Satria Replacement Model Spyshots with Interior

srm_100306_thumbnail.jpgHere are the latest spy images for the Proton Satria Replacement Model or Proton SRM24 which have been in testing phases for quite some time already. These photos were taken while the Proton SRM was parked in a parking lot, with it’s driver nowhere to be found. Because of that the photographer managed to get shots of the interior. Spyshots are after the jump!

srm_100306_1.jpg

Bling bling rims are still there! Headlights are smoked.

srm_100306_2.jpg

Proton seems to have mounted the number plate on the rear bumper instead of on the hatch lid for the back. I think it would look better on the hatch lid like the previous spyshots. What do you think? Hatch lid or bumper?

srm_100306_3.jpg

Interior! There’s the Audi look-alike steering wheel which you also find on the new Perdana V6. And the same beige interior with vertical line-up of dials we’ve seen somewhere else before. Looks like that was the interior for the SRM after all. There seems to be a dial on the steering wheel spoke? I’ve seen buttons but not a dial before. Maybe volume control or something? Not sure.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• indigo (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 6:12 pm

Don't know how long this car will finally come into the market. Proton always give janji kosong only.

• kody (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 6:53 pm

Wahlaueh…

proton bad impression lead me to think of the interior look quite similar to GEN2… the air-cond console so deep inside….can it provide sufficient air cond flow??? In direction wise, the air-cond console can turn & give more accurate & concentrated air flow. I still hav some feeling of cheap plastic will still in the car…. *_* i guess P1 will equip this SRM with the CAMPRO. price RM 45K for 1.5?? impossible for P1…. i think minimum >RM50k for this SRM

• kody (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 6:56 pm

Wahlaueh…

just to recap, wah…(see from the pics) they put the tailpaip at the bottom middle of the car. Will it looks like the 'sawi'…

• chuamike (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 6:59 pm

Hmm. Not much different leh :p

• catborg (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 7:21 pm

paul.. better remove the plate number..

or maybe the test drive get trouble later..

even you're spy.. think should take responsibility of dia punya keselamatan la..

because most of them tot. "jangan bang ambil gambar dalam, mati saya kene buang kerja nanti"..

anyway.. good spyshot. walaupun tak berani sangat nak ambil b anyak2 gambar :D

wonder will it will be launch..

RM55K + ABS + Airbag is ok.

the middle tailpipe is ok.. honda also did it.. Single one not loook so nice.. but if Double Pipe look very good.. Lotus Elise andExige.. like the way lotus is!

BTW paul. The plate in bumper is look better for me.. :D

• silverfish (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 7:34 pm

Having seen plenty of spyshots, I think the exterior is ok, for me. But, just like the Gen-2, the interior is going to be its achilles heel (apart from build quality, but we'll let that slide for now). Can't really be sure from the pic above but it looks like more of the same as the Gen-2. And looks like more cheap looking plastics are used. And what the hell i sthat boxy thing at the base of the gear stick? Looks like a cheap toy joystick.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 8:17 pm

hey… luv the interior… looks really cool… like GEN.2, just developed further… yeah. stering looks like Audi… wat's with the dial? :P gear console's damn cool. btw plate in bumper looks fine 2 me… gives a clean look to the hatch. luv the middle exhaust… now if only can afford it :S

err… wat's with the hideous air freshioner? *shock* hahaha

• eeheng (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 8:29 pm

i tink the srm quite similar to GEN2 n Savvy…

and this car will come into the market ??

