New Proton BLM Spyshot

These shots (posted with permission) of the upcoming Saga/Iswara Replacement Model, the Proton BLM was shot by ephique74. If anything, it reveals to us one of the colour options available for the new Proton BLM, a turquoise-ish colour similar to the one available with the new iPod Nano.

We can see a little detail of how the front bumper will look like. This model doesn’t seem to have any foglamps, but since it is a test unit is not really indicative of whether the final product line-up will have a model that comes equipped with fog lamps. The headlamps look like they are reflectors instead of projectors, which isn’t surprising as this is a baseline budget model.

Tug-type door handles instead of the normal lift-up type gives the occupant more flexibility on how he wants to open the door – gripping from the bottom or from the top, which will be useful if he is carrying things.

There are also other spyshots floating around in email forwards which show a little of the interior of the car but I am unable to post it here as I do not know who the photographer is, so I am unable to obtain permission to post. If you look around the usual forums you’ll probably be able to see it posted up.

Related Proton BLM Posts:
Another rear shot of the Proton BLM
Is this the new Proton BLM?
Clearer Proton BLM side profile spyshots
Proton BLM Artist’s Impression by Maru

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:29 am

Wah another “improvement” – no more new car but stone age milo tin on the wheel old model!

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:36 am

Head lamp look like Waja shape, grill look like Audi but the rim still very Iswara-ish!

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:37 am

If start from RM 28K, shall beat Viva flat!

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:40 am

There must be some comments from “hatemonger and cocky parrot”, be it from blind basher or blind defender!

• redragon (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:44 am

Any clue what goes under the hood? VW 1.4 tsi?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:47 am

izit a strached body savvy???looks like savvy sedan

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:48 am

http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/8017/blmtu0.jpg

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3373/blmtu03ge8.jpg

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/4598/indexaas1.jpg

just go to that link to watch better photo..

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:50 am

BLM—–Give your best 3 word to describe it.

Bad Looking Model?

Boleh Lah Model?

…….

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:54 am

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/protonblm.jpg

more BLM pic..
    anyway do proton have any joint venture with LG

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:55 am

maybe use campro 1.3 + VIM

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:04 pm

PAUL, i think, your forum didn’t work on sending activation code.. ived tried several times.. and even check all my bulk / spam folder. please do check.. i think many people had this problem too..

This blm for me OKAY.. as name BASIC .. so .. dot expect it as great as EVO.

Cheap of course ok, basic model is ok, but the important thing is the quality is ok. (at least as best as persona).
    all the best proton!.

• timber8115 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:08 pm

akshen_kamen said,
    September 26, 2007 @ 11:48 am

just go to that link to watch better photo..

Bro,

It the pic photoshoped? Anyway, thanks fory our sharing. Very korean design….. like hyundai accent

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:21 pm

these two are photoshop

1st one by a lowyat forummer mockv1per

2nd one by the very own chaku/maru.

Btw, akshen_kamen, u used my picture link..haha :)

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:23 pm

i think the red only was photoshoped.other maybe true..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:26 pm

haha..sory bro..i get it from other car forum

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:29 pm

akshen_kamen.the pic of my link is true..

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/protonblm.jpg

• Alifz (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:30 pm

Hmm..not bad…Ok la for basic line model..

At last..Proton very own Saga..

Hope the price also like first Mitsu-Saga..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:36 pm

tenkiu bro..

i think this car design is good and not outdated look..lg pon this is base line model..anyone have interior picture?

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:43 pm

no yet but it still got some cues from lotus design…

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:44 pm

more pics…

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/niama/online%20pics/P1040474.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/niama/online%20pics/P1040475.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/niama/online%20pics/P1040476.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/niama/online%20pics/P1040477.jpg

• azrai (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:50 pm

Wow..It’s a Waja baby. Actually the front hood line taken cues from Gen-2, front light and rear have some Waja cues, and finally a side profile of Savvy. Truly a Proton car. I just confuse it look something like Aveo Notchback somehow. Is it due to ‘LG’s’ hand on this car? Life’s Good.

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:54 pm

hey..the front also looks like a kia or a baby altezza..

• gonggok (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:56 pm

I guess now Proton is into very safe/conservative design with very little risk/innovation. After all it’s what Joe public wants..

• szw (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:58 pm

at least it looks promising .

• mukhri88 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:10 pm

Typical three box design, lack of emotional lines, front end could be sharper for that garang look, but then, it’s a SAGA. Family car, pasar car, why should they make it pretty? Following the typical M’sian requirement (if proton conducted market research at all) would be, super large boot, save minyak, and a four seater back seat. Since it won’t have a performance engine, doesn’t matter if it looks like a chicken coop. Oh, and a TUV certification so that we can take it to kebun also. Just be sure the aircond is really, really cold. Take the roof so high it’ll set a new standard in category.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:12 pm

looks like renault logan..(wondering)

because before this..waja is using renault engine before he uses campro..savvy AMT is using renault quickshift5 technology..savvy’s body looks like renault clio..maybe for the BLM, proton will use renault logan..

so..it’s better if proton make friends with renault..not the VW..

look deeper at the front lamp (2nd picture)..is it the real product will have the grasshopper’s eye-lamp (like its black sticker) or rectangle lamp (like its actual design)?

