Proton GEN2 LED Brake Lights

GEN2 LED Brake Lamps

I spotted this black GEN2 in Taman Tun Dr. Ismail after lunch today, sporting some pretty good looking LED Brake Lights that in my opinion look alot better than the stock crop circle whitened out design. In fact, if I didn’t already know how the GEN2 looked like in stock form, I would feel this rear brake light cluster looks more “original” and suited to the car, and the crop circle whitened out brake lights are a modification!

Whoever designed this LED rear light cluster certainly has good taste, and the owner of the car has good taste too in “fixing” one of the GEN2’s small aesthetic flaws.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:18 am

Looks much better than the crop circle design which I think is seriously ugly. Proton should consider using this on the new facelift with the new engine cos honestly having slight change on the grill and bumper isn't enough.

• proton.com (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:19 am

good taste…available at brothers

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:19 am

I agree Paul!

Maybe Its from Taiwan or China.

• RacingCELL (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:23 am

IMO, this LED type rear light cluster better than stock1…

I've seen a Gen2 with this LED type rear light in penang island few months ago, around december in 2006 i think.

I was heading to my college. We met up at the main road in front of island plaza…

That time, i was wondering where the car owner got his LED type rear light. For me, that's a good mod~ suit my taste. hehe

Somemore, this kind of mod~ is very rare. Never seen Gen2 with LED rear lights after that1 in pg liao.

• gonggok (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:25 am

Looks good but probabaly not from China or Taiwan. Local companies are capable of doing this – don't be surprised if it's the OEM vendor. After all they have the original moulds.

• NiceCar (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:33 am

Agree!!! This design and the curve really suit to it..

Emm.. why the P1 design not gain the public agreement..

• proton GL (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:34 am

iv seen this l.e.d.-ed rear light before in a website,

a yellow Gen 2 with japanese regestration number plate,

• tec96248 (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 12:45 am

agreed that this light modification very appealing. saw twice around kl and pj. of course this light at brothers in kelana jaya last year. looks better than the stock form.

• albagmane (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:01 am

yea.. proton should feel shame on the crop design… gen2 has it, waja has it too…

• nmh (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:04 am

everyone (gen2 owner including me) know and want this unit…but MAHAL GILE lah…..still saving for this.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:16 am

its taiwan ….rm700..even eneos selling..the problem is,those LED lights easily burn(maybe bcos its taiwan made) n cannot be replaced….

• proton GL (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:31 am

as far as im concern l e d is far reliable than normal bulb, its cool lighting-

was that really l e d or ,justa multi small bulb,

..e-nabille?

• xg9 (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:40 am

i was thinking of buying gen2 just because of the this taillight when i first saw it..

• azrai (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:43 am

This unit of taillight available at Brothers.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:45 am

proton GL said,

May 10, 2007 @ 5:31 pm

as far as im concern l e d is far reliable than normal bulb, its cool lighting-

was that really l e d or ,justa multi small bulb,

..e-nabille?

—————————

That is definitely LED, no doubt abt it.

In general terms, yes, LED is more reliable, bt bcuz it's a Taiwan product, you know…..

• albagmane (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:47 am

ermm… i oso happen to see some hilux oso equip with LED rear lights and they look bright and cool… does tat come from taiwan as well?

• tokmoh (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:48 am

Btw, I hv spotted a white Gen2 wit that LED lights before at Sungai Buloh jejantas restoran. Looks very cool indeed, it'll be great if Proton implements it for the upcoming FL.

• drebar (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:52 am

LED lights i believe look nice on any cars… hehe

• BigCar (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:52 am

Price at RM700.00

Surt at here
    http://www.maxperformance.com.my/catalog/product_…

• bugbear (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 2:28 am

yep.. crystal type led ll be good too…

but it aint cheap..

• kruzer (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 2:41 am

Somehow Brother's seem to be able to come out with better design which make the ori look like "Ah Beng" design!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 3:14 am

LED is the current tren… even the StopLookGo also equip with LED. Proton just want to go backwards with lame design.. that is their style. Nothing we can do about it. Look at the current FL Waja… very disappointed.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 4:26 am

I saw this in Kota Bharu, but that time I am not sure was it some kind of film place ontop of the brake light to make a LED effect or true LED. I think it was a film stick ontop of it.

