Dealers want minimum quota of Proton loans

The Proton Edar Dealers’ Association Malaysia (PEDA) is seeking help from the government and Proton Edar to help them out revive their businesses because more than 90% of them are currently losing between RM15,000 and RM20,000 a month. Each dealer needs to sell 40 cars a month to break even, but are currently managing an average of 23 cars.

The latest request to come from the PEDA is a minimum quota on hire purchase loans for new Proton cars for financial institutions. They want to drag banks into a politically driven situation that might result in bank hire purchase loan returns not to perform as well as they should. What will the bank shareholders say?

“Loan rejections will remain high, used car value is not expected to improve significantly and non-national cars will continue to give discounts. It would seem that our banks have placed Proton cars under a high risk category wherein our buyers are given a third class treatment,” said PEDA president Wan Ahmad Sepwan Wan Abd Rahman.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 6:17 pm

IMHO by asking for more protectionism like this, PEDA will incur the wrath of other ASEAN countries, cos it goes against the spirit of AFTA by favouring one make only.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 6:28 pm

This is so typical of bumiputera businesses! No thanks to the govt always bailing out ailing bumiputera businesses. Sigh.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 6:52 pm

It's about time the govt stop this practice of favouring Proton and its network. Proton has had its shot and they have missed it. The govt should not drag the whole country down along with proton! Look at the ill-effects this has caused us. Toyota has manufacturing facilities in Thailand and Indonesia, Nissan in Indonesia, Honda in Thailand, Suzuki in Indonesia, to name a few. These are manufacturing facilities, not just assembling CKDs. Think about all the technologies and opportunities they can bring to Malaysia. But they are all shunting Malaysia due to all these unfavourable business practices. And this is not limited to the automobile industries, mind you.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Well have to ask meh? If G reduce the Tax to help all ppl.. Dont want! Refund tax after received by G.. U say leh, SURE TAK BOLEH LAH.. When they started to sell lame , they will ask the G to help them.. Well i hate to say, but some BP they really dont know how to do business, when got money just spend it on cars,entertaiment and furnitures.. they don't have saving and always count on G loan.. When things bad they blame it on G again.. See.. Macam "Kacang lupakan kulitnya.." I met a few BP cars dealers before, tot their rich and famous. their car sell more expensive then others.. How are u gonna survive in this market? Pls if you want to buy a car, pls survey the market and dont kena tipu by those car dealers… And P1, if ur car is good and quality are u scare ppl dont but ur car meh? Even secondhand ppl will buy.. But now everyone know how good is P1.. Sad.. Even an 1990 Toyota SE limited are far more better then a new SAGA. Dont believe? Ask ur nearby mechanic or secondhand car dealer and see..

• ynnad (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 7:09 pm

Karma…

During the good times, these fellas made a killing on all of us when we bought our first car. Those 15% hire purchase interest , forced accessories, sub-standard proucts. Imagine what all those killings made for proton-related companies when EON even could become a bank???!?

For us consumers did we get to ask the Govt. for help? no… but now our gods have now spoken. retribution time. hell, why aren't Proton Edar asking Proton to bail em out? Shouldnt be that difficult rite, look at what the Proton Saga RM27K is doing? wonders for proton until the waiting time is more than 2 months. When was the last time Proton cars had such long delivery times?

but ofcourse, PE will have to learn to survive with less margins. Like our beloved PM said (during the oil price increase), this are difficult times, we have to change our lifestyles to adapt.

Karma… wonderful law isnt it?

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 7:11 pm

Oh if ppl can make appeals like such to the gahmen, pls allow me to make mine….

Dear gahmen,

My business of selling durian was doing well, but lately ppl just doesn't seem to eat as much durian. B'coz of this my business is suffering, I can barely pay my instalments for my Mercedes AMG55 or my luxury condo in Mont Kiara. As you can see my "modest" lifestyle is now under threat. I am not asking the gahmen to subsidize my business as that is not easy to hide from the opposition party. Instead please include a tax relief bracket for durian purchases so people can knock off their durian cost from their income tax. I believe that this will not only help me, but all durian sellers.

notorpkcuf

President

PEDURIAM (Persatuan Pengedar Durian Malaysia)

p.s. No insult intended towards the hardworking fruit selling community

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 7:29 pm

agree with ynnad:

Previously keep sucking our blood and keep silent, nowadays rugi pula then wanna help from G? NOWAY!!!

since even G help them, the G still using our money…….

• transformer (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 7:32 pm

spoilt bastard want daddy help again!

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 8:09 pm

"Daddy!daddy! No one want to buy my lotus-tuned cars. Can u do something about it?"

im a bumiputra bt i still believe d chinese r better businessmen.

just bcos u work in GLC dun mean u r a DAT good!

hope proton die in 5 yrs n we hv cheaper cars!!