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:20 pm

Neat stuff… luv d colour… funky.
    Overall looks like a safe design, they aren’t risking anything with the base model.

ps: LG was one of the partners in designing the Savvy rite? It has the same cutesy look :)

• east85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:24 pm

i am concern about its butt. Look weird and horroble. plus with the disgusting lamp.

• moha774 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:27 pm

Thanks to Kei9 and Akshen_Kamen for the links… this might be the look of the BLM only the detail is yet to be seen…. by the way Savvy is also designed with the help of the Korean for its chassis so it might also be the case for BLM… by the look of it, its good enough… a bit of Old Honda City, a bit of altezza front look, a bit of savvy side profile but only longer…. so overall…looks decent enough…. further more with price of RM30K range what could you expect..

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:32 pm

check out this site..take a tour..

http://www.mahindrarenault.com/logan/index.htm

• xstan (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 1:41 pm

Actually its nice decent design for BLM unit at price starting at RM28K. Proton Dealer I knew of offer me to see the poster like pixs of the car & as well as stating the suggested price out at RM28K. Will keep u guys update.

The photo on the red colour unit close resemblance to the pixs appear in Motor Trader pg 48. Its renault design look alike.

• wong (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 2:22 pm

Guys,thanks for the photos,I think the car looks nice,much better than savy…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 3:00 pm

if similar specs and priced at the same level is Viva, i dont see how this car wont be a success.

its supposed to have a 1.3, so its much much better than a 3-cyl 1.0 engine…. this thing will sell like a hot coffee bun.. hehe

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 3:19 pm

considering the old saga is still selling like hot coffee bun today at RM27,000, no reason why an all new car at around the same price range wont do the same.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 3:43 pm

i will buy it if it has AMT gearbox like savvy.. :)

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 3:50 pm

#
    romeo_misteri said,

September 26, 2007 @ 3:43 pm

i will buy it if it has AMT gearbox like savvy.. :)

em…i dont think this car will have AMT gearbox because maybe it will use campro engine instead of renault engine.so the gearbox maybe not suitable..

offtopic: anyone have news about new waja cps??

• wflo128 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 4:14 pm

good job proton !!! i think perodua can close shop already lo ….

• wflo128 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 4:15 pm

good good !!1

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 5:49 pm

not sure if it is good news but some dealers are saying that the car will get the campro 1.3 instead of the savvy’s renault 1.2. to me, it is good news.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 6:09 pm

I once read that campro isn’t malaysian..it has renault chromosome..and also Gen.2..there is a renault car like Gen.2 called Megane.

“The Mégane is used by Proton to design the Proton Gen-2, where both car’s shape are identical and the Campro is using the engine block from Renault.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_M%C3%A9gane
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Renault_megane.jpg

• fastcx (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 6:58 pm

romeo_misteri, what you read might not be right, if u even look at campro before…u might even say it looks like 4g63 -.- there are a few car assemble gen.2’s look, you cant say since they look identical, so it must be proton used them to design this n that car…and is campro using renault engine block, you can go check out campro yourself, i do not have to speak much

• DtG (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 7:08 pm

romeo misteri…. car design emulation is not an uncommon thing… n dont u know wikipedia articles can be edited by anyone at all and are not totally reliable? n dont let what u read over rule what u see.. the gen-2 is very different from the megane, maybe they have similar body shapes but dont many cars share body shapes??? the gen-2 i daresay is pretty original in terms of design cues and if u were to assume that it ‘copied’ some car, that would be the lotus elise.. both cars share similar dynamics at the rear end…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 7:26 pm

well, people say waja from mitsu charisma, gen 2 from megane,?
    …not identical at all

renault engine block?
    ……so what the use of proton very own casting,

• nescartel (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 7:45 pm

1. i don’t see the resemblance between a Proton Gen.2 and a Renault Megane

2. so what if it is based on the same platform? the new Nissa Sentra is based on the 2006 platform of the Renault Megane. i don’t see anyone complaining on that?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 7:58 pm

if u talking about sharing platform, megane is famous for its torsion bar rear suspension, while proton g2 or waja neo are multi link fully independant, which means platform sharing is impossible.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:03 pm

off topic..u dont trust wikipedia too much.because all the article came from people which can be edited and not the true facts came from the company or official facts.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:14 pm

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/07/30/no-lotus-involvement-in-proton-new-engine/

Proton.GL this may refresh about the New Campro… It may not be made from Proton itself but from others… So Renault? Yup its a lot of percentage, seeing it is in tiara, savvy and Waja 1.8L.. And in the blog, it seems that Proton just cancel a major development of new engine but winning in smaller project in 2005… So? Thinking Campro is Lotus+Proton 100% made? And if so success, why still not continue to develop?

