2008 Honda Accord Full Details and Photos

Honda has released details and full product images of the new 2008 Honda Accord sedan and coupe, but let’s look at the Accord sedan first as it is more relevant to our local market. The Honda Accord sedan in the US comes with 3 engine options – two 2.4 litre inline-4 i-VTEC units as well as a 3.5 litre V6 engine for the top of the line model.

Related Stories:
2008 Honda Accord launched in Malaysia
2008 Honda Accord 2.0 VTi Test Drive Review
2008 Honda Accord 2.4 and 3.5 V6 tested in Tochigi, Japan

The 2.4 litre engine is available in two stages of tune – a 177hp @ 6,500rpm, 218Nm @ 4,300rpm basic unit that has 7 more horsepower than the 2.4 litre in the current Accord as well as a tuned up 190hp at 7,000rpm variant with 220Nm of torque at 4,400rpm thanks to a reprogrammed ECU and a high-flow muffler with a variable valve silencer.

The V6 unit grows from 3.0 litre in the current Accord up to 3.5 litres and makes 268 horsepower at 6,200rpm and 336Nm of torque at 5,000rpm. This SOHC V6 engine is equipped with Variable Cylinder Management which allows the engine to operate on three, four or all six cylinders to help boost fuel economy or power as needed. The coupe has this same engine without the VCM – the reduced valvetrain weight improves low to mid-range power.

Once again the 2008 Honda Accord rides on a double wishbone front suspension at the front, enhancing the driving experience. In the US market, this new Honda Accord marks a few firsts for a USDM Accord – disc brakes on all wheels for all models, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) on all models, power lumbar support, auto-dimming inside mirror, compass, multi-line display CD and MP3 player, auxiliary-input jack and subwoofer. I sincerely hope the Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) as standard on all models make it to Malaysia – when you pay over RM130,000 for a car I think safety features such as traction control are very important.

The interior space of the new 2008 Honda Accord has been improved so much that it is now classified as an EPA Large Sedan in the US market. Honda says the interior offers “equal” front and rear seating comfort for four adults – the rear passenger comfort level is no longer a hit and miss thing if the front passengers move the seats too far rearward. If you measure the growth in size from the exterior, the new 2008 Accord is 76mm longer than the previous model, 28mm wider and 22mm taller. Torsional rigidity has been improved by 20% thanks to the usage of 48% high-tensile steel, the highest by volume of any Honda Accord to date.

Aerodynamics have also been improved thanks to a new frame rail system which positions the frame rails inside the Accord’s body structure instead of underneath it, creating a nearly flat bottom to ruduce under-floor turbulence. The car is also more balance now in terms of weight distribution as the fuel tank has been moved lower and further forward.

It is not known at the moment when the new 2008 Honda Accord will be introduced in Malaysia, or whether these engine enhancements will be brought here or not as we usually carry the same engine specs as Thailand Accords, and one of the ways the new engine makes more power is because it has a higher compression ratio. Thailand fuel might not be able to handle that. A new Accord also usually means a new Honda Odyssey is coming soon, which is a lovely MPV.

Read Honda’s full press release on the 2008 Honda Accord.

More images and a video after the jump!

Video: 2008 Honda Accord

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 12:14 pm

Look elegant and “garang”!

• terryhee (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 12:23 pm

y the outlook like sonata NF ??

• lipster (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 12:34 pm

Let me be the first to state that it looks like a Hyundai!

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 12:50 pm

This Accord does looks good. But i feel that the rear looks alike with current Accord. And the interior doesn’t look as good as the Civic’s.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 12:54 pm

Weird design.
    Miss the previous design.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 12:55 pm

rear looks like the lexus. abit like the new sonata and abit of volvo s40 front end….interior is not really that much diff….i guess its geting harder to find original designs nowadays…

• nikanasz (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:08 pm

agree with e-nabill, looks like the new sonata. in fact, this accord, the new sonata, and the new camry looks alike.

• 707 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:25 pm

looks like a bmw from the rear

• mp (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:30 pm

side view gives me the feeling of a 5 seriess. the current honda accord is cool.better. but xzos on this one is killer….

• szw (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:39 pm

hyundai and honda use the same designer ar ?

