Spyshot: 2009 Proton MPV sheds some disguise

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

It looks like the new Proton MPV has shed some of that heavy masking and is now on the road with a little more details revealed now, though I think some of you probably don’t really need to see any more spyshots as there was a leak of a fully undisguised photo last week which Proton worked hard to remove from the internet wherever they can.

My friend Rkaru sent in these shots of this masked white Proton MPV. I believe the photos are clear enough for you to see some of the details on the MPV. The front headlamps are less masked now (or it could be just that these photos are of a decent resolution) so we can see that it uses a reflector lense instead of the more expensive projector type.

You also get to peek into some bits of the interior, not the dashboard, but I think not we can safely assume that Proton has decided to stay with a grey interior for the MPV.

During the Proton Technology Week the national car company exhibited the Proton MPV’s interior in a peek-a-boo box and it had a beige colour scheme. When asked about this, one of the designers said they had not decided on a colour scheme at that time yet, and I guess now they have!

Look after the jump for more of this set of Proton MPV spyshots.

Proton MPV
Click for larger image of the Proton MPV baru

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

Proton MPV
Click for larger image

Undisguised Proton MPV spyshots

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• meorsalimi (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:03 pm

The looks is ok… hopefully the price won’t be more than G-Livina as their looks are more or less the same…

better hope for livelier colour and Good button.

• domo8 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:11 pm

It looks very heavy to me! The rear looks loaded with nobody in the back. I guess it’s possible they’ve put weight in the rear for testing. Hope there is enough power.

• gunblade (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:11 pm

Nice!

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:13 pm

Looks heavy on the wheel..y a?looks like 15″ rim?Felt so heavy.

• victorQ (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:16 pm

This should be named Proton Cherry and hopefuly priced much lower than Cherry.

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:20 pm

No doubt it is very big.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:22 pm

Looks like a loaded test mule.

But yeah, the wheels looks a little small, leading to the overall propotions a little off.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:27 pm

im gezzin theres water dummies at the back seat. how come theres small unmasked at the 3rd row window? funny. overall, it looks ok but it looks like a super stretch viva?

• Hikaru (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:30 pm

I thought this MPV proton is the same as the Chery Astar? Different badge but same car?

• chery (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:31 pm

here is the fully undisguised photo of Proton MPV
    http://img216.imageshack.us/my.php?image=proton11eg9.jpg

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:32 pm

Do i heard 1.8 CPS?

• xenith (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:33 pm

All the disguise makes the car heavy…
    Haha…!

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:37 pm

design isnt bad.. IMHO, front looks vr good as some of us hav seen the un-camo-ed pic already.. cant wait for its launch.. hopefully the reworked(if i’m not wrong) campro CPS will provide enuf performance, reliability and economy for the general public..

it may not be d best but i’m sure many of us are pleased with proton’s progress nowadays..

and congrats to DSZ for winning the award f CBT :)

happy motoring!

• nyte_skater (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:48 pm

WTF, that pic from chery is really something! totally leaked! it looks so much better!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 3:53 pm

chery said,

December 2, 2008 @ 3:31 pm

——————————————————-

is there any other pics than this?

• HMMaster (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:02 pm

The hood looks weird…

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:09 pm

may be this is the baseline model?
    black side mirror..

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:10 pm

wait..2 different mpvs?

• afkar (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:21 pm

i hope this is not the final prototype. wheels look so small. or is it just a disguise from proton?

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:32 pm

the driver n the co-driver is too careless…huhhu

HMMaster said,
    The hood looks weird…

something….to follow the NCAP

• darkwizard (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Quote:
    though I think some of you probably don’t really need to see any more spyshots as there was a leak of a fully undisguised photo last week which Proton worked hard to remove from the internet wherever they can.
    ————————————————————

Proton now no need to remove wherever they can…as once out on the net, (Host outside Malaysian server). No way to sue or take leagal action against them.

Now it would be interesting to see how the interior design and quality turn out. Just wait patiently for the launching then.

• seat-belt (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 4:56 pm

yalah…got 2 different mpvs…n to chery, good work!..u really help us.. the design looks nicer compare to the “inNOva”….n about the heavy looks at the rear, i think it is a loaded test…anyway, after i saw the pic from chery, damn, it looks very nice n i think proton has found its own identity…….btw, where is Si-FU???? tell us about the interior!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:00 pm

Man that looks clumsy, wonder what’s under the hood though.

• nonadoes (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:00 pm

y one of the picture the mpv equip with better rims one?
    different mpv test module?

• oodane (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:09 pm

hi all..i saw 3 P1 mpv this morning.around 945 am at usj.all black mpv and looks like some “big guy” in 1 of those car.there a four ppl in each car if im not miastaken.but.i couldnt snap a single photo since i was driving alone. huhu..

good luck proton!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:09 pm

Well……….seeing as no interior shot and no Drivetest report as of yet, won’t say anything bad. Give them chance la.

Front really looks like van version of Gen2 though. Which IMO is not a good thing as Gen2 is ugly.

And looks bigger than Livina. Wonder about FC……..

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:16 pm

chery said,

1 only
    More picture from this spyshots…

If the 16″ rim fitted to this MPV sure ngam.. front view looks ok.. others just wait for the launch…

How about the winner of naming the MPV? Only P1 can answer it..

• xstan (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:21 pm

I think this will be under category of Large MPV classification.

Others like Grand Livina or Avanza is under midi MPV class.

Large MPV should comfortably seat 2 at the 3rd row.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:29 pm

The MPV without the alloy sport rim look like van to me….and can be foresee it is urgly if there is cheapest version which bumper without painting ,without alloy sport rim and come with non-metalic colour.

• seat-belt (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:49 pm

here is clearer pic

http://img366.imageshack.us/my.php?image=proton11eg9thyrtm1.jpg

try to see near at the proton emblem, u can see there is some words there.. i think it state “campur.net”…

n the front bumper is quite boxy….

http://www.campur.net/blog/2008/11/23/proton-mpv-pictures-leaked.html?lastPage=true#comment2497707

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:55 pm

ive seen the proton ppl drove this mpv last time… loaded with about 6 normal sized guy… really fast…

• mokkf82 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:00 pm

Hell~! change that rims pls!~ Looks ugly and not suit the MPV style at all.
    But looks good compare to Livina.

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:10 pm

does anyone know where i can get the undisguised photos of the proton mpv, i’m really eager to see them. and i hope this mpv is using 1.8 CPS.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:13 pm

chery said,

—————————————————————-

from the pic, i can see that ‘campur.net’ was placed front-side-back (terbalik) beside the proton emblem at the grille..

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:18 pm

is the 5-spoke sportrim for the B2647A test mule looks good?looks like myvi sportrim..n standard rim for the B2646A test mule is 5-screw type?looks like european cars who have 5-screw type rim..

• shamel (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:18 pm

mokkf82 said,

December 2, 2008 @ 6:00 pm

Hell~! change that rims pls!~ Looks ugly and not suit the MPV style at all.
    But looks good compare to Livina.
    ——-
    marketing, dude. We’ll more surprise and impressed when they lift the disguise during the official launch. Don’t worry small rubber for entry level.

PROTON MPV ENGINEERS: Don’t forget to equipped with adequate rubber padding OTHERWISE NVH will not very good.

Kudos Proton. Next facelift, turbodiesel power-plant.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:21 pm

Hikaru said,
    December 2, 2008 @ 3:30 pm

I thought this MPV proton is the same as the Chery Astar? Different badge but same car?
    ——————-

i believe paul has already clearly clarified that this car has no relation whatsoever to the chery astar.

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/29/does-the-proton-mpv-have-anything-to-do-with-an-upcoming-chery-mpv/

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:25 pm

Edited:25th November 11:08am.

(Picture Removed as requested by Proton)

Not wanting to hurt our local economy, We’ve removed the pic as it might affect Proton’s launch strategy for this MPV.

So just picture a great looking MPV :)

this one i got from campur.net regarding the leaked undisguised pic.
    http://www.campur.net/blog/2008/11/23/proton-mpv-pictures-leaked.html

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:26 pm

The back of the car looks like g-livina ..

Proton, give u a bit of advice ..

if u wan to launch the MPV SE, pls up the power, put a turbocharger or supercharger, make the car more comfortable, improve the ride quality and oso the interior .. That is the real Sport of Special Edition

not jus some stupid facelift .. that is Stupid Edition ..

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:36 pm

~hoping of winning the naming contest~
    may my dream come true..amin..huhuhuhu

• awak (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:37 pm

nicely designed

• baby_gap (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:46 pm

confirm its a 5 lug…. first is the 1.6 cps… by 2010 there will be a 1.6 cps turbo plus buying a diesel from oversea…. then there will be a 1.8 & 2.0 waja replacement…. its set in between waja & perdana….

• baby_gap (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:48 pm

about the rim… about 90% of new cars owners WILL change their rims once they leave the showroom…. so why proton must spend alot on fancy rims if the public still gonna change it…..

• baby_gap (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:50 pm

and proton mpv is to compare with livina & innova…. not avanza….

• baby_gap (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:55 pm

dear fren… regarding the persona SE, thats is the genius works of proton EDAR…. and not proton engineer….

lambov12 said,
    December 2, 2008 @ 6:26 pm

The back of the car looks like g-livina ..

Proton, give u a bit of advice ..

if u wan to launch the MPV SE, pls up the power, put a turbocharger or supercharger, make the car more comfortable, improve the ride quality and oso the interior .. That is the real Sport of Special Edition

not jus some stupid facelift .. that is Stupid Edition ..