• volvolover (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 8:21 pm

haroldz: I am not going to start politics here, but I have to say it, when G helps only one race and not others, Malays will not work so hard and other races won't have the spirit to help Malays. So when everyone is on equal ground, the spirit of Malaysia will exists, and Malaysia as a whole will thrive. Just say if Chinese earns more than Malays so what? WHen Malaysia improves, surely Malay will also improve. It's pure pride. Example, if Chinese earns RM10, Malay Earns RM5 and Indian Earns RM2 with help to Malays. If Malaysia improves and CHinese Earns RM100, Malay Earns RM40 and Indian Earns RM 30. It's still a better situation than the first, I think who earns more doesn't matter as long as Malaysia prosper, this bumiputra practices is killing every industry in Malaysia and Malaysia is losing because of it.

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 8:30 pm

Ini macam ke nak mintak duit?

Dulu bila untung lumayan, abang adik sahaja yang kongsi, sekarang rugi, duit rakyat kena tanggung.

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 8:36 pm

Proton, you need to rest in peace. The more you struggle, the more your rice bowl is uncertain. Clearly the rakyat is no longer behind the nation car idea. Pak Lah has a mountain to climb to keep M'sia alive.

• rushmode (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 9:07 pm

the gov should stop protect proton by now. then proton will force to lower the car price (if they didnt die first) to compete with others. and second hand dealer oso need to lower their cut throat prices. rakyat wins!

anyway, the BP bashing are not needed guys.

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 9:19 pm

i just wondering the proton is not doing well and still have the face to ask for help. before asking for help, did they ever look into what is the problem they are actualy facing???

if they don realy look into what is the problem, y not just close it down and don shame the nation.

bad quality, lack of new model, poor after sales services………..y not they just change the managment and get some real businessman to run it and c the result………..sure wil work de………….sigh……..

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 9:40 pm

notorpkcuf: I really enjoyed your comment. Some humor doesn't harm that discussion. It's too much of a joke, anyway…

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 9:50 pm

Wahhhhh it is 2007 and it was 10 years ago that I wanted to purchase the Putra ….know why ..becoz that was the only affordable sporst coupe available. Waiting list of 4 months …must be full of accessories or else u wait another 4 months.

these bullshits deserves what they did 10 years back. They have been enjoying all the durian runtuh for nearly 20 years and now it seems all their money have dissapeared for Merc SLK or BMW 7ers ( they won't buy/drive P1 or P2 becoz it is not safe at all). What a crap ! Now not enough money ask Papa for help. Go to hell man !

Paul, sorry for the remarks above. But I would like to note that G always said that accidents are due to human error. In US and Britain, this is a well known fact. So all manufacturers are required to fit in ABS and Airbags without much cost. For us ….it was an additional accesories, so MANY P1 and P2 lives can be saved if this is a std accessories. so those ppl asking Gomen's help sure need an airbag now becoz the collision is near coming. may I wish them….feel what the majority felt for 20 bloddy years man. Sell yr Merc for Saga la.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 10:02 pm

Well i just read the new paper this morning, i think they blame the financial company for giving loan more and easily for foreign cars compare to P1 second hand car.. A lot of ppl complain that P1 cars are hard to get and less compare to foreign car loan. An example: A 94' Toyota Corolla SEG 1.6 (A) selling at RM21k, Bank still can loan for RM25k ?!? While a 96' P1 Wira 1.6(A) selling at RM13k and only get RM10k loan and some car's even cant loan coz is already more then 10 years?!? WTF! What i know that Japan domestic Market (JDM) cars especially Toyota can get high loan, and can loan until the car is 15 years old… Why ahh? Coz their quality is far more better then P1, and the ppl who can afford it mainly can pay the loan well. While P1 a lot of car have been tarik balik, so they scare to loan to ppl who choose P1 or perodua…

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 10:48 pm

volvolover:

wot political bout ur comment?

it is sooo true.

malays dunno business, s simple s dat.

G should utilize msian chinese expertise in business.

i dun mind s long s we can gain somethng/ profit

even in sabah n sarawak, more peninsulars were hired in civil servant.

depriving local bumiputra opportunities…

yet these 2 states contribute alot 2 national wealth.

"we cant help u anymore proton. u must ur seek own destiny. Go to foreign automakers n beg their mercy. May God save ur pockets…"(insert lord of d ring soundtracks here…)

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 11:28 pm

Huh? ar u sure tat P1 is the pride of Malaysia?????

Hav mercy on ur rakyat n god bless u!

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 12:41 am

or might as well set a law to force every msian family mus buy at least 1 P1 car? sure could help them revive their businesses lor.

msia & P1 boleeeeeeeeh

• antaras (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 12:57 am

BettaSplendens, Proton WAS once the pride of Malaysia and Malaysians… Now it's the BURDEN of Malaysia and Malaysians.

