Honda Malaysia Racing Team’s MME Civic

hmrtcivic1.jpg

For fans of the new 2006 Honda Civic, you will be able to see race-prepared versions of them in action at the 12-hour Merdeka Millenium Endurance race (MME) 2006 at Sepang International Circuit held on August 27, 2006.

Team Honda Racing, which won the Class A Champion title for 3 years consecutively will be the first team in the world to use the new 8th generation 2006 Honda Civic as race cars. The stock Honda Civic chassis is taken off the assembly line, and is strenghtened using techniques like double spot welding. Then the car is painted white, any race Honda that is not predominantly white would just be wrong. ;) The car is then hand built by the Honda Malaysia Racing Team.

[UPDATED: More photos after the jump!]

hmrtcivic2.jpg

mme_party_1_small.jpg

mme_party_2_small.jpg

mme_party_3_small.jpg

mme_party_4.jpg

mme_party_5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• drifter (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:28 pm

nice car…is it using the honda 2.0 liter tiptroic sistem…or fully manual?

is it a v-tec 2 liter?? or different engine…more keng wan??

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:47 pm

Waaahhh…the first team in the world to use it? Not bad eh, Honda Malaysia. Paul, any insight on their performance spec for this Civic?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 12:56 pm

Good, see how Gen-2 and Waja MME, both fitted with Campro fight with this car!

• exodust (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 1:42 pm

@drifter: tiptronic is mercedes's version of a clutchless manual transmission, why would it be on a honda? If you dont know the name of honda's variant, then just call it clutchless manual transmission.

@aksMs: Its probably because it just happens that most events in other countries have already commenced when it 1st came out, so it didnt give the competitors time to get one and modify it. Plus, the civic participating in MME hardly required any serious mods (its just an endurance race after all) as opposed to those competitions in western countries (drag, circuit, drifting) where they'll need to use more serious and compicated mods (e.g reinforced internals, forced induction), so what Honda Malaysia achieved is much.

@Joe Ooi: LoL, you can continue dreaming if you think those two cars stand any chance whatsoever in the first place. In terms of reliability (it is an endurance race after all), I think even you know the answer. In terms of power, one word: Vtec (need I say more?)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 3:17 pm

All thanks to the hard work from previous Honda Malaysia CEO Kuraishi & Marketing Manager Zainuddin Taib and countless others behind the scenes.

• oversight (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:42 pm

no wonder it's so powerful coz MUGEN support them. don't know if team kunimitsu are involved or not. emm still using grand prix white colour.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Seriously, what is a "double spot welding". Does it mean that they weld the joint twice? How does that help strengthening the car?

• Ralliace (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:34 pm

Honda Malaysia has a strong commitment and focus towards MME. They never fail to achieve the results. The team emphasises not only quality but reliability. Getting MUGEN parts in the car doesn't will ensure a win, but the my guess is the 100% commitment of the team and their 3 very smart drivers that ensures the success.

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 5:51 pm

if i send M3, how?

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 8:56 pm

new honda civic memang cun… very sporty… unfortunately, I can admire only.. btw, this racing one manual ka? AWD?.. honda civic manuals wud be cool…

• szw (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 9:52 pm

hand built ?

wat hand built ?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:06 pm

haha king kong.. better send yer m3 rather than those gen-2 or waja? is it gen-2 or gen-set runs on 4 wheels?

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:50 pm

poor Joe Oiiiii.

this car is 2.0 .. how can compete waja 1.8 either gen-2 1.6?

i love honda design. but this car look heavy. and not suitable for racing..

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 10:54 pm

I think some of you guys need to read up a little more about MME and racing before you comment. for a start, this is a full blown touring car spec honda. you're talking hundreds of thousands of ringgit spent to built it up to what we see. A touring car 2.0 litre engine can make over 300hp N/A, whereas the standard honda 2.0 litre road car engine makes about 150hp.

Also, to the misinformed, over 50 proton cars regularly compete in, and complete the MME race every year. that is reliability.

Maybe you should also check out last years results, and you can see for yourself that the top running protons completed more laps than the other honda civics in the race.

unfortunately, honda didnt win the overall race last year, they were beaten by the lotus prepared by R3 which completed the most laps ever in an MME. This year will be a good fight again.