• avanza (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:41 pm

imho camry looks better

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:41 pm

hahaha once the table has turned.. after accord has been beaten in styling by camry, now the new accord in an afford to fight back came out with something new but i’ve to say that it look preety much like a camry styling with some of bmw also incorperated..

• freeze (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:52 pm

Ewww. The front is so boring. Something you don’t expect from Honda but Korean brands.

Put a BMW emblem at the rear and people would assume its a new 5 series. (from the back) . I like the rear section, has sort of a camouflage look .

Overall from the exterior if you remove the badges and ask me to identify the car I would guess a Lexus.

• freeze (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 1:56 pm

1sr & 5th pictures, like S class.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 2:05 pm

nice accord….

• adrian yap (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 2:20 pm

interior remain good but exterior is out .

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 2:39 pm

People getting bigger, cars follow in sizes.

Back looks bland…can’t seem to point the finger to what but it just looks that something is missing.

Looks under-“tyred”, could use bigger wheels and tyres but knowing Honda, they have always used tyres one size too small for all thier cars, even the previous EP Type R which the only let down was the stock tyres.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 3:09 pm

Looks nice…but from side reminds me of Chrysler Sebring la …can someone inform when it is available….so that I can cancel the Camry !

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 3:20 pm

i can smell some of the bmw 5 series ingredients inside this new accord.. anyway, design looks a bit conservative but overall is quite good, not too radical..

• longjaafar (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:01 pm

I wish it has more ooomph! The BM’s can extract 218bhp from a 2.5 litre engine and the best that Honda can do is only 190, ie for the ‘higher powered’ version. Even then, it is available at high 7000rpm.
    In the looks dept, I think this time Honda has got it’s act together and can give the Camry a run for it’s money.

• StingRayINC (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:12 pm

90% looks like Toyota Camry, how do you guys think?

• Rolling8 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:19 pm

Look more Steady but less Sporty? I prefer Camry …

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:29 pm

looks like a bad cross between a C-class rear end and mercs signature waistline line on the door handles, 5 series side profile and interior of the my08 impreza….

76mm longer than previous model… and the previous model isnt small to start with!!

6 months to msian debut perhaps?

• gmc (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Paul

Does it have rear vent A/C just like Camry or even Ford Focus?

• timber8115 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:36 pm

hi bro stingray,

I agree with what you say. Resembles camry lines…. Isnt it bored looking car?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Wow BMW & Mercedes-Benz on the outside, Honda on the inside!!

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:45 pm

Em, conservative styling.. but veteran driver will like this.
    This accord carries so much USDM exterior. The USDM Camry also nothing to admire too.. (have any change for JDM or not?)

Although Camry don’t release another model, my first sight say the current Camry (Asean model) is already good looking.
    Accord interior might be better…
    Maybe will sell on 4th quarter 2008.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:45 pm

to me the car seems to turn to uncle-lish design… looks like they are targeting the executive sedans on uncles? still prefer the look on current accords…

• jackson91 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:49 pm

hahahaaha…. great…. now we’ve seen it all…. a honda that wants to look like a lexus….this car looks so disjointed. there is no fluidity of lines from front to back. looks like someone photoshopped a lexus ls400 front and bmw 5 series rear to the current accord.

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:52 pm

looks..kinda retro. especially the front, like the accord of 2-3 gens ago. boring
    la…

• boonspot (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 4:53 pm

not surprising. Honda’s external design has been quite disappointing in the last few models – though the interior’s good. This round, it looks like they adapted the Proton Waja concept – just download the design from different carmakers and rojak them together and call it your own.

• oec88 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 5:06 pm

Nice looking but…not yet projector headlamp?

• azrai (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 5:20 pm

Summer Sonata in Japan with Meamer’s butt.

• nmh (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 6:01 pm

hoffmeister kink like beemers…the rear also got beemers dna….but this is like a wierd beemers btw

• nmh (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 6:15 pm

Did u guys notice that the front door trim from the video is albeit different from the picture? Can somebody explain

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 6:29 pm

Actually the steering wheel in the two interior shots looks a bit different at the botton of the steering wheel. One is a straight fork while the other is curved slightly and has a narrower gap.