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 8:49 pm

last time i saw it in sunway n it was using a similar rim to the waja 1.8 , btw wats that ting on the stering wheel column?izzit a turbo timer?and notice the cd player,it looks like its nt like the gen2 which is custon made…looks like an after market unit,and its using the new waja campro aircond vent,and obciously comes with a green color air freshner build in! ….proton ,enough spy shot la,we want to see the rear ting…btw the delay of the lunch could either be its using a new type of engine to ensure durability or really emphsises and improving on interior quality ….hope its both! bcos it was supose to be lunched somehwere in sep last yr

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 9:00 pm

definitely prefer plate on the hatch!!

anyway, if i were 10 years younger, i might've got myself a satria gti instead of waiting for this long-delayed piece of metal….

anyway rm55k IS not ok… too expensive and for a couple RMk more u can get a bigger engine capacity Gen2 that has 5 doors to allow convenient access than a 3 door satria. which would u take?

either way, i'd pass. both.

• catborg (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 10:48 pm

it's different between Sport car (hot hatcback) and family car la hatuk..

55k with 1.6 and 1.8 engine is ok.. but no.. no 1.3

tapi pun malaysian nak 1.3 = CHEAP sukkaaa! :lol:

• waimak (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 11:21 pm

Plate number on the bumper's kind of old fashion/ design, should be on the hatch lid (observe the market). From the pic, I like the overall styling but rear bumper a lil bulky for me and interior not as sleek/ smooth as Gen2's.

IMHO, Proton should improve the interior (trimming and material), suspension, and practicallity, and not to forget, fuel consumption (the most talk about today)

Utusan Malaysia once reported it should be launched sometimes in April 06 and I hope its true, becos it's nearly half of March already.

• revver (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 12:12 am

alamaakkk… 3 doors gen2. adeh.. what to say. bikin malu betul.

• vernieman (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 12:25 am

I do like the overall styling of the SRM. It has a personality and the styling is consistent with the Gen.2 and the Savvy. In general, I don't think Proton has a problem with exterior styling or design. It's bloody obvious they need to improve on quality of material and fitting.

I doubt that's the real steering though. I like the gearstick.

I am pretty sure they will be releasing 1.6 and 1.3-litre Campro-powered variants.

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 2:21 am

I've met this new satria covered with blacktape twice, once in Jalan Kuching and the other one in Wangsa Maju near JPJ. Well, the point is.. i can't simply imagine that this new satria will be similiar to savvy, i meant in terms of size. Is it worth buying this kind of national product?? Most of the people outside there wants to use a big car, no matter what it call, sedan.. saloon.. sportcar or whatever. We want a car that can last longer, not just 5 years. So this type of car ( i'm not rather sure whether it's suits to be a satria gti for this model) maybe for younger.. Or young executive malaysian? Hish… And the target market is same to savvy loh?… Wasting money.. But why don't they improve their technical problem? Engine problem, the power window, noisy suspension, belting n so forth?.. Honestly last time i'm using a 1.8 satria gti with a supercharge install in it that generate ups to 200hp. . But still can't beat 1.3 Mazda rx7. Simply huh?…. Wasted…..

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 2:49 am

Catborg,

Gen2 = family car???

tell that to gen2 club members and see what they have in store for you. lol.

anyway, for this car, i'll pass. looking forward to something other than proton now…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 2:55 am

The only thing i would hope in this SRM is the plastics used. Please please please Proton… get something else. But…. it seems it had the Gen2 Savvy genes as well…. sigh~~~

• eric (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 3:37 am

gtosupercharge, sgti with supercharger? okayyyyyyy..

you mean to say that proton should concentrate the money they spend on developing the savvy and SRM to improving their engine and whatever? and in that same view, focus only on big cars? and that sport hatches are a waste of money and only last less than 5 years? your sgti how old a? and you already plunked in a supercharger..

SRM looks kinda okay to me.. though a little chubby and well, not the most ideal sporty look, i think it would still appeal to malaysians..

not that we get a wide range to choose from..

• i'm run (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 4:33 am

Hurm… What took it so long.. Wait for the old stock satria or satria special edition to finish sell…?? I prefer the no. plate on the hatch lid than in the bumper… Look at the previous Satria… First the number plate on the rear bumper instead of on the hatch lid for the back.. Then Proton change it in the hatch lid…

• lhassall (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 5:12 am

You can see in the photo that they've just put a blank panel across the boot lid to disguise it (same as bonnet and wings), and stuck a number plate to the bumper. Nothing has changed.