• Sighter (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:55 pm

Checked Paul’s previous posting:
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/09/12/facelifted-mitsubishi-grandis-in-malaysia/

The bonnet to A pillar shape is rather similar to Grandis, so as the door handles. There’s too much of similarities between Proton & Grandis.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:03 pm

look at the rear pic of B2646A test mule..there’s some kind of word emblem beside the right tail lamp..when i zoomed it, i found ‘U’ or ‘V’ word..can anyone try the same using more advanced software?i used MSO picture manager only..looks like that is its name emblem..????????????

• AngahDin (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:09 pm

Bola nak umum pemenang? Katanya hujung oktober…sekarang dah Disember.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:19 pm

seriously looking like a grandis to me

• gajen (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:25 pm

not bad…however i feel the perodua mpv will do better…cos its a toyota with a perodua price…anyway,lets wait and see how it goes

• awak (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:03 pm

this is no longer a test mule, this is ground proving car,

..my friend ,belive me this mpv has the beauty,

• teelim (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:09 pm

OMG! The wheel arch looks really small for itts size! The wheels are going to be puny ^_^;

• nyawere (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:39 pm

Whoever has seen the pictures which Proton has removed, they would understand. After removing all the plastic, it actually looks very nice. Just wait for it to come out.

Back to the picture in hand. If you lok at the back, you can see a small spoiler. I think this small piece contributes greatly in making this MPV look sporty.

As for the powe, i too am prying that we will be getting something more powerful to power this big car. BUT if you compare it to the Avanza, this one can easily makan.

• nyawere (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:41 pm

forgot to add….

Talked to one of the vendors today, they said that even if this MPV is coming out in March 09, the Perodua MPV is coming out even ealier, either January or February. IF perodua’s MPV is expected out even earlier, why is it that we still have not seen anything solid on this…???

• claxxion (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:52 pm

@nyawere
    So true. Maybe the perodua MPV will just be another rebadge thingy just like the nautica. Take a toyota, change the badge, and sell it at a premium price.

Wow. More and more people are actually seeing this thing on the road. The white colour does show us the overall shape of the car. Have to agree those wheels are too small for its size..

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:11 pm

My wife’s Gen2 fuel gauge really annoying..it’s movement become more faster after passing first line to E. It doesnt give accurate reading. To Proton engineers, please rectify this problem on this upcoming activity..

• claxxion (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:16 pm

From what i observe, i guess there are 2 varaints of the MPV. The 2647 should be the higher end model. The window pillars are blacken out and it has alloy wheels. While the 2646 unit has body-coloured window pillars and steel wheels.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:18 pm

Well……….seeing as no interior shot and no Drivetest report as of yet, won’t say anything bad. Give them chance la.

Front really looks like van version of Gen2 though. Which IMO is not a good thing as Gen2 is ugly.

And looks bigger than Livina. Wonder about FC……..
    -not ah beng

Finally you being fair. Congratulation!!

Regarding the mpv… i think it’ll sell well.

• awak (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:35 pm

why worry about wheel, it has a 15 inch with tall side wall, which the diameter bigger than of an early waja 55series but it uses 60 series 195 instead bigger tyre.

kia rondo use 15 and 16 inch,

lower spec wish use 15 inch,

so 15 inch is quite a norm for a not full size mpv, and its cheap on tyre.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:37 pm

wow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Proton is RocKin’ da town man !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Kinda shocked to see da pics !!!!!!!!!!!!
    Definitely better as this is their first trial !!!!!!!!!!!!
    The front looks quite up to date though kinda boxy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GOOD LUCK !!!!!
    LuV The FronT Look Of It !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:39 pm

chery said,

———————————————

Hey Yo Bro !!!!!!
    Not forgetting to thnak for the picture posted !!!!!!

~ HaPpY MoToRiNg ~

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:45 pm

The pics..

beware of infringements.. :D

neways.. nether i care.

here’s a 1min photoshop. Mind you it looks not a good one.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/protonmpbmerge.png

• Infinitt (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:57 pm

Not bad i think. To wait when it is launching then can decide. Good luck.

• jcws_87 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:04 pm

I am not too sure whether i see wrongly or not…but did u guys spotted the side mirror…i think that it’s a side indicator

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:25 pm

Automotive_Critics,

Dude, all cars do that. I remember during my a-levels physics class days, my lecturer told me the fuel gauge is more sensitive during the bottom half, for whatever reasons I forgot edi lolololol.

But logically, I think it’s more to do with since bottom half of tank more “urgent”, it needs to be more accurate ie little change in amt of fuel will result needle to respond. My dad’s waja, saga, my auntie’s toyo-tard vios, fren’s myvi, civic, bmw 3-series, estima, kelisa et cetera. They all do that. They all complain like u, until I explain them some physics lesson.

nyaware,

That’s….. bad news. Knowing how gullible msian market is, it’ll be myvi all over again, whereas this one…… will be savvy all over again.

• csv (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:43 pm

hmm, looks promising but in terms of look, i say livina more handsome.

this one is kinda boxy. and i’ll keep my doubts about it for now until full details have been revealed regarding engine, reliability and FC.

if this is anything to say, i think Nissan and Toyota got a fight on their hands.

• BW (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:51 am

i hope this model will be another success to proton… Else will only sia soi malaysia face haha…

• shamel (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 7:14 am

BTW, Proton’s people can smile now. Many Malaysians still sayang Proton and pray for new MPV success.

• nebuchadnezzar (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:11 am

heard the price will be below RM70k…that’s good to know…personally, i’d choose nissan grand livina over the proton mpv…i dunno, i guess the brand name and the reliability associated with it carries a lot of weighting in my decision process…in any case, if you want a decent MPV and willing to fork out more money, go for mitsubishi grandis…wouldn’t u agree paul?

• cyberx11 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:37 am

the 1st pic have different rims..

• cuoreboy (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:08 am

the headlight like Honda City

• AngahDin (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:43 am

Do not fully believed on what you’ve seen. Take Myvi SE as example. The spyshot was totally diffrent from the actual one ie: no yellow-colured.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:52 am

who the heck cares about Myvi…its rebaged thus no spyshot.

Anyway, Myvi MPV is 5 seater with 1.3L engine. Dont compare. This Myvi MPV shd be known as Micro Mini MPV.

• wsoonlye (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:22 am

Looks like MITSUBISHI GRANDIS MPV…….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:30 am

haha… pp, still cant separate proton and mitsu… there are no longer partner… in future, maybe happen again…

• BRAZBUZ (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:57 am

nice looking mpv…
    good job proton….

• BRAZBUZ (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:02 am

hey look…
    1st pic behind d mpv is new satria neo gti
    i can see it based on it fender and weird sportrim

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:39 am

Its not wise to purchased Grand Livina, Innova, Avanza, Chery Eastar, Naza Citra/Rondo, or maybe even Wish & Stream for the time being.

Avanza, based on old Daihatsu platform which consist of ladder frame chassis= lousy handling, floating after 100kmh, nasty rear bouncing when fully loaded. Old engine with add-on vvt. Rear wheel drive taxed a lot on engine performance due to heavy center shaft and rear differential. space not that big. engine rpm high at 110kmh= less comfortable.

Innova, just like its brother Avanza using ladder frame chassis from Toyota Kijang indonesia (since 1980s). lousy handling and floating sensation after 120kmh. retune old toyota engine. plus point is its spacious.

Grand Livina, co-enginered by consultant from China, based on Latio platform. Elongated platform might do the tricks but still the platform was originally design to cater 5 seats. thats why rear bench really cramp. driven a few times and handling not bad at all. pickup quite decent but engine felt harsh at higher rpms.

Chery Eastar, cheap and proven Mitsubishi engine. sounds irresistible but interior quite poor. styling mixed, front Audi rear stream kinda thing. Pickup quite impressive due to higher torqued engine. but roadtax pretty high (2.4l)

Wish and Stream, well this two is proven japanese mark but nonetheless have their share of fault. Wish has been relate with poor rear suspension= third row occupant felt dizzy & wanna puke during long journey (maybe that just my kids). While Stream seem so striped down, they didnt even have steering audio control (thats a 150k car!)

Where will proton fair in this competition. If it have Stream/Livina handling, High torque engine like Wish 2.0 or Eastar, spacious like Stream at least, cheap like Eastar. reliable. well, we have a winner

• nyawere (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:58 am

claxxion & tokmoh,

In all probability it will be a rebadge toyota model, but with Perodua pricing. And if it comes out before this Proton MPV, it will kill Proton. Just hope that Proton people are listening to this. Marketing wise, they should just launch it first and take bookings.

First delivery can be made in March. If they wait too long, Perodua will slay them…!!!!!

• digiman (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:17 pm

any idea what the name will be yet?

• theking (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:22 pm

nyawere,

P2 MPV will roll out in Sept 2009 but P1 MPV is earlier March 2009.

• whodz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:27 pm

Based on leak pictures taken/showed

Surely the designer of this MPV own a wish! Look at the front bumper, doesn’t that quite similar to wish.

From side and rear it’s more to grandis.

However, overall looks like grand livina, because of its height. Alamak, pleasela make it lowered. :p But not too lowered like Calduna :)

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 1:59 pm

ive never seen an uglier van, i rather have the toyota hiace

• xstan (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:05 pm

Certainly looks well build then the Myvi Extended Butt , Avanza.

I think is going to serve under Large MPV segment just like Kia Ria MPV. Deviate from the midi MPV, ie. Avanza, G. Livina, Rondo.