• motberg (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:21 pm

Joe Ooi said,

August 23, 2006 @ 4:56 am

Good, see how Gen-2 and Waja MME, both fitted with Campro fight with this car!

Very funny Joe… the only way Campro can win is if the Civic is parked at roadside… hahaha

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:22 pm

I read from a local car mod magazine. is a mugen support red k20i vtec. it's not any ordinary CRV black k20i in the original civil. same spec as it is in a integra type R. don't have 2 b so powerfull. 6sp manual will do cos only need 2 b reliable. just a little inflow, outflow & com box mod from mugen will transform the car in a race spec already. still remember when civic beat Muchilago GT in 2004 4 overall win. if all the current model civil r interested, u can source the red k20i from motor trader ad. brand new with 6sp n drive shaft as well. but no price mention on the ad n the shop is in kedah if i'm not mistaken. if any 1 is interested please post here & i can check it out n post it here 2moro.

• motberg (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:22 pm

Most probably the Gen-2 and Waja will only smell Civic exhaust fumes! *cough * cough*

• ... (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 11:49 pm

ckengyo said,

August 23, 2006 @ 3:22 pm

still remember when civic beat Muchilago GT in 2004 4 overall win.

The civic won overall win because the lambo broke down halfway through the race. So the civic won but it didnt beat the lambo, so to speak. Heard that the lambo will be back this year to beat the lotus exige…

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 1:07 am

that's y i said: don’t have 2 b so powerfull. cos only need 2 b reliable.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 1:09 am

Powerplant is a crate engine by M-TEC (Mugen). Pumping out about 230PS, although Mugen gang can massage it to even 260PS if they want, but winning MME is all about reliability. More details on asia.vtec.net.

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 1:11 am

if champion cant beat somecar which can completed the race, can some1 create a new words 2 discride this situation. even an evo can beat muchilago on topgear.

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 1:13 am

if champion cant beat somecar which cant even completed the race, can some1 create a new word 2 discride this situation. even an evo can beat muchilago on topgear. no offence to "… said" cos i'm a super car fan as well.

• drM (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 1:13 am

paul, any chance Honda to mass produced their MME Civic? you know, with bodykits, bigger wheel, i think Honda should. and fast. make it a limited edition. hhahaahaha… :drool:

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 1:39 am

obviously none of you are reading anything anyone else is saying. This car is built to touring car spec. its not competing with 1.6 production class cars like the waja, or gen2, or even the satria and putra 1.8's in the production class.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 3:25 am

Refering to what exodust said previosly.

@drifter: tiptronic is mercedes’s version of a clutchless manual transmission, why would it be on a honda? If you dont know the name of honda’s variant, then just call it clutchless manual transmission.

Clarification…. Tiptronic is Porsche's concept.. Mers merely has a license from Porsche to develop their own variant of the clutchless manual transmission thingy. And.. Mercedes DOESNT call their clutchless manual transmission the tiptronic system.. Its called touch shift.. =) Acura calls it sportshift.. Lotsa other names out there for this system.. go find out urself.. cheers.. =)

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 3:46 am

ya… honda is oways the best!

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:11 am

honda_driver said,

August 23, 2006 @ 2:54 pm

Also, to the misinformed, over 50 proton cars regularly compete in, and complete the MME race every year. that is reliability.

Maybe you should also check out last years results, and you can see for yourself that the top running protons completed more laps than the other honda civics in the race.

unfortunately, honda didnt win the overall race last year, they were beaten by the lotus prepared by R3 which completed the most laps ever in an MME. This year will be a good fight again.

it's true..nway,honda n proton doesn't compete in same category..huhu..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 5:42 am

drM said, "paul, any chance Honda to mass produced their MME Civic?"

Aiya don't need to waite Honda mass produced one…….. Ah Beng can do the job for you at "special discount price". Sungai Besi/Chan Sow Lin area at KL have many experience Ah Bengs including source for kereta potong "organ".

motberg said,

August 23, 2006 @ 3:22 pm

Most probably the Gen-2 and Waja will only smell Civic exhaust fumes! *cough * cough*

So, CamPro performance is acceptable in its class, but P1 need to develop higher cc engine to catch up with competitor!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 6:19 am

honda_driver said, "I think some of you guys need to read up a little more about MME and racing before you comment."