The fashion in Europe is to have a clean, smooth hatch and I wish they had put the plate in the bumper.

Gear lever style look similar to the new European Civic's.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 6:17 am

look weird but without the real pic without the tapes, can't really tell………….so reserve the comment when i got the full picture of it.

• theking (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 6:20 am

Anyway, the new SRM still comes with Campro engine 1.3 and 1.6 but without the CPS tech yet. Proton R&D still not happy with the CPS performance yet. The illumination for IP is blue unlike Gen2 which is amber. Actually vendors already started to mass pro SRM parts and hopefully we can see the real car next month!

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 7:22 am

if proton changes the 'blink-blink' rims, and

put the plate number back on the lid, i think

they would be able to make people smile..

but dont u guys think this dash design is a

bit boring to be used over and over again?

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 9:59 am

nevermind ler… share same parts, got economies of scales mah… but whether the savings is passed to us the consumers remains a huge doubt.

• purity (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 10:17 am

my first impression, disappointment!

was so looking forward to this car. had transferred my MyVi bookings just to wait for this car but with this interior spyshot and recent hike of petrol price, starting to think i've made a mistake!

interior quite identical to gen2 which IMO isn't practical at all, particulary with the use of space. that gigantic (and i really mean gigantic) knobs at the centre on the console (for air-cond,temperature, etc) is really a design to be sorry with. totally ignorance on practicality. i mean, take a look and jap'/conti' cars; they made full use of space and give 'egornomic' it's full flesh meaning!

and those tiny little control buttons on the steering is smaller than those on a mp3 player! man, if you wanna do it, why not do it better and with more commitment! half hearted work won't get you a full pay!

looks like i might have to scrap the SRM idea and proceed to plan B – buy new honda civic and ditch my gf! hahahaha…

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 8:40 pm

Guys,

the plate no is definitely on the rear boot lid. P1 covered it with a tape and put a the temporary plate no on the bumper laa.. Remember these are for spy shots….No worries….

I'ved seen the "real" SRM without any single tape on it. It looked better than what we all see on the posted pics.

And yes.. interior is similar to gen2 ones but been enhanced and "redesigned". It now have glove box!!

• catborg (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 9:04 pm

hatukngkau..

sory.. but gen-2 is WRM = wira replacement model = sedan car that malaysian use for family too .. correct me if i were wrong..

btw, many knows that gen-2 lack of space, and look sporty a bit. but why them declare as WRM?

ok.. just wait next moth to see the real pic..

i will they also had SRM R3 too… and maybe and option fully loaded one ..:D

• intermilan (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 5:14 am

lama sangat la kereta ni…

naik boring orang tunggu… tak siap-siap lagi??

Jangan nanti masa launch (April?) sume orang buat bodo je sebab semua dah booking kereta lain, sudah la.

btw, Naza 206 might be launched end of March.

from the revealing pictures i've seen, the car is the ACTUAL peugeot 206, i could tell coz ada laa…

although its only equipped wif the 1.4 engine version, but you are buying a rm9xk car (Peugeot) for rm55k (Naza). RM55k of course not confirm, but that range la..

Most parts are original Peugeot 206 parts, especially parts that MATTERS. Quality in general might not be the best in the world, but more than acceptable for the price.

Jangan jadi macam kes Myvi Vs. Savvy (kasi chance la not sawi) sekali lagi sudah… it will be exciting coz both hatchs will probably appeal to the same crowds.

We want Proton to be successful, until then, we just hate you and your crappy quality.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 5:49 am

I understand all the tape is for coverup, but the engine cover has too much lines for just a coverup. Maybe trying to fool everyone as welll.

P1 did say release this month right, maybe end of the month, you will never know. BTW, if they could make the back concave like the gen-2/BMW 1 series it would look much better.