To me, the best midi designed MPV is still Rondo.
    The worst goes to Avanza. Tot I saw Myvi retard.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:20 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG will always flame any topic about Proton with 1 sentence that is senseless and stupid…

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:35 pm

Wisdom said,
    December 3, 2008 @ 11:39 am

Its not wise to purchased Grand Livina, Innova, Avanza, Chery Eastar, Naza Citra/Rondo, or maybe even Wish & Stream for the time being.

Avanza, based on old Daihatsu platform which consist of ladder frame chassis= lousy handling, floating after 100kmh, nasty rear bouncing when fully loaded. Old engine with add-on vvt. Rear wheel drive taxed a lot on engine performance due to heavy center shaft and rear differential. space not that big. engine rpm high at 110kmh= less comfortable.

Innova, just like its brother Avanza using ladder frame chassis from Toyota Kijang indonesia (since 1980s). lousy handling and floating sensation after 120kmh. retune old toyota engine. plus point is its spacious.

Grand Livina, co-enginered by consultant from China, based on Latio platform. Elongated platform might do the tricks but still the platform was originally design to cater 5 seats. thats why rear bench really cramp. driven a few times and handling not bad at all. pickup quite decent but engine felt harsh at higher rpms.

Chery Eastar, cheap and proven Mitsubishi engine. sounds irresistible but interior quite poor. styling mixed, front Audi rear stream kinda thing. Pickup quite impressive due to higher torqued engine. but roadtax pretty high (2.4l)

Wish and Stream, well this two is proven japanese mark but nonetheless have their share of fault. Wish has been relate with poor rear suspension= third row occupant felt dizzy & wanna puke during long journey (maybe that just my kids). While Stream seem so striped down, they didnt even have steering audio control (thats a 150k car!)

Where will proton fair in this competition. If it have Stream/Livina handling, High torque engine like Wish 2.0 or Eastar, spacious like Stream at least, cheap like Eastar. reliable. well, we have a winner

I agree with you in most aspects but with regard to the chery, i would like to point out that the 2.4l engine has very little horsepower (127hp only, about the same as 1.6l campro cps) so i think that it is a very bad choice as you pay high road tax but get low horsepower (torque is ok though). oh and you forgot to add in the citra/rondo.

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:36 pm

Guys just dont bother Alpina @#@$#@$%@$%……he is just like a dog barking at a tree, sooner or later, ‘it’ will keep quiet…hahahahahaha.

Cheers!

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:42 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    December 3, 2008 @ 1:59 pm

Can you please GET LOST FROM THIS BLOG! You say senseless things on any topic about proton. I bet if these same pictures were the spyshots of the new toyota wish or honda stream you would be saying great things about the car but because it is a proton you are condemning it. We really don’t need people like you in this website so please GET LOST!

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:45 pm

sifu, can you please let me know whether this car will be using a 1.8l CPS engine .

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:46 pm

i really feel that 1.6 will be to little to power this car

• theking (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 3:10 pm

rsrulz,

Next year Proton will launch the new MPV with 1.6 campro cps only.
    Later on in 2010 onwards other engine will be introduced….maybe petronas engine e01, campro tubo and campro FE.

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 3:19 pm

I thought there is no 1.8cps engine..

am i right mr sifu?

• nmh (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 3:20 pm

wv uses 1.4 for its mpv…and manage to squeeze more than 150 bhp using froce induction system. I believe campro is capable to handle all those ‘stress’, and proton shud give a try

• theking (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 3:59 pm

Fridz,

There is no1.8 campro cps engine at all.

• ... (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:06 pm

emmmm…

1.6 CPS only 4 this MPV

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:08 pm

There is no CPS 1.8, i have mentioned this previously in one of the posts also. Its just a rumour. It will be using the CPS 1.6 as theking said, and i am sure it will be powerfull enuf. Dont judge the engine by its capacity (cc), we have a thing called ‘power to weight ratio’ also. So dun judge ‘the car by its cc’ (new saying)…hehehehehehe.
    Theking looks like u r at the same place as i am….huhuhuhu! Which dept? I presume PTRN?

Cheers!

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:29 pm

Si-fu..my opinion its better this upcoming mpv to have gated shift like one installed in waja cps..the interior will look better with the knob..like Wish.

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:32 pm

or my opinion is too late as the instrument panel already reach texturing stage..

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:37 pm

si-fu..i hope the surface styling will to not to varies like in my wife gen2. The steering, door plastic and instrument panel all varies and outdated texture..

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Thanks theking and Mr Sifu..

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:53 pm

Automotive_Critics,
    I’ll pray to the fairy god mother to grant ur wishes. Hopefully she listens to my prayers! Hahahahahahahahaha….
    Just wait till launch to know wheather ur wishes granted or not, who knows maybe u r in for a suprise?…:P

Cheers!

• theking (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Si-fu,

I am not Protonian but …….hehehehe.

• jared323f (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:07 pm

same old S%&*..
    selling useless plastics and metals at cut-throat price.
    passion has a new name, BMW of Asia, bla bla. bla . . and the only thing BMW is the signal stalk on the left hand side.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:12 pm

sifu, what month will this mpv launch? hehehe…just give the number…

• jared323f (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:17 pm

die proton die…

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:26 pm

i’m not into much trouble with plastic thing.
    i want a good handling.
    proton could offer that :)

if a car drives well, why bother at plastic?

sifu,
    when will proton suv surface?
    if not, i’ll save for suzuki vitara.

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Owhhh…ok TheKing…i think i know where u work…hahahahahaha….MPV launch most probably in the first quater…more specific cannot tell…then kena tiu with Proton! huhuhuhuhuhu…..

SUV, not anytime soon, maybe u can get ur Vitara first. It’s a nice SUV btw…

Jared, all car oso uses plastics and metal…so all cars oso useless if u wanna look it at that way. Not happy means dont buy, nobody forcing u.
    The only car that doesn’t uses metal or plastic, is kereta lembu…maybe u shud go n get one….

Cheers!

• ppp (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:04 pm

lol… sifu u very funnieee la!

• ... (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:28 pm

ada orang lotus kaa?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Petronas engine is good, but for mass production, it is not feasible… hence, will cost the car up to hundred thousands ringgit because of the engine only…

then, who wanna buy since malaysian still sceptical with proton…

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:44 pm

LOL……..wonder how you fanboys can scold Alpina for his opinion.

Sure he did go abit over the top, but not like some of you didn’t with your “OMG its the most beautiful MPV EVER!!!” or “no use to buy Livinia/Rondo/xxx now!” without even having seen the interior or drivetest this car.

As for me, personally, I or my family have own at least 3 proton. My first car, Potong Satria, brand new, which I save like hell (working while still during Uni) to own. After that wonder why the hell I work so hard for – not only need to pay car installment, repair bill is almost as expensive! KNN! My dads old car, Perdana V6 which is one of the most problematic cars ever to be produced on this earth (IMO) and also my younger brother’s company car “Arena”.

Needless to say, after all the bad experience my family went through with the cars (esp for me, which Iswara also killed my good friend) all of us curse Proton like hell and die die oso won’t ever spent money to buy one. Not to mention the “tak apa” attitude at Proton SC and their “I-don’t-care” helpline. My GF now drive Myvi, I’m not Perodua fan, but if you go to Perodua SC (esp PJ n kepong SC) you can really c the difference between P2 and P1, P1 don’t even care their customer at all.

So, I can understand people like Alpina.

Whose fault is it that so many Msian hate Proton? Is their own fault, for their action attitude, no QC on the cars and shortchanging Msian for so many years.

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:47 pm

thanks for correcting me guys. and sorry si-fu, i don’t think that i read the post in which you said there was no 1.8 cps.

and to jared323f, the front wings of the bmw 6 series is also made of plastic and so are the bumpers and a lot of other interior parts, does that mean that it is bad? plastic is used because it is cheap and light (correct me if i’m wrong). if proton did not use any plastics in their car the car would be really expensive and then you will complain that the price is too high.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Btw, don’t simply say is Isolated case. I know Proton SC damn well.

After all, during Uni yrs I send my dads Perdana V6 there so often that the mechanic knows me jz by my face or car number plate.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 7:03 pm

To all,
    Ready to see this thing for yearsss to come..facelift and facelift and facelift and so on..Lets call this thing;Proton Priuk.Must be problematic..
    For proton supporter,this bloody thing is NG.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 7:04 pm

ok la not_ah_beng… u win… so, tomorrow, govt change, proton told to closed shop, car tax removed, fuel price becomes lower, more toyota, honda, BMW, merc coming at super low price etc etc.. huhu…

my point is… we all talk here but the changes that happen is very small…

why dont u mention ur experience earlier? then people will understand u… everybody knows the past proton has… but some see the changes, but u dont… or u just dont want to see it bcoz of of ur past..

my advice is… when u want to comment on proton specifically on its past product.. pls do mention “last time in 1985 till 200x, proton car bla… bla…” then, ur point of condemn is clearer…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 7:06 pm

to blackjx…

can predict the future eh? wow…

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:33 pm

Jared already bought a brand new “kereta lembu SE” comes with fully bodykits and 24″ wooden wheels without tyre.. congrats with ur new ride Jared… i hope u will enjoy ur free defect, zero fuel consumption and cheap maintainance ride….(his ride feature: power plant using “seekor Lembu” with 300LP (lembu power) and switchless open-air windows) :D

Dear ah-beng… that why peoples believe u still live in the past… ur statement still pointed about past bad story about proton… if proton can changed, can improve and try to improve… why did u cant? why did u cannot change the way ur thinking? i’m not forcing u to buy any of proton car but, just stop throwing ur useless comments here… :)

And ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG… buy urself Toyolta Hiace indeed, why bother to search and read a topic about proton mpv… we know that Van is suitable for u… :P

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:57 pm

not_ah_beng,

no one is going to said what you faced is isolated case..
    but you are a isolated case i guess…

just by owning 3 proton cars you have assumed all proton car suck..i wonder how is that?

and can you relate proton SC with proton manufacturing??

i did own a perodua..and their SC was not really good and sometimes make people wait for 12 hours…or more..can i say perodua sucks??