"Also, to the misinformed, over 50 proton cars regularly compete in, and complete the MME race every year. that is reliability."

—————————————-

Team Honda Racing by it name reflected that this mass produciton car is built for MME "Racing". When come to racing, then to win the competition shall be the main objective of this race. Of course Merdeka Millenium Endurance by it self may see the "endurance" of the participant in which "reliability" may become main criteria on the toughness of the car.

However, I am in the opinion that to test the "endurance/reliability" of the car. Then this MME thingy can't be use as "barometer" to measure this variable. Off roads vehicle driving and facing many obstacles like winding , rough terrain, extreme weather condition, untarred, "cowbow road", stream, jungle, desert, etc. The like of Paris-Dakar Rally or Petronas 4WD expedition to China really demontrate the toughness, sturdy, reliability, endurance of vehicles participated in this journey and definitely the participants exposed to optimum physical as well as mental challenge. To run at super duper flat track that design for F1 is world class racing but does not indicate that this track can be or suitable to be use as an avenue to test the reliability/endurance of the mas production cars!

Any one have comments on this? Can MME organize and conduct off road version? Aiya don't want elaborate more lah, then some may think me like to "sing" P1 …….

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 7:33 am

looks good. at least something fresh and nice once in a while. would like to see lambo's and ferrari's and also porsche in action as well.

it all boils down to reliabitlity of the engine and how much you stress it. which i think why people use big NA rather than small turboed while honda who makes good small cap durable engine slots somewhere in the middle. as well as other areas of the car.

• asimo (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 8:59 am

#

bmpower said,

August 23, 2006 @ 2:50 pm

poor Joe Oiiiii.

this car is 2.0 .. how can compete waja 1.8 either gen-2 1.6?

i love honda design. but this car look heavy. and not suitable for racing..

agree with you bmpower..

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:44 pm

Perhaps Honda should acquire the Singapore only version of the new Civic with a 1.6L engine and race in MME. Then it would be 'fair' competition among the same class of cars.

Reliability testing is a long list of testing that need to be conducted under various conditions and criteria. MME race provides one of those testing condition. Therefore, both honda_driver and Joe Ooi are correct with their interpretation on reliability. For example, if the cars was merely using a 'highly tuned version' of the stock engine and managed to complete the race, we could therefore assumed that the 'detuned version' of the stock engine available would last much much longer under normal driving condition. Of course, cars is a package of many components and system. Hence, what I mentioned is just an example of it.

• gabanpolis (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 6:09 pm

honda usa had use the 8th generation civic for endurance racing sometimes at the end of last year or this year, i can't remember correctly. although their civic has different face, they won the race, the endurance race was for 25 hour. their spec is also different, they got the k20z3, the new ivtec engine, 2.0 liter.

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 8:04 pm

joe ooi,

you cannot compare an offroad/rally to a circuit race. they are 2 very different things. For a start, circuit endurance races are run non-stop at the fastest possible speed. Off road rallies like the dakar, are run from stage to stage. some are competitive, some are "transport", there are also stop at intervals for service, and overnight stops..etc. If you have actually entered an MME, then you will know that the word endurance is not to be taken lightly. Not just machinery, but the human element is tested as well.

Both types of races have their merit and place in racing. If you are a competitor in either type of race, you will never come to the opinion that you have. One more thing, honda's have always excelled on the track, as that is their motorsports focus. They have never conquered any offroad race anywhere.

Also for your info,

proton cars are entered regularly in rallies every year. over very rough terrain at very high speeds over a couple of days. A proton satria won its class in the British Rally Championships some years back. In fact, a proton gen2 1.6 completed Rally of Malaysia/APRC(26-27 aug), finishing 4th overall and 1st in class in a field of 4wd turbocharged rivals, 1.8 litre cars..etc.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 12:11 am

honda_driver said,Also, to the misinformed, over 50 proton cars regularly compete in, and complete the MME race every year. that is reliability.

they finished last all the time why you never mentioned…actually is not really a reliable car..you finished last..is not an achievement in racing.

Proton business run by vendors not by their own management..Proton should not be in the list for new car at all..it is not car..it's a desease..a power window failure prone car…sorry la I REALLY HATE TO SEE PROTON DRIVER NEED TO OPEN THEIR DOOR WHEN TO PAY TOLLS OR COLLECT PARKING TICKET OR NEED TO PUSH THE WINDOW USING THEIR HANDS.make them looks like superman/malayman..Y'KNOW..very smart..