• foxtrotecho (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 11:50 am

"Honestly last time i’m using a 1.8 satria gti with a supercharge install in it that generate ups to 200hp. . But still can’t beat 1.3 Mazda rx7. Simply huh?…. Wasted….."

Hello gtosupercharge,

A rx7 has a 1.3 rotary engine. Your GTI with 1.8 4-cylinder DOHC engine supercharged or not, will _still_ lose. Your GTI's 200 hp vs a rx7's stock 280hp with twin turbos for good measure. You must be dreaming, thinking that you can beat one.

Dont even get me started on the handling characteristics. Your point of contention is considered null and void.

• demio121 (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 11:33 pm

the news about SRM have been around liek ages. Delays for years now. By the time SRM hits the street, it'll be like yester-years car. The excitement of SRM launch will probably be like Savvy or worst.

The interior is exactly like Gen2 except not it comes with glove box. Still looks weird and not pratical to me.

I gust SRM will be a "legacy" of the previous CEO. All promise but deliver nothings.

• Si|v3rB|ooD (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 6:26 am

Hehehehe. Every people have their oppinion. For me, atleast now we have another choice to make in buying a car… not juz gen 2 the whole year… not juz myvi the whole year… or savvy or sawi for some people the whole year or 3 years in a row :P… hehehe :P i hope our country produced variety of cars in a year or at least 2 model or something…. juz like our fashion season… huhu.

• biggie (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 4:59 pm

everyone has their own opinion, but as a whole ppl here like Proton to be Skoda of old providing cheap transportation for the whole family.

However Proton itself want to be something else, producing a young sporty type of car, as its niche area instead of going to be another cheap sedan manufr.

If the Savvy interior fitting quality (not the material) then I do believe this SRM will be something to look for.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 5:09 pm

Catborg said,

sory.. but gen-2 is WRM = wira replacement model = sedan car that malaysian use for family too ..

============================================

haha, my friend, replace as in name only lar… where got replace? wira still selling on the road la… replace konon… kahkahkah! plus Gen2 price is even more expensive than a wira, so what can be said?

i say Proton is pathetic in its attempt to continuously give empty promises and screw us rakyat big time. Remember the statement "power windows problem is solved forever" during the launch of Asia's answer to BMW? well, i've changed power windows stuffs for 3 times within my 2 years ownership of Waja.

So much for believeing in Proton.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 5:26 pm

i think its too premature to comment on how the air con is going to work, or the quality of the interior finishing, size of buttons.. etc. etc. until i actually get to see, and touch the real car. these photos have insufficient detail.

but from the general look of the car from the outside, i think its a decent, sporty looking hatchback.

btw intermilan, i think the naza 206 is just a 100% rebadge of old pug 206 stocks that were not sold. they probably have less than 10% local content if at all. but its a different market all together i think, as the 206 has 4 doors.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 6:10 pm

just ignore the new car/srm what ever for sure it is now worth to wait, not worth to buy, buy Proton sure loose money, their price not consistence even their interest rate is not firm, they are selling old stocks for innocent buyers.

Please from this year on dont buy Proton, this MAFIA STYLE BUSINESS must be stop.you are forced to buy, compulsery for outlets service only, if not warranty will be void.and for sure there is no great feeling about buying Proton as your day old car will force you to make a visit ASAP to service center because faulties alll over the car.

enough said just IGNORE the new one, Proton are sick, their share are dropping, no more support from Msian 20 years is long enough.Proton is killing us no more fun driving cars in Msia.

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 6:20 pm

HatukNgkau said,

well, i’ve changed power windows stuffs for 3 times within my 2 years ownership of Waja. So much for believeing in Proton.

What is the manufactured year of your Waja? Before or after 2004. Just to share with everyone, Proton solved the power window and door handle failures problem permanently after 2004. However, they have been keeping quiet on this issue in fear of warranty claims. A piece of advice to Waja owners looking for replacement parts, get the original parts because they have been strengthen especially the power window module. Brace has been added to the pulley as well as the motor mount. As for the door handle, reinforcement has been added to the area where it broke. Warning, Taiwan made parts does not have the improvements.

