAN Summit from 12-14 December. What is the Proton Chancellor? It’s basically a Proton Waja chassis with a 2.0 V6 engine from the Mitsubishi Eterna/Proton Perdana.

Proton officials say that the Chancellor had been redeveloped and not merely a stretched model like the Proton Perdana Executive. It has a 2850mm long wheelbase, compared to the Waja wheelbase which is 2600mm.

The Proton Chancellor is expected to be sold at a higher price than the current Proton Perdana and will feature luxurious trim such as DVD players. The Chancellor’s target market are high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mango on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:52 pm

yo….!! who gonna buy the weird design…?? Funny..!!

• MutantTomato on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:56 pm

Yeeeeeeeaaaaaahhhhhh…. I'm so SUUUUUURE high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives will give up their Beemers and Mercs to be driven around in this. Heck, they couldn't even get the Airport Limo people to use Perdanas for their luxury limos!

Nevertheless, we will see what the car looks like. More importantly, what it performs like. Hopefully, it will be good i.e. at least semi luxury classed. I still harbour some hope for Proton…

• Form 5 Student on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:56 pm

it'll look much better with a stylish rim…..

Proton mah…..what do you expect???

• Aris Tee on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:57 pm

cool… how sure are we when they say it's redeveoped? :P

• Marmitecrab on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:59 pm

Just when you thought Proton was moving forward……sigh!

• E-nabill on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:01 pm

wish thy had it as a std waja with perdana v6 n manual gearbox! wd be great! i bet its all leather al around n probably double sound proofed…looks very chunky though….dont mind to be given one! btw paul , is thr any news or rumours abt a new perdana rather than a passat or skoda badged perdana??im surprised that thy didnt start developing one wen thy started the gen2…bcos it gives the highest margin to proton per car sold …

• MyBoy on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:04 pm

Did they said "The Chancellor’s target market are high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives."???

Who wouldve wanted such a bull shit 'redeveloped'. I like Gen 2 better.

• close shop better. Not creative at all.

After all the same old design. What Proton savings money on R & D is it ?

Look at the city & civic (upcoming) with the latest 2006 Accord (upcoming) superb. Hands off to them.

Give up on National cars.

RM 60K+ (better go for used japanese cars)………..reliable & biuld quality excellent.

Very bad design…always dissapointment….what else ?

Think before you invest…the resale value is surely a bom!

• Its luxurious trim includes leather all around, dashboard, seats, door panels, centre consols, parcel shelfs. The works. The engine is derived from perdana.

The grapevine said that the difference from a perdana stretch and this one is that they don't just cut the chassis and weld on the extension, but a complete redevelop chassis. So we, might espect a complete package of good handling. Anyway, this is not the first waja to receive this treatment. Check out a report done by Mel Lee in Car.My Mag last year. A waja done for the Former PM and the car later on used by the former CEO of proton. It is about the same.

Anyway, the grapevine also says most of the trim inside are done by a completely different vendors than the normal ones. so see how lar.

IMHO, I want one. Very spacious in the back. Oh yeah, I think theres a docking station for a notebook at the back of both front seats.

my 3 cents worth.

• on-and-off on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:08 pm

hi,

i am thinking of getting a perdana. i saw from an article 96-98 perdana is a good buy, i mean if the condition is ok. is it true? cos of the engine/trans? if i buy a 2-3 year old perdana , is it a good buy? or i should buy a new one, or mebe not buy perdana at all? but so far my frens driving perdana say it's ok, can someone comment on the engine, trans, the car itself, spare parts and reliability?

thanks thanks yah!!

• is that mean that proton won't come up with perdana replacement model for another few years from now?

• narrowband on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:13 pm

High ranking officials? Got bullet-proof glass and independent in-car oxygen supply anot?

"Redeveloped"?

How so? Added DVD players? Anyway, what DVDs are the ASEAN Summit delegates gonna watch? (Or 'high-ranking' officials).

It's the same old design. Instead of calling it Proton Waja Executive, they simply named it Chancellor, simply because it's a different engine? Oh well.

Malaysia is a damn good advocate to spearhead recycling campaigns.

Kitar lah semula, amalan mulia…

• nuggyn on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:16 pm

**YAWNNNN!!

• Before buying a perdana….pls make sure of your choice. I have owned a perdana. The maintanence is expensive. To be honest the reliability is ok. I would give a 6/10. The transmission fails if you push the car very hard all the time. But for the value of money it's the best. Better off buying a new one. You will encounter less problem. But always problems arises as the the car reaches 4 yrs old.

Power…no regrets…you can even take on the latest accord without much problem….though you have only 4 speed auto.

The car looks stylish and to be honest again be careful as the age catches up. It will give problem with the transmission & engine.

Unless you're the lucky one.

Good luck …..

• maestro on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:29 pm

WTF…. its really shocking to see them calling a stretched waja a proton chancellor… its more like Proton Wajaaaed.. and its more shocking to think that proton wants to price it higher than the perdana….

now WTF?… did the replacement of Tengku 'Leel done in vain… this bunch of new executives haven't got crap for taste…

the chancellor is crap – and they were doing so well with the Savvy… AMT… i saw the news last night on chancellor.. and i though it was a black waja …..

that does it – the new board of directors and top managemen in Proton – has got to go…. no doubts about it..

Shareholders of proton should demand it… this is the preview of whats to come – the demise of proton due to bad tastes…

• Chief on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:39 pm

proton will do better if the concentrate and come out with good performance car rather than 'stretched' limo.

• 4g lovers on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:43 pm

korang sume ni mcm bagos je eikkk…!

• waimak on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:44 pm

Anybody has got the pics of this so called "cancellor"? Pls post them here.

• SEE FU on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:46 pm

I think the first customer of this waja Cancelled..lah is PM. Next, All the MP need to buy from POTONG to support KERETA BUATAN MALAYSIA. No MB, BMW …….will be allowed to use by MB soon. I think POTONG will hit the target sales if the G enforce the new LAWs!!!

To other companies boss, it is not forcing to buy from POTONG BUT if you do the G will give you more projects and if not the G will KAKACAUCAU you too. I think only in this way the Waja Cancelledlah will be sold like HOT KARIBAU soon.

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!!

• Marmitecrab on Nov 22, 2005 at 6:46 pm

A nice name wasted on a stupid car.

• They should name it NonSeller cos I cant see which high-ranking govt official (or any sane human being) would ever want to be caught dead in that ugly piece of junk they term an executive sedan.

• proton should expand their product lines by giving us more new quality products and not expanding the existing car body and call it a new product!!! what a waste after 20 years effort and million of buyers that have supported proton…

• uh, enjin still pkai perdana nyer. ni yang buat this car nih kene selar, bkn chancellor.

• iguanaa on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:07 pm

….what the f@@k is wrong the ppl at P1??!!…do they have a market research dept??!!….P1's days are numbered…sad…20 years of hard work down the drain…

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:17 pm

cannot judge by only ONE PIC ..

need to see more.. front, top, rear etc.. and the interior too..

no AMT version ah?.

Waja at the first launchin time = everyone said it's so farking ugly too.. but then.. when some people did modification .. more people say that waja is nice.. and look god damn big and spacios! .. WTH ..

every perception gonna be changed by the time..

Jaguar S-TYPE oso ugly look for me.. but not every people think it's ugly..

Nevermind.. let see later..

Paul = Do Kanselor oso had : Handling By Lotus? :D (it's a worthy tagline btw.. )

• Silver Waja on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:21 pm

This company is dead I presume.. cant design anymore go redeveloped… why not go for 'Evolution'? Maybe some1 shd sue proton for its 'daring to change'. Change wht I really doubt… Change in facelift, roll out another batch of P.Saga Special edition1,2,3…etc? Yalor still consider change huh?/

• my_YARIS on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:30 pm

The Chancellor’s target market are high-ranking Government officers=Lance Corporal ranking & downline?, corporate heads=kedai runcit Ah Beng owner type? and senior executives=PN4 & P17 executives?

• how come proton ppl got no brains ar??

how can they waste a good name on the same car wit juz a bit strecth this is totally brainless.

if they really intended to make luxury cars y not make a new design instead of givin a new name wit old stupid ugly model…..=.=

haiz proton really canot improve

• mangkuk on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:50 pm

It suck big time, dont looks good and it will be forever proton no matter how you do it. spare parts will give ways 2 months or maybe 3 ,

you wanna export 100 000 car per year?? at what price? at the expenses of malaysian? we pay more so that you guys in proton can subsidize those export market????????//

• SkYwAlKeR on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:51 pm

add a DVD player then consider luxurious???… alamak…

• infinity on Nov 22, 2005 at 7:58 pm

aiya…the proton website tak boleh pakai la…nth bout this chancellor also..not even bout savvy AMT..dunno la who is the webmaster…maybe tengku…kena pecat..no more webmaster…hehehehh

• stupid p1, expensive than perdana…. waja look alike… you think all higher level people are stupid & dunno how to differentiate… chg waja engine to this V6 engine then facelift abit then selling at 70k… guarantee… hot cakes…. i sure support.!!

• DeCosby on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:11 pm

proved ploton went into wrong track again… I read many blogs here seems like this mitsu_galant_2k, de diehard fan of ploton.. keep up supporting no matter how many bashing p1. Good job..

• Wilfred on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:15 pm

wat can see….an extended waja…..

should check properly in JPJ/Puspakom….

may b proton giv u kereta pasang….. :D

• narrowband on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:59 pm

another kereta potong ;p

• Handsfree on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:02 pm

well well… is a good move… slowly widen the gap between all sibling.. as currently all stuck at 1.3 to 1.6…. infact, proton need to place 1 or 2 model in different catagories…… Perdana.. should sit in 3.0 … to give away from waja (is a nice car to drice..) to growth…

good job…

• 'Kereta Potong la Wilfred'.

Anyway, if this chancellor fail to attract higher level people, the last resort is to make this car for Government higher officer official car. At the moment they use Perdana V6, and maybe Waja Chancellor can be added as official car for govt. dept. At least Government can buy it without paying a single cents of taxes.

Let see if Waja Chancellor can be associated with the same premium feel of Perdana V6.

• Viewer on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:15 pm

"The Chancellor’s target market are high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives."

Yeah rite. They are not that stupid to buy it.

How about low-ranking government officers, corporate office boys & junior clerks?

A streched Savvy?

These group of ignored people shouldnt left behind to enjoy a bit luxury and bling-bling lifestyle.

• bmanja on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:29 pm

Actually guys…..it is a brilliant design if it is use for tukun tiruan…..

• SEE FU on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:32 pm

Aiyoyo KAWAN, POTONG is poor now, Sekarang Manyak Miskin you know, where got money to make new models.

Modify Waja structure is the cheaper way to do lah!! Also, the easy way!!! Don't Just TEMPAK lah focus your target please!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Who ask you to buy it? It is special edition for The G!! :P

• michly on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:52 pm

IT STILL WAJA ONLY. POTONG always POTONG.

• Orgasmatron on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:54 pm

Hmmm, wonder what the much publisized Proton R&D and R3 are doing? Its a Waja with a longer chassis!

Another con-job by Proton!

• Vanquish on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:55 pm

Sigh……another monstrosity on our roads.

• infinity on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:06 pm

proton shouldn't put anything above its perdana la..perdana should be the top..then only can keep the majestic touch of perdana..i agree tat this chansellor should be named proton waja executive…

• FiveElements on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:06 pm

STUPID!!! DARN STUPID!!! I really can imagine who's idea is it to produce this model.

100x more stupid to price it more than the Perdana version.

I think the high rank government officer would rather catch a bus rather than buying this car.

STUPID….really stupid….should change name from PROTON to POTONG and now BODON

• if i'm not mistaken.. i already saw this car used by tan sri azmi (EON Head). few month ago.. i went to drb-hicom hq at glemaries and saw this car..

• I'm interesed in fit my myi with aftermarket body kit, do you have any idea where to get them or do contact me at 019-2535970

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:30 pm

Another example of how insensitive Proton is towards our average Malaysian…

they dont even care to develop or produce cars that we, their biggest source of possible income, want, but rather to kiss the butt of ppl who are used to drive BMWs, Mercs, Volvos and other luxury brands and wouldnt even care to take a look at Proton's butt, let alone drive in one…

another launch of a car which is doomed to fail… joining the ranks of Arena and Juara…

• Sekot on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:36 pm

This model is developed under Mahaleel regime. It should come out somewhere in September last year, but due to certain 'reasons' it was delayed (Its a premature car then, and suddenly they realised that the car chassis need a major modification if they need to mass pro the car after some CAE analysis discover that it torsional strength koyak). After some extensive regime change this year, this car is almost ready. So the new mgmt decide "since we already completed the car, just launch it la… no point simpan pon.. Platform C bukan ada product pon.." so dont blame the new mgmt.. it takes them 2 yrs + to mass pro this car. Few of them are already being used by our PM, some of the other 3rd world country leader and 'you know who'.. and this stupid project cost Proton more money (But still cannot beat that crossover vehicle…. ) But engineering point of view it is a success (just like arena, good knowledge reap from the project, not rip-off) but comercially this project is in doubt………

• fariq on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:37 pm

i dont really understand what protons motives are for introducing this car. I am not convinced that it will do anything good for proton, but i will wait until i see the car to actually comment on it

• andrewhtf on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:38 pm

heheh…

always compplaint that becoz we rakyat didnt support Proton, so they cant

achieve economies of scales… but look, what kind of crap are they

producing now? for a very small market segment!!! no wonder their launch

always fail to reach sufficient sales…

plus… for the rich, who cares about this chancellor… they'd get a

merc, bmw, volvo or other foreign luxury cars instead… who'd want to

risk their life in a Proton if they can buy better car? i guess the only

ppl who'd buy this car are the ppl who couldn't afford foreign luxury but

yet wana show off…

well, the only way to be successful in their "target market" for this car

is suggested below:-

corporate leaders – sorry they'd definitely ignore this car, abandon this

target buyers

Gov. dept heads and MPs – abolish their special entitlement of APs and

make it a rule for them to use this car no matter official or not…

the rest ppl who can afford it – not many "water fish" will be stupid

enough to buy it… no matter what luxury items u include into ur car…

they'd rather buy a Perdana v6 considering u're charging higher price for

the same engine… and knowing the premium price they paid goes to

those "accessories"…

• Viewer on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:41 pm

Proton should stop producing stupid product.

• repsol on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:48 pm

way to go potong, two thumbs up, good job, well done, :D

• eMalaysian on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:48 pm

"…The Chancellor’s target market are high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives…"

How many corporate heads and senior execs want to buy a proton? Most corporate heads go for Merc and bmw and volvo. Most senior execs won't drive cars bigger than their heads, so they go for city/accord/altis/etc.

Govt officers I don't know lah. If the PM drive perdana then the other will have to go or wira/iswara/savvy.

• Del Piero on Nov 22, 2005 at 10:59 pm

Proton seems to be a nightmare to almost everyone here…. I do admit that after 20 years, proton's accomplishment is far behind if compared to others such as korean. I just wanna share with u abt my proton satri 1.3. I bought it in 1998 just after graduate and used it as my daily transportation to office. I travelled est 150km per day. Now after 7 years…. the condition is still good. This car never got me headache. I never even have to repaint and do overhaul. Im not good at the car engine that is why my satria never ever been modified or make-up.

3 year ago my wife bought a Honda (Mpv)… Just after the warranty is over the car gave us trouble. The part are also expensive.

Now Im considering to trade in my satria to a Perdana. But I m deep in a delema when I read all the post here. Should I buy Perdana or not?.

• shahril on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:13 pm

1st i thought proton was stupid…then i got angry at them…now i think they are just a bunch of worthless people making a worthless car, that is worthless to think about !!!…even 1milisecond of ur time…hopelesssssssssssssssssssss!!!

• biggie on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:13 pm

Proton has been looking for Perdana replacement for a while. I think this is a stop gap one as Perdana is very long in the tooth already. Now all govt. heads must only use Perdana for official car so this is a direct replacement. BMW/Merc. is personal one. So how many govt dept head in this country…with 76 minister there are thousands of them.

Curently the dept. are looking for Perdana replacement (buy 1995 – when directive took effect).. so this car come at the right time.

• yhtan on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:25 pm

Proton management mess up everything(especially TM),

dun always keep on launch new models,keep on upgrade the current model…

redesign all the models,then kick out which some model which low demand,

improving quality,concern about customer feedback………bla bla bla

grab back the m'sia market at first,now even p2 market is better than p1.

correct me if i'm wrong

• wiraone on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:26 pm

Err.. what a design (may I say .. uh.. glee) .. guess people will stick with Perdana if they've no choice and need a better car that Proton has to offer.

• noisy tin on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:36 pm

Why Proton men have to keep reminding us they don't belong in car manufacturing industries?

• aksMs on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:41 pm

Eh I'm so confuse la. Why Proton didn't bother to make a facelif on Waja? It's an old car for GOD SAKE!! If given a facelift it would make a little difference at least. Like the new Honda City.

Doesn't matter what they wanna call it, re-develop ka, new feature ka, but PLEASE pretty PLEASE give it a new look. A FRESHER look. And I don't wanna hear about the cost of developing a new mould crap! Fark it! If you wants to improve, you just improve! Haiyya! Marketing people! Pegi balik sekolah la!

• ottoman on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:45 pm

this will be the "bye-bye" car before VW takeover Proton.

btw,im sure after this the Gomen will replace all JUSA Perdana with this new Cancellok, be'coz one of my auntie just received her JUSA Perdana(one one,not Alfadana) & she told me that she will received new car in 2months.

so,after this Proton sales up again!!! another "sandiwara" drama.

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:50 pm

whats the deal with the "executive" rear seats with more leg room? Reminisence (NO SPELL CHECKER) of the Saga executive…..hmmmm

more room at the back for "some lovin??"

Quality is paramount. We'll have to wait and see how they would deal with the quality of an "exec" car. Cant have the windows not worh eh?

Taste of the pudding is in the eating!

monkey

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 22, 2005 at 11:58 pm

Plain stupid ok?

The Waja was never , NEVER a classy design. Some people said the Accord wasn't the choice of Senior Exec's because it don't have the 'Boss' look. What about this?

It's what people would call, RUBBISH. And don't argue about the interior, the exterior is already a killer. You'll get a heart attack when you see it. Oh my god, what a stupid move, 'Extend' a car? Tell me any other car manufacturer that frequently does facelifts and 'extensions' for their cars?

Proton, scrap the idea and concentrate on 1.6's. You're doomed.

• Driven2020 on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:29 am

Actually I wouldn't mind getting the waja v6, minus the stretched body..lol~

I'm sure waja modifiers out there would like that haha

• Driven2020 on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:32 am

By the way, I don't think there will be a replacement model for perdana. If the perdana was based on eterna, what car will p1 based on for the new perdana replacement? mind tho no more ties with mitsubishi anymore haha let's predict and see what happens..

• Marmitecrab on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:03 am

Del Piero,

After reading all this, you still need to ask? No, seriously. You still need to ask?

• waimak on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:13 am

I think, on average, malaysians prefer 'sporty-looking' cars rather than classy and pure performance (no doubt these 2 factors also influence buying decision). Give Mr. A a kancil, he'll modify, change the colour/ rims, put a spoiler and make it looks better. Give him a Datsun, he'll make this car looks even better. BUT to extend the Waja???, Proton must be joking!

No point of telling people that this car has got everything from a CD player, safety features, bla-bla-bla and what not, when you only just extend a car! Any Pak Mat workshop can do this..

First the Savvy, now the "cancel lor". What's goin on in R&D and Design Div of proton???

• see fat on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:23 am

this car must be in the running for the "most dumbest marketing autumotive award" of 2005…a potong that is MORE EXPENSIVE THAN A PERDANA? with old body structure? at a price of a honda accord or toyota camry? Hahahahahahahahah these bloody potong people is ruining potong, much like some small kids who dont know anything but want to play and experiment, AT THE EXPENSE OF THE RAKYAT's money…this will ne another malaysia boleh mega project that is ging down, wasting billions of taxpayers money just to boast soembody's ego and make a few cornies filthy rich

• Del Piero on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:25 am

Cancel lor …… hehehe sound very funny.. Ten sen lor

• xweird on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:32 am

very important questions:

1) does it come with SRS airbags?

2) does it come with side impact protection?