SC is run by people who are related to proton edar or EON or individuals who wanted to open a SC…simple as that..

secondly about your so called sad story…

my uncle used to own a Honda Accord(pervious gen)..and he brings it to the SC so very often till the owner of SC pun know him..my uncle is so particular about things..a small vibration and he will bring it to SC..some ultra low volume rattle which can only be heard by his ears..he will bring to the SC..tyre wear..he complains honda is not good..bad alignment..he say honda and its SC sucks..so he finally sold it and bought the latest Merc C class..and he has started his antics again..last mth the car left rear light bulb was not working..and he said he having alot of problem with this car and might get an Audi….

my point is..many people has different level of understanding..for some a light bulb is a huge problem..for some a huge problem on starts when ur engine has stalled completely…so based on your story if you say all proton cars are bad..its serious dumb and not acceptable..people who car afford a BMW will say honda accord or Toyota camry is not a gud buy..but for people who can only afford those cars..will treasure them..

we all dont look at things the same way..my dad dont even bother if his ABS light flashes nor he checks his engine oil level since the day he bought the car..for him as long as the car runs its alright and its good..

so for people like my dad..a proton saga which is still running will be considered a good car(like so many people who thinks a nissan sunny is a good car since its so reliable but when you look at the interior,torn seats, cracked and faded dashboard..faded gear level and etc but they do say its good)

for some..when they listen to others..they feel their car sucks too..for example many proton perdana V6 owner feels some day their gearbox will fail since they heard many people having that kinda problem..but the fact is..most V6 owner has never change a gearbox even after 5 or 6 years of usage!!

malas wanna type more example..hope u get what i meant…

proton cars do have quality issue(reducing with the newer models introduced)..and no 1 can deny it..but the severity of the problem is always exaggerated!!this kinda attitude which destroys protons image for no reason..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:01 pm

not_ah_beng,

no one is going to say what you faced is an isolated case..
    but you are a isolated case i guess…

corrected(sorry for the rest of the spelling mistakes..was typing in a hurry)

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:09 pm

Si-fu,

Thanks for clarifying that the new MPV will use the 1.6 Campro CPS.
    But, I just want to know whether a 1.6 Campro Turbocharged engine really exist or will it ever exist? Or is it just a rumor?

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:21 pm

Nizam80,
    Yes the 1.6 Campro turbocharged engine does exist and work is in progress. Those who came for the technology week should have seen the concept stage turbocharged 1.6 campro installed in a waja.

Cheers!

• baby_gap (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:37 pm

aloo si-fu… why gs41 delay…..

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:48 pm

“Sure he did go abit over the top, but not like some of you didn’t with your “OMG its the most beautiful MPV EVER!!!” or “no use to buy Livinia/Rondo/xxx now!” without even having seen the interior or drivetest this car.”
    -not ah beng
    Its not ‘no use’. Its ‘not wise’. Wise people will always observe current and future option before making any decision. Not like sorhai ahbeng (its you) who buy satria, then spent money to put ‘GT wing’, later your rear tyres & bearings worn due to excessive so-called ‘downforce’, conclude that proton is lousy.

‘Needless to say, after all the bad experience my family went through with the cars (esp for me, which Iswara also killed my good friend) all of us curse Proton like hell and die die oso won’t ever spent money to buy one.’
    -not ah beng
    Still stuck with the ideology ‘Iswara kills’? You should be the one driving that iswara and we hope your friend didn’t come here and talk kok about your story. He’s pure soul could’ve comment better.

“I agree with you in most aspects but with regard to the chery, i would like to point out that the 2.4l engine has very little horsepower (127hp only, about the same as 1.6l campro cps) so i think that it is a very bad choice as you pay high road tax but get low horsepower (torque is ok though). oh and you forgot to add in the citra/rondo.”
    -rsrulz
    Thx for your feedback. Regarding Chery Eastar, yes the horsepower was low on paper but the actually driving experience tells a different story. I really give credits where its due (unlike some ahbeng here with ‘iswara kills’ ideology, bash with no sense). The acceleration on Eastar was pretty impressive. The ride comfort was better than Livina and almost comparable to Wish and Stream. As i mention earlier, only the interior seems substandard with inconsistent gaps and thin/cheap seat cover. The exterior finishing surpass japanese make. It have chrome door handles, chrome window trimmings (that doesnt look cheap) and a few other impressive equipments.
    And sorry i couldnt comment much on Rondo since i have yet driven them. However i’ve been in Rondo’s cabin, looks ok but the styling not really ‘in’ to me.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:01 pm

Thanks Si-Fu.

Wow, that’s some exciting news! May I please know roughly how many maximum horsepower does it make? Will it be around the 160-170hp mark?

Thanks again.

• awak (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:38 pm

wisdom,
    127hp at eastar,
    its a big displacement that its eazy on torque,

some engine are trimmed for torque biased, and sacrifised on hp,
    or vice versa,

i would say its ‘performance engine design’/ or setting.

if you happened to drive an old 8 valve engined, car. its strong,
    but, loosing on top speed,

anyway its good to know what is torque what is hp, and how it relates.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:41 pm

Well, here’s a frenly advice to u, not_ah_beng: go download “The Secret”, watch it, n try to apply “The Law of Attraction” to ur life. It’s ok to me if u wanna bash proton to the point I oso lose myself, but for god’s sake, is God THAT cruel to you?

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:43 pm

Wisdom said,
    December 3, 2008 @ 9:48 pm

-rsrulz
    Thx for your feedback. Regarding Chery Eastar, yes the horsepower was low on paper but the actually driving experience tells a different story. I really give credits where its due (unlike some ahbeng here with ‘iswara kills’ ideology, bash with no sense). The acceleration on Eastar was pretty impressive. The ride comfort was better than Livina and almost comparable to Wish and Stream. As i mention earlier, only the interior seems substandard with inconsistent gaps and thin/cheap seat cover. The exterior finishing surpass japanese make. It have chrome door handles, chrome window trimmings (that doesnt look cheap) and a few other impressive equipments.
    And sorry i couldnt comment much on Rondo since i have yet driven them. However i’ve been in Rondo’s cabin, looks ok but the styling not really ‘in’ to me.

thanks for clarifying. and i think your thoughts of the cars will be better as i have never driven any of them unlike you, my thoughts are just based on the specs and reviews.

P.S : totally agree with you about the ah-beng fella.

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:52 pm

si-fu, can you let me know if a arena and perdana replacements are being worked on, being confirmed or not around at all please.

• tanasi (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:43 am

si-fu

feel like letting AF know about you so that he can weed you out and put a stop to sharing confidential infos on a public forum. or ptrn dept simply dont care?

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:49 am

to all protonian and its subsisidrian…especially baby gap…
    proton future product and proton product timeline is confidential….
    give commnent carefully…

forget what i said if ure the ceo

• fastd (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 8:07 am

Agree with Nakal…

Let si-fu give the comments as protonian… The others try to communicate in-house intranet (you got so?) @ pvt email if you want to know @ chit chat on confidential matters…

Anyway, to MPV hunters…
    Keep moving on & drive safely….

• arie1968 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 8:08 am

next year looks promising to proton and perodua MPV. Start from 1 jan, who has a big family( 6 above ) cannot use car anymore for travelling.( nanti kena saman lol…. )

the lower price mesti laku punya……. cause of, big family always comes from golongan berpendapatan sederhana.

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:14 am

hahaha… i’m start saving earlier this year until now… i want this mpv if proton offered it with a good affordable price… and if powerwindows still fail, i will curse “AV Venture” because of supplying a bad quality powerwindow compartments… lol… :D we should know that a bad quality issues actually comes from “vendor parts” supplier that supply a low quality parts.. why? because, the previous management want a lower price of parts so it end up with a low quality parts that assembled into previous proton cars… :)

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:20 am

Tanasi,
    R u a proton worker? For ur info, i have never let out any confidential info about proton be4. I only confirm things which already public know. Like the turbo project, the whole malaysia knows. Even our MD announced it in one of the interviews with The Edge, i think. I read it. And like i said be4, the concept turbocharged campro 1.6 WAS DISPLAYED TO THE PUBLIC during the technology week. I am sure that was done with permission. I am just only confirming what the public is still vague about. If u notice my comments/posts i have never answered or confirmed confidential matters, i just dont reply. I have never let out any confidential info, if u r a proton worker, u shud know that we r obliged to the secrecy act. I strictly adhere that act.

Cheers!

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:52 am

Prem3377 said,

December 3, 2008 @ 8:57 pm,

–hmm, your examples of explanation were interesting indeed and i do agree some of it. nissan sunny is indeed a reliable car because mainly of its durable engine and cheap spare parts. the extra is the absorber bumper really helpful. Lately i seen a lot of BMW or Mercs owners have switched to own toyotas that i have known. not surprised that my colleages and bosses own toyotas. They said toyota is much more reliable and very low maintenance in ten years of usage. preferred to have timing chain driven engine and less breakdown, because maintenance need time and money to spend. so proton will be ur choice? as some one did say earlier, wise people always choose wisely. a good car will help u to make money, ever notice why most of our commercial vehicle mostly toyota or nissan? are u wise enough? hahahaha.