And i never saw hard evidence of Proton have own engine casting… Is only say in proton website: “Developed in partnership with Lotus Engineering” So, the engine parts may just outsource from others, but the wiring system might be from lotus, just like proton did to 4G15 wira or 4G93 Satria GTi wif siemens wiring… I am not bashing, but personally i think they put savvy wif Renault engine is a marketing strategy between Proton wif Renault. If they say room too small, why not make it larger when in demo car? Dont tell me such a big product don’t have test unit? When the test unit pass, then the mass production will be made… Any faulty parts can be fix and edit during testing. So campro 1.3L cannot in?!? Even a V6 engine can go into a Waja & Wira, why not a small 1.3L into that savvy? Even some say AMT gearbox cannot in, but from engineering view, u just need to design the flywheel + Cluth match together and the connection place is seal properly. U can use any gearbox if u like!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:20 pm

how the gearbox ratio?can every engine match with other gearbox ratio easily without to do any change?

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:21 pm

this car reminds me of the dacia logan! Hope that this will be a nice budget car!

• nmh (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:25 pm

yea..butt ugly..just like honda city. Please take it back to drawing board. Hope proton insider take my advice. Dont ruin your ‘persona’ success

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:47 pm

littlefire,

renault engine 1.2 or 1.6 normally has the exhaust at the back of the engine, intake on the front side, …not the same

and what the wiki said is the ‘engine block’ (even its true), engine block is a combustion chamber and water jacket and some lube hole thats all,

what about other 95 percent the design of the life engine, mechanical part ,piston,head ,cps ,vim ,EMS, — still a renault??

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 9:15 pm

The block of the engine is the Piston, crankshaft, stroke. The head is the one that control the injection manifold and ekzos! Aiyo! If u want ekzos from behind just change the injection manifold & sensor to the front! U think is hard to do? Even 2 throttle body also can be done in 1 manifold.. The head can be modified wif VIM and CPS, So it is very easy to edit. What u need is the timing of the engine must fit wif the injection + valve opening time + firing timing.

And about the AMT gearbox ratio, i have help my friend to change the gearbox ratio of 1.6L manual wira to 1.3L gearbox ratio due to drag racing. The gear inside is almost the same, just we got a lot of gear ratio to change in the engineering world. If i not mistaken AMT gearbox is actually a normal manual gearbox with an automated clutch. Why a lot of mechanic don’t want to fix gearbox, is becoz inside really fussy and when open a lot of bearings and rubber seal need to be change for longer lasting.. That why sometime they will calculate for u to see and recommended u to change a second-hand or recond gearbox.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 9:37 pm

my question to little fire
    is campro a renault engine?

• Paul Tan on Sep 26, 2007 at 10:30 pm

the campro block is not a renault block. please show me which renault engine has a similiar bore or stroke with the campro.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 10:51 pm

the front grill remind me of the vauxhall monaro ….the rear seem like it has ALOT of headroom…very high roof line….the trick wil be the pricing….everyting depends on the pricing..if its priced right..it can be a hot cake….and somehow i feel if this comes out,the gen2 1.3 wil be out…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:09 pm

yeah paul ,
    certainly not the renault’s,

bore normally less likely changaed in certain type of engine, cc is made by slight alteration of the crankshaft

for renault 1.6 -its bore 79.5 (same design used in early megane till present model)
    for campro 1.6 -its bore 76 (longer stroke of course)

so littlefire campro is genuine,

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:10 am

I think the car looks okay, I will rather see this car on road instead of our old old saga, consider this is base model with 1.3L engine, I think it is consider quite okay…

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:13 am

you think release this year or next year?

• trasher (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:13 am

For those basher,

If you so gd then go n apply d job as a car designer in proton. Dun tok cock sing song over here…..

Also those idiot, if do not know anythin bout the engine spec, dun ‘blow water’.. u onli make urself more idiot in the forum…..dun make everyone laugh at u when u try 2 give idiot fact, campro is renault..think u all have much 2 learn… i believe Paul Tan dont mind provide training 2 those claim he is ‘expert’ as long as u pay for d tuiton fee to Paul Tan