3) does it come with whiplash protection?

4) does it come with GCON-type passenger protection technology?

5) does it meet EURO-NCAP safety regulations?

6) does it come with ABS?

7) does it come with EBD?

—> if NOT how to classify as LUXURY car??????

• mud_chains on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:37 am

Hehe… i tot the 'chichislor' is the nu model.. it surprised me when i see that car was a Wadja… pity on plotong… old model, with nu management, how come? Try to fool the people again..huhu..nice try.

• aksMs on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:44 am

I still think Proton should come out with a totally brand new model for the Chancellor. If it is a new long wheel base platform, why don't they develop a whole new design instead of recycling the old Waja bodyshell? Is this the same platform that they make the prototype MPV on?

If they wanna replace Perdana they should've come out with totally new design like Gen2 and Savvy. A Waja? (Tepuk dahi!)

Waja aka Chancellor? Aiyyoh….this is really ridiculous.

• ferarri on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:44 am

The chancellor should be called waaja exec. Chancellor may sound stylish in English but in mandarin it sound like "Chan Died already" or in Cantonese sounds like "cham sei loh" – died tragically. Not a good name for a car, IMHO.

• aksMs on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:50 am

I don't know about this but I have this feelings that some people 'inside' Proton are trying to tarnish Proton records and Tun Mahathir's as a whole. They know this is suicidal but as long as they get more people to bash on Proton and Tun, they'll feel much better.

Too much political affair at stake. I'm suicidal now. Heh! Peace.

• Selvenz on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:54 am

Proton will never respect us malaysians….!!!!!!!!!!

Look at the crap they just gave us……….

Cmon…………..

They shoud just shut down and redo this national car policy!!!!!!!

HAVE RESPECT FOR US MALAYSIANS!!!!!!!!!!!!

or close down

• its me on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:05 am

yes! yes! yes! this is good.Now all We got to do is wait for a blow up Savvy and then they can put in the 1.3 campro.amcam?

• sodifhas on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:09 am

nice.

> re-developed.

> dvd player

and? dare to change? heh…

how long more are we going to suffer?

when the brand is 5 years old, complaints, takpe, still new, give chance.

when 10 years old, complaints, takpe, relatively new, give chance.

when 15 years old, complaints, takpe?, new?, give chance la… takpe la…

now 20 years old, more complaints, still give chance? still got hope?

Pity those gomen evecutives, have to giveup imported executive cars for this…

• Unacceptable price tag!

Sure no one would be that stupid to get this kind of car, except forced by some parties…

• gegaoff on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:16 am

eh… interesting move… but for govt? y can't POTONG try to lower the price to target bigger market for local consumer like us?

how many car can govt's purchase? what the hell they thinking?

the car may be great, but POTONG business concept is weird somehow… sigh…

change a bit ma…

cheers…

• Initial D on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:17 am

er……..remind everyone who is going 2 write after me, call them to refer to this post of mine. Ok, so here goes, I had read abt many critics abt proton. I have one idea, y dun someone write some harsh words abt proton n publish it in newspaper or send email straight to Proton(2nd choice). Coz complaining abt proton here won't change anything i suppose.

How is the idea?

• What a joke…that car sure look luxurious…..

I think what proton should do is…come out with a few designs n open to public to vote for it, since they are too stupid to choose a good design.

That way…even if all designs look like sh*t, at least the public as a whole can make sure it's a better looking piece of shi*t than what they'll choose eventually.

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:30 am

I've got to agree with most of the comments, overall not impressed with thi 'new' car etc…

But if this is true,

Sekot said,

November 22, 2005 @ 2:36 pm

This model is developed under Mahaleel regime. It should come out somewhere in September last year, but due to certain ‘reasons’ it was delayed (Its a premature car then, and suddenly they realised that the car chassis need a major modification if they need to mass pro the car after some CAE analysis discover that it torsional strength koyak). After some extensive regime change this year, this car is almost ready. So the new mgmt decide “since we already completed the car, just launch it la… no point simpan pon.. Platform C bukan ada product pon..” so dont blame the new mgmt.. it takes them 2 yrs + to mass pro this car. Few of them are already being used by our PM, some of the other 3rd world country leader and ‘you know who’.. and this stupid project cost Proton more money (But still cannot beat that crossover vehicle…. ) But engineering point of view it is a success (just like arena, good knowledge reap from the project, not rip-off) but comercially this project is in doubt………

————————————————————–

then I guess it does make sense to launch the car since it's already there…might as well make some money out of it. But I have to say, the downside is that people would hate Proton even more! heheh

Why didn't they come out with a normal Waja with the V6 engine…should be more impressive and more people would buy it…it definitely won't harm Proton's credibility.

• Initial D on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:35 am

is my post above too harsh? if so, sorry ah everyone!

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:39 am

Initial D said,

November 22, 2005 @ 6:17 pm

er……..remind everyone who is going 2 write after me, call them to refer to this post of mine. Ok, so here goes, I had read abt many critics abt proton. I have one idea, y dun someone write some harsh words abt proton n publish it in newspaper or send email straight to Proton(2nd choice). Coz complaining abt proton here won’t change anything i suppose.

How is the idea?

————————————————————–

You can write all you want to the editors, but at the end of the day if any politician says don't publish it, then it won't get published. No transparency man in Malaysia. I think it would be better to comment in sites like this. I have a sneaky feeling that the Proton mgmt are aware of this site and others like this one, and probably one or two of them are actually monitoring the comments hehe I really hope they do, it shows how people actually think about Proton. But that also shows how important it is for the commentors to not talk from their arses, and give comments based on facts and with an open mind.Then, if the mgmt of Proton are monitoring these sites, they can't argue with what the people think, because it's based on facts, and not speculation and assumptions. That's what I think anyway.

• The Waja v6 kinda reminds me of the stretched Saga that sometimes on rare occasions we will see on the roads. Perhaps the stretched Waja will share the same fate as the stretched Saga … will history repeats itself again?

• Baja Potong on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:08 am

Chancellor? tiuuu lidat better Cancel lor

• Prometheus on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:14 am

firstly.. WTF is with all the perverted Bahasa Malaysia i am seeing nowadays? Are these people too shy or too damn low IQ to use the proper Malaysian Language? Buggers, better IMPROVE with life and type a proper language.. I cannot bloody understand a shit of what these bloody bahasa pasar shit is!! Bloody memalukan the Malaysian Language only.. Stupid FUCKS!

about the car:

Why is proton doing this? Is it necessary to have a stretched waja? Maybeonly for a small market… isn't the perdana good enough and fulfills the same duty as the the chancellor? Haiya.. the r&d spent on this car may have been unnecessary.

• yusmady on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:22 am

myvi much more better hahaha

• @ bong on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:23 am

i think the G should read this blog. or maybe proton people. then only they will know what THE RAKYAT want and NOT what the f**k they themselves WANT. proton chancellor…..what a bad taste. nothing to be proud off………….unless it is cheap la.

• Sekot on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:24 am

zongtwi, of course you know its true.. org lotus tak tgk pon GXS nih.. boss tukar baper kali.. but for me, erk… cannot sell, product planning pon tau, what to do.. boss suruh maa.. baper ramai berhenti..tukar direction lagi… aiyooo.. low volume tuh, tapi at least kerja yang dah siap keluar je la, buat habuk je kat prototype tuh.. takkan nak jadi PVM lagi..

• @ bong on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:26 am

the more you stretched the car, the easier it is going to break…

i wonder they did all the testing impact and recalculated it or not…. the car seriously need to be strengthen on the chassis……else..haih

• teevee on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:23 am

Confirmed. Proton has the worst marketing and business/financial planning dept. For Proton to survive they need to have a mass market car. Targeting niche market is not going to help. Doesnt the marketing dept know this? Didnt the financial planning dept do any simulation to determine demand, profit over cost analysis etc before they launch a new car? If they indeed have the slightest idea, then what are they doing about it? Are the top management ignoring these facts? Somebody, pls take the Proton Juara/Jumback/Cancel lor and run over them. Pls.

• giganet on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:37 am

the name changgih… but actually only a stretched Waja, which is a midsize sedan. not a highend car. some more, the interior better quality than normal Protons. price also dun dare to say. so much for supporting national cars.

Sure they will use for airport Limo after this la.

• see fat on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:13 am

werid, no, they dont come with all those latest technologies..but they do come with:

ASS (Another Senseless Shit)

SHIT (SoHaI Technology)

• see fat on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:15 am

stretch the wheelbase and "voila!!" a new car/name? thisd is bullshit…just like potong saga chg to potong iswara but same car with minor facelift…this is going to be a massive failure

• Malaysia Sucks on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:36 am

This is proton's trends. reuse the old models and giving new names. that's why there will nvr be improvement and at the same itme asking for government to support them so that they won't beg at the street for rice one day if proton bankrupt becoz of lack of competancy. Really wish see proton bankrupt or taken over by anyone but not Malay or the F**king useless Malaysia government

• more expensive than perdana ….. means this car wanna be priced to compete against the new Camry , Accord and Cefiro kah ?

Goverment Top ranking ppl so "PANDAI"'ka ? willing to spend so "LITTLE" moeny to buy such a "GOOD" car ??

• futurist on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:45 am

for me , haha . just another "high classer" proton .

yupp , that's all .

• terenceloh on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:55 am

Guess what? I 'test driven' it when I was at their paint shop last week. My brother's Waja was transplanted with a 2.0 V6 from the FTO. It feels smoother though, prolly because of the tiptronic.

It all started with a change of alloys to 16 inches. It was 'underpowered' to move the wheels. Then the whole transplant cost him about 13k. Up to today, we still joke about his 13k alloys.

• Pentan Sakua.... on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:31 am

PI MAI PI MAI TANG TU JUGA….

KAMJAT SIRU MANGKUK HAYUN

• Jason Statham on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:38 am

heh….canggih than my audi in THE TRANSPORTER 2 ???

then i decided to use it in my THE TRANSPORTER 3 movie….heheheh….

• PLEASE DON'T CRITICISE TOO MUCH! THIS CAR WAS NOT MEANT FOR ALL OF YOU COMMENTING HERE. IT WAS MADE FOR THE GOVERNMENT OFFICERS. FOR ALL WE KNOW THEY MAY LIKE IT (OR ELSE THEY WILL BE FORCED TO BUY IT). SO EITHER WAY PROTON WINS.

• terenceloh: doesn't the FTO V6 have MIVEC? around 200hp right? i doubt this one has MIVEC. should be the 150hp one.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:44 am

xweird said,

November 22, 2005 @ 5:32 pm

very important questions:

1) does it come with SRS airbags?

2) does it come with side impact protection?

3) does it come with whiplash protection?

4) does it come with GCON-type passenger protection technology?

5) does it meet EURO-NCAP safety regulations?

6) does it come with ABS?

7) does it come with EBD?

—> if NOT how to classify as LUXURY car??????

=============================================

that's the Perdana my man!!! u're right on spot!!!

• oh my god on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:45 am

heeeeeeeeeeeeeheeeeeeeeeeeeeeheeeeeeeeeeee

the proton first car (saga) had the stretch version too…..

nowadays all dissapear already….. do all being as the antik ride for high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives ??

yeah…. good choice…..

• Jason Statham on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:50 am

i'm not the goverment officer so cannot own this car for my THE TRANSPORTER 3 movie already…. pity me…..

• Sotong on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:56 am

Q: Where in the world do people proudly call a compact car (like Wira) a limousine?

A: In the same country where people stretch another old compact car (like Waja) by a few cm and call it a brand new luxury car.

Anyone wanna bet how many 'Chancellors' they can sell overseas? Wait, maybe they ain't selling it overseas, that's why the target is governemnt officers?

Next stop, how about a 4-seater stretch kap chai for the ultimate in motorbiking. With DVD and leather trim. Now that would be a head turner.

• oh my god on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:58 am

Proton has announced the availability of the Proton Gen3 beginning 15th December 2006. What is the Proton Gen3? It’s basically a Proton Gen2 chassis with a CAMPRO 2.0 V6 engine from the LOTUS & PROTON R&D.

• oh my god on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:02 am

hey…… this is the style of PROTON maaa….

from saga, iswara, wira, perdana stretch version. now to waja turns, then gen2 stretch version…. wow….. campro V6 engine…. changgih !!!!!!!!!!

malaysia boleh….

• THIS piece of crap is going to be more expensive than the perdana? ohh man

the only reason they priced it so high is probably no one is going to buy this shit on wheels. Those on the road are prbably given away by Proton anyways (heh, big execs)

judging from the picture & pauls post :

1. looks like waja

2.twice the price of waja

3. ++bells and whistles that even execs wont need

4. …which is also not sufficient to justify the price hike

5. did i mention the price?

i appreciate Protons attempt to innovate their exec car class, but if any of the information is true (most likely 99%) they have just failed miserably. i agree with SEE FU (LOOK I SPELLED THAT IN CAPS; CAPS IS CRUISE CONROL FOR COOL ^^ ) that it is just not on par with other models on the market. If i am not mistaken i saw a new Hyundai exec car on the road today (not sure whats its called, but it looks like a mercedes) and at least Protons gotta beat that….

this product is not for the masses (us) so its ok. Proton did reasonably well with the Perdana. Now the chancellor is just a rebadged Waja like how the wira is to the lancer. man what the fork? Are we rebadging our own stuff? goddamn not to mention waja is around for quite a long time, how hard is it to come up with a brand new design? surely the money u siphoned from malaysians over the course of 20 years can be put to use…

im not paying 100K++ for DVD players and leather seats and gangbang room. im sure most of you wont too (unless you happen to be a pimp). ill stick with second hand camrys/accords or even the perdana.

forking proton keeps making fools out of themselves when i think they started to grow up

• al de baran on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:31 am

HUWAHHH…… once again HUWAHHHHHHH!…………

very dasat la .. put DVD player can consider very new already lar? ah? tell us lar POTONG people! c'mon !

If we put at normal accsoriess shop I think it cost under RM 1000 (is the cheapest 1 I think) we can also put console game .

just because you put 1 new item then you call a new 1 ar? that not call new, that called 'by pass' or 'transplant'

• Lunyai on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:32 am

Last time Saga, ppls buy,

Last time Wira,ppls buy,

Last time Perdana, ppls buy,

Last time Gen2, ppls buy,

Last time Savvy, ppls buy,

Now Chancellor…..ppls will buy….

1st kutuk, then own 1 puji bagus2….

*** how many drive S class everyday? if got S class why bother to look at this so called Potong?

• 4AG 20 Valve on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:59 am

Hai2 …. Proton Chancellor???? Protong Cencaluk ada la … :P

• terenceloh on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:59 am

You guys should give Proton a break. If not for the National Car Project 20 years ago, you guys would probably would not be what you are today. It created thousands of jobs and kept the economy going.

If you guys are fortunate enough, have a tour at Proton. Those guys are really qualified engineers and really serious about their work.

I know if the was no Proton, prolly I won't be doing what I am doing today. More than 50% of cars in Malaysia are Proton.

• terenceloh on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:02 am

Email me for a test drive of my Bro's car if u r interested. 'The WAJA with the 13K alloy wheels'.

• Driven2020 on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:26 am

Initial D & zongtwi a.k.a. speed junkie,

u guys mentioned whether there are p1 ppl here? yep a guy nicked name Amir claimed to be from p1 bahh. He got some comments for the Savvy bodykit blog. Mind you he very protective of p1 haha.

Waja Chancellor Proton

If said quick and cocky enuf..

Would ya cancel ur plotong?

• [QUOTE=jx]jx said,

November 22, 2005 @ 10:41 pm

PLEASE DON’T CRITICISE TOO MUCH! THIS CAR WAS NOT MEANT FOR ALL OF YOU COMMENTING HERE. IT WAS MADE FOR THE GOVERNMENT OFFICERS. FOR ALL WE KNOW THEY MAY LIKE IT (OR ELSE THEY WILL BE FORCED TO BUY IT). SO EITHER WAY PROTON WINS.

[/QUOTE]

Did you guys know Proton struck a 'deal' with the government to switch all those stupid menteri menteri new cars. And since buying all at once will cost alot, so some guy from bolehland suggest government rent the cars from Proton at RM2000 per month. for the next 6-7 years. Who pay? Tax people. Where the money go? not to fix road, schools, library. They go to Proton. And M'sia government is more keen on making roundabout designs nice and lavish; and not libraries.

• Jason on Nov 23, 2005 at 11:26 am

At the end of the day, it's still a Waja.

• kennee on Nov 23, 2005 at 11:54 am

The std Waja already has superb leg-room for the passengers. I can only imagine the space inside!!

However i hope Proton has improved the aircond distribution for the passengers, especially the rear-left one! Tht's the favorite seat for any chaufeur-driven 'high-ranking' gov officials!

And also hope they've toned down the suspensions, soften it as the current Waja settings might be too hard and not comfortable…

• …im pretty sure if there werent Proton 20 years ago id be DRIVING something else today. it also wouldnt what i do (or my parents before me) because in live in kuching (sarawak) where these proton jobs are relegated to dealer shops and a lacklustre EON service centre (charge forking high, service like crap).

instead these dudes would prolly be selling other cars and working in other service shops :-)

but all is said and done and i beleive proton have to be given its chance to prove itself in the next 2 years.

• —> also WOULDNT change what i do

damn typo its what happens at 4am and alot of peanut butter

• cbljkkj on Nov 23, 2005 at 12:28 pm

Not to be biased towards Proton but if I had to pay more than the current Perdana price, I would buy something else. Targeted towards ministers?? even the ministers don't roll up to their offices in Wajas or Perdanas apart from the PM as he should represent all things national.

All the other people buy S-Classes or the 7 Series to accomodate themselves. Come on, be realistic. For them to focus on the higher end rather than the medium range means that they are selfish. They cannot even supply what the nation demands. Demands like proper safety, working electronic systems and many other criterias have yet to be addressed.

I'm not saying that they shouldn't produce this car but at least clean up their trail of messy problems that trail them. Just listen to the public Proton!! I beg of you..They are your lifesource for your income and if you ignore them, they will ignore you as well.

• aksMs on Nov 23, 2005 at 1:29 pm

Targeted for government official? Who's the dumbo who suggested this to the G? I went to fetch my friend at one of the Kementerian in Putrajaya and guess what the Timbalan Menteri (from Sarawak) is riding? A black PORSCHE CAYENNE S! Wanna force them to use the Chancellor? Who gives a fork?

I agree with with cbljkkj. If Proton wants to roll out this newly developed platform, fine. But do it properly la. Why are the numbnuts use the outdated Waja's body? To cut cost? Then it should be cheaper than Perdana. I still think it is the MPV platform that Proton already developed.

And I like what Bob said, "….M’sia government is more keen on making roundabout designs nice and lavish; and not libraries." No wonder people cheat on their taxes.

Btw, Drive2020, that Proton fella nick is Amin, not Amir. =) Peace!

• cbljkkj on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:12 pm

terenceloh:

Not unlike Proton, Perodua has also created thousands of jobs and created a line of cars to be sold under the name of Malaysia. The problem is that "most" people are unsatisfied with the quality of their cars for example; me.

I understand the reason to quit bickering about the national problem which is Proton and let them be. The reason we do not end the dilemma is because if we stop, Proton would never find a reason to improve the quality of their vehicles. We have to apply a certain amount of pressure so they will strive to be best (farfetched but possible).

I want everybody to understand that I've had 4 Protons and 1 Perodua and this is based of my experience and not through mindless criticism. All my Protons gave me major problems like power window failure, leaking trunks, electrical failure. paint deterioration, condenser fan failure and many more. The only problem I had with my Perodua was a wire loose powering the clock.

Perodua has accomplished Protons success in half the duration probably with also less expenditure. The satisfaction:complaint ratio should also be far milder. I am not saying it is, but it seems so.

I dare not say how many percent of Protons are on the road but the numbers are big because it is the cheapest. All the other imports are like 300% taxed. If Proton were to swap out their cars for international brands like Honda etc for all their consumers, I'm pretty sure they wouldn't mind "exchanging" them.

All bashers are free to flame me despite the right to a self opinion

• cbljkkj on Nov 23, 2005 at 2:29 pm

Jx, I could not resist replying to you but you stated.