• L0ngkangk0ng (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:55 am

Last couple of weeks i was having a lunch b4 Jumaat prayer at one of the mosque here in Hicom and i just happened to sit on a same table with some people from proton…according to him, the MPV will be powered with a 2.8 campro engine and I was like “dude, is this man for real?”…i dont know whether he was bluffing or what…and the other guy said that proton has already developed a prototype for perdana replacement…what say u si-fu…hohoho

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 10:07 am

“my point is… we all talk here but the changes that happen is very small…

why dont u mention ur experience earlier? then people will understand u… everybody knows the past proton has… but some see the changes, but u dont… or u just dont want to see it bcoz of of ur past..”

Sorry lah for Proton. They dig their own grave with their attitude (I won’t say “in the past” because me, and many others, not so convinced they changed – at least not yet). Why so many Msian don’t even want to give them a chance?

This is Malaysia my friend.

Cars not cheap. Even a lousy Proton Gen-2 (benefit with no tax) already cost close to RM60k. Take average Malaysian salary as 2-3k, that is what, around 2 yrs salary CASH. If add loan and interest charge? And thats assuming every single cent of your pay go to buy your car. No need eat ah? House rent?

So in reality, avg Msian need to take 4-5 yrs car loan to pay off their Proton (talking abt midrange model). This is not like UK where similar car cost only around 10k pounds, or US, where its around USD$10-20k for entry level model. (corolla US 09 only ard US$16k, plus its class actually slightly higher than Gen2).

So is a big investment. You agree yes?

After Proton let us down so badly before, who is crazy/foolish enough to keep trust them? With so much money? Its not as if its RM10 thing only, if buy then not happy can throw away. If I take 4-5 yrs loan to buy a car, then find out its a lousy buy sure regret like hell. At least in US, ok lah, only 2 yrs I can pay off my loan – maybe even faster. So maybe I could take a chance on a car.

In Msia? No way Jose. So me (and apparently, thousands of other Msian) rather put some extra money to get the security (and good 2nd hand value) for a Japanese make. This is commonsense. Especially if you “kena” from Proton before.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 10:11 am

Prem is certainly one wise guy. Totally agree with his statement.

Just wonder ifthe “rear seat belt ” implementation is trully timely with the launched of the MPV in 1st quarter of the year. Guess Govt is kinda of smart..with growing family ..say 4 kids woe, could certainly boost the sales of MPV..what more if the local MPV is priced economically then.

Then ..things to ponder.

Like the Govt EPF 8% thingy that result higher taxable income to a medium income earner. Govt gain as individual pay more tax.

this implemnetation of rear seat belt ould also result givt gains.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 10:12 am

Wisdom said,

December 3, 2008 @ 11:39 am

–then what to buy for the time being? Alphard, Estima, Ria, Serena, Hyundai, Ellysion, Grandis? Or don’t buy MPV bcos its handling is not as good as saloon car? so get a 7 seater SUVs? wondering why the MPV was designed and introduced to the market? guess those designers and manufacturers are not wise either like u, to come out MPVs too.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 11:39 am

‘Then what to buy for the time being? Alphard, Estima, Ria, Serena, Hyundai, Ellysion, Grandis? Or don’t buy MPV bcos its handling is not as good as saloon car? so get a 7 seater SUVs? wondering why the MPV was designed and introduced to the market? guess those designers and manufacturers are not wise either like u, to come out MPVs too.’
    -tec96248

Its not ‘wise’ in the sense that Proton & Perodua MPV will be launched just around the corner. Its not like you will put out another 2 – 3 children next week?
    Its end of the year summore so are u wise enough or rich enough to purchase an MPV now?
    And i didnt go to the extend of Grandis, Alphard and their kind coz
    1. Those already breach to large size or high priced MPV
    2. The likes of Alphard/ Estima were mostly brought in by grey importers so they’re not an actual model offered by these manufacturers. Their service & parts sure not as widely available as model brought in by official dealer or CKD hence, different maintenance cost.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:14 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 4, 2008 @ 10:07 am
    Even a lousy Proton Gen-2 (benefit with no tax) already cost close to RM60k.

What no tax?
    do you live in you own world? please update your knowledge.

So in reality, avg Msian need to take 4-5 yrs car loan to pay off their Proton (talking abt midrange model). This is not like UK where similar car cost only around 10k pounds, or US,

So! do our income was same as UK income? Do you know about purchase power? You only compare a car with a car price?, but do you know they have extra money from other items and pay more money for other item you doesn’t count?

And… A car was never ever be as INVESTMENT.
    (except antique and rare one )

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:24 pm

for the easier comparison for a ‘living in self paradise world’ people.. took this.

1 – A car hell cheap in japan.
    we might be buy cash with that untaxed price or just saving for few couple of months.

BUT.. i bet, many of us take out loan just to make our Driving License!.. It’s about 300K japan yen for courses… + Y4K for the license.. total is about 12 – 15K ..

If JPJ in malaysia do such thing.. hehe.. people like ‘somebody here’ will commit suicide.. because many of us might only posible can get a car driving license after 3, or 4 years working. :)

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:28 pm

correction : total is about RM12,000 – RM15,000 .. just for the driving license.
    that was still a different license for Manual or Auto gear btw.. ah.. and many more again.

“Mari-mari.. abang kakak, lengchai lenglui… loan bank rakyat ada untuk buat lesen kereta.. interest 10%.. mari mari.. saya mesti pilehhhh”

• nyte_skater (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:46 pm

HM..SIFU,WHEN WILL THE NEW SATRIA NEO (GTI OR R3) LAUNCH? THX!

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 1:34 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 4, 2008 @ 10:07 am

“my point is… we all talk here but the changes that happen is very small…
    —————————————————————-
    ok, what kind of changes that will make u statisfy with proton cars.. can u list down the “big changes” that proton management needed with the cars so their can start the improving progress with the way u want… but keep in mind that this was below RM80k mpv… if u want this mpv perform just like BMW, so u need to be ready for paying the price like BMW… if u want the quality par as Toyol wish… did u think all malaysian fellas with moderate income can own it?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 1:59 pm

err… mr aenz81…

actually that is my words… not mr maybe_not_but_a_little_ah_beng… and it is my point of arguement on his negative comment (about tax, car price, existence of proton, his friend’s death, his satria, his father’s perdana, his brother’s company car)… pls refer my comment… huhu…

cheers

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 3:21 pm

Proton gen 2 no tax ar??sejak bila??

wei not_ah_beng…please stop making a fool out of yourself la..write something you know or dont write at all..you are just creating rumours and living in ur own world…please k..

we all just cant take it anymore..

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 3:28 pm

hujan emas di negeri orang, hujan batu di negeri sendiri.

now
    negeri sendiri [malaysia]. negeri orang [selain malaysia].
    if migrate,
    negeri sendiri [selain malaysia], negeri orang [malaysia].

then the peribahasa still applies ;)

what comes around, goes around.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 3:38 pm

Wisdom said,

December 4, 2008 @ 11:39 am,

–hmm, were u telling that end of the year, the MPVs are selling more expensive than beginning of the year, or next year is cheaper? Why it is not wise to buy other makes and should wait for Proton or Perodua MPVs? Are these P’s going to have 1.8l or 2.0l MPVs too? How long have to wait then?
    Is it wise enough what u have mentioned? Seems to me very much unclear. moreover next year is future so it’s still a mystery. ah………

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 5:05 pm

“hmm, were u telling that end of the year, the MPVs are selling more expensive than beginning of the year, or next year is cheaper? Why it is not wise to buy other makes and should wait for Proton or Perodua MPVs? Are these P’s going to have 1.8l or 2.0l MPVs too? How long have to wait then?
    Is it wise enough what u have mentioned? Seems to me very much unclear. moreover next year is future so it’s still a mystery. ah………”
    -tec96248

Ok tec my boy, let me explain…

People didnt usually buy cars by end of the year, for example end of 2008, coz the car will be registered Dec 2008. Let say you want to sell that car by the year 2012, it will be considered as a 4 years old car hence lower resale value.
    If you patient enough, you can buy that car by 1st Jan 2009. It will be registered in Jan 2009, later you sell that car on 2012 it will be considered as 3 years old car, valued higher.
    The different only one month old but since you are patient enough, you might save a few K’s buying on Jan.
    Thats why you can be considered as ‘rich’ buying cars on Nov or Dec.

Regarding Proton and Perodua MPV, well, more option is better dont you think?

• earlneo (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 5:23 pm

The design is very similar to the new Mazda CX-9.

http://www.mazda.com.my/cx9/styling.aspx

If the price is below RM100k and the engine is mivec 2.4 SOHC, wow.. gerenti hot sales wei

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 5:32 pm

wisdom, i think u misunderstood the registration year…no matter when u register it, as long as it is manufactured in year 2008, it is 2008 car no matter u register it on 2009 or 2008. registration date wouldnt change when u were born

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 5:48 pm

Yes that counts too. so tec, say ‘ooo I see’.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 6:07 pm

@bmpower:

“we might be buy cash with that untaxed price or just saving for few couple of months.

BUT.. i bet, many of us take out loan just to make our Driving License!.. It’s about 300K japan yen for courses… + Y4K for the license.. total is about 12 – 15K ”

What talking you?

Your post so action, but when comes to knowledge, falls flat.

According to Payscale.com, average Japanese salary for LESS THAN 1 YEAR EXPERIENCE job is 3 million + yen per annum.

So do tell me, why Japanese need to take loan to get their driving license which cost just 1/10 of annual salary for fresh grad?