Come on…u all onli know how 2 bash PROTON car design but did u ever think how ugly d vios n latio sedan is? u all onli know 2 bash PROTON but how bout nissan n honda? tis will make urself like a traitor…..if wan 2 bash pls bear more logic..tat y god create d brain inside d head not ur butt….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:31 am

ure wrong trasher…dun b too emotional…theyre nt only bashing the proton…same goes to perodua…honda and toyota or nissan…even premium car like stupid beemer n merc gt bashing by them…so…fair rite…jz read previous post…on honda etc…gt ppl bash wut…dun b too emotional…jz compare to all…proton is d worst…dats all…proton designer dun hv any passion to dsg a proton car coz theyre lazy..dats y weve gt d persona with a bud of gen 2…dats shows how lazy they are n dun hv a passion to do dsg…pity them…same goes to other like beemer…the designer dunno how to dsg…dats y nowadays beemer gt a org tue dsg n rubbish dsg…nowadays beemer n merc…d dsg is suxx…btw…cheers…trasher..dun b too emotional…btw dis blog is the place for of free to speak…so..wether u like or nt…jz accept it…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:41 am

LittleFire85 ,

again you have started,please show us some proof man!!first of all whatever crap you told bout why proton fitted renault engine in proton savvy..
    (all this is the best possible reason and logical unlike yours)

reason one..the renault engine is much more compact,lighter and has a good FC and sold over 1.3 million unit worldwide!

reason two..as a marketing point of view in europe and other export market,renault cars are highly regarded and is doing very well in the continent..so having an engine from a famous make and an engine which was in one of the most famous and best selling compact car..is a plus point and amt is a better offer compared to the boring automatic models..so thats one of the intention!!

reason three…proton design savvy to be a compact car,so it has to fit certain dimension level to be in the catergory..viva and savvy is in the same catergory but myvi is not…so extending the car is not the best solution but a worst one..why do perodua/daihatsu need two 1 litre cars??can you explain??same goes here..

reason four..campro 1.3 and campro 1.6 is basically the same engine only bore ans stroke is different..Campro is the medium large engine which can produce more torque to move larger cars like gen2,satria neo,persona and waja…we can change da bore and stroke to certain level only and even 100 cc lesser can cause severe vibaration and etc…and the same 100 will put savvy in another class and in some countries different road tax structure,duty and etc is closely based on the cc…and the determine the selling price!!

reason five…this is proton’s first venture into compact car..so it not easy fighting with more establish makes!!so to sell 1 car proton need to make 10 times the effort the rest has done..so getting an engine from some famous make is a better option since malaysian dont trust the own product and foreigner who read malaysians forum will think 10 times before buying a malaysian product..will not worry about the heart of the car..if its from renault..and its not cost effective to develop an all new engine just for savvy alone…

reason 6…whats so wrong having a renault engine in a proton??its a normal practice in this modern industry where cost is everything..almost all makes nowadays share platforms and engine…its the best option…even jaguar and rolls royce share engines..jaguar from ford..and roll royce from BMW..and those peoples pay millions to own them…even lamboghini using audi’s engine…in formula 1..where pride and victory is everything pun people share engine..so whats so very wrong proton do it???

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:18 am

LittleFire85 said,
    September 26, 2007 @ 9:15 pm

The block of the engine is the Piston, crankshaft, stroke. The head is the one that control the injection manifold and ekzos! Aiyo! If u want ekzos from behind just change the injection manifold & sensor to the front! U think is hard to do? Even 2 throttle body also can be done in 1 manifold.. The head can be modified wif VIM and CPS, So it is very easy to edit. What u need is the timing of the engine must fit wif the injection + valve opening time + firing timing.

And about the AMT gearbox ratio, i have help my friend to change the gearbox ratio of 1.6L manual wira to 1.3L gearbox ratio due to drag racing. The gear inside is almost the same, just we got a lot of gear ratio to change in the engineering world. If i not mistaken AMT gearbox is actually a normal manual gearbox with an automated clutch. Why a lot of mechanic don’t want to fix gearbox, is becoz inside really fussy and when open a lot of bearings and rubber seal need to be change for longer lasting.. That why sometime they will calculate for u to see and recommended u to change a second-hand or recond gearbox

you are just making me laugh…how old are you actually???are making try to make a joke??or proving people not to trust what you wrote???haha

do you know what gearbox ratio means and how it works??how did you change the ratio??just by swaping gears is it??or machining extra TEETH i the gear??or just take the entire gear set and put it into the 1.6 gearbox??hahaha..i want to know how you do it..

if amt has only automated clutch..how does the gear change when its in the D mode??

are you an engineer??

you think swapping the exhaust manifold to the rear just need to swap intake manifold to the front and thats it??
    then what about the different size of exhaust port valve size and intake valve size??
    what if the spark plug is not situated in the middle??if we build an engine like how u mention..i dont think it will even be called an engine man!!

please stop joking..if you can build an engine so easily..then everyone will be building one..

do you know that after nearly 100 years of engine design..petrol engines only burn around 33 to 37 % of the fuel…and another 70 % plus goes to waste??
    and we still have a long way to even reach 50 to 70%!!!