• doc (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 4:09 am

I say good ridance to PI and to PEDA for all the BS that they have been shoving us…. Proton is a disgrace best forgotten, a failure of the Malay biz entrepeneurship that personifies the glaring corruption and greediness that is prevalent in the G. Why keep a flailing industry alive when you are making losses? Only reason is to keep certain quarters happy filling their pockets and milk as much as they can before everything goes down the drain. It is a practice that has become the norm in every biz instituition in this country. I'm sad to call myself a Malaysian!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 7:51 am

need jab from gov to stay afloat…rakyat will never trust proton again. No matter what they do.

• topgunthang (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:19 am

wtf….losing 15-20k a month and calling for gman help. wat kind of business people are these people. this type of loss is normal if you want to do business. this bumiputera pro practice has got to stop. its killing the country.

sat in the proton neo today. damn its horrendous. who would want to buy that car.

• mits27 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:54 am

Just close shop, it will benefit to most of us, people has suffer for too long…

• offroader manix (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:21 am

This guy better resign……asking help from government..it is not the government who finance the car. It is the financial institutions.

The economic…situation is very bad in M'sia…like most said better close shop.. Proton cars are way overprice and they are looking for those 15K – 20K bracket….in order to qualify..lower car prices is the only way out, otherwise most do not qualify.

Bank are not taking the risk on approving in those high risk defaulter cos most cannot afford it.

Those people involve in Proton are not clearly….not making any progress. The idea doesn't work anymore….it is a mountain to climb. Lower the price….even more to will be the only way out.

But with those buaya behind worrying….cannot service their merz….will died miserably because of bankruptcy.

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:04 pm

PEDA, please, it's a free market therefore be aggressive and with this chip on your shoulders. If your dealers can't survive in this market then something is wrong with them. No one is going them a free meal! Motivate and incorporate a philosophy/mindset change to ensure LONG TERM SURVIVAL! Try KAIZEN for a start! Use google if you don't know what is KAIZEN. Tongkat Ali is never meant for a long term spurts.

Walk around the shopping markets where PE has a roadshow, none of the sales person are charismatic or even knowledgeble enough to talk to people (forget about closing the deal). So give these fellas sales and pitch training. Also, you have too many dealerships and this is a fact! Drop unstrategic location and non performing dealership then you'll see your average of sales per dealership increases! Yes, unfortunate but it has to be done.

If your dealers cannot survive under open market then, unfortunately, they won't survive anyway with any other marques.

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:06 pm

correction: PEDA, please, it’s a free market therefore be aggressive! Despite with this chip on your shoulders and the dealership can’t survive in this market then something is wrong with them.

• normaluser (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 1:42 am

Minimum quota on hire purchase loans for new Proton cars for financial institutions? That's pure nonsense and all banks will not entertain such clumsy statement. Why must banks help them to fill in their pockets while the banks suffer losses due to NPLs and irrecoverable losses due to depreciation of the steel junks. So selfish of you, PEDA.

The good sunshine days are over. Don't blame others if you are not well prepared for rainy days.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:41 am

Sigh, pathetic request, treat Goverment as sugar daddy, treat financial institution as sugar mummy and want to treat consumers as cash/milking cow to act as pipeline to supply unending and uninterrupt supply of blood money to maintain their easy money untung atas angin!

PEDA come out with all "dirty" idea like scrapping policy or set quota for loan for P1 car by financial institutions, later may propose every household must buy at least one P1 car to show "patrioticism and pride of nation"! Keep on dreaming, dream until the cow come home! Still expected captive market under NAP to continue ……….. the reality of the future is dog-eat-dog free market ………

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

• the man (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:08 am

I love what happen to P1. I remember those days when they sell New iswara, booking…not d/pymnt…already cost 4k. 6 months waiting list…when the car ready "sorry your color are not available, TAKE this damn color or try to wait another 3 months for your choosen color. If you dont take this car, many customer are eagerly to have it"…that scenario..emmm in 1995…I really hope P1 kaput…blood sucker.

• kody (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:47 pm

wahlaueh…

Shame on G & national pride, P1… self sustaining already become major problems…

• Jamal (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 10:34 am

Calling all CEO / MD & top officers of potong, & all patriotic Top leaders of the

of our Gomen, please sell your merc & Bm & buy potong only then will potong survive. Then we rakyat will follow. If the leaders do it themselves then the followers will follow.

• Jamal (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 10:38 am

Kalaulah nak poton hidup semualah pemimpin2 negara belilah..poton.

• Jamal (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 10:50 am

Encik PEDA president Wan Ahmad Sepwan Wan Abd Rahman, belilah poton sendiri, baru minta semua kerja kat poton beli poton then barulah minta semua peminpin gomen beli last barulah rakyat.. tunjuklah patriotism sikit.