• transformer (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 6:51 pm

the rear might be pen by some one who designed Mark X

http://toyota.jp/markx/exterior/garally/index.html

• armandd (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 7:26 pm

hmm.. i would say.. the Sonata NF looks better than this. what’s wrong with honda designers nowadays? nice interior though.

• ab (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 7:41 pm

the whole car smells BMW, but looks better that the camry already

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 8:16 pm

This is the first Accord that doesn’t look sporty. It looked more suited to compete with the previous Camry – Dai Fan Shu.

• kingglim (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 8:19 pm

Well, the engine and interior are, as expected, the high quality works from Honda. The exterior, however, is rather disappointment.. The tail looks weird, bad… The front looks like mix of Camry and Sonata. (In human term, must be bastard of Toyota and Hyundai. He he)

I think tis Accord is no fight to Camry…Camry jus got too much class lah!

• nazrin (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 8:27 pm

cammry lookalike..

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 8:55 pm

Well it be the same as our Malaysian model?

• offroader manix (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 9:40 pm

Wah ! This Accord is gonna give Camry a run for it’s money…….Steering could be better…….? : (

Still, there’s NEW Mazda 6

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 10:03 pm

This is what i think about the new accourd.. horrible grill.. nice headlamps.. back seems good.. side profile good.. interior.. okay.. missing rear passenger airvents is something to curse about.. sat nav.. err.. funky.. overall exterior.. not as bold as the camry

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 10:23 pm

where is the compass? What will be Malaysia getting replacing the sat nav?

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 10:51 pm

2.4L with 190hp and it is only a 4 cylinder engine, even the basic 2.4L has at leats 177hp, how about 3.0 V6 with 268hp….compare to camry 2.4L with just 158hp and 3.5 V6 (comapre to accord 3.0 V6) with 268hp…

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 10:54 pm

The side looks like 5 series…

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 10:55 pm

it is a camry tht was redesigned, exteriorly to me.. the headlamps just looks like its ‘pulled backwards’ a little more than the camry.. inside looks like a bmw rip off n the buttons look cluttered in d center console.. first impression; it looks like the camry, only that this time, the toyota looks much more muscular than the honda..
    camry looks more masculine..

is that a manual transmission stick i spot in d video n pic?

• taufidris (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 11:07 pm

Interesting engine I would say… Will search more on the tech and mechanism behind it.
    Sadly the exterior design is kind a rojak already (EVO X, BMW and Hyundai), I would prefer Camry instead of this @!@#$$…

• outspoken (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 11:12 pm

i personally think that the new Camry will win by a mile.. but anyway, i guess it depends on people’s taste… i agree with some comments that the new Accord looks like Sonata.. maybe that’s why it does not look so “refreshing”.

• farmcow (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

hmm….nice car but still prefers camry for its design and class…the interior looks a bit weird though….civc’s interior is still nicer

• nmh (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 11:33 pm

both accord 2.0 and camry 2.0 are FF….sad….they shud be FR to stand side by side with BMW520 and E200k

• DEVILMAN (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 12:43 am

mmm…..really got a bit like HYUNDAI SONATA!! izzit HONDA and HYUNDAI share using the same designer???

if compare with CAMRY….i think this accord not enough power to counter back CAMRY…may be we have to wait the market price or have any special offer about this accord….

but for me….i still want TOYOTA CAMRY !

• acbc (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 12:49 am

Looks good… the previous 2 models are fugly! But, I seriously doubt anyone would pay for the 3.5L model due to higher roadtax.

I wonder when can we enjoy roadtax based on vehicle weight? Roadtax based on engine cubic capacity is VERY UNFAIR!

Imagine this… a Proton Perdana V6 owner would pay the same amount of roadtax as a BMW 320i owner even though prices of both vehicles are far apart (and BMW is slightly heavier than a Proton). Because of this… the rich are getting richer and the poor are getting poorer.

• Illuminate (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 1:38 am

Japanese are space conscious and don’t want the extra ‘bulge’ in the middle of the car, that’s why the FWD.

This front is extremely boring and stupid, IMHO.. But the rear and the interior is nice, I’ll just sum this up..