and you talk as if proton can do it as simple as u mentioned…

to design a block..you need to know atleast hundred thing..
    first material,what kinda alloy,what kinda thermal efficency it has..thermal resistance…what kinda fatique failure can occur…and etc

then designing process..where radiator fluid show travel..where the heat is the most..thermal expansion..where excessive materials can be remove and where stress level is minimum or maximum has to be considered…and a few hundred steps and R& D before even testing..

and a thousand more steps then an engine will be seen and used in a car…nothing like you mentioned above..if its that easy..FC and power wouldnt be an issue at all..
    please atleast do some reading before telling this kinda simple facts..

people will laugh at you when you come up with silly things like this…

• kerelbort (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:02 am

haha.. good talk.. back to topic.. the car does look nice and if proton dare to do it.. give it a try at the eastern side of europe where logan roam and see if they have a chance there.. i’d say if the design look nice and modern like this it should not be a problem to compete with logan..

btw, the machines and robots in Tg Malim is all LG’s rite? Now I really wonder how far Proton and LG’s colabo in the car manufacturing..

Renault is controlling Korean car Manufacturer(Samsung).. might be some of Samsung Car designer jump to LG Design… that’s why we can see the blend of European Design + Korean-ish in the car… No near Japs cue… even the Japs are now trying to get the european design look to their car.. no point of trying to incorporate Japs design to Proton rite?

Korean really going out with the design with the C’eed… hope to see Proton to have some kind of ProC’eed-ish design in the future.

• kerelbort (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:03 am

anyway paul… when can we see the interior spyshot? care to share? ;)

• nuajon (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:16 am

pls be quality proton cars….not race just for design.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 4:49 am

seems like this thread is turning into Who-Bullsh*ts-More-Will-Be-The-Real-Hero !

so pathetic reading some of the claims above…campro from renault…how about campro from the Ford TT ??

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 8:33 am

wah so meriah lol when its proton topic everyone will debate hahahahaha
    for me this blm nice ok but not the great hey anyone have seen satria gemilang wow its hotssssss very nice convertible just get the pic yesterday if proton produce that kind of car with low price maybe goleng pisang kot any one can paste pic here i have pic but cant paste here out of topic sikit soli hah

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 8:34 am

how the f could a post about door handles erupt into a discussion about who made the campro engine?

I dont think people care.

As long as it is reliable and efficient… it’s all cool.

I think the door handles look kinda cheap. Too thin.

xx

• amad_a (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 9:09 am

Can’t wait to see the interior.

Suggestion: I think it’s good to maintain the tiger’s-eye-headlamp like Gen2 or Neo. It may not be exactly the same, but by maintaining it in several models brings consistency and identity to proton.

It may be just me…but I think the side mirrors are attached with the blinkers.

• moto_moto (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 10:11 am

i’ve been waiting for this! not bad. Can fight with toyota dugong!Now, lets wait for the interior spyshots. if the final model comes like that boot, it is not bad. after all its a basic model. wat u can aspect? i hope the body build tough like savvy. please, no more saga baldi plastic bumper.

• gonggok (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 11:44 am

Littefire 85

The big building with the big Proton sign near batu 3 – that’s Proton engine casting plant. Let me guess – you got your info from wikipedia – ha ha… I wonder who wrote THAT entry, probably some of our resident bashers with hidden agendas – after all why come up with such a blatant lie?

• protonfan (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 11:56 am

well done proton..another nice model after persona..harap price pun between 30k-40k only with ABS, airbag..hehe

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:11 pm

If proton like to use renault’s things..why does it has to have talk with VW? It’s easier if it has talk with renault..it can colaborate with renault..anyone?

• rootmy (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:35 pm

Greetings,

From The Edge Daily
    http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=com.tms.cms.article.Article_1a6fc529-cb73c03a-1248f2b0-e3a9d0e1

Another new model in the pipeline is the BLM or Iswara replacement model. This car, expected to be launched in January 2008, will be a 1.3 litre engine based on the Savvy platform. The target is to price the entry level BLM at below RM30,000.
    The BLM’s sales target for the last quarter of FY2008 is 7,000 units. The car is designed for export to China and Indonesia. It is believed PSA Peugeot Citroën is in talks with Proton to buy its platform.