SRM

Based on the unmask version of the SRM that I have seen, the exterior looks will definitely get praises. I especially likes the headlights, tail-lights & bonnet design. However, interior design and quality is still below my expectation but better than Gen2 & Savvy. The launched should be on target within the next two months but it won't surprised anyone if if delayed again. IMHO, it is worth the wait.

• kody (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 7:33 pm

wahlaueh…

SRM… another project to scrap from P1… Just launch the model, no mather how hard you test the model, P1 never listen to users & 100% makesure problem parts solved, then it is no point to delay & keep on testing.

• Si|v3rB|ooD (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 8:44 pm

ermmm…. is the new satria gonna be turbocharged? or maybe supercharged to attract young buyer ? by the way… izzit a turbo timer or juz a replica of it in the interior pic shot? hehehehe

• waimak (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 10:50 pm

Paul, I just remembered. The interior, if not 100% the same, doesnt go far from your post on 13 Dec 2005's Proton's Design Patent with UK Patent Office.

• rudeboy (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 12:51 am

I think the interior's exactly like the Pantent office photo's. Not exactly revolutionary but it is more fussy than the Gen.2's.

The bugger who tested the car even had time to fit in a head unit for those long drives clocking mileage on the car.

Anyway, I think the Gen.2 design will get dated faster than the Savvy's. Proton should use the Savvy's design language for its future cars because from the UK reports, Europeans loved it (and not so the Gen.2's design)

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 7:35 am

gtosupercharge, you have reminded of a guy who posted in NST's monthly Cars & Truck (errr…betul ke ni?). He was complaining why his Wira VR4 cannot overtake the 3-series BMW. Now, how in the world can he ever dream of doing it? I had a very good laugh out of it.

Anyway, about this SRM, it's getting lame lah. Topik basi. I'm sure many of us are getting tired of it. The level of excitement has drop. And with the new Civic, it'll erode even fast faster. How long will it takes Proton to be a front runner instead of playing catch up?

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 10:33 am

Tracks…

sadly, mine was a pre-2004 model. bought it during raya promotion back then. first time broke, at dirver's side, i took it for replacement in PE's SC in May 04.

maybe i got a lousy replacement from them instead of the "improved" version. or maybe their workmanship screwed big time. either way i was shortchanged. paid the going price of "original proton parts" yet it broke down once again in the next 2 months.

no more proton SC for me, and malas to go claim warranty over this, so i brought it to a chinese workshop in klang, kautim it for 2/3 of wat i paid to PESC, and that thing lasted me until today. the third case happened last year also, this time left passenger side, went to the same workshop again and now it functions just like new.

i know it might will break down anytime soon, but hey, at least i get what i pay for, instead of paying premium price for original but got one that works like a non-original.

• biggie (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 4:54 pm

aksMs,

SRM is the kind of topik basi that M'sian took for granted. As M'sian car are tested more and more on M'sian road we should have more of this prototype. This is something unheard of if we do not have the industry

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 4:55 pm

HatukNgkau

Sorry to hear about your problem. Back in early 2004, due to the uncertainty of AFTA, P1 was very free therefore they embark on improving the cars in their stockyard especially the Waja 1.8. Door handles, ECU and etc was changed to prevent problems later on. Unfortunately, nobody dare to stake claim for being responsible for the defective door handles or power windows as the claims amount runs up to many $$$millions. Therefore, no recall was done even though they knew it was a design problem. Anyway, many of you should have figured this out already.