• wooz (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 4:28 am

Yes it looks very nice n 'acceptable' to general car buyers. Remind of the Dodge Intrepid http://www.edmunds.com/media/roadtests/comparison… Honestly, when looking at this pic you can imagine it won't be surprising to see this Proton car cruising on a road say in Europe or US; so you have to wonder how did Proton ended up in sh*t now – okay we all know why – but still a company who gives this kind of car design should be doing even better than Hyundai or Kia or any of those Chinese co's right? If Proton had this kind of design talent surely the engineering can't be too far off. That's why when the top is rotten even the good guys are left to rot too.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 4:37 am

hmm… if the new Gen2 CPS full specs is affordable, i will grab the LED lamp from brothers and buy the new Gen2 and ask the salesman for discount becoz i dont want the rear lamp. Instead i will replace it with mine… haha…

That is how good this rear lamp is… If i am driving a Gen2 now and saw this rear lamp, i would not have forgived myself… :p

• timmyboy (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 5:14 am

Hhhmmm…i have to say..i kinda like the design with the LED, true it looks way better then the original design ! Classy

• ab (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 5:35 am

i remember edspoting a gen-2 driving in usj just 2 months after its launch with its rear lamp filled with water inside…enough for a fish to swim in. Just goes to show proton build quality- Malaysia really boleh!

• marmitecrab (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 5:49 am

Paul,

I don't want to sound like a prude but isn't this an offence? As far as I know, changing the lights to something other than what was originally specified by the manufacturer is an offence and JPJ has the authority to bring the owner to book.

I know, I know, a lot of people modify their cars all the time and JPJ doesn't seem to be doing anything about it but I'm sure you don't want to be seen as condoning an illegal act, right? :-)

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 5:51 am

I dont think its Brother's design. Those are sold by some company in kepong. Anyway, last week I saw a WAJA with "angel-eyes" front lamp. It was cool!

• kei9 (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 6:01 am

it even have an all crystal colour other than the usual red.donno y what the proton R&D team are diong man.haiz.a headlight cannot even do!

LED light arer more reliable, quick and bright too! just like the myvi rear one.

• mits27 (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 6:20 am

This taillight is much much better than original stat trek taillight…

How come gen2 don't use LED light on new sedan, I thought LED is the new trend now which started few years ago…

• kei9 (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 6:36 am

mits27 said,

May 10, 2007 @ 10:20 pm

This taillight is much much better than original stat trek taillight…

How come gen2 don’t use LED light on new sedan, I thought LED is the new trend now which started few years ago…

they don hav a clue……..how bout projector type?..also good eh? last seen on the nissan fugo concept.

really wanna see those on the road.

• happymeal (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 7:24 am

i suddenly remember seeing many (alright..just 2 to 3) myvi fans going backwards…. putting the ugly bulb-type rear lamps from the Sirion. well, its their car :)

• Kevin Lee (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 9:44 am

paul no offence but this tail lamp have been available for ages, its been appearing in motortrader for a while, if u had a look, it is better than the crop circle lights imho, but pretty steep for price, one of my gen2 buddies is buying this from WRC sunway

• Paul Tan on May 11, 2007 at 9:56 am

Kevin Lee: no offense taken. you're welcome not to read any "old news" that i post here. but there are many who are not aware and would like to know. i never said this design was new.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 10:06 am

ahh, my bad, sorry for sounding rude though, however i wished the original gen 2 would have these tail lights, it would be a complete car, just like how myvi has its led cluster lights

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 1:41 pm

btw,if u wanna fix it,u need to dismantle the entire rear bumper ! bt it looks very nice..makes the gen2 look more expensive that wat it is…if price around 4 to 500,thn reasonable ,definalty will buy,bt 700 hard to justify

• normaluser (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 4:09 pm

RM700?? That's way to pricey!

• CyborgR (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 8:45 pm

ya..these tail lamp are real sweet stuff :) ..market pricing shud be around 630-780,available at wrc,brothers etc.

got 2 version and is taiwan make, 1 is clear another as shown red.

but the bad part is, the led part is bit pack up and not wide enough, for the red version is still ok, but if its the clear version, gen2 got 1 brake light and 1 static red light, when both are being light up, the red static light is brighter then the LED, so hav to take off the red bulb static light if wan the LED to look good. but end up the light area abit too small.

here a pic with the clear version to share wif u guy.
    http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b171/CyborgR/ta…

e-nabilll: for your info, there no need of dismantle your rear bumper :) just two screw.

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 9:57 pm

RM700? sure? very nice but amboi, why so mahal?

• sxe10r (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 10:17 pm

Nice LED rear lamp … y proton original didn't supply the lamp like this ?? … proton only know cheats ppl using the most cheeper part in the world …..

• kei9 (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 10:36 pm

sxe10r said,

May 11, 2007 @ 2:17 pm

Nice LED rear lamp … y proton original didn’t supply the lamp like this ?? … proton only know cheats ppl using the most cheeper part in the world …..

they have excruciating tests from TUV guys about the rearlight and all the other parts but ane thing for sure…….the rearlight design sucks big time!

• aksMs (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 12:32 am

You know what I think? I think Proton bosses purposely left out this design so that one of the "buaya upstairs" (read, 'Boss') can make easy money from his/their nominee aftermarket company. Don't you think?