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:40 pm

Dun trust wiki la, esp articles wit Proton stuffs, cuz they’re always full of craps made by bashers. Here’s what I found when I wiki Proton Saga:
    ———————–
    Technology

Advance power window system
    Advance EBD (Electronic Brake Distribution)
    Ultra-Cool Airconditioning System (non-CFC)
    Hitachi Cassette Tape Deck/AM-FM Radio
    Audiosonic Front Splits
    Advance Acoustic Sound System
    Foot-operated parking brake
    200 km/h speed limiter
    V-Kool tinted
    ———————–
    Please tell me these are all bullsheez.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:54 pm

WOW…NICE SHOT,…NOW I CAN PREDICT HOW ITS LOOK LIKE..BUT IT STILL COVER WITH THE TAPE… IF THE PRICE BELOW 30000…KILLIN TO VIVA LA…
    DIE VIVA DIE…

• jeremy (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:08 pm

check this out..look like iswara..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Renault_11.jpg

so let me see,
    iswara is lancer to renault 11
    gen2 platform is based on megane because of its body resemblance
    campro block is from renault
    savvy platform is derived from studying renault clio or was it citroen c3?
    savvy and waja 1.8 engine is renault’s
    hey, noticed the persona seat? driver seat is height adjustable like renault
    backseat can be flip down like renault’s seat
    BLM is like renault logan
    what else?
    renault own samsung motors and dacia so that explains LG design (???) and dacia logan.
    what else?
    renault were a state owned company like proton
    what else?

are we getting paranoid?

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:24 pm

…and not to mention the tiida aka latio aka versa looks one heck of alot like the current megane.. especially the front profile.

• moha774 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:32 pm

One more thing… dont blindly believe The Edge…

• jeremy (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:36 pm

that’s an easy one..
    renault and nissan is an alliance maa..
    its an obvious platform/model sharing
    but hey, my take is, it cannot be far from thruth.. the latio has more renault dna than nissan. just when you thought you’re buying your favourite japanese brand, youre actually getting an ‘unreliable’ renault car

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:55 pm

if the price is like the iswara,it will sell…and littlefire85, stop talking crap,Jack of all trades Master of boolshit!!!…..

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:10 pm

Everytime i see a new model from proton, i wonder will there be any bodykits or accesories for it? i owe a 2 months old satria neo but i can’t find a single ready made bodykit for it, it has to be custom made.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:18 pm

Hope to see this car on the road. i think this car is ok and i think it will success.emm i think i want to share something with all of you..actually the persona is almost totally new design accept what u can see its not.. the thing that is not change on the persona is its front hood chasis design. This is told by my new lecturer who in the persona design team before he work at my universities.he also show me the confidential presentation slide about the persona design stage from a to z. happy motoring :)

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:23 pm

Just look at the photo links you guys, the back of the spyshot is juz a cover up. To make it look awkward.

• jeremy (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 2:48 pm

to be honest, i doubt the 3 photo in lg cns is the final design. looks fake too.
    LG CNS is a consultancy company doing market BPO and design BPO under Pronton. basically to propose design on what the market wants. 2 other collaboration for this BLM is Lear Corporation, world leader in interior design, folding seats, dashboard etc. and the other is EDAG of germany to help on product design and engineering. these 3 are just companies providing service in certain areas.

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:03 pm

Btw, jeremy…
    Its a clay model.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:44 pm

proton blm for base line mentality, for really dumb ppl who drive protons and claim that they drive proton beacuse they love the country , real shite

• wong (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:46 pm

Ah liew,(sorry out of topic),most Satria Neo owners including me are not into readymade bodykits ,because the current looks is good enough,you should go for custom made bodykits and design the way you prefer,not the typical accessory shop looks..happy driving..

• jepakazoid (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:59 pm

Looks like a Dodge Neon wannabe.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 4:06 pm

if the price is acceptable and got many different paint to choose, then should be ok, no need worry about the sales……

slowly but surely, Proton is improving……

• wong (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 4:09 pm

JULIANLEE2, i drive a Proton because I like it!,and also owned a bmw,..yes I love my country that is Malaysia,…whats wrong with you?

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 4:19 pm

JULIANLEE2, dont jump into conclusions. Not everybody is like that.

ANd yeah, keep all our words clean.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 4:32 pm

wong said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 4:09 pm

JULIANLEE2, i drive a Proton because I like it!,and also owned a bmw,..yes I love my country that is Malaysia,…whats wrong with you?

yah i do agree with wong,i bought a proton because i liked it..and its serving me well…and i do love my country..but thats not the only reason i buy a proton…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 5:08 pm

JULIANLEE2, a good friend of mine who is an expart professor drives a Proton, favours it over Japs and Korean cars because of its reliability. Who are you to give that statement? May not even a form 5 graduate! I may not drives a Proton but that doesn’t mean I don’t love the country, it should mean everything to us.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 5:14 pm

JULIANLEE2: nothing but rubbish from you.

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Paul I must commend on your integrity by not posting up photos without the permission of their owners.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 6:14 pm

where littlefire85 go?or Littlefire85 = JULIANLEE2?