Back to SRM

The car shown is a test car. The one I have seen is the near mass production model with minimal dress-up ready to be sent to Shah Alam. The interior would be 99.9% the same as shown as at this stage drastic changes is not possible anymore without incurring huge $$$. I must say that the car feel well built and solid compared to the current GTI except that the quality of the plastic could be better.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 5:15 pm

can someone donate me one? sob sob…

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 11:18 pm

That's why i'm saying, it is worth buying this SRM? Coz i look at this car, in front of me, TWICE…. i said TWICE… Is it enuff? I can compare this SRM or whatever they call it, smaller than gen 2, waja, and even previous satria. Is this the car tht all of you been waiting for? So sure you want to buy this carlah?? So then go ahead. And then let me see if you can still use it for over 5 years, i bet you all!! Even people arond complained bout savvy, r u blind? They want sumtin' bigger, i mean not so big, but bigger than savvy, like GEN 2, Satria and Waja. Peeps just don't get enuff with stock cars. And one more thing, is satria gti really a sport hatchback to u? Well, i'm use it for 3 years, and i can say tht they have a better handling, compare to other proton cars. But i'm still not satisfied with it, that's why i'm install a turbocharge on it. A lot faster.. I know, my 1.8 sgti is different to 1.3 rotary, different class, different opponent. Just to compare the CC, don't even think i'm that kind of stupid that spoke nonsense, 'FOXTROTECHO'. And lastly, due to poor technical, i sold it, before i use this Mitsubishi, more than you can affort…

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 11:46 pm

aksMs said,

"gtosupercharge, you have reminded of a guy who posted in NST’s monthly Cars & Truck (errr…betul ke ni?). He was complaining why his Wira VR4 cannot overtake the 3-series BMW. Now, how in the world can he ever dream of doing it? I had a very good laugh out of it."

Now my question is, if you want to compare a Wira VR4 sprint with 3.0 BMW 6 speed transmission 180 hp@6,000 rpm is totally unacceptable. Wira 1.5 can put up to 1.8 max only. For 2.0, they will have many reasons to stop your car… Of coz it doesn't work. But hoe bout my gto vr4? Who do u think will win ?

• Paul Tan on Mar 15, 2006 at 3:07 am

Actually I think a Wira VR4 could tapau an unmodded 3-series easily.

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 10:25 am

biggie, Im just expressing my frustation as Proton took it too long to test the machine. This has been too long I wonder how much money they have wasted. Where's the effiency? At the same time you've been feasting your eyes on the newer car being launch by other manufacturer every single month or two. Not that I'm taking them for granted. I'm just concern.

gtosupercharge, bro, with your current ride of course you could tapau a 3-series.

• foxtrotecho (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 2:55 pm

Hi there gtosupercharge, in reply to your comment to me …

1. "Is this the car tht all of you been waiting for? "

Nope, not at all.

2. "So sure you want to buy this carlah?? So then go ahead."

Actually I'm not sure, considering that I'm not even aiming for a SRM.

3. "And then let me see if you can still use it for over 5 years, i bet you all!!"

So if I use a SRM for more than 5 years, what pray tell will you bet with ? Your GTO ? Oh please.

4. Even people arond complained bout savvy, r u blind?

No I'm not blind, thank you very much. Last I checked, blind people still have quite a hard time trying to read blogs on the Internet, much less anything else .

5. And one more thing, is satria gti really a sport hatchback to u?

Yes, unless of course you're thinking that its a station wagon.

Ah yes, I have no doubts that a GTO is more than what I can afford now, but what does that have to do with anything about a SRM. On that related note, where in earlier comment, did I even mention ANYTHING about the SRM ?

• shaif (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 4:19 pm

Read on paper that vendor start mass pro SRM parts next month. So another two weeks and the excitement being mix up. Glad that Proton capable to churn out another model. Hopefully it meet my expectation especially car's interior.

• biggie (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 4:45 pm

akaMs

to be honest the amount of test conducted by Proton is no more in term of time of length then other makers in the same class. I know many auto enthusiast who make trips to watch this car, and auto mags with spyshots is always appreciated by enthusiast.