#jx said,

November 22, 2005 @ 10:41 pm

PLEASE DON’T CRITICISE TOO MUCH! THIS CAR WAS NOT MEANT FOR ALL OF YOU COMMENTING HERE. IT WAS MADE FOR THE GOVERNMENT OFFICERS. FOR ALL WE KNOW THEY MAY LIKE IT (OR ELSE THEY WILL BE FORCED TO BUY IT). SO EITHER WAY PROTON WINS.

If this car was not meant to be commented…why are you commenting on this matter which relates to this car to us. It is obvious that you are commenting for the car.

One more thing, it is not "ONLY" for the government officers, as stated above "The Chancellor’s target market are high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives." Which means people other than the government can purchase them. Do your research before crying "Wolf"

Although we are not "Government Officers", we also have a right to know where all out tax money is going to. And now, we do.

• wuffwuff on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:14 pm

What is it about proton that seems to have this morbid obsession about stretching their old cars? I don't seem to remember having seen a stretched version of the Civic, or Corolla, or Elantra …. well, you get the drift. The life cycle of a car model these days are getting shorter and manufacturers are rolling out new models much faster than before. How is proton able to compete when all they can do is to stretch an old model?

• SEE FU on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:46 pm

Del Piero said,

November 22, 2005 @ 2:59 pm

Why you wanna to buy Perdana?

Because of Performance or due pricing wise? Ask youself first.

As far as I knew POTONG might not had any new model in Perdana range in the next 2 years. Therefore, it's still okay to buy, don't worry about resell value lah. Perdana doesn't cause you trouble on engine because the engine is still MITSUBISHI 4G63 V6 engine. Spare still easily can get from Kedai potong too or go to the Real orginal POTONG center. Honestly, V6 engine maintance will be higher than normal Satria 1.3L engine, due to complex design not because of quality issue.

Again, buying a car is very much depend on your LUCK as I said before in previous BLOG…..forgot already which blog….but I am sure I had said so…….If you buy MB or BMW also, there will be a risk too. I think If you really Like PERDANA go ahead and Don't look back!! Good luck!! I do support you….only TALKING not money Okay!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! :P

• SEE FU on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:48 pm

Mistake not 4G63 pls ignore this…..

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! Where is my Coffee!!! A bit sleepy today!!

• stationwagon on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:51 pm

Wasting time, money, etc.. Instead producing this proton.. whatever you call it, how about producing a wagon version of thier existing models such as waja or wira. For example, combination of wira + arena = wagon. I believe that wagon sales will be high demand for taxi drivers & small business people. So come on Proton, people are all now getting bored with all your products. People have no choice because of Proton.

• keniji on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:12 pm

an dinasor car that never facelift",

and still sell well, and screw buyers!

only in Malaysia: truly OLDasia!

• accord kia on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:15 pm

pls show us the interior looks…….the front and the back….. thanks

• biggie on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:39 pm

aksMs,

the porche is his personal car, govt dept are not allowed to buy other then national car for use (Naza, Perodua, Proton). However personally they can buy what they please Porsche or whatever.

All,

I do feel this is the right move for Proton. Perdana v6/ex is long in the tooth and need a replacement. Moreover, govt. officials will like to be seen in ppl car. Perdana is too dissimilar to Proton line up to be this kind of car. Moreover Perdana do not have that much local content to start with not to mention that its produced in Shah Alam as TM are not suited for this platform.

cbljkkj,

Although I like to be partial in my argument, but to say Perodua with the aging Kancil is somewhat of an achievement is not right. What they are doing right is delivering good service (at much higher price) through Produa service centre and EON/Proton Edar cannot match this.

I just check on Perodua engineering achievement.. they manage to redesign a bumper.

• Wonderer on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:46 pm

HY. To cbljkj..Ur definately right. The fact is P1 have a lack of quality than P2 !Me 2 face the experience with P1 quality..But then when they get this TUV things, i thougt of buying The Savvy. Reading all blog from u all make me to start thinkng maybe latest car from P2 is worth buying it.I wonder if P1 can change my view of the build quality for their cars..

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:57 pm

DVD players……….luxurious………………….

hei, anyone interesting to get DVD player for your car, i think if we buy together it can be cheaper…….let make our car…………..luxurious…………..

• Selipar on Nov 23, 2005 at 6:09 pm

i think most of the issues here are not the R&D guys should be blamed on poor design…instead the top mgt forcing them to come up with new "product " line within in a few months period..just to pretending proton do have new product in-line. Well just a thought..

Anyway…i feel very upset with this re-model waja…extremely upset…i think proton do digging their own grave now…anytime soon.. :(

• Since not much people read this in the "The Korean Advantage" post. I'd copy it here to share a bit.

First i'll comment on why people would buy limos. It's ego, comfort, prestige. Price wont affect them. Such cheapo limos are only good to in serving government Menteri menteris, and i would love to see this Proton Chancellor become the standard KLIA Limo. Wira 2.0 Diesel doesnt hint even a bit in supporting their claim as a limo.

The problems with Proton, is very much the problems with Malaysians (majority)

Malaysians forgive. Why do i said so?

Can i ask, when is the last time any of you guys saw the “Latest ‘limited edition — again’ Proton Iswara/Saga” lodged in the concourse area of shopping malls ? (Or Giant/The Store …)

The problem with Malaysians are, we still buy them, people still open the doors and sit in it!! Anyone havent sat in an Iswara/Saga before, then he must be some high ranked politicians in Malaysia, otherwise, anyone, i can guarantee, everyone would have had sat in it given that tin can was first manufactured 15 years back. (1991).

Let’s go with Proton. The following incidents are all experienced by me whereby my friends who bought Protons.

1. My friend used to have a 1998 Proton Wira 1.5 (M). He trashed it in year 2001 and simply bought a 2002 Proton Wira 1.5 (M). Guess what? The cruise control which is present in his previous Wira was no longer there despite the higher price. Oh ya, so was the First Aid Kit; it ain't there anymore.

2. Two friends of mine bought 1.3 Satria (M) around the same time, one receive his Satria with Blaupunkt stereo head unit, the other? A head unit clearly stating “Proton Tiara” there, which cannot fit in snugly. Both rear head rests were taken off and told to top up RM500 for each. Satrias prior to that all have headrests as standard (Having headrests — Standard common sense right?)

3. A friend of mine, Satria 1.5 Auto; bought it and the first week, the ignition fails, power window failure, air con compressor failure. Brought back to dealer and you guess wat? “Proton mar, biasa lor”

4. I myself, i used to like Perdana V6 alot when its launch back in year 1998. I even liked it more than the newly launched Accord back then. But until i sat right into one in year 2001, i was shocked, being a flagship, it had less space than Waja (understandable since its a late 80s 2.0 sedan — Eterna) but its built quality was way lower than that of Waja.

So, since year 2001, i started to influence friends around me to give Proton a lesson, to boy cott their products.

If Proton tells us about all bla bla pricing, taxing or whatever, we dont mind, we don’t even mind that Proton’s quality is actually lower than that of Toyotas, what i loath so much bout Proton is that they do not have the will to improve, they only advertise that they are improving, advertise that they did alot of R&D where all they do are redesigning new skirtings for the next “New Limited Edition Wira”. Thats the problem with Proton.

We see no SINCERITY in their products.

I’ll now go bit by bit from Waja. Waja was launched in year 2000.

Claiming to be “Asia’s answer to BMW 3-Series” creating so much publicity and doubts together with believes, dreams. How it ended up? People started to realize its just another better fitted Proton.

Tengku Mahaleel promised everyone publicly in year 1998 that they will solve Proton’s quality problems once and for all in the upcoming model (Waja), including the notorius power windows.

Hence, Proton’s engineers started ground up to design another power window module, revolutionary design, integrated to the doors. So whats the result? Pay RM300-RM400 for your power window if they fail.

Why? It's so ‘technologically advance’ and ‘complicated’ that its integrated into the door hence change your door when your PW is down. Congrats Proton! Another world’s first! From Bolehland.

Secondly, the left signal lights. What’s up Proton?

Since Waja’s targeting the BMW 3-Series. Or European mid sized sports sedans (Audi A4/ C-Class/ Saab 9-3/ VW Passat). They decide to place the signal lights to the left of the steering wheel.

And i was shocked, because i can’t imagine Proton cannot figure our Europen cars had their signal lights on the left is plainly because its a small compromise to achieve cost effectiveness when they bring their cars here and manufactured right steered vehicles.

And Proton purposely made that. Ok, no more rants bout Waja because generally its OK. Its just the stupidity of Proton that shows up alot on this car.

Gen2. I have to admit, IMO it looked much better than the two oh-so-boring-looking City and Vios. BUT, What’s up Proton? The interior looked good, but the plastics they used were again back to the Iswara era! Why Proton?

Why in Waja you all can bring out a car so well built; and you decide to leave it as a milestone or legacy? So that there will be no successor? Gen2 was so well designed but let down by quality, stupidity. They prove they can do something better, and continue doing something worse. ?!?!

I guess everyone knew bout the rear seats being not friendly even for people with heights of 173cm right? Being one of Proton’s latest car, i am sad to say i already saw a couple of Gen2s opening their doors at toll booths. (Not something hard to spot given the number of tolls in KL)

Last thing about the Gen2? The steering. Go drive around in a Waja, then straight go to Gen2 and you will not understand why Proton doesn’t move that same piece of great steering to Gen2. Gen2’s steering felt worse that the 1991 Iswaras.

The only comparable steering in the world is Proton’s year 2002 Iswara (Night Rider/Baja Hitam whatever)

Iswara/Saga

Ok, i know this car has been around for a decade and a half. But it has proved popular among aunties, mothers sending children to schools/ pasar, 'P' license school kids and so on. These are the segments in which i saw preffered buying it cos its cheap and comparitively larger than the few thousand less Kancil. BUT, Proton decided to give it some boost in EGO, turning that mild car into a black Night Rider-like, huge bising muffler with all-black/red Type-R — like interior, with Audi TT aircon vents (which is made of the same plastic you have with mamak stall chairs) and blue colored dials (hard to read lar ). So how? now all these aunties, school kids can only turn to other cars. They killed their own target consumers.

Next up, Savvy.

Ok, i'm fine with this car, except the fact that its just an age old Renault Clio all round. The exterior styling is, fine, sporty, lifely, young, vibrant. The interior styling is– no comments. Ok, so wats wrong with Savvy? Being a small, lifely, suppose-to-be-fun-driving car; MR Proton decided to market it as "TOUGH" ! OMFG !! What are they trying to do? If the same marketing team Savvy were given some other jobs, they might market Toyota Unser as Beautiful and Elegant. LOLOL!!

Wira …..

Still cannot close the right upper corner of its glove box After 13 years of research. Hmmm can rank this as one of the great misteries of the 21st century?

Perdan — Flagship

Check out its (How do they call that?) handles on top of the windows, which old folks tend to use it alot when boarding cars. (Sorry dunno how to call it) Ok, wats up with that? Its exactly the same one as the Wiras. And anyone here agree Waja is bigger than Perdan in terms of interior room??

Arena? Juara? Tiara? LOLOLOLOLOL !!

And they stopped Putra…… haigh…… why dont they just relaunch it with better build (like dat of Waja) and improve the engine to attract all boy-racers. Its the sexiest looking local car.

Ok, enough rants. News shall we? But abit dated.

When Proton launch Savvy earlier this year. They have simultaneous launching campaign throughout Malaysia, MNN even have a 3 hour exclusive coverage on it. At one of the launches, Pak Lah visited. The first thing he asked after giving the usual thumbs up sign goes :” Have you all fix the power windows? ” Awe shocked, they promised a reply in 1 to 2 weeks time. And what do we get? After 2 weeks of Savvy’s launch, Proton came out with this :” All Savvy are entitled to 3 years of warranty for power windows!! ” And they thought they fixed it.

Enough rants, i guess Proton knows whats up. Perodua shall we? Anyone,can come up and say :” Kancil is not reliable. Please do so.” Cause besides knowing i pay monkey, i get monkey finishing and accessories. Kancils never have much problems.

Then comes Kelisa. Let me tell all of us here about what i meant with sincerity of local manufacturers. Remember the part where i mentioned Proton taking out Satria headrests and demanding RM500 for each?

(And i havent go to the point where if you drive a 1.5 Wira, the cup holder on the 1.6 is visible yet cannot be pulled out, the Power/Economy button changed to a coin holder, and if you drive a 1.3, the coin holder is blocked by a piece of plastic. Marketing, yeah~ )

ok continue, whats up with Kelisa? They take the trouble to tug in a handsfree set, with a magnet holder to hold all typical Nokias. Now that’s what i meant about sincerity. And anyone can complain on Kelisa’s built quality? Immaculate if i were to say Buatan Malaysia.

Kenari.

1st batch- Cassette Player

2nd batch – CD Player + Car Ionizer cum speaker unit

3rd batch – CD Player + Car Ionizer cum speaker unit + First Aid Kit.

4th batch – CD Player + Car Ionizer cum speaker unit + First Aid Kit + Fire Extinguisher.

5th batch – CD Player + Car Ionizer cum speaker unit + First Aid Kit + Fire Extinguisher + Tyre air pressure pump.

Sincerity pays, thats why Perodua’s market share rise, and Proton’s fell.

Dont blame the Koreans, they did nothing to target Proton. They did not set their aims low.

• King Mourinho Benite on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:13 pm

Ok la proton, great car quite elongated beautiful piece of machinery!… two thumbs up, one in your ear the other one up your back side….New Management, New plant… coule of thousand workers, over paid R&D staff…. and this is is the best you can come up with??… do humanity & malaysian comunity a favor and just kill yourself… what next?… Savvy Limmo?…. Satria eXCECUTIVE?…. ohhh…. heres one!… The Perdana Coupe…. wait a minute…perdana coupe?… that will look great, now why cant these farks do something that we want?… oh i forgot these guys are proton… eventually they will find a way to crap up any good ideas….

• King Mourinho Benite on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:31 pm

BOB!!!… great insight….. aplause to you… i really have a termendous time reading your thoughts… i wouldnt really call that thought anyway….i call that reallity!!… for all of you out there who needs to know more about malaysian car manufacturing ecspecially proton, should read bobs rants…. youll get the idea… if not.. well it might be that you are visually impaired, lost absolutely any hearing ability on both ears and vocally impaired.. you also propabbly are a paraplegic and slowly losing your sense of touch to both of your hands.. and you are now eating through a pipe stuck to your throat… which makes this topic not relevant to you…… im sooooo sorry… im calling bersama mu TV3

• albagmane on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:49 pm

gosh.. i think all the proton car makers, their brains are square!!! cant think much creative at all.. just make the car longer and put DVD players, then they think the car is going to be very high class oredi.. this is ridiculous! stupid proton! very very very stupid move!!!

im very pity for the high rank people of the ASEAN SUMMIT as they need to sit on these nasty, 'cheap' metals.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:21 pm

well said, bob… i agree to what u have said… while i have not owned all Proton models, i have drove all the models for long periods… (not test-drive only… car belongs to relatives and friends) and yes, all the problems are there.

like what u have said about kelisa, i agree that car is a good one, with the one i drove my friend's every weekend, it dont have a mini orchestra concert playing in the car (u know what i mean!) although it could do better in the pickup zone…

anyway, i'm sure all those Proton supporters will be fuming with anger reading ur comment… well, sometimes truth are hard to be swallowed…

• ferarri on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:22 pm

Dvd players can be bought at abang for less than RM1k. How to justify the 60K difference between basic waja and chancellor? It will probably cost you half of that if you potong your waja, plong in a 2l v6 engine and add all the "xmas trimmings" to convert it to chancellor. Mind you, that's 1 car, without "economies of scale". If all existing waja owners join force, I am sure boleh dapat good discount! We can sell our chancellor cheaper back to poton!

• keniji on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:53 pm

fat,ugly lady"

get a Avenza at 66k,

what else choice we have!

• benunited on Nov 23, 2005 at 10:36 pm

wth are potong engineers thinkin'?? their brain must be really 'b'sawang' like hell…a'way 5/10…well guys, i'm planning to buy a new car, my budget is about rm70k below…should i go for a new proton car (waja, gen2 etc) or a 2nd hand Honda (2003 Civic & City)?? which one is better??

• Hussain on Nov 23, 2005 at 11:16 pm

benunited never buy a potong car….

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 23, 2005 at 11:37 pm

go for honda… although they also have mini-mini problem, one thing for sure are they'll last u longer than a proton could. good value for money… and better resale value…

City FC better than proton… but power wise between civic and the other 2 proton… i reserve my comment…

• Alamak on Nov 23, 2005 at 11:43 pm

WTH~~~such design sell for over 100k??

• Chancellor ?? like Waja also.Buatlah model yang baru sekali.

• I think proton is trying to recover the development costs incurred on the chancellor during TM's time since they found a big water fish liao by supplying to G. some more proton do not have to stock up any new parts as the car is sharing the same part with waja. in business sense….. nothing to lose….

• someone on Nov 24, 2005 at 12:41 am

what? proton's car cheap? of coz la cheap bcoz the G makes foreign car expensive. actually, if not bcoz of all those tax and duty, the foreign car also cheap maa.just us, malaysian need to PAY MORE but GET LESS. wanna see the real price, just look at the price they sell in langkawi or labuan.

bottom line, reduce all those tax and duty.

give us rakyat reasonable price.

let us enjoy spend our money on quality product.

• Karl Anwar on Nov 24, 2005 at 2:21 am

Better for Proton to REBADGE other competitive manufacturer, i.e Toyota WISH. Wish's prices in Japan same range with Sentra, Corolla. So, if Proton produces, say we named as Proton Wish they can sell for below RM90k.

But, if Proton sincere enough l wanna please us, malaysian they should sell less than RM80k as the price in Japan around RM57k (in May Y1.66million now around Y1.8M).

100% Proton can't cope with the demand (demand over supply) unlike now, otherwise. If Proton not used to import-then-rebagde it just ask NAZA they can get car and pay much much lower than japanese' buyers did.

• daniel on Nov 24, 2005 at 4:41 am

yg ni saye dapat dr teman yg dapat pon dari

teman….soal jawab ttg proton… yg btanda (*) tu

hujah dr org yg ada gak sket2 kaitn ngan proton…

(*)Yang ni saya kena jawab la sebab banyak

sangat misinformation. Biasanya

information yang berpindah dari satu mulut ke satu

mulut yang lain akan

berubah menjadi sensasi. Itu lah masyarakat kita.

Kita bukan mendapat

firsthand info tapi berdasarkan cerita yang telah

ditokok tambah. Ini

dia cerita dari orang dalam yang duduk ditengah

tengah R&D PROTON.

………..ada kenalan dari kastam boleh confirmkan

perkara ni..member

atuk kerja kastam kat kelang dan beliau sendiri

yang maklumkan yg salah

satu tugas dia adalah buat checking penerimaan

barangan proton untuk di

pasangkan di negara ni. Satu kontena enjin

je..manakala kontena lain

adalah pintu, body dan sebagainya. sama lah

dengan kereta lain juga.

(*)Kalau kita lalu kat kawasan glenmarie tu, akan

ternampak lah satu

tanda… Kilang Enjin Proton. Tanda tu tak duduk

kat situ untuk suka

suka je. Kalau kita jengok kat dalam…. Boleh

nampak besi cair yang

dituang kedalam acuan untuk membuat enjin

block. Memang proton ada

mengimpot enjin tapi dari kelas 1.2 dan 2 liter. 1.2l

untuk Savvy

(enjin

Renault) dan 2l untuk Perdana. Tapi untuk enjin

1.3, 1.5, 1.6 proton

buat sendiri. Untuk pintu pulak… hanya kereta

kereta Perdana sahaja

yang proton beli pintu dari Mitsubishi. For your

information, Untuk

membuat pintu sahaja memerlukan dekat 20

acuan. Bayangkan lah 4 pintu.

Modal itu shaja sudah hampir RM50juta. So untuk

kereta yang volume

kecil, kita beli dari luar. Untuk kereta Isawara,

Wira, Waja, Gen2,

Savvy… 100% body dibuat di Malaysia.

Bayangkan dah 20 tahun menanti kereta Malaysia

yang sebenarnya tak

keluar-keluar lagi.Bagi yang berkemampuan sudah

tentu tak mahu

menggunakan injin kenderaan berteknologi 70an,

80an dan 90an yang

diubahsuai. Sudah tentu ramai nak teknologi

terkini dan sebenarnya

milik

kita. Secara umumnya proton masih belum ada

enjin sendiri lagi..jadi

adalah sukar hendak dikatakan kalau ianya adalah

kereta Malaysia yang

sebenarnya. Pengeluaran kenderaan adalah

berdasar injinnya barulah

boleh

dikatakan ianya kenderaan negara sebenarnya.

