New Honda Jazz Facelift in Malaysia

newjazz1.jpg

Malaysia’s hottest CBU hatchback has just undergone a mid-life facelift. This was pretty much expected since rival company Toyota launched the Toyota Yaris hatch a few months ago, so Honda has to do it’s part to keep the Jazz fresh, lest it loses market share to the Yaris. The new Honda Jazz facelift was launched yesterday night at The Curve, Mutiara Damansara at Laundry Bar. Want to know what’s new with the new Honda Jazz facelift? Check out more details after the jump.

[UPDATED: New photos]

newjazz2.jpg

With this new Honda Jazz facelift, the physical difference between the i-DSI and the VTEC models have become much more apparent, as the Honda Jazz VTEC now receives an aerokit installed from factory.

The new Honda Jazz VTEC gets new body colour coordinated head lamps, a new bumper design with integrated fog lamps and retractable wing mirrors with signal lamp indicators. The car rides on a new multi spoke 15 inch wheel design. The Honda Jazz I-DSI doesn’t have the new head lamps and it’s new bumper has no fog lamps, and it also doesn’t have the new integrated signal lamp wing mirrors.

Both the new Honda Jazz VTEC and the new Honda Jazz i-DSI gain new rear brake lamps lit up by LED instead of a conventional bulb. Other rump changes include a redesigned rear bumper. So from the outside, Malaysia’s new Honda Jazz facelift is similiar to the Thailand facelift I covered earlier.

On the inside, the Honda Jazz VTEC gets a new self illuminated meter panel, much like the one you have on the Honda City. It also gets a new shift knob for the 7-speed CVT gearbox. No changes on the interior for the i-DSI model here.

As for color options, the classic red Jazz that you see everywhere is no more – red has been taken out of the colour range. Replacing the red colour is the Honda Jazz’s new “flagship” colour – Royal Blue. This blue has even replaced the little dot on the top of the J in the Honda Jazz logo. Other than Royal Blue, you can also get the new Jazz in Nighthawk Black Pearl and Alabaster Silver Metallic. For those that insist on Hondas being white in colour, although there’s no Honda Championship White, you can have the Honda Jazz VTEC in Brilliant Pearl White while the Jazz I-DSI has a different white called Taffeta White.

Honda plans to sell 150 units of the Honda Jazz per month, with 60% of the sales comprising of the VTEC model. The new prices are RM94,800 for the Honda Jazz 1.5 i-DSI and RM103,800 for the Jazz 1.5 VTEC, which means the Honda Jazz i-DSI price remains unchanged by the Jazz 1.5 VTEC goes up by RM1,000.

newjazz5.jpg

newjazz6.jpg

newjazz7.jpg

newjazz3.jpg

newjazz4.jpg

newjazz8_small.jpg

newjazz9.jpg

newjazz10_small.jpg

newjazz11_small.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• keaven (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 3:39 pm

1st…

• keaven (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 3:41 pm

looks cool

• J (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 3:42 pm

Looks pretty good now… but at 102K, shouldn't one add 10K more to get the all-new 1.8 Civic ? :)

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 4:15 pm

the blue colour is nice….the tailight also look attractive

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 4:44 pm

As is usual, the ASEAN region was a bit late to the party with this one. The MLFL for the Fit/Jazz debuted in Japan about a year ago, with the all-new model to appear next year, probably just before the Tokyo show in October.

Honda's done one thing odd with the Fit/Jazz and Fit Aria/City effective with the next-generation hatchback – the two models are being decoupled from one and other. The hatchback gets a complete makeover in 2007, but the sedan will soldier on for an additional two years or so.

Sales of the Fit Aria (the name the City uses in Japan and China) have been underwhelming outside of the ASEAN region, so it is likely to be deleted from the Japanese range and focused more to serve as a head-to-head Vios rival in our region, all of which means cost control (on a massive scale) is needed. The current Fit Aria/Jazz BOM costs are almost 20 percent higher than those of the Vios, yet in some markets they must be priced similarly. This has hammered Honda's margin on the car alongside the money-making Vios.

So the next-generation of Fit Aria/Jazz will be more of an ASEAN-focused vehicle and less expensive to produce. Word in the Japanese tooling community (based on forward die orders) is that the new Fit Aria/Jazz will be based on a simplified version of the current car's architecture and will not apply the new direction of 2007's Fit/Jazz.

Interesting to see Honda following so closely in Toyota's footsteps. This sure wouldn't be happening if Soichiro were still alive.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Ever since Honda launched the StepWagon, things have been getting weird. Honda seems to have lost the "umph" it had before. Too much bureaucracy, and trying to copy Toyota apeishly – example: beige interior in Civics, after Altis was successful. Honda tried to change their formula and become "More Toyota" but I think it's dumb cos people buy Honda because its a Honda.