Incremental model improvement (SE and the likes) do not require road test.

2 door hatchback is quite hard to find these days as car maker going for the mass family segment. I'm happy that Proton provide such a car, at a relatively low price.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Forget about this "new" Satria Replacement Model. Must be likely get someone else old model (likely old Mitsubishi Colt) to make modification and rebadge it. Later pass on as "new" model in our market – really a big joker. Look at spyshot photos, the gear box and the big buttons at radio/disc player section, look like 60s design – very ugly and odd! Must be another desperate ad campaige when launch later, just like Savvy!

Proton suck, ask them to tapau so that government can imposed lowest tax (5%) on imported cars to enable us to buy say Toyota Camry 2.4L at around USD 18K (RM 68K, US market) instead of buy detritus Proton Waja with similar price range! WTF, Proton treat us consumers like "capture market", we pay a high price for Proton to make profit! what is this? Proton should be competitve in the market to make money! Not use Automotive Tax Structure as business tool to "suck consumers' blood until last drop". "Proton is national icon"!, huh, it is a liability to consumers and tax payers, not an asset!

• Zero (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 11:55 pm

Well, I don't about new upcoming model(s) from Proton but it's nice to have a new model(s) since Proton itself are in trouble(s). It could help them, maybe…but as a proud Malaysian, I would like to see the new model(s) to have turbocharged or supercharged since there is none of their product that have it. A few improvement might satisfied Malaysian or my appetite of car(s) such as disc brake at front and rear, ABS, EBD, e.t.c…Nice to you all providing the spyshots of the upcoming model from Proton, or I would never knew about it until it is launch to the market…Thanks folks…

• Zero (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 12:14 am

Then, I'll have to wait for their launch…but when???

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 5:56 am

Nevertheless, I think this SRM is a "panjang umur" one as I wrote comments bout it and walla! Saw it on the road in my hometown around 6pm. The rear plate no. is placed on the bonnet. But too bad, my digicam was at home. Besides, it still look the same thou as previously posted. :)

Ok, I got excited a bit. Just a little bit lar. Ya lorr, cause I'm seeing it with my own eyes. But it is still far from the excitement and the saliva I have wasted drooling over the new Civic! ;)

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 4:35 pm

From what I have heard, there is a version of SRM with a turbo-charged engine from VW being tested. Personally, I think sticking with Mitsubishi turbo-charged engine would be a better option due to its cost in the long run. German spare parts would definitely be not cheap and modification would also be a challenge. 4G93T with 200bhp is not a bad engine for a hatch but I know a lot of people out there would disagree as they want more power, but I don't believe in over kill.

Still, we all have to wait and see the outcome from Proton. By the way, I have pictures of Savvy R3 bodykitted version. Anyone interested to see.

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:15 pm

Proton should narrow down their segmentation. Certain people just simply comment and complained without truly understanding the concept of the car (ex. last case, when proton juara was launched, actually it was adopted from mitsubishi town box, which in japan being used for small businesses, sucha retail shop and so forth. But malaysians think that this juara are for family package and for leisure, which are totally out of the mark. Look’s like mini mpv’s huh?. After that they keep on blaming proton why they produced sucha terrible car?) So dude… if you buy this SRM and use it for over 5 yrs, the thing is.. SRM then might not be suitable for your futurelah. Seriously dude, you got what I meant? Better look for another car, bigger space. SRM will never bring a satisfaction to your needs. Hahaha.. I can’t imagine if this car can survive over 5 yrs, no matter what happen next, maybe after family also still using this SRM. Haha.. I can’t accept proton in terms of their price and also quality. It should be getting better than what i expect. They should keep on improving from the material that they use, and by the same time solved those previous problems to get a better quality of coz, not moving backwards. We want something that can bring value from what we buy. But with a poor quality and material use, plus lacks of ideas in redesigning, i don’t think this car is worth to buy. And I also don’t think that the price is reasonable. Wasted!