• DrA (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 7:44 pm

what is wrong with julianlee? were you hit by a proton when you were younger? the saga has been around for 20 yrs +. and this is the new model. are you saying all poeple who drive proton have low mentality? TDrM has one, my uncle has 2 and he is a lawyer. I am a doctor, my wife is a doctor, yes both of us drives bmws but we still have a proton. Can I know what do you do for a living? Unless you are a rocket scientist then just shut up!!! Don’t leave stupid comment.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 7:56 pm

JULIANLEE2 is dumb person,blind basher,didnt know nothing but want to talk big.there are no place for person like you

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 9:05 pm

100th , the car is clearly a touch of proton, bit influence g2 at the back, bit of neo / infront at the bonnet and g2 bumper under the head lamp ,and grille and downward looks as if getting a que design of the up coming g2 facelift, and as always ,clean bodywork (easy to wash)

still actually the static display, is ditorted by the blank front and rear light,(also photoshop one seemed altezza headlamp) no side moulding yet, and wrong choise of wheel with black inside ,wrong offset, (too after market)

i belive the real product is not bad, for the rear light, brake light is about in the middle sorround by clear lense of other light function,

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 11:20 pm

The previous post by Paul on the Savvy sedan (illustrated by Theo) is exactly how I see the new BLM, minus the unique front window. Should be very appealling to most, and could also be the base for new PERT rally car.

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 12:17 am

This car look frighteningly good!! Another successor to the old Saga. Proton has always come up with decent designs!!

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 12:37 am

If the price really starts from RM 28K, go and die la Perodua Viva!! Anyway, i’ve a feeling the dashboard is similar to the Savvy’s, which is a good thing from a safety point of view.

• waimak (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:18 am

In any introduction of a new model, I look forward to new things such as safety features, gadgets, technology, standard and etc. I hope Proton dont forget those in BLM.

Design wise this one is hard to judge and it’s subjective too. I see most Proton models look sporty, BLM should carry the same gene – overall it’s not bad. Bottomline, in the case of Proton, design is not the main issue, the focus now is to bring the company’s book in the ‘blue’ and gain people’s trust and confidence.

As the saying goes, “once beaten twice shy”, dont forget the quality too.

• jeremy (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:52 am

actually julianlee2 is a school boy. (click his nick to go to his stupid blog).
    school boy who goes to Chinese school or maybe private school after got expelled for his attitude problem. likes to read car magazine to impress his father and the girl he admire. his father is a strong supporter of a political opposition party, ran own business probably a tyre shop or a restaurant. wants to study in the uk but couldnt get scholarship so his father will send him to taiwan instead where he will probably talk bad about malaysia, mainland china, and all chinese people in general. he will never fit in in society, he thinks hes very smart and being blunt by giving statement and remark but the the truth is, hes a fool.
    so dont mind him.

• xstan (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:06 am

I have no saying on the spyshot thing , but after showing the Photoes taken in the LG office, the Proton Dealer that I know off stated that its just close resembalnce of the actual car…just quote, the back of the real BLM is much BOXY look.The rear lights positioning is not same as the phtoes taken in LG office. They identify that all the Proton staff are there standing obeserving the vehicle in LG but the car is not BLM unit. They stressed that dont expect much on the look department of this BLM but its the Price that attract the market. They just smirk & say its will be close RM30K price but no confirmation just yet as they are still strategise the positioning of the car. There will not be any 1.5 L unit since Campro only produce 1.3 & 1.6.

Mentioned that expect Waja & Gen 2 CPS anytime soon & the price will remain as the previous even with addition features.

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 11:28 am

hahahaha… JULIANLEE2 is just a BUDAK MENTAH.. .no wonder his comments all so IMMATURE…

anyways looking forward to the launch of this car… looks sweet :)

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 2:29 pm

Well, i am a teen, but i am not liking ppls who type words without even thinking.

So, the conciquences, one are bashed inetivably..

• nescartel (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 2:39 pm

a wise man once said,
    “Never argue with idiots” :p

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 3:04 pm

To JULIANLEE2,

Shut up, Kid!

• pheonix_comet (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 3:53 pm

the main point i think is whats under the hood; is it still the same old 1.3 craby magma or equip with the same lauzy campro without camprofile stuff.

i have been driven my manager gen2 (A) for few time. my conclusion for campro is the engine only work good at cold weather. at hot sunny weather it is like draggin cow, the pick up is worst than a kancil 850.

Donno the other do face this kind of problem o not

my own opinion, why the engine only good at cold weather; becuase most of the R&D is at europe country. HAHAHAHA~~!!!!

• ab (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:56 pm

why do i have the feeling that this is going to be one of the worst looking proton? please proton, the persona was ok. don’t stuff up again!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 6:32 pm

#
    ab said,

September 28, 2007 @ 5:56 pm

why do i have the feeling that this is going to be one of the worst looking proton? please proton, the persona was ok. don’t stuff up again!

come on..that just the prototype model..just wait for the real one…sigh…

• syanas (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:55 pm

LittleFire85

lets make some engines & then we can sell it in pasar malam,haha…your comment like u’re very intelligent person in automotive engineering…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:46 pm

i found this, not too bad

http://bp3.blogger.com/_3MbGQR7J8tg/Rv0RSDfMdeI/AAAAAAAAAAg/2i5jl3AIwg0/s1600-h/blmc+copy.jpg

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:50 pm

Its a photoshop image..