(*)Disini lagi ada misinformation. Memang untuk

kereta Perdana kita impot

enjin dari Jepun. Untuk Savvy kita guna kan enjin

Renault. Untuk

Isawara, Wira dan Waja kita buat enjin di Malaysia

walaupun design

original dia dari Mitsubishi. Tapi enjin Gen-2 adalah

enjin terkini

yang di reka oleh jurutera Proton dan dibina di

Malaysia. Enjin tersebut

menggunakan teknologi terkini. Jadi kenyataan

diatas agak menyesatkan

sedikit. Naza, Perodua…. Masih lagi membawa

enjin dari luar. Modal

untuk mereka dan mengeluarkan enjin ni amat

besar. Nak dapat return pun

bukan nya sekejap. Tapi demi maruah dan

kemajuan, kita korbankan

keuntungan jangka pendek. Selagi kita tidak

mengeluarkan enjin

sendiri..selagi itu kita tidak tahu. Sekarang kita

telah pun

mengeluarkan enjin sendiri… orang masih tidak

percaya. Itu lah

masalah

orang kita… memandang rendah kebolehan anak

negara sendiri.

yg ni saye dapat dr teman yg dapat pon dari

teman….soal jawab ttg proton… yg btanda (*) tu

hujah dr org yg ada gak sket2 kaitn ngan proton..

Selama ini proton bergantung kepada Mitshubishi

sebagai rakan teknikal.

Oleh kerana kontrak selama 20 tahun telah tamat.

Maka proton

terpaksalah

mencari rakan teknikal yang baru dan bermulalah

masalah melanda proton.

Sudah tentu rakan teknikal baru tidak mahu

meneruskan rekaan dan

teknologi mitshubishi lagi. So apa kan jadi pada

kereta proton yang ada

sekarang ni untuk masa akan datang.

(*Tidak wujud kontrak 20 tahun dengan Mitsubishi.

Mereka adalah rakan

kongsi. Bertahun tahun kita berkerjasama dengan

Mitsubishi tetapi

teknikal apa yang mereka turunkan. Kalau kita

pernah berkerja dengan

orang Jepun atau Korea, mereka inilah yang paling

kemut ilmu. Tapi bab

nak korek ilmu kita, dia orang rajin habis. Atuk

jangan terkejut bila

saya cakap yang idea kita pun banyak yang Jepun

curi. So bila kita mula

menuntut teknologi baru dari mereka… mula lah

nak caj dan nak ikat

royalti yang tak munasabah. Nak mintak copy

teknikal drawing zaman dulu

sekeping pun dia orang caj beribu ribu. Mula lah

kita pandang teknologi

dari barat dan teknologi sendiri. Sebab itu kita beli

Lotus.. Kita

ignore Jepun. Bila kita design sesuatu yang lebih

baik… laju je dia

orang hantar balik information ke Mitsubishi. Last

last kita pun mula

bersikap secrecy dengan dia orang… lama lama

dia orang fed up dan

mintak keluar. Lagi pun dia orang dah nampak afta

nanti dia orang akan

masuk balik ke Malaysia.

Perodua… kenapa daihatsu/toyota memberi enjin

latest dia orang….

Sebab Perudua tu 100% milik Toyota/Daihatsu.

Dah lama UMW menjual saham

dia orang kepada Jepun. Proton…. Milik Malaysia.

Mungkin ada yang tahu dan ada yang tak tahu

yang proton yang digunakan

pakai sekarang adalah barangan Mitshubishi.

Samalah seperti kereta

lain.. tukar lambang je..

(*)Inilah susah orang kita ni…. Banyak mendengar

cerita sensasi yang

banyak ditaruk banyak rempah ratusnya…..

Memang pada mulanya kita

belajar… selepas itu kita buat sendiri. Saya adalah

seorang yang

terlibat dengan kerja kerja tersebut.

o Saga – Base dia Lancer lama. Kita Cuma tukar

depan dan belakang

sikit.

o Iswara – base Saga, kita mula belajar untuk

design kereta sendiri.

Masa ni Mitsubishi dah tak berapa setuju bila kita

menubuhkan R&D. So

kita menggunakan khidmat penasihat dari UK.

o Wira – Disini berpuluh puluh designer dan

engineer Proton dihantar ke

Jepun untuk kerjasama design kereta baru. Proton

dan Mitsubishi kongsi

modalelakang, design asing asing. Lampu depan

dan belakang share sebab

nak kurang kan cost. Hasilnya Proton Wira –

Mitsubishi Lancer. Orang

akan kata hah kongsi je sabab tak tahu buat

kerja…. Tapi ada orang

kata apa apa bila Ford dan Mazda berkongsi

bahagian tengah? Ford Laser

dan Mazda 323 adalah kereta yang sama. Ada

orang komplen? Bila orang

Malaysia yang buat begitu… orang Malaysia

sendiri yang nak mengutuk.

Tak ramai yang tahu seksa bekerja kat Jepun

sebab dia orang suka curi

idea. Bayang kanlah semasa kami design

dashboard untuk Wira… masa tu

Mitsubishi sudah pun siap soft tooling mould untuk

dashboard kereta

dia… Bila mereka tengok dashboard Proton.

Mereka sanggup letak

designer dia depan design kita untuk

mengubahsuai kembali rupa bentuk

dashboard mereka. Kalau

kita pernah tengok dashboard mitsubishi lancer…

hampir samakan. Itu

mereka yang meniru bukan kita. Ianya

menunjukkan kita bukan tak

pandai… Cuma masyarakat sendiri berfikiran

macam itu.

o Perdana – Untuk membuat satu satu design

bukan nya murah. Nak balik

modal pun lama. Jumlah kereta yang dijual pun

kena banyak. So kalau nak

buat Perdana…. Sampai habis pun tak balik

modal. So yang ni memang

kita ambil kereta dari mitsubishi dan pasang di

Malaysia. Cuma kita

tukar depan dan belakang, dan bahagian dalaman.

o Tiara – Tiara adalah bukan product Proton. Ia

adalah keluaran DRB.

Tapi kita kena tunduk dengan arahan dari atas

untuk mereka menggunakan

lambang Proton.

o Waja – Waja adalah permulaan kita untuk

menunjukkan kita mampu

melakukan kerja sendiri. 100% didesign orang

orang kita. Tapi untuk

kejuruteraan kita memerlukan consultant dari

luar..mainly dari Eropah

dan Amerika. Bukan sebab tak pandai tapi kita tak

cukup kakitangan. Nak

design kereta bukan seperti menjahit baju.

Kabaikan dari mengambil

consultant dari luar memang mebuka mata kita…

kita adalah setaraf

dengan kebolehan mereka. Nak design kereta ni

memerlukan beratus ratus

kakitangan. Bukannya sedikit.

o Gen2 – 100% dedesign oleh orang kita.

Consultant dari luar hanya

sedikit sebab kakitangan kita semakin ramai. Kita

mula menggunakan

enjin

yang didesign sendiri.

o Savvy – 100% dedesign sendiri. Cuma enjin

sahaja kita menggunakan

Renault sebab kita tidak ada enjin bersaiz kecil.

Well…. Kehebatan

enjin Renault sudah terbukti bila mereka

memenangi F1. Disin banyak

berita palsu disebarkan oleh mereka yang tidak

bertanggung jawab.

Contohnya… Savvy adalah Tiara dan

menggunakan chasis Tiara lama.

Savvy

tidak ada kena mengena dengan Tiara. Savvay

adalah baru 100%. Tidak

ramai yang tahu bahawa Savvy menggunakan

HTHS steel. High Tensile High

Strength Steel. Sebab tu body Savvy kuat.

Memang ada terpampang kereta

Savvy kemek kerana accident. Well… kereta

mercedes, volvo, BMW pun

kemek bila accident. Tapi tak ramai yang tengok

keadaan dalaman Savvy

yang accident tu… Intact. Kukuh. Saudara

saudari… Bila kita design

kereta ni..yang paling penting adalah keselamatan

penumpang. Memang

kereta dedesign untuk crumple bila ada impact. Itu

untuk menyerap daya

hentakan supaya bukan manusia yang menerima

hentakan kuat. Rating TUV

Germany memberikan 3 star untuk

Proton. BMW 5 series pun dapat 3 star. Ramai

yang kata Savvy ni tak

sedap bila memandu. Tapi tanyalah yang bercakap

tu… adakah mereka

pernah memandu Savvy. Kebanyakan nya tidak.

Hanya mendengar dari orang

lain.

o Lain lain – Ada banyak lagi yang saya tak boleh

cerita sebab ada

secrecy act. Proton pun ada design kereta untuk

company lain dan ada

membuat part untuk company lain. Proton ada

juga buat reverse

engineering untuk motosikal lumba (tahun tu dia

champion) tapi kita

tidak boleh menceritakan sebab dasar secrecy

kita. Mungkin sesetengah

orang yang memakai certain kereta mewah tidak

tahu yang part kereta

mereka dibuat diproton. Kalau Proton tak elok…

masakan mereka

mengkontrakkan proton untuk membuat kereta

mereka.

Berbalik kepada masalah yang sedang dihadapi

oleh proton. Kenapa ianya

harus berlaku perkara sebegini. Apakah yang

sebenarnya telah berlaku

dan

dibuat oleh proton dalam masa 20 tahun untuk

membina kenderaan nasional

sendiri. Memang ada R&D proton cuba

mendapatkan struktur dan

bahan-bahan

untuk membuat injin tapi gagal mendapatkan

resepinya

(*)Tok….. Proton memang dah ada enjin sendiri.

Yang terpasang dekat

Gen-2 tu apa dia. Bab bab bahan untuk membuat

enjin tu senang je.

Kebanyakan pengeluar kereta menggunakan besi

yang sama sebab pengeluar

besi dalam dunia ni bukan banyak. Kita Cuma bagi

specifikasi je. Nak

design enjin tu yang susah. Transmition yang

paling susah. Untuk info

lah… kami masih lagi dalam process untuk

mereka cipta transmition

sendiri. Bukan macam nak buat karipap tau.

Penubuhan proton sejak 20 tahun yang lampau

tidak mencapai objektif

yang sebenarnya. Dimana silapnya? Berapa

ramaikah yang tahu bilakah

ilham proton ini sebenarnya timbul dan berapa

lamakah usaha dilakukan

bagi membolehkan impian ini tercapai. Mungkin

ramai yang mengganggap

hanya seorang perdana menteri sahaja terlibat.

Cuma pada zaman Tun M

baru persetujuan dapat dicapai setelah Mitshubishi

bersetuju menjadi

rakan teknikal dengan bersyarat. (syarat ni tak

boleh lah diberi tahu..

sebab ianya adalah OSA)

Penubuhan Proton lebih mencapai objectif nya.

Pada mulanya Proton hanya

di rancang untuk membuat kereta bukan untuk

merekacipta kereta. Kita

menubuh R&D, Mitsubishi tidak setuju. Ye la…

siapa nak bagi kita

pandai kan. Cuba check dekat Perudua, berapa

ramai jurutera dari Proton

bekerja dekat sana, Head of R&D Perudua…

bekas Proton, Head of

Styling… Bekas Proton, Head of Planning, Bekas

Proton, Head of

Production… bekas Proton (rasa rasanya dah

kena kebas dekat Naza),

Head of Engineering Services… Bekas Proton.

Rata rata mereka yang

senior dekat sana dari proton. We trained them…

orang lain ambil cara

senang je. Naza pulak.. Head of R&D.. bekas

proton. Head of

Production… Bekas Proton. Honda… pun ramai

bekas proton, DRB

Pekan… Head dia pun bekas proton, Inokom…

head dia pun bekas

proton.

Itu kira head je… Bukan lagi kira engineer dan

designer. So it meets

its objectif untuk memajukan orang orang kita.

Mainly orang Melayu.

Naza

sendiri tidak menyangkal kereta Naza mainly

didevelop oelh

bekas kakitangan Proton. So… orang Proton tak

bagus?

(*)Kita belum lagi kira bekas pekerja proton yang

diambil oleh consultant

luar negara… dari America, Eropah sampai ke

Jepun. Tau tak kita

kakitangan Proton telah memenangi pertangdingan

mereka design kereta

anjuran Ford. Beliau mendapat tempat pertama.

Bukan bertanding

diperingkat Malaysia. Tapi di peringkat

antarabangsa. Memang beliau

mendapat tawaran kerja dari syarikat kereta

gergasi Amerika dan Eropah.

Tapi kami tabik bila dia decide nak stay dekat

Malaysia sebab tak nak

anak anak membesar dinegara lain. Ada orang

tau…?

Selama 20 tahun proton pergantung kepada

pemerintah yang sepatutnya

telah boleh berdiri dengan sendirinya sekarang ini

selepas perjanjian

tamat. Ibarat kata.. berapa lama perlu bergantung..

tak kan dah 20

tahun

nak merangkak lagi..nak tambah masa untuk

merangkak lagi.. so bila lak

nak belajar berdiri dan berjalan sendiri tanpa di

pimpin lagi..sebab tu

exPM kata.. kalau dah tak boleh tutup aja.

(*)Proton boleh menjadi lebih baik kalau tidak ada

tanggung jawab kepada

negara. Senang aja… buang sahaja pengeluar

pengeluar yang

bermasaalah.

Tapi apa akan jadi dengan ekonomi. Itu tanggung

jawab Proton untuk

negara. Bayangkanlah penjanaan ekonomi proton

untuk negara… berapa

banyak kaki tangan Proton… 8000. Berapa banyak

kakitangan syarikat

yang secara lansung untuk membuat part Proton…

100,000 orang. Berapa

banyak bank dapat untung, berapa banyak

syarikat bumiputra yang naik?

Bayangkanlah kami boleh membantu sedangkan

polisi kerajaan tidak

membantu. Cuba ingat sebelum timbul nya

proton0… Kosong.

Mengenai masalah AP pulak perkara tu bukan

perkara baru. Mungkin ada

yang tak tahu yang proton juga mendapat AP.

Kalau tak.. sure harga

kereta proton tak serendah sekarang ini. Tak

percaya boleh check duti

import yang dibayar untuk sebuah kereta proton.

Nak check duti import

tak susah sgt.. cuma bandingkan harga kereta

proton di kawasan bebas

cukai.

(*)Kita memang tak payah bayar duti impot sebab

kita buat kereta kat dalam

Malaysia. Tapi tetap kena cukai. Kita tak ada AP.

Yang Proton kecewa

kenapa terlampau banyak AP dikeluarkan. Lepas

tu sebijik sebijik

kerajaan kena tipu. Bayangkan lah kalau kereta

KIA yang dibawa masuk ke

Malaysia… harga yang di declare adalah RM8000.

Tak masuk akalkan bila

kastam approve benda ni. Paling murah kereta

yang pernah dibuat adalah

dalam dunia ni adalah lebih kurang RM18,000. Itu

baru bahan bahan dia.

Belum lagi kira cost modal acuan, cost tenaga

kerja, cost R&D.

Bayangkan

lah banyak mana kerjaan rugi pada cukai.

Bayangkanlah banyak mana Naza

untung.

Dasar Automotif Nagara di perlukan bagi

meneruskan perjuangan yang

belum tercapai disamping menjaga serta

melindungi pemilik kereta proton

sekarang ini. sejauh mana boleh bertahan tak tahu

la..kalau tidak akan

bertimbunlah bakal besi buruk bila tiada lagi spare

part proton

(asalnya

milik Mitshubishi) dan akan timbullah barangan

made in Jinjang atau

sewaktu dengannya.

(*)Saudara… Dalam banyak banyak negara

pengeluar kereta, Malaysia lah

yang paling kurang memprotect industry

automotive mereka. Rakyat

Malaysia juga lah yang paling tidak patriotic dalam

hal hal kereta ni.

Walaupun kita telah merdeka, minda kita tetap

diajar barangan lain

lebih

elok dan tidak membantu barangan sendiri. Saya

ambil contoh… Thailand

membuka pintu mereka untuk industri

automotif…tapi ada syarat. Kereta

yang dibina di Thailand harus lah di export keluar

lebih dari yang

dijual dalam negara nya. Korea… cuba pergi ke

Korea dan lihat sendiri

disana. Nak cari kereta yang bukan dari Korea…

susah. Sebabnya… 1

memang mereka patriotik. 2. Cuba pakai kereta

import… Lembaga Cukai

mereka akan menyusahkan pembeli kereta tu.

Sebab kata mereka tentu

banyak duit. Jepun… Semasa mereka belajar

membuat kereta hampir 80

tahun dulu… nak naik bukit pun boleh undur (baca

sejarah toyota),

tapi

rakyat mereka tetap bangga dan tetap membeli.

Cuba kat Malaysia….

Kutuk lagi ada.

(*)Saudara semua… kejayaan sesuatu project

negara bergantung kepada

sokongan dari rakyat sendiri. The more people

buy, the cheaper things

can be. Economic of scale lah tu. Lagi banyak

dijual, lagi rendah cost

pembalikan modal untuk setiap kereta. Nak buat

sebijik kereta hampir 1

billion cost dia. Macam mana nak balik modal

kalau kita tak ambil

untung. Kilang enjin lagi mahal… tapi kita korban

kan keuntungan

kerana kalau kita dok asyik beli enjin dari luar,

masa mana kita nak

belajar dan maju. Protn baru 20 tahun. Korea

mengambil masa 40 tahun

untuk kerata dia tiba ditahap ini. Jepun sudah 80

tahun, Barat sudah

100 tahun. Ini industri kereta. Kalau orang suruh

kita fikir nak buat

plastik aiskrim tu pun majority kita tak boleh. Ini

kereta. So yang

mengutuk tu… fikir. Lagi banyak kita jual, lagi

murah kita boleh

jual… lagi banyak duit, lagi baik pembangunan

yang kita boleh buat.

Setaip test dan setiap bahan baru yang nak direka

memerlukan wang yang

banyak.

Masalahnya sekarang siapakah yang bakal atau

boleh dijadikan rakan

teknikalnapa..atuk kata macam tu..sebab Wak

Segan ni guna euro. Sudah

tentu la harga kereta proton pada masa akan

datang lebih mahal lagi.(

salah satu sebab isu AP keluar) Nak mohon

Nissan atau Honda atau Toyata

jadi rakan teknikal memang agak sukar.

(`*)Errr…. Ini kita bagi hint sikit sebab teruk sangat

dah ni. Kita

tengah develop kereta dengan VW. Sebab tu kita

jangan dengar saja orang

cakap.

(*)Kalau semua AP ditarik balik lagi banyak

masalah akan timbul.. salah

satunya adalah AFTA. Mampukah negara kita

membayar ganti rugi kepada

negara lain yang telah melaksana AFTA. Mungkin

ada yang tak sedar yang

negara kita telah membayar ganti rugi RM bilion

sebab menangguh

perlaksanaan AFTA sebelum ni kapada negara

Asean yg berkaitan.

(*)Memang kita akan kena penalti sebab ada

perjanjian AFTA. Tapi bukan

kita nak tarik AP macam tu aja. Jalan

penyelesaian masih ada. Kalau

negara lain boleh ada polisi dia orang yang

membantu industri kereta

meraka… kenapa kita tidak boleh. Kerana AP

China boleh mengeksport

kereta mereka ke Malaysia (kereta Chery hampis

masuk), tapi polisi

China

masih lagi tidak membenarkan kereta kita masuk

kesana. Memang dia kata

boleh masuk tapi dah 5 tahun mencuba pun belum

dapat kelulusan lagi.

Banyak syarat lagi. India… nak masuk kesana

kena letak deposit USD200

Million. Belum lagi nak set up kilang dan

infrasturcture jualan. Cuba

masuk kat Korea… Kita nak jual kain kita kat sana

pun dia orang tak

nak beli walau pun kualiti kita bagus. Kuat nya

patriotik dia orang.

Kita… apa yang nama lain selain dari barang

sendiri mesti bagus

punya.

(*)Bagi yang nak membandingkan kereta kita

dengan kereta German…. Bukan

tak boleh buat. Boleh… tapi sanggup ke bayar

harga kereta German

untuk

kereta buatan Malaysia.