I’m a Honda fan who loves Honda cars and despise Toyota cars, although I love the fact that they never break down, however I think Toyota’s designs are WAY TOO CONSERVATIVE, but this Accord redefined that.

I think the front is just horribly boring, but the rear end, that’s not bad looking, well creativity will reach its limits one day, sooner or later, and many ‘new’ designs are actually borrowed, so why not? – As long as it looks good.

One verdict: Get the front redesigned, the current one looks much better.

Just my 2 cents..

• J (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:12 am

Ya…. 2.0 Accord for Msia with fabric seats at crazy price ? :)

• lipster (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:44 am

actually, butt looks like a Saturn

• coolguru (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:18 am

i think there will be some minor alterations when it reaches our shores just like the Civic. My take will be the front emblem area (which looks darn boring for a Honda even though it’s an executive car) and the fog/sport light.

Having said that, I love the interior as it is now. But then when it comes to our shore, sigh… it’ll be a lousy, plain design without the GPS and some of the high-tech looking buttons/operations.

Overall, if the pricing is between RM140k to RM160k like Camry, I may choose Accord over Camry simply because the overall/general maintenance of Toyota cars are more expensive compared to Honda.

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:26 am

Langweilig (Deutsch) = Bosan (Bahasa Malaysia)

peace~

• drebar (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:11 am

a very conventional design from Honda this time around. looks boxy and got a feel that they are trying to make it look and feel like Nissan Teana but failed miserably. (just got the feel…)

too many lines. perhaps this design should come out first before the current design we have here.

perhaps it’s time to change the design team in Honda. who are we to say this anyway…

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:13 am

Front like Sonata
    Back like Camry
    Side like BMW 5 Series
    …. Emmm

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:14 am

“ROJAK” car by Honda

• zacke (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 1:35 pm

Very disappointing design from Honda. Interior good. Exterior sucks… Honda should fire their current designer and hire a new designer. Maybe even change CEO since he made the wrong choice. The 2008 Accord cannot even match the current Camry’s design. What a loser…

• calwinsingh (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 3:38 pm

Bimmer crosses with the Koreans… Dont you think so?

• Javanese (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 4:36 pm

Ugh… the car exterior looks like gruel. I prolly the only one here who hates it. The interior seems alright tho’. I still rather have the camry. Prolly ends up being cheaper than this new honda when it reach our shores by the end of next year.

• ed0r (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:43 pm

the 4th pix from top shows that this car looks more like the 5 series. Or this car generally has the 5 series design cues? Anyway it’s not a bad design but would be bad if people bash Honda for being bimmer wannabes lol

Anyway, the inside… aiyaahhh that same old color again. Darker one pls… evern Persona has switched to darker one maa…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 11:24 pm

this is like 100 times better looking than the coupe version…..

• ian (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:32 am

The proportions are awesome. Seems like they’ve nailed it – long front end, rear end for the classic car look but with modern ammenities. Better than some of the bulges other cars have become.

• funbox (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:42 am

I would say Sonata has the look of last 2-3 generation ago Accord.

The Accord 2008 rear looks like the Audi A4 + BMW 5er.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 10:00 am

Duh… Hyundai copied Accord design and now the Accord look like a Hyundai? Gimme a break.

This 2008 Accord looks more like an Acura now. Guess that means the US design team had something to do with it. Way too bland compared to the current model. Guess we’ll have to wait for the next gen before we see some of the new concept designs coming in.

• tommy73 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 10:32 am

Honda can do better than this Accord, utterly boring!

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 3:58 pm

errr… one word: geli… or is it because of color?

• syong888 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:30 pm

Good news to Honda Accord’s fan indeed. Compare to Camry 2007, I find that Camry outlook is more outstanding especially in Black…

• syong888 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Hehe, just like the 2007 CRV, I think the Honda designers had holidays in Korea: p

• king (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 2:09 am

ingolstadt said,
    August 22, 2007 @ 8:16 pm

This is the first Accord that doesn’t look sporty. It looked more suited to compete with the previous Camry – Dai Fan Shu

_____________________–

exactly the reason why they designed it like that…didn’t that camry outsell the old accord by more than 3 to 1 ? i.e in malaysian market.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:53 am

Hmm, butt looks ok on sedan, but is ugly on coupe, quite the opposite with current gen.