Honda Malaysia now has the slogan "Challenging Spirit", but who are they challenging? Toyota? Nissan? Nissan seems more dynamic than Honda now, and on the bike front, they lost Rossi due to pride, someone allegedly said it was more the HRC bike than Rossi's skills. Result: Yamaha gained more attention with Rossi, and the new 135LC rocks.

Even Mugen has dropped the City/Fit Aria from its lineup of cars. The Jazz will have to soldier on as the 'smallest' Mugenizable car in the Malaysian lineup for now, and it's getting a bit long in the tooth.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 5:35 pm

i do feel the facelift's a lil subtle… compared to the one done on the City, it's kinda mild. but still nice…

• superman (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 5:36 pm

J said,

August 17, 2006 @ 7:42 am

Looks pretty good now… but at 102K, shouldn’t one add 10K more to get the all-new 1.8 Civic ?

One car is made in Malaysia, another isn't.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 5:44 pm

No wonder vios look a bit cheap interior compare to city, since the cost of making vios is 20% less than city…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 5:50 pm

superman said,

August 17, 2006 @ 9:36 am

J said,

August 17, 2006 @ 7:42 am

Looks pretty good now… but at 102K, shouldn’t one add 10K more to get the all-new 1.8 Civic ?

One car is made in Malaysia, another isn’t.

ya lah…if you put money in priority (no 1) then Jazz is not your list at all.but a gf,wife,second wife will love this car as a present or buy themselves as easy for them to travel.low FC, easy to park, less blind spot,look glamorous, still have four doors. just dont think other people think like you do..because different people different cup of tea.

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 6:00 pm

Yeah, it is a perfect gift for your loved ones

• pablopabla (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 6:29 pm

Rather typical of Japanese cars to change a bit of this and that externally every 2 years or so.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 6:47 pm

Our proton is the same too. So whats your point?

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 6:50 pm

honda should churn out jazz cars from their alor gajah manufacturing factory, just like what they are doing rite now with the city and civic models…this way we'll get much cheaper jazz cars compared to what we'r gettin now…but of course, this aint gonna happen…

for ur info, in indonesia, a jazz only costs the indons around 120 juta rupiah, that's around rm 49,000.00…geez, proton really does their part lah in ripping us off…

• Mickey (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 6:58 pm

What is the OTR price inclusive of insurance for the face-lifted Jazz?

• drM (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 7:27 pm

very little make over..but nonetheless, Jazz has been the model my GF and all other gurls prefer all the time…

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 7:39 pm

the blue color nice la… i like the ah moi most.. hehehe… but Jazz??.. sorry, out of budget.. another overpriced nice car.. thx to NAP..

ps: Tak sanggup la….

• szw (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 9:46 pm

not much diff oso .

its time 4 2nd gen d not facelift .

• alamak (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 10:10 pm

Jazz is the car that started and defined the Mini MPV segment in Msia. I remember when it first launched, i feel in love with the looks of the car, but deemed it impractical, expensive and perhaps too small for me.

3-4 years later, u see these Mini MPV as the best selling and widely accepted segment of cars. (example perodua).

Now, there's more than a dozen of choices for mini mpv, but Jazz is still at the top of the list in terms of residue value, desirability, technology (cvt and 7 speed shifters right?), ultra seats and all that features that aren't available on many of the mini-mpv.

If only Honda produce CKD Jazz to bring the pricing down… But that's another story…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 17, 2006 at 11:00 pm

Dogster said,

August 17, 2006 @ 10:47 am

Our proton is the same too. So whats your point?

haiya..another lame comments..dont really get you..what is the word same doing here? you have "same" and "proton" in posting for HONDA JAZZ. what is it?

can we discussing about other make without ever involving the "low clas","low quality","no respect","overpriced" blood sucking Proton.

• december (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 12:43 am

Eeuw. A damn chicks car. *pukes*

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 1:57 am

the jazz and the civic are chicks cars. somehow they just really like honda badge.

somehow the blue jazz looks better than the white jazz. and i do agree with someone, add 10k rm to get the civic is better.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 2:32 am

All-new Jazz in less than 18 months…

• sarawakguy (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 5:23 am

Wonder how much is the ground clearance? If it is too low…then its a "town" car…

• b4nd3r (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 7:31 am

I agree with pirate … and why Honda does not locally assemble their Jazz?