(*)Tok…. Naza yang rata rata import kereta Cuma

tukar bumper pun boleh

jadi taraf kereta nasional. Perodua yang tak pernah

design kereta

sendiri (Cuma design bumper depan belakang) pun

dapat taraf kereta

nasional… Proton sekurang kurangnya telah

mendidik ramai anak bangsa

dalam kemajuan teknologi. Dah ramai hasil dari

pengalamn bekerja dengan

proton diambil untuk sektor R&D ditempat lain.

Bayangkan lah satu

kumpulan Advance Engine Research Proton terus

diambil oleh Petronas.

Bukan sorang…. Kesemuanya. Nak kerja dengan

R&D proton….. Paling

minimum 2nd class upper. 1st class berlambak.

Selepas berpengalaman…

Perodua, Naza ambil.

(*)Tapi saya tak marah bila orang kata macam

macam pasal proton. Itu hak

mereka. Tapi fikirkanlah tenaga yang kami beri

untuk meajukan negara

dalam bidang teknology. Boleh sebut tak company

mana lagi dalam bidang

industry yang betul betul menggunakan kepakaran

anak Malaysia dalam

bidang R&D ni. Kalau kita tidak belajar… sampai

bila kita tidak akan

tahu. Dan sampai bila kita akan bergantung

dengan orang luar.

(*)Tapi Bab support selepas jualan…. saya sendiri

pun tak puas hati.

Sabotaj pun Proton dah biasa kena…. Orang curi

part semasa delivery

kerata tukar dengan part tiruan atau lama. Yang

kena komplen… proton.

Tapi yang hairannya semasa Perodua recall balik

4000 unit Myvi…. Tak

ada pulak yang kutuk. Letak sebelah sebelah Myvi

dan Savvy… check

performance dia. Then baru tahu nak kata apa.

Jangan dengar orang cakap

je… test sendiri. Baru tau.

(*)Tak lama lagi akan keluar Savvy Auto-Manual….

Maksudnya dua dua jenis

gear ada dalam kereta. Malas nak tukar gear…

swith to auto. Nak main

ciluk ciluk… switch to manual. Errr… siapa kata

kita guna tecnology

70an?

• daniel on Nov 24, 2005 at 4:44 am

an article i picked up sumwhere on the net.. worth reading..

• weili on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:01 am

y they like to do the " cut and paste " job???too free ?is'nt it a crime to potong and sambung the car?How tough is the chasis ,don wan to see head and tail disconnected on the highway after travel for 100km/h….

maybe be its time to design a real malaysian car other than copy other ppls' work and treat as their own!if they wan to compete with other manufacture.

• sweden on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:16 am

if l buy a chancellor and a waja drives by my car, how would one tell which is the car the is > 120 000 or which is the

• sweden on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:21 am

some idiot say buy more proton , price will drop, arent we buying enough, the price wont drop as theyt know we have no choice and the useless supplies with big cables are ever profiting by selling the parts at very expensive price, so how to be cheap

• aksMs on Nov 24, 2005 at 6:26 am

Daniel bro, what you have commented (pasted) up there has been pasted in Paul's post before…by someone else I think.

He (the fella answering the question) has made his point. So lets get back to this so called Proton (Waja Exec.) Chancellor.

• yhtan on Nov 24, 2005 at 6:30 am

i read this at some where before….

but anyway,thanks for ur info,daniel.

• aksMs on Nov 24, 2005 at 6:55 am

Paul bro, anything on Proton topics will get longer and longer pages la… hehehe

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 24, 2005 at 7:07 am

daniel… what u have posted there originates from a yahoo group, i cant remember which, by a guy named protonite… and for your info, that fella got bashed, up down left right front back centre, kena kau kau…

while informative, is it validated? some of its claims also blatantly outrageous… japanese copying from proton? oh, get a life… another attempt to justify proton's bloodsucking actions, just like the japanese government tries to justify its world war past by altering their own history textbook… sigh…

for me, i dont believe what he said, it's just plain rubbish…

• see fat on Nov 24, 2005 at 9:38 am

lets see, MAS, Bank Islam, EPF, perwaja steel (gone) and now potong i think they lost billion and billion sof ringgit combined..the malaysian government is really screwed up….all those rakyat tax money wasted by all those blood-suckers, much like pontianaks…

mayasia boleh!! (mampus)

• Regarding the article. Thats the biggest problem we have with Proton. Patriotism. Patriotism wouldn't feed our men, wouldn't help our economy by making us buying our own local made car. Improvement will, continuous improvement and sincerity will.

No one actually cares whether Proton produces own design/made/construct cars. We just want GOOD and AFFORDABLE cars, it doesn't matter if that GOOD and AFFORDABLE car happens to be a Malaysian made car. Let's throw the egoism and patriotism behind and face the future shall we? If Malaysia spent less on all those glorious roundabout tower clocks, RM100,000 toilets, RM450,000 letter box of Parliment Building, and the World's Biggest Court. (Yes, court house where they sue people… and World's Biggest!! —- Malaysia Boleh??)

If our country stops the patriotism thing, and spend money wisely, invest wisely, select wisely. Malaysia will be an Industrialized Nation 20 years before Wawasan 2020. Because of Wawasan 2020, we spent too much money on infrastructure projects that gives people a mirage of oasis that we thought exists.

Do you all agree that if we spent less money on all those KLCC, KL Tower, Cyberjaya, Putrajaya, Bio Tech Village.. (Mahathir even talked about sending Malaysians to space …. OMFG). And we use those money to industrialized our nation, building factories, investing in R&D and so on; we can built even higher buildings when we have that kinda technology and economy power, rather than saving up for these huge 450 meter lightning conductors poking our KL skylines.

If we put aside patriotism (Honestly, having the technology to build/ design our own cars wasn't anything to be proud of — Pagani Zonda, Caterham, all these cars were designed, and built by a few mat salleh pakciks as well) and let our products compete freely with overseas products, and government only helping in theor R&Ds…. wouldn't that be great?

ok enough rants today.

Back to topic: Can we have a poll here?

Option A: Buy Proton Chancellor with RM120,000++

Option B: Buy this with RM90k++ and spend another RM10k refurbish it till very good condition.??

Option C: Buy this with around RM70,000++++ and spend a few k fixing it?

• see fat on Nov 24, 2005 at 9:41 am

not to mention hundreds and hundereds of millions of dolars wasted on white-elephant projetcs….the main problem inc the local councillors who approves useless projects beczo sudah terima duit kopi…remmeber the smart school projetcs, police housing projects (see the star 2 dyas ago?)

• Malaysia Sucks on Nov 24, 2005 at 10:09 am

Daniel….

perhaps u are still too young to understand all of these~ we have already too long suffered from Fucking POTONG low quality piece of shit and Mule Brain Ass Hole government's damned policies.

Luckily i won't taste any "rotten" POTONG products anymore. who care what the heck they will going to produce… Proton Cempedak Proton Ular …… I'm happy with my Mazda 6, Toyota Wish and Altis. See… no more POTONG

• mud_chains on Nov 24, 2005 at 10:18 am

Hehe… laughing all the way… what the heck he tryin' to tell us?? That protonite fella is tryin' to brain wash our head laa… to make people symphatize for proton effort… haha… How can u believe such rubbish article.. Japanese stole proton design..puuuhhhhhhhh… Just saman that Japanese laaa… dok diam-diam buat bodo nothin' happen..

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 24, 2005 at 11:04 am

bob, do i get option D?

that is, i'm not gonna buy it anyway, and spend my money getting an Accord or a 2nd hand BMW, which definitely shows better status and 'face' than an elongated Waja…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 24, 2005 at 11:07 am

oops…sorry i misunderstood ur poll…hmm… let's see… to me, option A is out… i'm not quite attracted to Mercs, so the next best thing available is Option C… BMW is my fav anyway… so might be biased…

• aksMs on Nov 24, 2005 at 12:23 pm

I'd go for option C, DEFINITELY! That old S-Class is plain ugly for me. Bring that 745i/750i to me anytime!

See Fat, it is true some of those instant millionaire sucked up money from the G funded project. You have the idea and the know-how but don't have the channel to get it done. Then one fella linked to the Pak Menteri or a Dato' linked to the political party will "help" you for a "SMALL" sum. In the end of the day, you'll only get 1 of out 100. The rest will go into their pocket. Then the G will blame you for not getting things right and done. Tiu Nia Ma Cau Hai!

Paul, you must've been busy. Is there any new topic coming? This Chancellor topic is getting outdated (too outdated in fact, the Waja is). ;)

Goin to service my C5 on Friday. Wanna see if I get to test drive the C4 or C2. Heheh…wishfull thinking!

• HighEndPcMonitor on Nov 24, 2005 at 6:20 pm

Seems like the Waja chasis with high rear end is not suitable to be maked into an executive sedan or limo car…the looks make it seems like very odd and weird…compare to the Perdana executive, i still see the design of the perdana executive better than this waja chancellor.

for those who like limo or executive car, can see the model most famous used is the lincon town car…check it out in the WWE "JBL" limo. that kind of design suite the stretched body.

• mifdhal on Nov 25, 2005 at 12:27 am

oh, its chancellor.

i thought it was the dean.

JUST KIDDING

"oklah" …..thats all i could said after i saw the new proton chancellor picture.

there is no big different from WAJA 1.8.

but the only thing is proton had made the car longer.

Actually, i think proton can not just producing the revolution of their previous

models buy adding some new body kits on it. But then proton should study from their mistakes and their buyers comment expecially about their quality and produce a brand new fresh model which is powerful,stylish,spacious,comfort,and high in quality.

• Blast_ on Nov 25, 2005 at 12:35 am

tooooo bad cant they replace more powerful engine like 2.2 or 2.4. is this thing going to competate wit other luxury car…………..funny. Are there still Waja`s problem there?????????????????

• cbljkkj on Nov 25, 2005 at 1:10 am

biggie:

I appreciate the comment and I know you are neutral in your stance but I was puzzled about the bit about the Perodua Kancil?? I did not include the Perodua Kancil in my testimony but instead a Perodua Kelisa.

Regarding the Proton Chancellor, an elongated body retrofitted on a Waja could possibly be a bad move as the body rigidity may not be as tough as the original. These elongated cars can prove lethal for whoever is travelling inside.

P:S Perodua bumpers are really tough!! My Kelisa got rear ended by a Volvo 940 while I was sitting at a traffic light at around 25kmph and the bumper was hardly scratched!! It jutted out slightly and was put back in place by yours truly.

• honda_driver on Nov 25, 2005 at 2:09 am

What ever the case, proton needs to buck up with new models that are good value for money, and with quality to match at the very least, the koreans. no point speculating on things we dont know..etc etc. i dont care or even want to see the politics, as long as they can deliver the goods.

"lets see, MAS, Bank Islam, EPF, perwaja steel (gone) and now potong i think

they lost billion and billion sof ringgit combined..the malaysian government is really screwed up….all those rakyat tax money wasted by all those blood-suckers, much like pontianaks…"

for those who continually talk of proton losing money, spending tax payers money..etc. i dont know the exact details. but i did read an article in mingguan malaysia., 6th november. its quite eye-opening to me. but i guess the "nay-sayers" will probably say this report is untrue.. or its propaganda.. or whatever it is.. anyways.. some of the details.

proton loaned RM785 million from the govt. the loan is to be paid back in full by 2012. but the target has been reduced to 2007.

today, that debt stands at RM115 million, and will be reduced to RM100million by 2006. Proton today from its car sales, and other profits etc. etc. has cash reserves totalling RM2.4 billion.

• Oh ya, they've got a Perdana Executive with 2.0 V6 engine. Then they launch a Waja Chansilo with the same engine. And what they really need now is some 40-50k car to fight off Myvi, which around this segment, they only have a 13 year old Wira and Satria. It's like Mercedes launching Maybach to try to win back those who ditched C-Class and went to buy BMW 3-Series.

• Bob, they have the Gen2 1.3 for that.

• Edman on Nov 25, 2005 at 3:29 am

I think proton should take note about all the comments here! We pay more money for cheap and unsafe cars compare to ppl in Euro an US who pay lower price for good cars. Try produce a cheaper, safe and 'almost' match other manufactures car to our loyal malaysian. We not expecting a very cheap price but expecting worthy price for the product. Nvm about the taxes and car duty for foreign car, We just want a cheaper and better car from proton. I love Malaysia and Proton but please dont treat us like we r passive recipient My friend working only 2 years as a despatch ini UK afford to buy a used mazda Rx8. Think bro..

• you all do your car design, engineering, manafacturing, marketing and sales sendiri lah. It's not easy you know to have our own car manufacturer. This is business and business have risks. We gain the knowledge and technology. Yes, we lost money but this business give job to thousand of people. To make something perfect is not easy. Thomas Edison did not invent light bulb just one or two try. Everybody can give comment and opinion. Bagi la komen membina. Jangan main hantam saja kawan. Think positive. From my experience, orang putih lagi berfikiran positif. They have failed A LOT.

• Peminat Lancer Evolu on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:54 am

proton chancellor, apa lagi yg boleh kita bincangkan tentang kereta ini? sebagai sebuah kereta yg kononnya utk tujuan kegunaan orang-orang besar dan berpangkat, ini memang pilihan yg ok. tapi kalau kita fikirkan hal ini dari sudut yg lain, proton memang bijak "memperbodohkan" kita dgn kereta ini. cc enjin yg lebih besar, interior yg lebih luas, pemain dvd dan banyak lagi perubahan yg sering dianggap mewah oleh kita, telah dilakukan terhadap model waja ini. secara tidak langsung, proton sekali lagi buat kesalahan dgn kelahiran chancellor. mengapa sering guna model lama utk "melahirkan" model baru? (contoh: arena dgn wira front body, iswara dan saga keluaran sekarang) cuba fikirkan, jika gaji anda ialah 10 ribu (atau lebih) sebulan, maukah anda beli chancellor sedangkan perdana lebih murah, sedangkan waja sudah merata-rata di jalanraya, sedangkan ia adalah keluaran tempatan? dan bagi mereka yg suka tunjuk-tunjuk dan action setelah beli chancellor, pasti mereka akan bermasam muka kerana orang lain tidak perasan yg itu bukan waja, tapi chancellor.

seperti apa yg dikatakan oleh Half-Half PB HatukNgkau ( sila rujuk nama ini di atas), adakah chancellor in boleh dikategorikan sebagai kereta mewah? chancellor mampu bersaing dgn camry ke? accord ke? audi A4 ke? ditambah pula kebanyakan kereta proton terdapat masalah semasa dihasilkan buat pertama kali. jadi persoalannya, adakah proton sudah buat kajian dan survey sebelum hasilkan chancellor? adakah proton upgradekan model waja jadi chancellor kerana tidak yakin akan jualan dan sambutan orang terhadap chancellor?

aku bukannya tidak support proton, aku pun ada wira dan gen-2 di rumah, tapi proton sudah berkali-kali buat kesilapan, jadi apa lagi yg nak dikatakan?? jika aku ada cakap benda yg tersinggung perasaan mana-mana pihak, aku minta maaf di sini. bagi mereka yg ingin berkongsi pendapat dan pengalaman, email kepada aku di [email protected]

• johan on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:27 am

all the loyal supporter of the govt policies, like that guy from daniel post, how come there is nothing done to advance the chinese or indian, arent we all malaysians? is it true, bumi owned companies like petronas, proton dont hire non-bumi staff? or dont give dealership to non-bumi investors? im not being political here, just wondering, how come so few bumi bloggers here? does it mean bumi is more happy than others to purchase a proton cause they know the "cash" will eventually flow back to them? another things is ppl like "protonite" seem to be very happy of what they have achieved? to whole national car project vision, and not taking things a little more business? will that result that non-bumi who dont get the "cash support" but have to live with a car name chansellor (the name is so funny, cause i work in a local uni).

i believe in those mega-projects Tun M did, cause thats national identity, but its also very ironic when the national car, pride of ppl like "protonite" seem to have a "power-window" problem identity even Pak Lah ask about it. so i guess promises is a vision, but it have to be realize with delivery. kinda hope Tun M read these stuff sumtimes.

i kinda feel proton is a vehicle for political interest than a manufacturer of vehicle, i mean chansellor really proof that by saying their target market out loud. by the way, i do agree there should replace the "export" their head of A&P and head of MKTG & head of PR, lol! those guys are the 3 stoges, together they dance to a funny tune.

i drive a avanza, (being the new love of aunties heading giants and tesco) its quite jatuh saham to see a 27 yr old guy driving it around town, but with the fuel cost, perfect 10 service center, and a toyota badge on it, who cares its made in indon or it (what my gf call) auntie car. better than getting worried which part is goin to fall off next from her 4yrs Wira 1.5 auto (terrible fuel consumption). and being a humble chinese/malay rakyat with an even more humble pay cheque think like this, shouldnt proton know bout this? or maybe we should start a natiaonal conspriracy, stop buying proton just for 6 months (since they are bz making cars with VW, maybe they wont know) then their head of sale, head of accounts and the pakcik from the storage will file a report to the new CEO, – urgent: spare part tiada tempat mau letak, macam mana? – lol!

just hope proton release the SRM asap, so we can have good things to say bout proton for a change, coz the blogs are getting repetitive. poor paul….

btw, is the chief of design for waja, gen2 and savvy is malay, chinese, indian, punjabi….? coz from a design uni, i know for a fact, cultural influence heavily on designers. would paul know?

-Support national car policy, so dont buy them form 6 months-

• shahril on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:31 am

about the article….all bullshit….!!! i challenge proton to release the names of their "smart" designers if it was true…let people know who actually design the car….proton is a failure and still a failure…proton has no identity, no clear vision…to all proton engineers, asshole!!

• Sekot on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:36 am

Its a wrong marketing decision. Wrong project to start with. If youre working with one company, and the mgmt decide something that you know couldnt sell, what would you do? Dont simply throw your flame towards the engineer, the designer, the whole bunch of the staff there. They all know that this project is stupid. You want to lose your job or get to the cold storage or you just do the best you can with the tightest budget you have? You can take the challenge (although stupid ones) or you can just sit there and do nothing but whining and bitching around abt how stupid your CEO are. You can change the whole skin of the car, but that requires lots of money invested. Its the economics of scale we are talking about! To develope an airbag system with ABS you require abt 10 mil. To set the right damping for your suspension system requires another few mil. And you know you cant sell the car. and the monthly volume is low. What can you do? Still bitching around? Stop and do your job. Get the best out of it. Blame the mgmt. Not the staff (althogh some are really a yes man, kipas power, pakai industial fan letak R134a siap)

• shahril on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:38 am

x tau lah nak ckp ape lg dgn proton ni…not sure though if they have any brain at all…

• shahril on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:39 am

x tau lah nak ckp ape lg dgn proton ni…not sure though if they have any brain at all….

• shahril on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:42 am

eh plz lah take out that stupid article….it's really pain in arse…!!! really bullshit!!

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:45 am

no economies of scale? man, i'm gonna repeat this again…

who's to blame? themselves.

why? look at small engine caps car segment, how many car proton put? savvy 1.2, iswara 1.3, saga 1.3, wira 1.3 and gen2 1.3… all also using different chassis, engines, tuning, parts and accessories… and they offer it to a small market in malaysia…

hello? if there is 1000 customers who's willing to buy a proton no matter wat,, and u have this much of cars, u'd only get 200 buyers per car… no wonder proton cant get sufficient sales volume to achieve ECONOMIES OF SCALE!

compare it with only offering one 1.3 car… proton will get 1000 buyers, how is that hard to get economies of scales buying 1000 same chassis, engines, tuning, parts and accessories? hello?

again who's fault? the whacko who made decisions la….