Very obvios..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:02 am

to JULIANLEE….ure too harsh man…im nt stupid k…im an architect and ive owned a nissan murano,alfa romeo 147 and hv owed satria bt let it go 4 my alfa romeo 159…still…ive owned proton…if u want to bash proton…bashla…i dun mind bt plz dun said we who own the proton is fool…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:56 am

JULIANLEE maybe already piss in his pants.that why he very quiet already..

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 2:56 am

JULIANLEE2 said,
    September 27, 2007 @ 3:44 pm

proton blm for base line mentality, for really dumb ppl who drive protons and claim that they drive proton beacuse they love the country , real shite
    —————————————————————- a boy who wants attention,poor boy…I have a balloon for u to play..hehe..cars is for adults only..what? dont want a balloon?well I’ll get u a barbie doll….

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 3:00 am

dont cry JULIANLEE..its your mistake to show ur dumb and stupidity at the right and right place..haha

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 2:31 pm

haha.. ther r quite a number of comments on Mr JulianLee..

well.. i dunno watz in his mind.. but having driven my family’s continental car, japs as well as a humble pre-Lotus Proton sedan.. i would say tat it may not be as plush, solid, prestigious and many more as other brands.. but it certainly has its own charm.. u may say tat i’m very lucky as it has been serving us well with only normal 5000km services and some other wear and tear. i’m also impressed by the ‘purity’ of dis Proton.. it doesnt hav any electronic driving aids, eg:ABS,EBD,TC….

personally think that tis car wil look good with r3 kits.. dis is an important model.. and saw a great news regarding proton+china youngman company on chinese daily today.. BRAVO!

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 6:23 pm

Hmm..Mr eh? haha!

I think we’re almost the same age and its pityful enough..

,THAT HE SAID IT

• gmtgoh (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 4:24 pm

today i saw the blue colour one la at Melaka Raya….rounding!

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 11:40 pm

kind of like those russian cars u never see in any other country.

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 12:51 am

tired design.. no soul.. they should put some soul into it..
    the cheapo kelisa got bashed by JC even when he know it is cheap basic car .. like topgunthang said… it reminds of those russian/eastern europe car design of the 70/80’s..

so for me, the morale of the story is.. cheap should not be lifeless, soulless… it should or could be fun and inspiring design too.

simple example for the above principle is toyota agyo/citroen c1/peugeot 107…. cute cheap little car. not many could say them soulless, lifeless, tired design.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 2:34 am

What is soulless design?,

Jumping from model to model , without any trace or process of evolution, no reference,
    No concept to hold on,
    No history or cultural reference.

Well,

This blm was design although not as radical ,but the essence good design , it does follow,
    Design clue mostly in respect to its sibling protons,
    It does have some hint of angular character in respect of the past saga,
    Large front window starts from lower shoulder line makes bigger apature window is what the previous saga known for,

This saga is carefully done,
    Let see when its roll

I don’t blame who don’t like proton, but every proton car comes its nice to look at in flesh.

• gabanpolis (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 11:21 am

please use this link to download lotus proactive issue 3. this will give all of you who still have doubt on campro’s origin the answer.
    the article are on page 6 and 7.
    for info, the piston size of the campro’s engine (1.6L and 1.3L) is the same as for mitsubishi 4g18 (1.6L as previously used in waja). this is due to measure to maximise profitability as line-up during the campro initial briefing, utilize much of the existing proton manufacturing facilities.
    the difference in capacity for both 1.6L and 1.3L campro is due to stroke not bore, as same piston is used.

www.just-auto.com/proactive/ pdf/Lotus-proActive-issue-3.pdf

just copy the link to download.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 1:07 am

this by friend ,Danny

http://bp0.blogger.com/_3MbGQR7J8tg/RwPLfzfMdjI/AAAAAAAAABE/4ieXZvpOEpc/s1600-h/ZZ+copy.jpg

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 3:21 pm

Too much comment… if u dont like and dont want that car… so… my advice is…. dont beli lah… this car look fantastic to me for just about below than 40k. maybe u can buy a big car such as BMW… so, this is not a car for u. it was a car for people like us (average money in saving account)

mukhri88 said,
    September 26, 2007 @ 1:10 pm

Typical three box design, lack of emotional lines, front end could be sharper for that garang look, but then, it’s a SAGA. Family car, pasar car, why should they make it pretty? Following the typical M’sian requirement (if proton conducted market research at all) would be, super large boot, save minyak, and a four seater back seat. Since it won’t have a performance engine, doesn’t matter if it looks like a chicken coop. Oh, and a TUV certification so that we can take it to kebun also. Just be sure the aircond is really, really cold. Take the roof so high it’ll set a new standard in category.