• gtosupercharge (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:37 pm

Joe Ooi said,

Forget about this “new” Satria Replacement Model. Must be likely get someone else old model (likely old Mitsubishi Colt) to make modification and rebadge it. Later pass on as “new” model in our market – really a big joker. Look at spyshot photos, the gear box and the big buttons at radio/disc player section, look like 60s design – very ugly and odd! Must be another desperate ad campaige when launch later, just like Savvy!

Dude, u've remind me of the previous saga turbowagon (UK specs). Where the hell on earth are these car?!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 10:23 pm

Previous saga turbowagon (UK specs)? – I also don't where but I know Saga model is not allowed into UK quite sometime due to it unable to meet UK's safety standard, some dump back to Malaysian market! Yes is true, one of my friend purchase it! Spec better but safety wise, ….????

But remember, Proton lack of expertise in R & D and innovation won't be able to come out with truthfully new model! It is just restyling, remodification, rebadge, etc on other old model and dump in Malaysian market as "new". Savvy! The engine is from Clio II model! but claim in advert as new! I believe Paul Tan have better knowledge on this!

• Mac (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 8:30 am

no plate better.no need road tax

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 19, 2006 at 12:53 am

I think PROTON changed the plate number position to the bumper instead of the hatch so that they can put the tag: "CAMPRO 1.6" at the left side of the hatch, and the name of the car at the right of the hatch, as well as the PROTON logo at the center of the hatch, so that all of u bashers can see its back clearly when u're all smoked by this car.

Hmmm…. i've a feeling that PROTON kept delaying this car's launch because… maybe they wanna put a different CAMPRO engine in it…… maybe the real CAMPRO….. with CAMPROFILING technology. I think price is slightly cheaper that the GEN2 1.6. Just remember that this is the Satria Replacement: As with the original Satria, the price is cheaper than the Wira. So the SRM is probably cheaper that the GEN2.

• super33 (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 10:17 am

Proton good?

• maru (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 8:36 am

http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=5841R6L7G&i…

the srm with honda fitz's mugen body kit!how do u like it

• super33 (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:37 pm

for my opinion,,…. perodua better than proton now

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 8:41 pm

I hope Proton will put more effort in Quanlity Control and R&D. Otherwise their products will not sell good in overseas market.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 3:34 am

My god….this Joe Ooi fella must be a clown. If Proton comes otu with their own car, people say the car lacks of proper RnD. If Proton rebadges cars, they say Proton is lying to people.

But P2 and Naza and Inokom are rebadging cars, so why no comment on that?

There is always a market for a 3-door hatch. Satria has proven it, but the pricing must be right. In the overseas market, three-door cars are quite popular too. Somebody said that this is not true. Of course 5-door or the sedan will sell more but Proton has its Gen2 and Waja for that market segment. If the three-door market in Europe sucks, why the hell do they still sell the 3-door getz, the three-door Polo, the C2 and so many others.

Like many lame Malaysians, some of you just now how to complain without even checking on the real facts. If Proton wants to build the SRM, let them la. u dont like, u dont buy. Simple. Go buy the new Civic or whatever cars la. If you cant afford, than its your fault. Do not blame your weakness on somebody else.

• carlover (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 8:10 pm

Just my personal opinion. Btw saw the SRM, and guess what? Alfa Romeo 147 replica! and it has a center exhaust like SAVVY! which i dislike.Been in it, the actual production car! 100% siap

Okie hahah just thought of sharing my opinion.

Proton Boleh! Naza Boleh! Malaysia Boleh!!

• Siva (Member) on Jun 03, 2006 at 11:18 pm

I've heard through the grapevines that the new Satria Replacement Model will be called the Proton Satria Neo. If that's true, good job Proton on keeping the Satria name.

• kerja kosong on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:12 am

kereta neo memang sesuai dengan orang muda..dgn cc 1.6,memang berbaloi untuk di pakai..bangga la dengan kereta buatan malaysia