• damn right nigga

• //QUOTED: doll said,

November 24, 2005 @ 8:27 pm

you all do your car design, engineering, manafacturing, marketing and sales sendiri lah. It’s not easy you know to have our own car manufacturer. This is business and business have risks. We gain the knowledge and technology. Yes, we lost money but this business give job to thousand of people. To make something perfect is not easy. Thomas Edison did not invent light bulb just one or two try. Everybody can give comment and opinion. Bagi la komen membina. Jangan main hantam saja kawan. Think positive. From my experience, orang putih lagi berfikiran positif. They have failed A LOT. QUOTED//

This is one of the reasons we fail in many ways. Giving excuses, looking for other people's failure and compare to oneself's. Just like the local University Malaya, after being rated lower than previous year in many aspects, they argue back that they were rated better in certain other aspects, and published heavily on it disregarding other areas where they were criticised. And theres one more guy who argued that Proton had only 20 years where other car manufacturers were already 50-100 years. This is bullshit. I'll give some example:

1. Since Proton can produce a well build car like Waja. Why not all Wira and Satria following Waja's launch inprove in terms of quality? And why a RM60k Waja is more spacious than a RM100k Perdana V6? And why advertise a small, fun car as 'TOUGH'; with which it has only a 1.2 liter engine and say it's :" My first Lotus." ?!? Aren't they ashame of themselves?

To the engineers, i know you guys are doing hard work. And i know you guys drew wonderful lines while designing Gen2, but why Gen2 had such poor build quality and poor material used? Show urself some respect Proton! And no more Wira SE please.

• Wow, seems like the blog has been a placed to bash Proton.

Anyway, I will bash Proton only on its technical weaknesses in my car and not to the other car which I have not driven-waja, savvy, perdana.

So I can't say much about the quality, NVH, R&H except the design which everybody can judge only from his/her eyes.

The car has been developed for two years and I had read about it in Cars.my in which the waja was specially dedicated to our ex-PM. Perhaps Proton wants other people to get taste of it, a local limo. Of-course this car is not for the mass market. Because of that the price slightly higher than PV6 since no economies of scales. How long will it be in the market remain to be seen.

Regarding the Savvy, its it meant not only for local market but also for export. Therefore, its quite incorrect for some bloggers to assume this car only produced to cater domestic market and lack of economies of scales.

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Nov 25, 2005 at 6:55 pm

First of all I wanna add to Bob's '…no more Wira SE please' comment. I think the name itself should be changed to Proton Wira POE (Phasing-Out-Edition), this could be fairer to the consumers. The fancy 'Special Edition' tag is misleading people into buying this out-dated car. Especially the auto version. A car with 3-speed auto transmission? Duh…Whenever I'm driving my mum's 11 year old Wira (Yes, we've been fools for 11 years!) above 100km/h, the engine would go SOOO loud as the RPM is driven too high. Why? No 4th gear.

And fuel efficiency is TERRIBLE! Why? No 4th gear again!

Now back to the Chancellor , who on earth with a sound mind will want to buy an executive saloon with the exterior that looks exactly like the Waja?

With the adoption of Waja's exterior for this Chan-Sei-La, it will bring along all the complaints about the Waja to this soon-to-be-launched model. Anyone out there NOT having bad experiences with their Waja's power window? Oh, hard to find…

Savvy getting exported? It will never sell in Europe and/or Australia. Why? can anyone imagine 4 white men in a Savvy? Sure they will die of suffocation…haha…

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Nov 25, 2005 at 6:58 pm

Chancellor=Chan-Sei-La (Sure will die la in Chinese)

• To Johan: Gen 2 was designed by a group of Felda engineers..Unbelievable when I first got this infor…cheers to them! and not too sure about the idea of Chancellor came from which group ..

• Passby on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:38 pm

I supposed u guys driving a PROTON

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:50 pm

shai said,

Cars.my in which the waja was specially dedicated to our ex-PM. Perhaps Proton wants other people to get taste of it, a local limo. Of-course this car is not for the mass market. Because of that the price slightly higher than PV6 since no economies of scales. How long will it be in the market remain to be seen.

Regarding the Savvy, its it meant not only for local market but also for export. Therefore, its quite incorrect for some bloggers to assume this car only produced to cater domestic market and lack of economies of scales

=============================================

since it's not for mass market, and have to price it higher to recoup losses, then why produce it at all in the first place? why waste the money? what kind of business decision that put customers, market sentiments, public interests, shareholders interest and profit behind? certainly this decision to produce Chancellor is made by some people who has no proper business knowledge or based on personal interest….

if it is produced with intention for it to be sold for short term, definitely no one will want it for lack of after sales support and no resale value… from what i can see is that some ppl are complotting to increase money in their coffer by making government buying those cars to replace it's Perdana fleet!

talk about savvy… if u say so, then clearly it's just another process of anak-tiri our local buyers as proton tries to appease foreign market than us…. while they can justify it as foreign market size is bigger than what we malaysians can offer, i wonder how are they gonna sell that car without compulsory safety features like ABS or airbag?

ok, fine, to enter foreign market, then they'll put those in as required by law, but wat about us? we dont get it!! and we are made to subsidize these safety features so that the car could be sold to the mat sallehs???? hello? take a look at savvy's price in UK? cheaper than our local price after conversion? and dont forget that their price INCLUDED SHIPPING FEE!!!!

hello? can some people start wake up from their dream???

• Say nothing on Nov 25, 2005 at 10:27 pm

Good one… too good, nothing to say..

• naBEH on Nov 26, 2005 at 2:41 am

i have been telling how good savvy is…. but i think i will stop!!!! DOING THAT! i thought potong really is moving forward .. i guess i was wrong… i've just cancelled me booking for the savvy. -it's not about the car… it's about their ppl in the service centre. the BIG one somemore.

• SatehLAh on Nov 26, 2005 at 3:11 am

i agree with u SHARIL…. afterall, we are the ones who is actually paying their salary. pontianak SUNDAL mlm betul!!!

poton should published all the names who konon nyer HEROs la. those who involve kalau projek fail… the doors are always open… for you guys to BRABUS!!! btw.. Gen 2… if i'm not mistaken, is disigned by a chinese chap by the name of DAMIEN Chow or something. interior wa tak tau…. anyone can tell me?

• sweden on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:28 am

proton designers,: ah ya, cant think cant think, putus hubungan dengan mitsubishi, , boss minta design baru, macam mana

proton ceo: senang saja, ambil waja , pasang enjin pv 6, kereta baru, original rekabentuk, truly malaysian, 100 % local

proton employee : wa pantai boss, kenapa kami tak boleh fikir macam kamu

proton ceo : jom, we will use this new car for the VIP and export to everywhere

proton daring to change

• killer on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:36 am

proton:use mitsubishi enjine, stupid marketing strategy overseas,

In UK , overseas

perdana price next to c lass, volvo, so confident, arrogant more likely, failed

waja : market as bmw of asia, premium price too expensive compare to honda, toyota and performance, well below, also failed

GEN 2: market as my first lotus, premium price, still failed because hyundai cheaper

hence all failed because stupid international strategy.

to make up figures, donate 1000 wira as taxi to iraq, but unfortunately got bombed by allied forces

Hyundai:use mitsubishi enjine, market as cheap affordable car, becomes international brand

• johan on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:47 am

thanks EC,

if we can get felda engineers to design gen.2, perhaps we should look into harneshing the local design institution for fresh ideas that to relying to those fat bastard in proton design division. UITM, UTM, Limkokwing, im sure the students there will have a better design sense and taste than to produce a chancellor.

anyway, i like to ask opinion of bloggers here, why is proton investing in the univeristy teknologi in tanjung malim or building a poshy show room on kesas highway instead of paying more expensive import parts for the stupid power window problem? they cant even manage the company well, let alone producing good cars? i guess they need more help than just designing good looking cars. they nid a MBA holder who knows how to run a company.

– save our national car project, so dont buy them –

• proton dah x de bentok lain ke….WAJA tu bukan cantik sangat, KOTAK…

x kreatif…..dalam kerete mewah tapi bentok Arrrhhh!!!!

• harrypotter on Nov 26, 2005 at 8:55 am

The Proton Chancellor is the result of proton inborn inability to listen to the customers. How does one produce a good car if one refuses to listen to comments of the people.

On the other hand, we voted for this government and hence we get these cars in return, we can not blame what we deserved

• its time the idiots at proton put that healthy cash reserve to some use.

the argument that whether proton has reached economies of scale is irrelevant because regardless of whether they have we will still be charged ridiculous prices on the cars. economies of scale is not sufficient alone to subsidise the addition of ABS and airbags to our export models. so what do they do? exclude them from the local market and move the costs to customers who got no choice – us.

makes money yes. good long-term business plan? no. the only thing keeping Proton running is the big G dudes who have no idea it is to commit themselves to a 7-9 year loan to buy a substandard product.

Proton itself is changing for the better no doubt but shit like the chancellor needs to be thrown out the window – apparently they think our hard-earned money is justified to build better rides to those who don't forking need it. im sure the development process of this shitbag model may well cost more than million ringgit. forking hell wtf is the government thinking

proton needs to start acting like a company who wants to be competitive, not a company that keeps needing protection in the holy name of patriotism and national pride. normally i wouldnt give a shit whether or not proton does well or not, but the taxes are driving me crazy

• Ochra on Nov 26, 2005 at 12:07 pm

I think by using the same platform as Waja , proton saves money by using same platform. The decision to produce the Chancillior is made by the post TM management. I beleieve the Chancillor will be equipped with airbags and have the same equipments as the export versions.Wait and see fista larr. Other news also report that the car will boast better handling compared to Perdana ,more Hethel magic i suppose.

Since u all like to Proton compare to Korean brands, it took them 30++ years to produce their owns cars and the Koreans themselves as i have asked at the Asian Finest Discussion Board do admit that they suffered the same as we did in developing their Hyundai and Kia. Their media even made biased reports on how superior Korean cars are comaperd to foreign cars and even labelled Koreans who drive non-Korean cars as dishonest people and tax evaders .They did not like when GM took over Daewoo and here we are cheering VW to takeover Proton. The Koreans must think we're wimps.

So many bashing statements, got tired halfway and had to scroll down to find worthy comments.Haiyaq, since this car not out yet, why all the fuss.Have u all ride on ot b4 or even seen it??? Dun NATO.

• When will P2 come out with a stretch MYVi? :-)

• HighEndPcMonitor on Nov 26, 2005 at 4:41 pm

Quote from: Johan

>>

Guess what…if thats the case, then Proton will be rich lor….

1st thing = is fresh graduate pay is lower,

2nd thing = the model will be a hot cake selling and by that time, Poton will be bashed for cannot supply enough car for the demand (look at the Myvi for example)

3rd thing = Quality, power, size, accessories, top safety features, etc… will not become an issue however there will be relaibility issue due to experience not enough, Fuel consumption will be compromised due to most youth will think of power their first pirority. (view of advantages and disadvantages)

P.S.: Why not Proton give it a try to turn the table around…good suggestion that no body ever considering to think of and give them a try.

• Passby on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:19 pm

Hoh,i supposed u guys driving a Proton while WTF is the GOVERMENT THINKING.I hope Proton will produce a good car in the future

• Protonboy on Nov 26, 2005 at 6:19 pm

HAs proton ran out of ideas? Its time for our national car to redeem our national pride. We have been a laughing stock far too long !!

• Ochra on Nov 26, 2005 at 7:09 pm

What laughing stock. Proton is one of the 10 car companies in the world that could develop its own engine. Something Seat and Yugo car companies cannot do.Something we Malaysians could at least brag about to foreigners.

Proton is now under new managment. I admit i was not impressed with Tengku Mahaleel who's only objective hwn he was in Proton was making as much money as possible and then wasting them. I really do hope Proton could improve its products under the new head next year.

• ==QUOTE== Ochra said,

November 26, 2005 @ 11:09 am

What laughing stock. Proton is one of the 10 car companies in the world that could develop its own engine. Something Seat and Yugo car companies cannot do.Something we Malaysians could at least brag about to foreigners.

Proton is now under new managment. I admit i was not impressed with Tengku Mahaleel who’s only objective hwn he was in Proton was making as much money as possible and then wasting them. I really do hope Proton could improve its products under the new head next year

==QUOTED==

See? Thats the problem. What is so proud about producing your own engine, compounding yourselves on budget, wasting on the chance of converting time and money into profibility, and instead used those reserves to 'purchase' some patriotic engine which never won any awards? (Internationally)

Any car manufacturers can design their own engine, don't brag about how difficult it is to produce your own engine. It's like that, they brag how difficult it is, then they do it; so that they seem better in doing it. Do you, 'OCRHA' seriously think that SEAT, or some small company like SKODA cannot make their own engines? And it is something to be proud off for making/designing own engines? Childishly naive. Just like those Dato datos, minister ministers who strive so hard to squeeze out something from their portfolio, flattened it to the thinnest and widest span, cover their asses and then brag about it.

• pure stupidness…

• no economic of scale ; Proton could not compete at all in an open market . Globolization is imminent . No point to waste money doing something we are not good at , we should focus more on things that we are . Malaysia used to be good in electronics …at least there are foreign investor on that part , being stubborn only make us lose out in both sectors. Bragging about how hard it is to manufacture a car and national pride of producing an engine is not going to help . If others can develop an engine with limited budget and limited timeframe why cant proton ? given billions and 20years to do so (just look at lamborghini miura … its design by a few mat salleh in a few months in a very very tight budget and is still a masterpiece today )

It is very hard to stand alone in the automotive industry , proton should realize that it just aint good enough to fight the global trend ( Once again being stubborn and the issue of national pride and ignorance would not help ) Toyota sells more cars every year than what proton have sold since the day it was born .

• Proton Chancellor is just a Fancy name for the long overdue WAJA 2.0 V6.

No matter what the idiotic proton says, this car is a WAJA , chancellor or perdana enjine. Full stop.

Off course, these elites are never able to accept humiliation for only coming out with a WAJA 2.0 V6 after so many years, they have to call it something else to fool the average person that this is a new car.

The worst of all is their ill informed decision to place the price right above the perdana. If they were smart, place it just above the WAJA 1.8 and they would get half of the market back. Imagine a car about 90 k with V6 and 2 litre.

If the proton elites were on Donald trump's apprentice they would be fired on first round as Trump once said to sell a product, u must know the customer's expectation and make sure the price is right.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 28, 2005 at 5:24 am

Some imbecile once said,

"Kalau u tak suka, bungkus dan balik China/India, jangan tinggal di Malaysia!"

while i really hated that kind of statement, but i cant resist myself from saying,

"Kalau tak suka kereta Proton, kita beli kereta lain, jangan beli kereta Proton!!"

• biggie on Nov 28, 2005 at 9:46 pm

Proton need a flagship car something all other mfr. have. Perodua do not have one, but under Toyota they got Lexus, Nissan with its infinity, BMW the 7 series. This top end model will never sell well, but just a flagship model.

Proton boasting that they can do everything cannot have an old Misu model as a flagship model.

Now all platform have some sort of successor except for Satria. Proton should phase out all the old model Saga/Iswara/Wira/Satria/Perdana and use the new platform for its new model.

Johan,

Most designer with Proton is from UiTM/Lim Kow Wing/UTM anyway.

Sateh,

If the rumours are true the chief designer for Gen2, Damien has been sacked by the new mgt. He is TM boy and the rest of the team (engine/interior/external) job also pending.

• reMiX on Nov 28, 2005 at 10:10 pm

o…this car is suck…every thing same as Waja,rather buy Perdana…i dun think this car look much like a limo…is just a car with a longer body.should make it Unique n much longer body….

• Spyder on Nov 28, 2005 at 10:34 pm

More like a Proton Crapcellor

• donkey on Nov 29, 2005 at 3:20 am

Just heard that proton acquiring more losses and the reason due to the recently acquired italian bike company which is dragging the mother company down.

We are a little poor country where some of our people stay on trees. With all the gifts, resources are used very inappropriately instead of the better welfare. First this proton, then they bought this lotus which did not do much to help the slaes and why on earth that sinking italian company.

My God, all these are tax payers money , we cant even afford a house nowadays. this country is sinking and l am leaving.

• photong hater on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:36 pm

looks like a another stupid creation from photong………now is that they only throw in a PV6 engine into a waja chasis. I dun think it can be stable during high speed eventhough the base is longer than a normal waja.

• camry on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:53 pm

WHAT!!Price higher than perdana? Bulls**t ….jual mahal lagi. Then who will buy that overpriced crap. We can get a camry 2.0 (a lil bit expensive 140k++)instead of angkat that crap. I recommend the OTR price is 50K….weh, korean can do what…..why not proton….'daring to change' the price?

JUNK2 is a junk

• DARING on Nov 29, 2005 at 9:44 pm

Thank you for all your "briliant comment" about proton. But let me ask you guys one question. Are you an automotive or syling background or you are working in an market research company (THIS QUESTION ARE FOR SEE FU)

The way I interpret your comment is just like a 5 years old kid, ohhh who am I kidding the 5 year old is better than you.

Sorry, but it just so sickning to read all of the negative comments about proton from an amatuer.

• What a weird and ugly car!

It seems Proton is lack of ideas to build a car and this model represent another new failure project as nobody will buy this mix-match models (Waja pulled longer…lol). Damn, when they willcomes out with a car that appeal to publics preference and better looks??? sigh…..

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:59 pm

Paul, do u need more fund to upgrade your website, its getting full……………..if so please please contact me…….u know where to get me right………..

• Total bulls***! Do we look stupid to Proton? I say boycott Proton until they buck up or close shop if cannot handle the challenge. We should be like Europeans, when a substandard product is launched, ppl will not buy to show their dissatisfaction. M'sians are too generous & quite a perculiar bunch,place booking in thousands B4 seeing the car. Thats why Proton think we are dumb & is riding on us M'sians who deserve better than this crap.

• SEE FU on Nov 30, 2005 at 2:02 am

DARING said,

November 29, 2005 @ 1:44 pm

Thank you for all your “briliant comment” about proton. But let me ask you guys one question. Are you an automotive or syling background or you are working in an market research company (THIS QUESTION ARE FOR SEE FU)

Daring arr???

What's the problems?? 5 years old or 80 years old automotive or non-automotive company any relationship on this topic?, What do you want to complaint about!?? If you are that good, then tell us your opinions on POTONG issues and Let's us judge your age too!!

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Dare to dare!!?? go to sleep lah!!

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:45 am

"M’sians are too generous & quite a perculiar bunch,place booking in thousands B4 seeing the car…"

I TOTALLY agree with what Hari said !!!

It is absolutely unethical in my opinion to openly welcome bookings for a car even before the pictures and specs of it are released to the public. Malaysians in general are brainless consumers (even though the government has spent so much on publicising 'Pengguna Bijak' campaigns now and then), even more so as consumers of the automobile market. They should not let their kiasu-ness make them fall for such unethical practices adopted by the car companies. I SPECIFICALLY direct this to protong and ALSO p2. Luckily I did not fell for what my cousin told me bout the protong Sawi, about how 'sporty' it is, and how it is based on a Renault model, bla, bla, bla…If I had booked the Sawi, then it will be RM500 down the drain…

• DARING on Nov 30, 2005 at 8:44 pm

Hello Kid (See Fu),

If the government agencies don't support our own national car by buy and using them, who else? In fact, I as a Malaysian are very proud to see our Leaders ride our own car produced by our own people. If government don't do this, do you think that people like you will do it, support our industry and our own economy. The way I see your comment it already shown that you are not purely Malaysian especially at the heart.

Kid, why do I ask you about are you in an automotive industry or not, is because you are making a fool out of yourself when stating about an automotive terms. If you don't know anything ask don't just pretend that you know about cars.

Tell me my dear, how easy to modify a Waja to a Chancellor and how cheap is cheap. There a reason behind why Proton selected Waja as a based model. If you ask me, the Chancellor is better looking than a Lincorn Continental, Kia Optima or even the Hyundai Sonata.

Styling is one thing but technical and cost is the other. So, kid do your homework before you want to blabing on thing that you are not sure of.

Buy Malaysian, Proud to be Malaysian. Proton are for us to be proud of.

• AE86 Tan Chong MOtor on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:51 pm

It was a malaysians hero ( Proton) but that was along time ago u Know! We all know that The government gives more than 100 % in supporting Malasians Marque. For almost 20 year hah we never seen anything special about proton. We Take wira as an example, For almost thirteen years we are using the same body, only Ciput-ciput special feature has been put on. What the hell are they doing. We never design our own body. Iswara and saga taken from mitsu Mirage, Wira from old lancer and Perdana from Eterna. There is only a few models which the body was built and design by local. 2o years in the market and with so much profit they earned they never push the limits to build more cars that will arouse consumers arround the world. They never come out with thier own engine. Everybody out there, is it worth to buy an iswara for 30k +++. Nothing special in it.