• BigBoss (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:54 pm

Looks more like the Toyota Mark X to me… Just look at the front and back… Look here for a view and compare it yourself… http://www.cars-directory.net/gallery/toyota/mark_x/2005/toyota_mark_x_3252464_p.html

• juanbeibei (Member) on Oct 15, 2007 at 8:25 pm

this is good.. da interior nice..

• Sofea Ali (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 5:57 pm

Wow! i really2 love it. This is a car that i’m looking for, great design, like BMW. looking forward to buy it when i come back to Malaysia.

• alanchai (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 12:09 am

not like BM, like New Sonata, Better call Honda Sonata

• antnagir (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 9:42 am

Everybody,s right. This car looks like a rojak of all the other luxury car makes in the world!!

• alfredaw (Member) on Mar 02, 2008 at 3:29 am

Nope its not a bird !
    Nope…its not a plane !!
    Its a HYUNDAI ACCORD !!!

• Hil-mei (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:14 pm

Take it as a sonata with better built quality………haha……for JDM maybe….not sure bout Malaysian CKD……..

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 8:41 pm

Man !!!! I was commenting on Sonata takes up Camry\BMW designs and now why after all the look Honda accord look like SONATA ?

• steven choy (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 2:03 am

too much of complain….. i better buy a new PROTON SAGA

• steven choy (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 2:09 am

TOO MUCH OF COMPLAIN…I BETTER BUY A NEW PROTON SAGA

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 9:21 pm

I just visited HONDA Sg Petani today and I must say first glance look wierd but interior look OK & the lights are cool though ! The back portion is where seems a bit odd.

I also notice when you close the door it vibrate at the edge as look very thin metal made.

The finishing and fine tuning in the interrior back bonet does not seems good , the 2.0 ver does not come with Leather and push buttons boxes ar all manual press and not smooth. The back angle look is where this car have spoiled a bit.

Need to test drive to see if this is worth buying compared to other rivals like Camry, peugeout,sonata,mazda, mitsubushi which seems equal or better.

I will sure test drive it and tell you folks more as I am a TESTDRIVER !!!!!!1

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 3:18 pm

I had test drive and I must admit it is quite impressive ! The outlook is still wierd( maybe I a ‘m bit classic) but I must say it is still impressive in the interriors.

Overall good scores in the test drive and hope the price does not goes too way up as other rival are ready to take over anytime.

Well done Honda ! Hope to see the same reliability too.

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 6:39 pm

to hell with honda ,
    i totally dissapointed and fed up with thier service

i order my accord in april 26 and even wait until now, i havent get my car
    ok, they said will arrived end of july. then in august they said need to wait 3 weeks more
    wtf
    my friend buy later from them , but they got car earlier than me
    he pay extra commision to get car faster .
    wtf, ur honda sux, we need to pay more to get car faster ???
    wad the hell with ur management .
    even the sales agent dun even bother the client,
    he ask me to settle with manager myself.

stupid services.
    pursuade people buy car, and no after sales services..
    anyway, i bought my accord 2.4 from bagan ajam(butterworth,penang) honda dealer. the biggest and slowest in town

• JJJ 10 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:13 pm

I already buy new honda accord 2.4L (with plate no JJJ 10)…..its more better than New Camry (belongs to my wife)…

• hassan maishanu on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:08 am

this car is really preety and i love everything from the car and is my dream and wishing to get it in my lifetime. i still lov it and like it.

• Currently I am driving a Toyota Camry 2.0G year 2008 before the current facelift. Since I am changing car every 3 years and by end of this year, the time will come for me to change the car. I am toying with the idea of changing the car to Honda Accord 2.0L VTiL. Recently I went to Honda showroom at USJ1. I prefer the interior colour of 2.0 L VTi (beige) but not the interior colour of 2.0L VTiL which is dark in colour. I do not understand why Honda 2.0L VTiL does not have the interior colour of 2.0L VTi apart from the dark interior colour.

It should look better with lighter colour (beige) for interior of 2.0L VTiL.

• SUGUMARAN on Mar 14, 2011 at 12:52 am

NICE MY DREAM CAR