Besides, we are talking about Malaysian cars. You asked why so many people don’t want to give Proton a chance – I told you why. Just the truth. If you don’t like it, well, too bad. Maybe ask Proton to start producing better cars and change their attitude 1st may help instead of attacking people with the same lansi attitude as Proton had.

@aenz:

“if u want this mpv perform just like BMW, so u need to be ready for paying the price like BMW”

When did I said I need Proton to perform like BMW?

So far, from what I’ve seen, nevermind BMW, they have yet to reach the standard of even Toyota Honda Nissan, even Hyundai. Some would say even Perodua is better from many perspective.

Btw, did you know previous CEO of Proton claim Waja is like BMW? “Waja is Asia’s answer to BMW” he himself said. So the one compare Proton to BMW is not me, is Proton CEO himself. :)

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 6:27 pm

huhu…

to pass the Japan driving test is not easy… not usually by first attempt u will succeed… maybe 2 tries, then u succeed.. not like malaysia, which some school have “Gerenti Lulus’ package… i’ve never been there, the driving school teacher told me that…

**Maybe ask Proton to start producing better cars and change their attitude 1st may help instead of attacking people with the same lansi attitude as Proton had. – mr not_ah_beng***

based on that statement, on current model and progress (i dont know how u define progress), is proton not starting anything currently… still producing iswara that caused ur friend’s death, perdana ur father owned, old satria that makes u trouble?

so, who is manufacturing the NEW Saga, NEW Persona that wins award by Frost and Sullivan, UPCOMING NEW MPV, put effort in implementing Toyota Way, improving its aftersales service, collaborate with Lotus for better handling, planning on producing Turbo engine, venturing in other region?

for me, it is Proton with new management, strive for betterment, always call for improvement and better CHANGES….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 6:33 pm

agree? or u just totally deny it..

by the way, i dont know why i argue with u since it means nothing to u since u r x-proton-user-cum-proton-hater…. and doesnt affect the car price… hahahahahahaa… silly me…

so, do help urself to bash… nothing change much…

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Eh, the wheels are just tiny compared to the whole car… this thing can corner or not??

• szw (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:03 pm

eh , rubbish people , since when perodua is better than proton ?
    stop rubbishing around here…
    the viva in my house has a piece of center console that is not even being put properly.
    i had POWER WINDOW problem with the car when i collected that time
    go back to your rubbish dump…

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:50 pm

Wisdom said,

December 4, 2008 @ 5:05 pm

–haha…i think the car manufacturers should minimize or stop production by year end. don’t know why naza rondo launched in Nov and honda city to launch this Dec? If u have a car and u were to trade in by another year the value will be depreciated as well. come back to square. moreover the loan interest rate might differ also. all i can say is that you are very much unclear and don’t see it as a whole. u should find out more how the new and used car dealers work. there’s reasons some own few cars and some don’t. hahahaha……..just wanna find out how much wisdom u have.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:04 pm

It nice to be back… :D

Still the same arguement about Proton…

To whoever it may concern… Yes, car are cheaper in USA or UK with their annual income compared to Malaysia. Here are a few things to ponder before anyone rebuff this:

1. USA and UK are Developed Countries whereas Malaysia is a Developing Country.

2. The economic of scale and the consumer buying power in those countries is huge compared to us.

3. Their Annual Income Tax is massive whereas we Malaysian only pays a little in comparisson.

4. Most of purchases made in those countries carries VAT (Value Added Tax – if you are wondering), but in Malaysia only certain places/outlet are allowed to apply VAT.

In a perfect world, yes, we want a cheaper car, a cheaper house, a cheaper … (feel free to insert whatever you like) but in reality, we are constrained by economic uncertainty, war, conflict, policy, law, geography, history and so forth. This all contrubute to the difference between buying power and social obligation. The Malaysian has an obligation to look after it’s people and so does any other government. Case in point, the US government recently approved a US 870billion bail out for the financial institution and is considering a US 25 billion or more for the auto industry. So guess from whose pocket are this monies coming from? The taxpayer.

My point is, if you want a cheap car, move to USA but be prepared to pay more tax for everything else.

An advice for those looking for a nirvana on earth, IT DOESN’T EXIST! Be thankful for you have and if you think you want more in life, work for it, don’t expect to find buried treasure behind your house or some distant rich relatives leaving you some fortune. The problem with most Malaysian, they expect other people to give them money. Thats why they are always tricked by politicians during election and by all MLM (Multi Level Marketing) scheme (or scam).

Finally… SENDIRI MAU INGAT!!! :D

CIAO

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:07 pm

Regarding the Proton MPV, look a bit awkward but maybe because of all the heavy masking. Lets all reserve our judgement and since it’s December, there is only 2-3 month till the launch. Maybe a bit of patience is needed here… :D

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 10:18 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 4, 2008 @ 6:07 pm

When did I said I need Proton to perform like BMW?
    ————————————————————–

Yes i know u didnt mention about BMW issue since ur 1st comment but i mention it just for example, when u said that ur friend died in a fatal crash using proton saga, and u keep saying to people he died because the car doesn’t have toughness to save ur friend life… as u may know, i saw a lot of peoples died in a fatal crash driving a Vios, kembara, city, kancil, perdana, and even in Triton… Then at once in my life, i saw a live accident with my own eyes infront of my car while driving.. a Peugeot rammed into a tree and the couple died on the spot… so u still assuming that he died because of lousy car, and how about the other makes that i’ve mention above? also a lousy cars? so far, i still didnt saw any people die in a bmw… so, i think ur point is, u really want proton car have a toughness as bmw…

Btw, previous CEO claim Waja like BMW because it’s brand new handling features and a comfortable ride different with any other proton cars. But we know that Waja cant be Asia BMW because the quality still not par as BMW… so did u really think that RM65k car can be good as RM200k-Rm300k car?

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 10:20 pm

:) :) :) :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 11:01 pm

Yeah, gotta agree with kingbrutal. I mean like, some dreamer who sounds like he can’t afford a camry here would seriously think he can miraculously afford a lambor reventon if he’s in one of “those countries” :D

These kinda ppl seriously need to do exactly that. Fly to UK, USA, Japan, Germany, Australia, etc. If a yr later they own a REAL Lambor reventon, then I congratulate them. Else, I rest my case.

AFAIK, most of those countries are currently in recession. This will be like one of those impossibly stupid challenges those Top Gear producers throw at the 3 clowns. Well, good luck.

not_ah_beng, care to experiment urself? U sound very confident u can own very nice car, with a very nice annual average salary in those countries. U can get the happiness u seek in ur life, we all can get the peace we want being a “protonian fanboy”. Fair challenge?

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 11:31 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 4, 2008 @ 6:07 pm

[According to Payscale.com, average Japanese salary for LESS THAN 1 YEAR EXPERIENCE job is 3 million + yen per annum.]

[Cars not cheap. Even a lousy Proton Gen-2 (benefit with no tax) already cost close to RM60k. Take average Malaysian salary as 2-3k, that is what, around 2 yrs salary CASH. If add loan and interest charge? And thats assuming every single cent of your pay go to buy your car. No need eat ah? House rent?

So in reality, avg Msian need to take 4-5 yrs car loan to pay off their Proton (talking abt midrange model). This is not like UK where similar car cost only around 10k pounds, or US, where its around USD$10-20k for entry level model. (corolla US 09 only ard US$16k, plus its class actually slightly higher than Gen2).]
    —————————————————————
    not_ah_beng..The increase of Japanese income is ultimately due to their success in industrialization. Simple meaning that they manufacture and sell goods to the world and money from all over the world has flown to their country. Like 2 people, A and B, selling nasik lemak.If all the passerby buy A only surely he got more money. When he has big money sure he feels everything is cheap all around even car! .simple as what Japanese has for the past 50 years till now.

Our ex-PM realized this so he started the Malaysian industrialization. Nothing has to do other than to sell goods so at least our money not outflow to foriegn countries. When our money stay, it will increase our purchase power. As automotive is associated to most of the people and aftersale business continuity, He starts Proton even he knew that we donn’t have the economy of scale.

Talk about economy of scale, as what you mentioned Toyota, Honda or others is cheap in the US is kind of what we call economy of scale. Toyota sells more than 30000 car/ month in the US. Sells 60000/month in Japan. so as a lower figure for Honda. Volume is ultimately high. With this their investment just can return within short period with low profit margin. Thats why price can reduce to as what you mentioned in you posting. Proton just only with average 15000unit/month with that price tag can consider OK with current malaysian income.

I think people in Proton understand this and that’s why they are venturing overseas. To get better economy of scale.

Sorry my english is very poor and above posting also very difficult to understand.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 11:43 pm

tec96248 said,
    December 4, 2008 @ 7:50 pm
    ‘haha…i think the car manufacturers should minimize or stop production by year end.
    – I never heard such silly statement in my whole life. thanks for the joke.

don’t know why naza rondo launched in Nov and honda city to launch this Dec?
    – To enable the market to familiarize with the new model and to make sure the advertisement and promotion reach the target audience, so the market can be secured by new year. simple word, ‘a head start’.

If u have a car and u were to trade in by another year the value will be depreciated as well. come back to square.
    -back to my & fastcx earlier statement, if u buy the car next two months based on the year of manufacture date of car registration card 2009, you’ll get one year advance compared buying now. unless you’re putting out quadruplets tonight, go get an mpv immediately!!

moreover the loan interest rate might differ also.
    -Assumption.

……..just wanna find out how much wisdom u have.’
    -Not much. Since you sound so dumb on your earlier post which was ‘hmm, were u telling that end of the year, the MPVs are selling more expensive than beginning of the year, or next year is cheaper?’ i can’t help myself to explain to you using my kindergarten level.