I'll hope that proton will last forever. But please come out with something new that makes the malaysians drop their jaw by saying aiyyahh!!!! So sui lohhhhh……

• SEE FU on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:43 pm

Daring arr???

Hello anybody home?? I can't understand what the F**K you are talking abouT??

Did I say this is a wrong move? Pls go back to my first comments until the last post. I did say this CANCEL…LAH are for the G rights? and I said it is not for us, not for rakyat. What's wrong with you? I think you must be ah LIM again just change the F**king name to something else. If yes, don't waste my time okay, I don't wants to entertain…..such kind of ppl cause you are one of the F**KING ppl who just I LOVE this and I LOVE that but never contribute anything in this BLOG!!

Teach you one lah OLD man, sometime you do have to JUMP from 10 floors and you already know it is dangerous. Which means, Nobody need not to be working in AUTOMOTIVE industry to give any comment on AUTOMOTIVE or CARS rights!! If what you said is trues then there must be ZERO comments on PAULTAN's blog. Cause nobody is working in AUTO? Maybe yes and maybe no who cares!!

If you are not happy with the comments from the bloggers why don't you stay away from this blog. Nobody invite you to be participated here. OLD MAN.

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! When did I said I am the best in AUto or working in this Auto industries..bla..bla….bla???? Who?? PAUL did you say that, say something lah? Really a mistery man!! Ha..ha…ha…… :P CHEER!!!

SO-high !!

• hong ah on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:51 pm

ALWAYS REMEMBER SOME PEOPLE FROM POOR COUNTRIES ARE MUCH WORSE THAN US, INCLUDING IN THE SO CALLED MODERN NATIONS…

• Wah… u all are very good commentators.

Remember this rule: If you cannot make even a bicycle dont comment on othes who have made a car.

Just like If you dont have money dont talk much la…

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:39 pm

Thanks Paul!! You are GOOD!!!

Clapping hands!!

:) :P :P :)

Deleted that f**Ker comment!

• I am proud of proton, just like the French..proud of peugeot, just like the Koreans proud of Hyundai……

• damon on Dec 01, 2005 at 11:34 pm

See Fu, i agreed with your statement on "daring".

i thinked people buy proton because of price regardless of quality!!!

so forget about proton if you are looking for quality …

• dear Toh Pek Gong, i sincerely pray that to you bless Botong Marketing&Sales Dept not get screw by the m’sia viewer when its launch. bcoz such design kind of humiliation to all rider that Botong r such a useless in creativity.

and i pray, you bless the top management to get revamp instead of eating bullet from carlover!! :-p

congrats WajaClub got new brother joining your club……..

again i wondering why proton people still think they are proud of their own?and keep on the history repeat again again and again. is not the first time!

• habis hutang kereta on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:47 pm

better stop buying a new car. just keep our old crap coz the new model from potong is also a crap.

• habis hutang kereta on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:55 pm

potong still selling saga (mitsubishi fiore) that is already 21 years old model. perdana v6 12 years old (mitsubishi eterna 1993 model), wira 13 years old (mitsubishi lancer 1992 model). as a consumer, i feel being cheated. i think potong will keep selling the same crap for another 50 years.

• Iqbal Bin Mohamed Sa on Dec 02, 2005 at 10:24 pm

I read what Daring had to say and I'd like to point out that he is right. We should be proud of Proton. It is after all the national car. Whether we should support it by buying protons, that is another matter. After all, there is an alternative to it. Why not support P2. It has better cars of better quality. As for Daring stating the cost of converting the Chancellor from Waja, wouldn't it be a lot cheaper not to do it in the first place. I'm sure everybody knows that this will not work, so what's the point of doing the R & D. Might as well spend it doing other things, such as improving the reliability of the cars or at least figure out how those sitting at the back of Gen-2 will not hit their head on the roof when the car hit a bump.

• Tun Dr.Joshua Lim Ch on Dec 02, 2005 at 11:19 pm

take this crap and show it to someone who is going to buy a MercedesBenz S-Class ( or any japanese cars ), then we'll see what is their reaction…….

A. change their mind, after that order a chancellor

B. take a look at chancellor, then test drive it

C. dont bother about chancellor and walk straight into Merc showroom

D. want to get both at the same time

so? what's their reaction? is it A, B, C or D?

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 02, 2005 at 11:56 pm

Dear habis hutang kereta jadi besi buruk, if only all the Malaysian carbuyers know about this… It's all up to us educated carbuyers to raise awareness among all the ignorant ones, so that protong will not get away with loads of cash by misleading Malaysian carbuyers into thinking that they got a bargain from buying (outdated) protong cars.

Be wise, consumers of the Malaysian automobile market!

I HATE PROTONG, always using the PATRIOTISM issue to get the government and the rakyat to continue supporting them. No need to close down, just sell off to VW! Then it's investment realised, and the various lines within protong will still remain intact.

Those who "Sei Oi Min" (too proud to concede defeat) will inevitably end up broke. In doing business, one must know when to charge on, and also when to stop. If buta-buta charge on when there there are already signs of FAILURE, it will only make things worse.

20 years are long enough for the Malaysian carbuyers to buy low-grade national 'cars', and to pay hefty sum of money for imported CARS. Suffer a bit of pain now, or die a horrible death later. YOU CHOOSE.

Sell off to VW! Sell off to VW!

• camry on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:51 am

other brands are 'racing' legally on race track while proton is having illegal 'racing' alone. wtf……..no wonderlah "kempen basmi lumba haram" doesnt work

• patriot on Dec 03, 2005 at 3:09 pm

Someone should send this post and all other comments to:-

1. PM

2. Proton CEO

3. All other desision making ppl concerning Proton.

Althought i would like to support Proton cause of it being our national car, its sad to see that they are still feeding us this, are we truely stupid? are we truely unimaginative? I would truely not want proton move in this direction, recycling designs.? Pls someone start a nation wide survey and get proton to listen to its ppl and i feel they ought to as is a national pride!!!

• geejun on Dec 05, 2005 at 10:55 am

yuck… jus YUCKies!!!

• waimak on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:00 am

Proton shouldnt have named it "Cancellor" in the 1st place.. Just WAJA Exec is sufficient..

• Fendi on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:08 am

There are comments which say that Proton still sells outdated models. I agree with this statement. However, there are other car manufacturers still selling models which have been in the market for years.

Patriotism could be a factor for some people to support Proton. Other nations would have observed patriotism as a driving force for people to buy local products. French have been supporting their local products due to patriotism.

I am driving an Iswara 1.3, and I did tell some people it is outdated. But it is a reliable car; its engine has not given me problems. Despite of small problems e.g. rear door cannot be opened from both outside and inside, the car is still fine. It has entered its 6th year, and there are things need to be changed, but it still serves me well.

I hope people will be a bit gentle with Proton, as there are people earning their living by working with the manufacturer.

• DARING on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:15 pm

I much agree what Waimak said, that chancellor should be name as Waja Executive. First of all because a countinuos tradition from Proton Saga Executive and Perdana Executive. Second, when we name it Chancellor it really potrey that it is from Korea like "Chairman".

I would go for Proton Waja Executive, the name really match the product.

• DARING on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:25 pm

I would like to make a suggestion for the interior of the car. Maybe we can fit it with a massage chair from Osim, Auto Climate Controller or maybe a built in handphone from Sapura.This way, Proton might catch the target market of a senior manager.

Why I suggest product like Sapura and Osim is because they are from our country and the neigbouring countries. This might help a good trade follow for us. Hit 2 target by a bullet.

Comment any one?

• Tralliccio on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:36 pm

YAU MOR GAU CHOR!!!!

Be more friendly la brother….why must F**k thr and here dude??

U can comment in much more professional way then this dude…

Can't u accept ppl's comments u?

Take it easy k?

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 06, 2005 at 10:46 pm

"I hope people will be a bit gentle with Proton, as there are people earning their living by working with the manufacturer. "

That's what Fendi said. Nonetheless I do remember that I read somewhere that should VW bought over protong, most of protong's current lines will remain intact, e.g. the assembly lines, servicing, etc. It seems to me that if the takeover is successful, protong is to sell re-badged VW cars, adapted to the local market. Isn't that good? REAL quality cars are what we will be getting from the protong marque then!

Don't you know that one of the main causes why protong can't compete if the tax on imported cars are lifted is the INEFFCIENT local suppliers of parts to protong, that couldn't supply competitively priced parts to protong because they are SO uncoordinated, enjoying no economies of scale?

Unless they get the wake-up call, they will continue doing things this way. Once VW take over, those suppliers will have to do a better job, or their contract be terminated.

As the whole world embraces globalisation, we can't be harbouring such inefficient, loss-making businesses anymore. Let them walk on their own feet and compete like a real man.

• obiWan on Dec 07, 2005 at 1:09 am

damn boring.. that ass has been seen thousand times maa.. evelyday!! make some new design la!! comeon.. dont fool peopple terang2 la.. change the name, put some shitty gadget then sell it like a new model.. come on protong!! nk kena kutuk lg ke..

• design wise or not, i actually wont critic so much.

however for those people who defended proton, yes, we should love our national car, we should support them. Yes, you guys are correct. BUT we will only support those who have the initiative to IMPROVE.

Noticed Perodua? Have they made any wild comments since establish? Did they hurry themselves to export their cars to overseas and make big claims about it? Did they mention their products can kill other established ones before its out? DID THEY CAKAP CAKAP SAJA? NOPE. They didn't even cakap, but they just keep quiet and do their work, improving bit by bit.

Proton? They keep on making huge advertisements campaign stating "Dare to change" …. Waja is "Asia's answer to 3-Series" —-> Japan manufacturers must be laughing their asses off. and so on so forth. But did they make any viable improvement? nope, WHY? It's because Proton is controlled by our bunch of governments, bunch of old woolly asses (Not the top ones, but those di tengah tengah, selalu buat bising punya) These bunch of old sticks had been there for too long, having sitting in the same old place comfortably since Mahathir's era, they couldn't sense changes, nor threats. These bunch of useless monkey asses are the ones who are making our country backwards day by day. Did anyone noticed? Our country is going backwards day by day, rated lower day by day, policemens getting more and more "Gila Kuasa, gila duit" now military men also belasah kids….. firemen negotiating prices in front of burning buildings …… highway 2.3 meters from people's home…… wasting money building the world's largest court room with a staggering 2400 parking lots!!!! wat else? cracking highway pillars… individuals without car showrooms getting 30 over thousand APs…..

Whats wrong with Proton, means whatever wrong with Malaysia. Because, it's the same people governing it. Wait for the newer generations of our Malay leaders to lead us… hopefully. (Sorry, but chinese or indians won't really go up there, but at least we hope malays who got up there really does something in helping this country back on track) If not? i'll just save up enough money and migrate to some other countries. I love Malaysia definitely, but…… Proton doesn't knew that.

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:28 am

Oh Bob, oh Bob…Have I told you lately that I loved you?

You spoke our mind so articulately!

• boob,

i hope you grow up to become model citizen/leader

..don't let your idealism eat up your mental though..

(saw the third watch on tv3 last night; don't let what happen to Doc happen to you..)

• Bob.. pergilah migrate… nanti omputeh tengok kulit lain dia kata hei illegal immigrant ke ni atau assylum seeker??? Lepas tu nak makan, semua restoran mahal je, tak ada gerai, kedai pun tutup pukul 6.00, shopping compleks tutup pukul 7.00 petang, clubbing tutup pukul 11.00 malam. Ha baru tahu baiknya dok kat Malaysia, kedai makan 24 jam pun ada.

• Man said,

December 8, 2005 @ 10:06 am

Bob.. pergilah migrate… nanti omputeh tengok kulit lain dia kata hei illegal immigrant ke ni atau assylum seeker??? Lepas tu nak makan, semua restoran mahal je, tak ada gerai, kedai pun tutup pukul 6.00, shopping compleks tutup pukul 7.00 petang, clubbing tutup pukul 11.00 malam. Ha baru tahu baiknya dok kat Malaysia, kedai makan 24 jam pun ada.

LoL… If i go Singapore or Japan? And you have no idea how nice Swiss people are. Anyway….. cant migrate lar….. miss mamak …. miss char kuey teow ….. nasi lemak…… haigh…..

• Jayaram Menon on Dec 08, 2005 at 10:08 pm

I simply cannot wait for Volkswagen to take over Proton. If this is their idea of a replacement then I don't even want to know what models they have in store for the future! Perhaps we will get a rebadged Passat as the new Perdana. Let's pray…….

• I hope Volkswagen take over Proton, then sell it off to Africa. Then produce Volkswagen/Audi/ Skoda here. WOW~ !!!!! Then we'd get the Passat R-GT!!!!

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:56 am

Volkswagen Golf GTI at below RM100k? I'm salivating at the mere thought of it…

As for Man's comment, I would like to say this to his face," Kalau semua orang M'sia mempunyai kepala hotak macam u, dan berpendapat bahawa orang yg tak suka cara benda dibuat di M'sia patut migrate, then M'sia is REALLY in deep trouble – STUCK IN A RUT. Kalau nak improve, kenalah terima kritikan orang dan cuba perbakai diri!!! Ego yg besar hanya akan meneggelamkan u ke dalam laut dalam yg tiada penghujungnya!!!"

• HALFCUT on Dec 15, 2005 at 7:27 am

Firstly..!!! Forum ni adalah untuk komen Waja Chancellor 2.0 v6..tapi dah melalut sampai 7 keturunan proton pun terbabit. Saya bukanlah hardcore fan proton atau pun pembenci barang buatan Malaysia. 90% komen adalah negatif terhadap proton, persoalannya adalah ….kenapa ?. semua yang memberikan komen saya kira adalah orang yang educated kalau tak pun yang dah banyak mengkaji pasal proton atau pun yang dah lama pakai barangan Malaysia ni (proton). Takkan semua kat sini bangang sangat sampai tak tau yang mana intan yang mana permata.

Gen-2 : Engin ok dengan idling rpm macam race car..lambat jatuh..oklah tu..tapi kalau lah betul keta tu buatan orang Malaysia cuba tanya buleh dah org 6ft duk kat belakang..saya dah cuba terantuk kat bumbung..100km/j ada bunyi berdesir angin kat cermin belakang…power window selalu rosak…proton edar guarantee barang tu tapi kalau 3 kali ulang alik ke pusat servis proton edar dan masih lagi alami masalah yang sama…apa cerita…tolonglah kawan….!!! jangan cerita pasal guarantee..customer dah muak ulang alik dan benda ni bukan jadi kat saya je malah asal jumpa kawan pakai gen2 mesti ada masalah ni…at last depa tak mahu dah gi tukar kat pusat servis …tukar jelah keta…kerusi dia mengelungsur macam papan gelungsur taman mainan…percayalah boleh dikatakan 70% dari pembeli gen2 tertarik kepada pakej interest, harga murah(kalau nak banding spec dgn keta importlah), asesori banyak….cuba tengok gen2 kat kl ni macam macam benda taruk…rim 17, tinted fancy, bodykit…tu jela…cuba test jual harga 1.6 civic (na tak yah Vtec pun takpe) harga gen2…puhh..!!! berebut tenkencing kencing org trade-in civic..pasal apa..kualiti lah tu..

Proton saga 1.3/1.5 – malas nak cite…body ringan..harap spare part je murah dan senang

Waja 1.6 – sedap skit handling dia banding wira..kira spec dia ok lah cuma compartment dalaman perlu upgrade skit…shifting gear auto ok tak cam wira 1.5 sekarang sebab 4 speed…seat keras tak sesuai dengan harga…butang set audio di stering selalu rosak sebab spring murah…

Waja 1.8 – kenapa tak laku…pelik sangat engin renault ni…kalau pelik tapi tak de masalah ok…tapi tulah…sebaliknya yang berlaku…kipas radiator selalu rosak…engine version lama…betullah F1 boleh menang sebab pakai teknologi baru…takkan benda macam tu pun nak tipu rakyat Malaysia..at last sapa rugi..pengeluar ketalah rugi….

Savvy – tak kira auto ke manual ke atau tiptronic ke, kenapa sales dia tak macam myvi…savvy- ruang bagage/ kabin kecik, harga mahal, bentuk pelik pada orang….harap model RS dia je yang berkenan skit… Myvi – ruang besar org bayar 51k dapat 1.3 16v auto dvvt…sama engin toyota Avanza yang boleh muat 8 orang tak campur barang lagi tu..savvy…!!! 1.2 harap tiptronic jelah…45k…pengguna rela bayar lebih kalau dapat barang yang setimpal dengan harga…

model lain macam JUARA dan lain-lain maleh nak citer…orang dah tau…kesimpulannya kalau nak buat keta untuk market orang Malaysia kena ambil kira pandangan orang Malaysia buat research dan QA betul dak ada market…jangan ikut pala sendiri…betullah bukan senang nak senang dan segala macam alasan lain tu tak boleh diguna pakai…nak buat apa apa pun kalau melibatkan sales mesti kena buat SWOT analisis, ni nak jual keta untuk rakyat malaysia tanya orang korea/ jepun buat apa…dah kata pandai sangat sampai jepun pun nak tiru design kita apa lagi jalan jelah…kita tak ragu kemampuan orang Malaysia..cuma kenkadang sifat rakyat kita ni terlampau Malaysia sangat sampai otak nak bergerak pun payah..Malaysia lah katakan..cuba kreatif yang mendatangkan hasil..bukan kreatif tak bertempat…cari/ selidik apa orang malaysia suka…bentuk macammana, engin yang macammana yang power tapi minyak parak ke atau power biasa dan tak mendatangkan masalah…masalah vendor problem bagi barang tak de kualiti itu masalah u all lah…kia dah bagi mandat buat apa yang patut…pengguna tak nak dengar masalah…sekarang keta/ kepakaran dah ada cuma tinggal nak memuaskan hati/ nafsu banyak orang saja…kajilah…nak orang Malaysia semua ada intergriti dan sanjung barangan Malaysia tapi barang macam taik…kalau kita dah tau memang perangai orang Malaysia suka dengar rumors…follow lah trend tu…awak nak tukar buat apa…20 tahun lagi pun cam tu je…dah trend kita…asalkan barangan tu memenuhi spesifikasi dunia….takdelah bangang sangat tertinggal…

Akhir kata komen ni sama jer macam orang lain bagaikan mencurah air ke daun keladi…yang mana baik kita pakai yang mana buruk tolak tepi…saya percaya Chancellor ni ramai yang akan beli…sebab nya engin pun ok dan ada kelainannya…cuma tunggu dan lihat…biasalah rakyat Malaysia kan…orang dah kebulan kita baru kenal bulan tu apa…ok lah tu…dari tak kenal langsung..TQ

• harry on Dec 15, 2005 at 9:31 am

even the interior too luxurious, but the exterior totally 100% same like waja. Totally no creativity. If proton want to be name Chancellor, at least the design must be big different with waja. example; the front and back lamp must be stylish, modern design like non-nasional cars.

If that say used cars have second hand proton chancellor ;

when you first look- ; Chancellor or Waja ? ? ?

Waja lah ! ! !

• k33vin on Dec 16, 2005 at 3:38 pm

This is totally scap.. if say Waja 2.0, then fine… but Proton Chancellor with Waja body and Perdana engine?… you think we Malaysian are st*p*d until can't recognize the design?… shame on you!..

As others said… Proton should increase the product line, by introduce more "different" car… not combining part A and part B together and throw to the market.. but redesign a brand new car with different design and engine.

if the car's price is rm50k and below.. then ofcoz, you can do what ever you want.. i would still buy the so-called Chancellor .. if the price is low..

anyhow, the price for waja will definitely drop, if they increase the production of Chancellor.. and Wira car will drop even further down… and I'm wondering, is this their strategy?.. forcing price of old car to drop.. not only national car, but foreign car as well?…

I'm sure the AFTA is pressuring Proton to reduce the price of the car.. and by increasing the cc of the car (to increase road tax) is a measure to reduce the losses that gov will incure once all proton price will decrease? … emm… wondering…

to increase Proton competitive advantage by introducing higher cc car, with competitive price?…

by the way, we are lucky that Proton didn't do much redevelopment of the car.. is just some modification only.. else, the price will definitely a boom to all of us!..

just a joke:-

"R&D mahal lar.. jadi kereta pun mahal lar..Jika tak buat R&D, tapi harga naik.. orang akan cakap Proton terlalu mahal .. tapi sekarang tak buat R&D, orang cakap Proton tak creative… tak suka Proton, jangan belilar.."

cheers~

• proton lover on Dec 16, 2005 at 6:54 pm

for me that car interior is not bad!!!!! but who going to buy????? does people trust proton?? i think is time waja have a new look man!!!!!!!!