• king (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 9:31 am

duhhh….sure the vios cost so much less to make than the city….about time ppl start noticing it

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 10:31 am

for me, all cars in the jazz category are by definition "chick cars". the only smallish car a guy can get away driving is the mini cooper (borderline on that one) or a porsche. never saw a guy impress any females while driving a kelisa . . .

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 1:04 pm

i feel porsche is a guys car. the minicooper is a girls car. the thing is so uncomfortable to sit in and drive even thoughhandling is superb. which leaves it cuteness factor (as well as heritage) to make the sale.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 5:31 pm

Paul, can you put in more details regarding the FL Jazz? Were you at the launch event at The Curve? I was there, and HMSB was giving out press materials, right? Can you share those stuffs with us here?

And you forgot to put in the new prices. Jazz VTEC is RM103,800, and Jazz i-DSI is RM94,800.

• Paul Tan on Aug 18, 2006 at 5:42 pm

mayonaise: the price is at the end of my post.

the press cd was very very disappointingly empty.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 6:25 pm

Paul: Ah, yes. I missed that bottom section, my apologies.

They gave out a press CD? They did give out a brochure booklet, right? I actually did try to ask for it but they refused to give it to me. Those A&P people from HMSB are quite stuck up la… There's especially one fat b|tch that I would like to give 2 tight slaps to.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 12:59 am

Mayonaise said,

August 18, 2006 @ 10:25 am

Paul: Ah, yes. I missed that bottom section, my apologies.

They gave out a press CD? They did give out a brochure booklet, right? I actually did try to ask for it but they refused to give it to me. Those A&P people from HMSB are quite stuck up la… There’s especially one fat b|tch that I would like to give 2 tight slaps to.

—————————

be careful, she might actually enjoy it!

• slippers (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 5:41 am

there was a topgear poll on cars that guys should never be seen driving…. the list includes the Peugeot 206, Nissan Micra, VW Beetle, Daihatsu Copen (gasp!) .. basically anything small, rounded and trying very hard to be cute…. it's just too gay.. Would the jazz make it to the list?

• drifting4eva (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 9:12 am

post the link please. the only valid excuse for a guy owning a kancil/kelisa is 1) they are college students and their parents bought it for them or 2) they are trying to commit suicide in those milo tin death traps

• slippers (Member) on Aug 19, 2006 at 10:17 pm

My apologies, it was from a book called: "What not to drive". To be fair, smaller cars tend to be cheaper for the budget conscious, but it's still a crime for any self-respecting male to cough up 100K and above for a fluorescent pink beetle

• philippecr (Member) on Aug 20, 2006 at 9:56 am

drifting4eva: 3) some car tat would safe a lot of fuel cost for normal city driving.

• krap_magic (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 4:27 am

it's not like i don't want to support malaysian cars. But, 'somebody' has made me not to support the cars. Their prices are absurds. Let's take Jazz for example, put aside the taxes (as they are not considered as cost for making the car), you can 'make' a jazz for only 50k-60k. Come to think of it, in malaysia you can only make a proton WAJA? How lame… I dont care how much similarity between MyVi and Passo whatsoever. The quality is not at PAR at all. If somebody can convert me to support national cars, I'd be delighted..

• Isamu (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 8:58 am

Paul,

Any info on the mechanicals? IF you look for Australian news, the SK2~ed Jazz is slightly more than just applying SK2. I think they have some changes to the CVT. Not very sure about on what has or have been changed but some OZ websites mention aluminium CVT housing or such.

The North American Fit that was launched recently uses 5AT instead of CVT. Is this the end of Honda's CVT era or was the 5AT a marketing decision to not hurt Honda's image? Afterall, the North American mafket is really cut-throat.

The North American Fit also uses drive-by-wire instead of throttle cable. What about the local Jazz?

The LED lamp is real sexy.

• asimo (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 11:27 am

honda jazz still the best!!! i love my jazz

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 19, 2006 at 6:37 pm

Ayo..my 6 months old honda city already kena repairs under warranty twice…once for excessive front windshield wind noise (load howling/whistling noise after only 3 months) due to improper installation and now after 6 months for a "rosak" wiper motor???……furthermore took me 4 days to get the parts..had to drive w/out a functioning wiper..soo damn dangerous….So bad le this Honda QC???..my 2002 proton wira had better Quality Control…still ok w/ot any prob whatsoever..

• naina (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 3:03 am

oooo..i start luving this car's design..anyone who want give me as a gift hahahahahaha…

• Lazarus Mbewe on Nov 14, 2022 at 12:50 pm

I’m looking for that type of Honda fit

• Lazarus Mbewe on Nov 14, 2022 at 12:53 pm

Looking for Honda jazz Facelift