• awak (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 1:26 am

sifu,
    1.6 will fit this mpv, because its not that heavy,

i presume it is just 20 to 25 kg, heavier than waja, therefore its reasonable.
    , could be 1270kg curb weight. at +/- 5kg

sifu ,whats the body structure to acheive that goal?

• kucau (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 3:30 am

Paul, is any link to competitor site not allowed here? its not my site btw .

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:33 am

when proton name appears… what some ppl see, tax, govt… haha… what the hell…

never really on that car itself.. weird malaysian… even fuel price, diesel quality topic got proton names in it…

nothing change if we only talks here, someone should book all this comment and bring it to the PM, TPM and MP, then, they can make a change, we dont have that power….

ok, back to topic, since it maybe using 1.6 cps, can anyone tel, how Livina 1.6 perform?

• si-fu (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:59 am

Awak, I cant reveal anything about the structure right now, as its still considered confidential. But if u wanna examine closely the sturucture, have a look at the empty frame/ body in white that was revealed to the public some time ago. i think its still on display in COE.

Cheers!

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:31 am

Sifu and other proton staff,

Since you guys are here, may i know whether Campro CPS that’ll be used on the mpv will use timing chain? This is because timing belt was known to be inferior to the latest technology & application of timing chain.
    1. Maintenance wise, owner will have to fork out at least couple of hundred to get the timing belt replace every 80-100K km or 3 to 4 years. Besides extra maintenance cost, owner will also be exposed to the risk of poor workmanship during belt change (which usually occur for those who change under tree workshop – cheap) and also the risk of counterfeit timing belt.
    2. Even greater risk, belt was known could break while driving. Sometime will render the engine useless (if camshaft bent, valves broken or damaged pistons, for interfering engine). And even if the engine is a non-interference unit, owner will still expose to the risk of accident, for example the belt breaks on high speed highway cruising. The car will suddenly lost power (hopefully not jammed).

Hopefully the Campro CPS will use timing chain. If not, i like you guys to propose to the management to seriously consider this suggestion. This timing belt issue even bother some of my friends when they considering Saga or Persona. Some proceed with the purchase and some don’t. So it really have impact on the market.

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:35 am

Read The Star today…proton n mitsu collaboration..they talk about waja/perdana replacement….”rebadge exercise”… also the mpv n persona…n probably new model…”new hatch” !!!

They are friends again!!

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:56 am

waja lancer? savvy colt? :p

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 10:04 am

Wisdom said,

December 4, 2008 @ 11:43 pm
    -Not much. Since you sound so dumb on your earlier post which was ‘hmm, were u telling that end of the year, the MPVs are selling more expensive than beginning of the year, or next year is cheaper?’ i can’t help myself to explain to you using my kindergarten level.

–hi little kid, u didn’t understand what i said as a whole sentences, and started insulting. r u getting angry? because u r just stuck in the kindergarten level and could not develop urself further. don’t know how u can learn if having the attitude ‘bodoh lagi sombong’. as i had said i earlier, just wanna find out how much wisdom u had. just had the fun from u. hahaha…..i couldn’t stop laughing. there’s lots more for u to learn…….. transportation, automotive and engineering is my bread and butter as well as hobby.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 10:56 am

Sifu, hows the satria neo cps progress? when will it launch? cant wait! thx!

• matyie77 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 10:56 am

taken from the star

“Proton Holdings Bhd and Mitsubishi Motors Corp have agreed on a product collaboration that would see Proton source a vehicle from Japan to replace the Waja and Mitsubishi take the Persona and Proton’s upcoming MPV (multi purpose vehicle) to be marketed as Mitsubishis in certain markets”

Wow!!

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:02 am

“hi little kid, u didn’t understand what i said as a whole sentences, and started insulting. r u getting angry? because u r just stuck in the kindergarten level and could not develop urself further. don’t know how u can learn if having the attitude ‘bodoh lagi sombong’. as i had said i earlier, just wanna find out how much wisdom u had. just had the fun from u. hahaha…..i couldn’t stop laughing. there’s lots more for u to learn…….. transportation, automotive and engineering is my bread and butter as well as hobby.”
    -tec96248

I see. So you felt insulted. Sorry for that. I sound a bit frank sometimes. Well… since automotive is your bread and butter, please dont post silly comment anymore such as:
    1. Then what to buy for the time being? Alphard, Estima, Ria, Serena, Hyundai, Ellysion, Grandis? Or don’t buy MPV bcos its handling is not as good as saloon car? so get a 7 seater SUVs?
    2. I think the car manufacturers should minimize or stop production by year end.
    3. The MPVs are selling more expensive than beginning of the year, or next year is cheaper?
    and a few other.

I’m not doing automotive as my bread and butter. I recognized your tone since my post regarding all the mpvs and their +ve or -ve aspect. I might have insulted your ride or your bread and butter. I’ve made my point there and believe some readers agree on that. How much wisdom do i have? well at least one. my nickname here.

So how’s your quadruplets last night? Normal or cesarean?
    Haha.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:47 am

rsrulz said,

December 3, 2008 @ 2:42 pm

Can you please GET LOST FROM THIS BLOG! You say senseless things on any topic about proton. I bet if these same pictures were the spyshots of the new toyota wish or honda stream you would be saying great things about the car but because it is a proton you are condemning it. We really don’t need people like you in this website so please GET LOST!
    —————————–
    malaysia doesnt need assholes like you

• kucau (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 12:10 pm

proton and mitsu collaboration? wait for new Waja Lancer… hehe . the current Mitsu Lancer owner will cry of price drop . hahaha

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 1:36 pm

December 5, 2008 @ 11:47 am

rsrulz said,

December 3, 2008 @ 2:42 pm

—————————–
    malaysia doesnt need assholes like you

——————–
    Never thought that somebody saw toyota hiace a beauty.

rsrulz dont mind him. he’s still in the 80’s.

• awak (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 1:51 pm

this mpv will be badged as mitsubishi,…
    this could be a ticket for a wide market

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 1:56 pm

Wisdom said,

December 5, 2008 @ 11:02 am

–hahahaha……..i just couldn’t stop laughing at u. as expected u kept on arguing and u r getting angry further, sound more silly and personal. u r just insulting urself, kid. if u r smart enough this will be unnecessary. those questions were posted to ur comments and i made fun of it. all i could see of ur comments were neither clear nor appropriate.
    oh boy! i thought we r talking about vehicles. u hv nothing to talk anymore until hv to talk about kids, kindergarten, births, nickname? if u were able to measure your wisdom and just only one, that’s poor. its left nothing with u since shown the only one out in ur nickname, its became bad. real bad. don’t know where u learn that must hv kids or after give birth to buy mpv? i guess u hv trouble to understand the meaning of mpv vehicle too.. if u were to teach and tell others such a way, i guess will be disaster. ahahahahaha……… u r definitely not a car lover.

• awak (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 1:59 pm

mitsu vvt component married CPS??? how about that?

• awak (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 2:02 pm

accessability to MIVEC??

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 2:17 pm

“hahahaha……..i just couldn’t stop laughing at u. as expected u kept on arguing and u r getting angry further, sound more silly and personal. u r just insulting urself, kid. if u r smart enough this will be unnecessary. those questions were posted to ur comments and i made fun of it. all i could see of ur comments were neither clear nor appropriate.
    oh boy! i thought we r talking about vehicles. u hv nothing to talk anymore until hv to talk about kids, kindergarten, births, nickname? if u were able to measure your wisdom and just only one, that’s poor. its left nothing with u since shown the only one out in ur nickname, its became bad. real bad. don’t know where u learn that must hv kids or after give birth to buy mpv? i guess u hv trouble to understand the meaning of mpv vehicle too.. if u were to teach and tell others such a way, i guess will be disaster. ahahahahaha……… u r definitely not a car lover.”
    -tec96248

These called mumbling. Haha.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 2:20 pm

valve timing + valve lift? cool~
    but then will the collaboration includes engine tech as well?
    the turbo research can be hasten then? cool~

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 2:59 pm

Wisdom said,

December 5, 2008 @ 2:17 pm

hahaha….very fast u changed. but that’s not mumbling. that’s to irritate or provoke. ever wonder why i could hv fun from u? anyway thanks for the fun that u hv given. hahahaha.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 3:01 pm

To Wisdom and tec96248… it would be much appreciated if both of stop throwing mud at each other here. Yes, you have your own opinion and maybe some can’t agree with that opinion, but be sensible. We are here to gain some info and express our opinion on some matter. We are not here to see a mud-slinging contest. Can’t both of you agree to disagree? It’s quite fair to says that this ‘arguement’ is becoming childish.

Peace and ciao

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 3:15 pm

agree with kingbrutal…

bored n tired with ah beng too…huh..

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 3:30 pm

‘hahaha….very fast u changed. but that’s not mumbling. that’s to irritate or provoke. ever wonder why i could hv fun from u? anyway thanks for the fun that u hv given. hahahaha.’
    -tec

Nothing changed much. Maybe u were a bit insulted in the process. What u do again? fixing GT wing at Brothers ah? Automotive enough for me.

To kingbrutal,
    Sit down & have fun! The wonders of internet is here.

• eastwest (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 3:32 pm

Sorry, off topic.
    I heard that proton will “release” a new TCU for its car. And proton car owner can upgrade their car ctu for RM450. Is it true?