But just in case the design team are really dumb, they should just look at the local car scene/clubs (e.g. Gen2Club/ProHatch) to learn what the owner wants from their car.

I once tried to modified my old Satria tail light to LED after seeing Peugeot WRC car back in 2005. Hahah!

• aksMs (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 12:34 am

Aik? Where's previous post????

• waimak (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 12:57 am

The rear light here looks great, no doubt. However I guess the original rear light of gen2 is the continuation of lotus design cues. Should P1 come out with LED that's gonna be great on the car.

I understand the LED cost RM700, that's bloody expensive for a light like that! The original rear light I was told is only RM188.

• darkteror (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 1:22 am

emm that lamp price is RM1.5k near sunway car garage there.

• proton GL (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 2:11 am

i think led is something not really standard fit for all range model, sometime even in bmw ocassionally or only seen on M3,

but being standard is good, price is another issue. anyway this design is nice

well original g2 light is not too bad, probally blackout that silver part in its light unit might change to more aggresive appearence,

anyway, the way paul take its shot, would any korean or japanese capable to be looked as solid as that.

• intermilan (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 3:56 am

rm700 is perceived as pricey coz the car itself cost in rm50k range and the ori rear lamps cost much much lower as stated above.

anything that could boost potong car appearance or quality (must important) are most welcome. if potong dont have the balls and brain to do it, kudos for the one who have!

mahal sikit pun no problem.. biar papa asal bergaya ….

but if got conspiracy like theorise by aksMs… pity lah Gen2 owner. kena tipu saja.

• kei9 (Member) on May 12, 2007 at 5:13 am

leds suppose to be cheap man……..haiz

• encik98 (Member) on May 13, 2007 at 12:52 am

maybe proton can hire perodua's engineers to do some 'Advanced Simultaneous Engineering' for headlights – that's their speciality isn't it? they've done some good work with myvi, viva.

• kei9 (Member) on May 13, 2007 at 1:18 am

encik98 said,

May 12, 2007 @ 4:52 pm

maybe proton can hire perodua’s engineers to do some ‘Advanced Simultaneous Engineering’ for headlights – that’s their speciality isn’t it? they’ve done some good work with myvi, viva.

i agree…..

• aesthari (Member) on May 13, 2007 at 1:21 am

Nice, it looks better, performs better (I think), and overall it makes the car look more modern and upmarket. Yea, the lamp does make THAT much difference.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 13, 2007 at 2:34 am

Saw it again lastnight in puchong infront of tesco supermarket. i believe is the same car as the photo above. similar number plate, color and rims. overall looks better than the original.

• kei9 (Member) on May 13, 2007 at 5:14 am

tec96248 said,

May 12, 2007 @ 6:34 pm

Saw it again lastnight in puchong infront of tesco supermarket. i believe is the same car as the photo above. similar number plate, color and rims. overall looks better than the original.

in my area, i've seen one dats better looking, got some wheel arc extensions……really look good and looks really OEM.

and also same rearlight as above but no red plastic cos it uses red high intensity LED's in side it……..

• mits27 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 6:25 am

Still, the current gen2 real light is really ugly…maybe I am too old to like that kind of design, I don't know…just hard to like the design, maybe it doesn't really fit the taste of mainstream…

• kei9 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 10:32 pm

oh well……..not evryone got the same reaction with it…

• hamdanii (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 11:23 pm

yah..look more nicer and more sporty..how about neo? any led light ;p

• kei9 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 11:34 pm

donno……maybe still in R&D for those aftermarket manufacturers……

• darkteror (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 3:16 am

wow hell cheap then sunway one but does it have guarranty?RM700 quite resonable price.

• gogocar (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 12:57 am

I always see that Gen2 drop by at my apartment. Is High-line. You can always spot this car at PJ TTDI area. I love the LED lights. Found it at Brothers cost around RM7++. I wish the price is lower after new sedan launch. More people looking for it. Normally if there is high demand and high supply the price will drop. I plan to get 1 to replace on the new sedan which I already place the booking. Wish it won’t effected the warranty.

• Carroll on Dec 30, 2009 at 11:03 am

I really like the P1 originals, the twin circular tailights look great at night – better than any other standard cars that I can think of, no matter how expensive. Maybe Malaysians get tired of seeing them, but here, (in UK) a GEN-2 is quite a rare sight, rare enough to notice if one passes by. Certainly they look more striking than the hordes of Ford Focus/GM Astra/VW Golf we mostly see.

Many people mock aftermarket crystal LED-type lights as 'Lexarse' style, (Lexus)

It also makes me laugh to see how BMW now have similar 'fan' rear light design on the latest 3-series to the later Impian, (Waja) models…