• akumemangbest on Dec 16, 2005 at 7:10 pm

dis is the never ending disease suffered by proton…..the previous model has not even established and upgraded yet their craze on delivering the new model still beaming.

• anyung on Dec 16, 2005 at 7:40 pm

After reading all the comments on this site, I am glad I'm not malaysian. Not because of "poor" design or anything but because of how negative people are about products from their own country. In Korea, we are proud to have our own car. Over here I see malaysians shunning their own products. Way to go Malaysians. I hope it stays that way so we will always have a competitive edge over you. :P

• virus on Dec 16, 2005 at 8:58 pm

boring…. :(

• habis hutang kereta on Dec 16, 2005 at 11:11 pm

Waja cut & weld selling for RM 138K ? This is totally a con job for those stupid enough to take a long term loan for this type of crap !

• habis hutang kereta on Dec 16, 2005 at 11:30 pm

Govt officer & ministers will use this crap b`coz it is FREE, provided by the govt. Go & check at their houses & we will find a lot of imported cars at their compound.

• Carkey on Dec 17, 2005 at 2:26 am

Oh NO……When is PROTON going to wait up….I think soon we will see proton in Hari ini dalam sejarah.

• CarPowerWindow on Dec 17, 2005 at 2:29 am

Is this model going to have a reliable power window ?! With this kind of pricing , I can buy Honda Accord, why Proton….buy at your own risk

• Carkey on Dec 17, 2005 at 2:34 am

Oh No, When is Proton going to wait up, this kind of model who is going to buy Proton. PROTON …WAIT UP..WAIT UP…..else soon we can only see your name in Hari Ini dalam sejarah program….

• k33vin on Dec 17, 2005 at 5:55 am

dear anyung.. i do agree with you that we should support our national product. However, you will understand if you are a malaysian, earn money from malaysia, spend money at malaysia. and the amount to spend to get this REDEVELOPED car.. is totally way to high for malaysia spending capability… besides, proton car is famous with its low build quality, and after few months or a year… you will notice the body of the car become lossen.. automatic sliding windows not funtioning, air-con with no cold air… meter reading jumping up and down, and engine problems.

Proton Tiara is a good example of frequent engine problem

All Proton model experience automatic sliding windows problem

Wira bumper lossening

Juara with a superb design.. yeah!!

what else?…

• Habib on Dec 17, 2005 at 1:41 pm

Oh shit another piece of junk on the road with a new name. Is this car gonna save the world?

• The maestro on Dec 19, 2005 at 7:42 am

I just have 2 words to describe the Proton Chancellor. BULL SHIT. Oh common man everyone knows that The Proton Chancellor is just an extended Waja with a souped up engine which is also currently being used the The Proton Perdana V6. Pure crap.

• Stupid People + Technology = Proton

• k33vin on Dec 19, 2005 at 11:33 am

i think is time for young guns to step up and manage the company… and i mean young is "free from those old concept adopted by current management team".. not age in-term of age ^-^

they should reshape its strategy… SERIOUSLY RESHAPE ITS STRATEGY!!… restructure its management team… SERIOUSLY RESTRUCTURE ITS MANAGEMENT TEAM… employ more fresh graduate from graphic design to engineers or whosortever that can bring in fresh ideas…

else, Proton will still struggle no matter how much investment they made.. and will not able to compete at all when more foreign car coming in… especially those manufactured in china, indo and other place…

is time for proton to buckup.. or face consequences..

• k33vin on Dec 19, 2005 at 11:34 am

*correction* not young in-term of age

• foreplay on Dec 19, 2005 at 12:47 pm

to everyone here, juz wanna comment on some fact(s). pls do accept my apology if there's any typo or heart-feeling, God-willing i try not to do any. reason being, coz (1) it's already 4 o'clock in da morning (2) i'm typing from my microscopic-size tiny iPaq keyboard (3) lack of sleep.

a. well, for your guys information, even aeroplanes are being stretched. talk abt B777. they have first B777-200, (in 1996) then they introduced B777-200IGW, stands for Increased Gross Weight; then they got B777-ER (Extended Range); then they come up with B777-300. 300 series are longer, streched version. What they did? They juz rivetted some 10-20 feet of steel/carbon frame, lengthen some wires, cut and reconnect some air-duct (ie. aircond system), put the extra walls and windows, that's it! job done! as long as the airplane's tail doesn't hit the runway on takeoff rotation; airplane is safe to fly 200-300 lives!

Same goes to multiple series of other model such as the Classic B737 series 300, 400 and 500. 400 being the longest in its variant. And newer 600, 700, and 800 gang.

And that thing is being flown at 800-900 km/h of speed in cruise; 260km/h on takeoff and landing.

So……… what's the big deal Waja being stretched…

Afterall, from what I believe, (i'd like to stress the word BELIEVE here, coz WE have been watching too much X-Files, Conspiracy Theory… until we DON'T believe everything around us anymore, do we? pity us we live in a very confusing world now) repeat, Afterall, from what I believe, Proton wasn't juz cut & paste the extra section. We have to give some credit on their Handling department now. After Lotus came in, Satria GTi's handling, Waja, and Savvy is damn farking good. Comfy, soft but not too soft, firm, steady, rigid but not too rigid; my God, as if u drive an Alfa. I'm more confident to tackle 140km/h corner in a Waja than in a Sentra or Corolla! So i personally presume that they people in Shah Alam or Tanjung Malim haven't juz cut & weld. They did some mathematics calculation on that. They did dummy crash test on that. Otherwise i don't think Uncle Samy will go to work on that.

b. Someone up there saying that non-Bumi are more interested in posting in these blog things… and asking why… by what assumption? Language? So u think whoever post / comment ONLY in Bahasa are the ONLY Bumi? Pity those breed. They have bad command in white-man language, doesn't mean portions of English-posts here aren't feedbacks from Malays.

to be cont'd… zzzzzzz…. 4:47am

• foreplay on Dec 19, 2005 at 1:09 pm

Someone asking, if my salary is 10k a month, will I buy 1 Chancellor?

The answer is… I earn gross 14k a month, and I WILL NOT buy that elongated-hard-to-park car!

Why should I buy a car that is not meant for me? Why should I waste 140k for a car that I can't park easily at Tesco or 1-Utama? That class of car is not for a 28-year-old man like me!

Get my point here? That car is juz not 'our' car. 'Our' here stands for young chaps, categorized from 20-35 years old of age, may be even until 40. So why do we YOUNG people, or small-family-starters up here so busy making so much noises? That car is for Pak-Pak Menteri, old-men, pensioners, District Officer, Government Heads. Why should we care? You think Shah Alam people DIDN'T even think about that? They have their market target. Why do we care. Actually 90% of comments here are very-very patriotic and extremely caring. Otherwise we won't be complaining.

p/s: Either too caring, or too unnecessarily busy-body, or too immatured. What on earth a 23-year-old middle-class guy earns less than 2k a month but wanna own a Perdana… a 2.0 car… oh my God.

• foreplay on Dec 19, 2005 at 1:21 pm

And don't get me wrong! I'm myself sick of most of the things that no need to be again and again addressed here. I've tried to help you Proton, but that proven to be insufficient… Sorry. I'm migrating next year. Bubbye good oily fatty nasik lemak & roti canai…

Ps: I'll try my best not to miss them. Or I'll open my own nasik lemak & roti canai stall if i get too home-food-sick. :)

• tu la proton….dengaq ada new model…last2 keluaq model waja yang dah modified sikit….tah apa2 la proton nie….. Dlm sebuk dok isu hangat proton sekang nie….lagik mau keluaq model apa…chancellor….hehhh geli lak aku tengok kete tu….

tambah jer sikit accessori..dah kata keluo model baru….apa kejadahnya…. panjang kan jer sikit kete waja…dah jadik model baru….. blah la proton……sampai bila pung proton takan berubah……

arios….

• Pade pendapat saya,Proton tidak seharusnya mengeluarkan chancellor kerana waja sudah mempunyai 2 catagari iatu waja 1.6/x dan waja 1.8/x.waja 1.6 mempunyai enjin yang local dari tempatan!waja 1.8/x pula mengunakan renault enjin yang mempunyai kuasa yg tinggi berbandingkan dengan kereta2 Proton yg lain!Saya ingin menunjukan kepada SHARIL SAID bahawa Proton bukannye bodoh dan ia boleh maju………..!

• adil2 on Dec 20, 2005 at 3:06 am

Proton tidak perlu mengeluarkan chancellor!buat ape je kan!Proton waja 1.6 dan 1.8x dah cukup………..!selepas mengeluarkan 1.8x,keluar pulak waja putra gti.selepas itu pula,keluar pulak waja tt.Sekarang chancellor!Proton seharusnye mengeluarkan jename yang lain lah pulak……………..!

Walau bagaimane pun,saye tetap sukekan proton waja 1.8x dan kerete seperti waja putra gti,waja tt,waja chancellor,gen2 yg tak gune 2, blh,blh,blh blah lah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Foreplay, agree with the idea. Of course the Waja has been fully tested before they make it to our daredevil road and drivers. The car had been featured in the Cars.My years back, which specifally made to our ex-PM but the Tun gave it back as he don't really need a new car.

My assumption is that, since the car is highly tailored to the Senior Gov. Officer or Head of Dept, perhaps P1 management think it can be sold as the company car. Call it a niche market.

Other thing, since that the replacement model of Waja, Wira and even their flagship model of Perdana yet to be seen, the model just fit in between of the time period before the new model coming out.

Personally I feel its a good model with luxurious trim but for RM134k, it take a lot to challenge the Camry, Accord or Cefiro.

• habis hutang kereta on Dec 21, 2005 at 12:15 am

what`s next potong ? Stretched savvy ? and named it Proton Kailan !!

• habis hutang kereta on Dec 21, 2005 at 12:30 am

Harap proton dapat selesaikan masalah kotak laci (glove box)Waja yang susah nak tutup tu bila pasang kat chancellor. Cermin tingkap tu elok seal aje terus guna silicon supaya takleh bukak terus, jadi pembeli takyah nak bising pasal power window rosak. Kotak laci tu kalau tak tau nak buat elok-elok, baik hapuskan saja dan ganti dengan para kicap macam gen2 & potong saga bumper plastik baldi tu.

• Proton Chancellor? I think those guys in Proton are trying to get rid of their abundance of Proton Wajas and now decide to modify them with the chancellor..a stretched waja? hahaha..and new name?same old car with the perdana v6 engine and now new name just because they make it longer .i wonder what stretched cars are coming up next? fancy a stretched gen2 or proton arena? :P

• Shahnawar on Dec 23, 2005 at 7:03 pm

what a powerfull engine of this machine! body guna body WAJA je, but the engine 2.0 v6 seh!!!

i hope proton will release their turbo cars after this. and the government, please approve la!!!

• The Dude on Dec 24, 2005 at 2:45 am

Haiyaah! The car is long so when you park the butt is going to protrude out of the parking lot.

• The Dude on Dec 24, 2005 at 2:48 am

Can't wait to see a Proton model with Lotus Engine.

• see fat on Dec 24, 2005 at 4:01 am

take a rm60,000 waja, stretched the wheelbase, add a dvd, curi the perdana v6 engine and put into the "new" waja, and walla!! a new car!!! chancellor!! (they even cannot come up with decent name)…and voila! a new price of (no, this is no joke or a typo) rm 140,000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hahahahahahahahahahahahah..potong u think we stupid or what? for that price u can get an accord or even camry

this is a daylight robbery and rip-off, add dvd, lengthern wheelbase, take old engine from another model AND PRICE WENT UP RM 80,000!!!!

A TOTAL RIP-OFF if u ask me

• see fat on Dec 24, 2005 at 4:12 am

on and off,

ayoyo dont buy the potong perdana man u will sure regret it!!..i have heard many horror stories of perdanan auto transmission poblemo man…the rear suspension also pobelm…believe me, i have rode in two prdanas, the amunt of NVH is the same as in wira or even saga..the suspension sucks, u could feel every bump on the road….i have also rode the nissan sentra and toyota vios AND LET ME TELL U THE DIFFERENCE IS LIKE NIGHT AND DAY!!

trust me, u will sure regret if u buy the perdana

• dawghause on Dec 24, 2005 at 11:13 am

my goodness, its hideous, i mean 138k? they could have spend 50 ringgit on design development. a streched perdana was okay, coz it was a slim slender body made even slender, this is like the equivilent of a strech elephant. this is rubbish, get it out of our eyes.

• Come on la guyz….. Proton is always Proton…….. Dun waste time chattin bout them, beter go do sum work….

• Proton has been good in one thing for the past 20 years…. Naming their car…other than that everythg is a total bullshit. Rakyat who got sum sence would go for brand new Altis / Camry rather than getting stuck with ur Chancellor. Anyway, wat's Chancellor? Kasi "Chance" "LLor" is it? Please dun blame us rakyat that v dun support u…If u were good in creating cars which can atleast compete with those jepun punye car…we might consider.,..Dun expect us to drive a Recycled material….

• tegaman on Dec 25, 2005 at 8:26 am

hei see fat

thanks for reminding the authority that the price is the same as honda accord or camry, if you have not mention it they wont notice it, now we expect the price of accord and camry to sky record

anyway malaysians are gullible, they will buy proton forever, it is not that we have no choice, perodua, naza are affordable choices with better cars

• tegaman on Dec 25, 2005 at 8:29 am

by the way

if i have money, l will migrate and buy a good car overseas

why would i buy an import car here where some asshole will be getting rich by ap and the government richer by impossible tax revenue

• Chancellor: Various governments have a Chancellor who serves as some form of junior or senior minister.

Chancellor (Latin: cancellarius), an official title used by most of the peoples whose civilization has arisen directly or indirectly out of the Roman empire. At different times and in different countries it has stood and stands for very various duties, and has been, and is, borne by officers of various degrees of dignity. The original chancellors were the Cancellarii of Roman courts of justice- ushers who sat at the cancelli or lattice work screens of a basilica or law court, which separated the judge and counsel from the audience. A Chancellor's office is called a chancellery or chancery.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chancellor

• THE REAL THING on Dec 27, 2005 at 3:14 am

GET A LIFE,if i was the PM i would sack everyone in the RnD of PROTON cause.WTF are the new directors doing hiring uncapable designers who just ectended older designs n call it with a distinguish name chancellor.come on if the germans sees this they will laugh .PERDANA has more potential 2 be upgraded 2 an executive car ,waja is tatally a family cae not for an executive.the price is even rediculus.i would say its worth 65-70k only.n one more thing this is surely going 2 be a flop ,watch my words.MALAYSIA BOLEH,PROTON TAK BOLEH

• choen on Dec 27, 2005 at 7:34 am

What next? Reduced sized Waja models for the environmentally sensitive? (Or just to do battle with the Peroduas….)

• choen on Dec 27, 2005 at 3:36 pm

Chancellor is in danger of being mispronounced

" C A N C E L lor"

• Basically Bob you're saying this is a crap car not worth of it's name.

Proton will make very good but expensive lunchboxes.

Tin boxes nonetheless.

• ssslay on Dec 30, 2005 at 2:22 pm

sighz .. what a wasted investment.

• gooberz on Dec 30, 2005 at 9:40 pm

nice name on it…but not a nice car….if proton think that 'chancellor' will hit the market….i don't think so..it will resulted the same as savvy….proton should design the 'chancellor' like lexus GS430 or VW phaeton 4.2 V8 at that price (RM138k). the price is to high while the design still like proton waja (scrap metal, i know bcoz i had one)…what the heck man!!! not luxurious enough!!

• Proton should come out with something special, to hit the mpv market since our mpvs here over in bolehland is the second most sought after vehicle type after sedans, Proton should come out with something low, more like a Wish or Stream, then wide, more like the Fiat Multipla, which can seat 3 in the front, then in total it'll be a nine seater, with 2.0 V6, selling at RM95k+ hohoho…. then Proton will kill loads of competitors.. :)

• randomshinichi on Jan 02, 2006 at 8:49 am

So, finally, Proton has really sank that low.

Seriously, if I worked until I was 40 just to get a million bucks so I could spend it on a high end limousine, I wouldn't show up in that car even if you paid me.

• yes it is great….

but one thing the price is very high leh….

i think the goverment have to do something bout that…….

• SAD_WITH_LOCAL on Jan 03, 2006 at 6:37 pm

DVD in this car ? Thought that DVD and the likes are only allowed by JPJ on MPVs, 4 Wheelers etc and not sedans or hatchbacks……

• Crabbe on Jan 05, 2006 at 10:24 pm

The government is a large shareholder of proton, and now launching a "chancellor", targetting high ranked government officers? what a goof ball ! No wonder Proton keeps on losing money! damn dissapointed. for RM138,888, i would rather get a Brand new japanese car.

• Uhmrigs - KBU Johann on Jan 06, 2006 at 7:56 am

i cant believe our "national carmaker" Proton actually created so much of hype about this "masterpiece". And the freaking price? RM 130K? Even the dumbest "high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives" with little or none common sense wont spend their money on this rubbish.

you can buy a standard Honda Accord 2.0 for 120K.

no way this rubbish will ever penetrated the national market let alone the global market.

and one more thing, im really pissed at them for calling the Perdana Executive merely a "stretched version" of the standard Perdana. My mom drives a Perdana Executive and im really impressed with it. Giving so called luxurious interior wont make a car any better if the design and price is still way over exagerated. Anyone who agree that the Perdana Executive is better looking and more impressive than this MasterShit please leave a comment.

A message to high-ranking Government officers, corporate heads and senior executives, if you have 130K please donate it to charity rather than donating it to Proton.

130K, I would rather buy 3 2nd hand import cars and modify them. then call the Chancellor to challenge my performance.

Kudos to Honda and Toyota- their new models, Camry, Accord, Estima, Innova, City, Civic, etc is the real deal nowadays. And ther are NOT OVER PRICED.

screw Proton, i think they should appoint Kia as our national carmaker. they make much better MPV's and sedans.

i can go on forvever but have to go sleep now.

btw you're doing a great job, Paul Tan.

Keep it up!

• semail on Jan 07, 2006 at 12:31 am

takde duit tak yah beli kete ler naik bas udah ler….banyak ckp pon bukanya leh dpt duit….manusia biase ler tau komen jek bab kondemkan org kemain laju…diri sendiri pon cokia heh…tak nak beli kete dendiam udah ler tak yah sesebok sape ada duit sukati dorang arr nak beli kete apa pon tak yah bz bodi

• 130k those fxxked up rasuah king of government will go get themselves 2nd BMW 3 series E46…..

• uni student on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:44 pm

most europe automobile company are shifting their manufacturing operation to Destroit East (east europe), a place that can compete with china low labour cost… more sedan cars that are above 1.6cc are cheaper than 1.6 waja.. approximately $15,000 selling price…(less than rm60k).

wondering how this Chancellor can survive…

• Jake (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 12:47 am

i wish to say that the launch of this waja 'stretch' aka chancellor is a good business decision!

the price at rm138,888; maybe net profit at rm50,000 per car at least- 10,000 cars sold in 10 years, that's a cool rm500,000,000 net profit!

market? ready market- government sectors to replace pv6

hahaha..whoever come up with this idea, i salute you..simply brilliant!

• tequila (Member) on Jan 23, 2006 at 9:47 pm

i m not surprised when proton announced the chancellor. thought with the new management at proton, they would be doing a better job but then, there goes our so-called malaysian dreams & hopes right. can anyone name me a car manufacturer in the world who is still manufacturing their last last last best-selling models; iswara, of which the looks…ahem…is a killer. if the japanese or the koreans have yet to cause a dent at our national car makers' profit, proton is still manufaturing old car models to compete its own new car range. sigh…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:50 pm

3 words:

1 – SH*T

2 – SH*T

3 – BULLSH*T

• a Malaysia student on Sep 22, 2009 at 11:57 pm

only steel wheel nia? why our Proton Holding so pooooor? same design chasis as proton waja,only change in interior

• maxx_marz on Oct 30, 2009 at 3:07 am

only stupid guy will bought that clown car