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Wisdom said,

December 5, 2008 @ 3:30 pm

–whatever u wanna said and u can keep on arguing. u don’t hv to insult urself over again by insulting me or saying me was insulted in whatever process. u just don’t learn and understand. nevermind what is my profession since u will not understand anyway. explain to u also no point as u can’t think out of a box. afterall automotive enough for u already as u said. hahahahaha.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 6:25 pm

So it not ‘wise’ to reveal your profession or any other personal information if you’re in to provoke people. We can get along well dont u think?

Now Mitsubishi is back and even news of them getting our Persona for rebadge. I saw a few here already eating their words.

Hope they can collaborate better this time.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:42 pm

Wisdom said,

December 5, 2008 @ 6:25 pm

–i can agreed on that partially. yes indeed we can get along well.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 10:48 pm

Hmm…. in many ways, the design of this proton mpv does make it look like baby grandis :D I’ve always noticed that rather than speculating it having resemblance to chery mpv. Was it all just as planned to get back with mitsu?

• fadelicious (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 2:47 am

I’m just hoping that this mpv will have better interior.. that’s all.. I’m also hoping that proton’s cps will be introduced and promoted to more market that will attract other car makers to slap it in their hoods.. it got decent potential.

• irfandanish (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 11:02 am

terbaru dapat tengok interior mpv. keseluruhan ok…much better dari saingan2 terdekat..?? dashboard mounted gated gear , 4 rear aircond blower , led brake light , double din cd player , nice finishing material. harga under 70k! btw xsabar nak tungu launching next year!!!
    :to proton fellas nice job well dun.

• hawarey (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 1:50 pm

irfandanish..mind to snap some photos of the interior..if u can.. ;)

• cars-addict (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:54 am

hmm….it’s quite promising…it really looks a little bit like mitsu grandis…

my uncle feels regret bcoz he bought a livina…

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 1:02 am

dear si-fu..

can u gimme ur e-mail address?bcoz i would like to ask u private thing about this mpv..this is my e-mail [email protected] me here (in this blog) when u already send me an e-mail..

and i wonder..does this mpv’s name starts wif the letter ‘P’?

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 1:29 am

to all..recall the advertisement about shoes on tv years ago..

when a man asks a woman like this (a lil bit) “salah ke pakai kasut gombak?” and the woman replies “tak salah..saya pun pakai kasut gombak”

so the thing is,do proud of what our country hav,what our country produce,what our country manufacture..even if it is not as good as other country..but better to hav our own than buy/adopt from others..like child..it is better and more meaningful to hav our own blood-child than adopt others child..as long as we can afford it..lain lah if u mati pucuk or mandul..right?

to be/get the best,we hav to start from the worst..
    worst-worse-bad-good-better-best..

if u get only RM1 per day and u want RM10,u hav to save RM1 per day for 10 days to get RM10..

remember,child starts with crawling not running..

slow to safe..don’t flow to grave..

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 2:13 am

mpv=multi-purpose vehicle
    apv=all-purpose vehicle
    mfv=multi-function vehicle
    afv=all-function vehicle

but this is vvv=variable vendor vehicle
    hahaha..

just ‘sumbat’ here..ignore that..didn’t bash..just a joke about phrases..

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 10:55 am

Hello irfandanish.. agree with hawarey. if you could snap a few photo for the interior of this new P1 baby.. share with others..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 1:00 pm

the toyota unser looks pretty when compared to this

• dc (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 2:06 pm

At least proton has move one step ahead from behind. The product will give them a new image of business.

• dc (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Wonder when this product will be available in the market …. ? It would be good if somebody can snap a pic of the inside space.

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 7:41 pm

December 10, 2008 @ 1:00 pm

—————————————————————-

Still live in the past dude? around 90s? huh?!.. lol… yeah, Toyota unser is suitable for u and nowdays u can afford it with a cheap price.. lol… don’t bother me, just giving an advise.. lol…

• irfandanish (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 1:26 pm

no picture yet. xdapat nak ambil security too tight. fabrik color lebih kurang dgn livina.

• awak (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 10:46 pm

———————–

????
    comment this and that,
    you are not even live in malaysia

• nazdeck (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 9:46 am

> irfandanish

u already done good review for the interior of this upcoming mpv. but u should try even better if u wan to b a spy… hehe… anyway good for trying..

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:37 pm

———————–

yeah man, he talk like he knows so much yet he is not even malaysian. baseless comments as always…

man, when can we see the whole car :P

• Alpina the 8itch (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:17 pm

———————–

From your point of view Ssangyong cars or perhaps Fiat Multipla is your choice of car given you Lamborghini or an Alfa.
    And I see no alpina on the road these days..
    Why? Because its just pure rubbish. Every Alpina should be dropped into ditch.

• skil2u (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 9:46 pm

I dont think this is the mpv made by proton. I sure this is only mitsubishi grandis rebadge.

• awangdewas (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 5:27 pm

My friend who is a Proton dealer told me that he & other dealers have been invited to preview the new MPV. He is satisfied and said the price will be below RM75,000 (with a 1.6 engine). I’m not an auto expert, but if I’m not mistaken, he told me that the MPV has 135 hp(?) (is it reasonable or powerful enough?). It also has the look.

But overall he said that with the overall package, the MPV definitely can sell. No name yet as this will be officially announced together with the winner of MPV naming contest.

• steering (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:59 am

skil2u …. pls wake up ….

• moha774 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:56 pm

135hp?? with CPS ? hope its not just hearsay…. sounds delicious..

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 4:05 pm

awangdewas said,
    December 14, 2008 @ 5:27 pm

My friend who is a Proton dealer told me that he & other dealers have been invited to preview the new MPV. He is satisfied and said the price will be below RM75,000 (with a 1.6 engine). I’m not an auto expert, but if I’m not mistaken, he told me that the MPV has 135 hp(?) (is it reasonable or powerful enough?). It also has the look.

Are you sure?? The current CPS only 125hp. Hopefully Si-Fu can verify this statement whether its true or hearsay only..Or may be Paul can make some comment on this..

Paul Tan says: The current CPS is 125hp but maybe they’ve tuned it up for the MPV. The Satria Neo R3‘s Campro without CPS or IAFM is the one that currently makes 135hp, though it probably fails emission tests outside of Malaysia.

• moha774 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 8:47 am

1.6campro + CPS + new EMS= 135bhp (with eco friendly emission)…still make sense, although not that much compared to old 1.6 Mivec or Vtec.. but, to see that the effort is there to improve is good enough.. How much is the deposit??

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 4:49 pm

Thanks Paul for your comment. May be I’m not an expert in the auto industry but the info much appreciated..

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 1:21 am

I was in Proton City Tanjung Malim yesterday (22 Dec) because of my work. I work as lift technician. So yesterday I went there because the new Proton office there has my company’s lift. After serviced the lifts, as usual I have to see the in-charge person to put his signature on my service sheet. There, the in-charge person was an executive in what department I didn’t know. So I asked him about this new mpv. An according to him, this new mpv will be launch in May or June. And surprisingly, this no-name-yet mpv is under testing because he said that the campro is ‘tak larat’ to run it. And what a wonderfull world, a mitsubishi engine will be under its hood. I forgot (actually afraid) to ask him more like how much the mitsubishi engine capacity to be use with this mpv.

Any other Proton staff here, please correct me if I was wrong. And I hope whoever Proton staff here please don’t find this executive and report about what he told me about to the ‘orang atas’ Proton and then fired him. Pity for him. I think this info is not so confidential to share with ‘rakyat’. Right si-fu?

• moongrey (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 8:34 am

proton send their engineer to lotus uk recently…..another new project maybeh..is it si-fu?

• awak (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:08 pm

FEB, MARCH

• PuMpGUy (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:10 pm

I’ve posted 2 videos just a few mins a go on Proton MPV stuck in a jam with me in Jalan Hang Tuah, Kuala Lumpur. Hope it will be up soon. :)

• j_hafiz on Feb 19, 2009 at 3:15 pm

very big.. care 4 stable? really annoying n not good idea if the price is more than avanza. avanza,grand livina was so luxury,powerful.. ours seems……..

huh,xyakin! body pon da mcm tiru

• halimi on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:43 am

ala lambat la…saya dah beli innova daa….

• safiq on Feb 25, 2009 at 8:29 am

Huh…. just look only lah…can't buy one because price is so expensive

• safiq on Feb 25, 2009 at 8:31 am

badan nya besar sangat dah macam van ….. harga nya terlalu mahal lagi pun belum tentu lagi kualiti terjamin

• CADPHOBIA on Mar 02, 2009 at 7:58 pm

It looks very heavy to me! The rear looks loaded with nobody in the back. I guess it’s possible they’ve put weight in the rear for testing. Hope there is enough power.—>

THE TEST DRIVE IS FULLY LOADED WEIGHT

• [quote comment="192222"]No doubt it is very big.[/quote]

Yelah, looks like ambulance.

• malado on Apr 08, 2009 at 6:17 am

i looks like noah ark! 1.6…cannot climb karak highway laaa..sure semput…design cantik…apa macam..sure kelisa overtake with waving hand..bye bye..selamat jalan, selamat pulang ke kampung….mesage by petronuts …

• mattno72 on Apr 11, 2009 at 9:37 pm

I hope MPV Proton more better dari pengeluar keta proton sblm ni. Coz so many comment when i used Waja 06 – power window, engine & petrol cost during used the proton brand from M'sia. I support brand car proton/others but proton still not follow/more action to take responsiblity. 20 years for experience but still not performance. I don't want blame M'sia brand coz i born in M'sia. Why product from Perodua & Proton very differents quality? Before that i already used perodua & now used proton but for me perodua is better from proton. So for this MPV Proton is more better from others product to challange. Another want during inflasi years the price must be 70K below for pupil support M'sia brand especially MPV.