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 12:19 am

Again:

Seriously, what is a “double spot welding”. Does it mean that they weld the joint twice? How does that help strengthening the car?

Do anyone have an idea to this?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 1:35 am

Firstly, Dogster, increasing amount of welds is like increasing the overall area i.e. more surface contact, less stress to concentrated point etc etc.

like standing on one feet. feel stressed after standing 1 hour. but with 2 feet, can last longer.. aiya something like that.

if the car subject to continuous cyclic stresses, then stock welds may not be sufficient . cars these days at some parts are spot welded like along the doors or something.

secondly, y on earth compare Elise to Civic???? its like comparing a stallion with a pony. Do you feel proud winning in a nationally owned sports car that was not even designed & built by us? y not i just give you the money then u sell me the trophy.

Thirdly, MME races have many benefits for many car vendors to test their products. MME also serves to show how far can the cars be tuned. Tuners dream come true in some sense.

Fourthly, this subject is on MME Civic. Need I say more?

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 2:33 am

mycar_stolen :

stop talking rubbish la. just look at last years MME results.. you have no idea what you're saying.

Yes this is about honda, but..

im proud of the lotus 300RR wining, because the entire team who planned, setup, and managed the entire race are malaysians. The car was also setup for our conditions here in Malaysia. Thats a big achievement, being able to setup and run a GT spec car which is a very complicated piece of machinery.

well done also to the honda malaysia team. They have one of the best build touring spec cars i've ever seen race in an MME. will be interesting to see how their new car compares to last years car.

• asimo (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:55 am

mycar_stolen :

stop talking rubbish la. just look at last years MME results.. you have no idea what you’re saying.

Yes this is about honda, but..

im proud of the lotus 300RR wining, because the entire team who planned, setup, and managed the entire race are malaysians. The car was also setup for our conditions here in Malaysia. Thats a big achievement, being able to setup and run a GT spec car which is a very complicated piece of machinery.

well done also to the honda malaysia team. They have one of the best build touring spec cars i’ve ever seen race in an MME. will be interesting to see how their new car compares to last years car.

agree with honda driver…proton power windows is a small problem…my jazz also having a problem with power window last time…

• shaza (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:30 pm

i ve been asking around people / close frens bout proton cars coz i ve decided to buy one, but seem lots of them dont have any big complain bout proton car..minor complain for me its normal.

so, i make my own conclusion, its not the brand, yes maybe proton's product itself still not up to the expectation by most of us, but i think it is the car itself. any car can make problem too..maybe bcoz a lot of proton cars on the road so u can hear a lot of problem too. other cars, for sure there s a problem too but very seldom u ll hear it coz the quantity…make sense.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:25 pm

shaza said,

August 25, 2006 @ 9:30 am

i ve been asking around people / close frens bout proton cars coz i ve decided to buy one, but seem lots of them dont have any big complain bout proton car..minor complain for me its normal.

so, i make my own conclusion, its not the brand, yes maybe proton’s product itself still not up to the expectation by most of us, but i think it is the car itself. any car can make problem too..maybe bcoz a lot of proton cars on the road so u can hear a lot of problem too. other cars, for sure there s a problem too but very seldom u ll hear it coz the quantity…make sense.

you are jumping into your own graveyard..friendly to say that nobody who drives a Proton would like to share you the bad info, the like for you to experience it by yourself…by the time you noticed it already too late you bought the car already..you stuck with the insane 4.1% interest rate per annum , and guess what your warranty is only for one year while in the UK proeton comes with 8 year warranty.with everything inside.

one last question why you want to buy stone age specs car with a price more than USD 10K? is it worth it? PROTON will turn you into less respected humasn, regardless your 10 degrees, 25 master degree or 12 Phd..no Proton drivers will not earn the respect except in your own house compund not in the hotels, not in the restaurant parking bays…not even respect by the car wash boys…

• asimo (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 10:07 am

joe ooiiiiiiiiiii

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 12:52 am

shaza said,

August 25, 2006 @ 9:30 am

so, i make my own conclusion, its not the brand, yes maybe proton’s product itself still not up to the expectation by most of us, but i think it is the car itself. any car can make problem too..maybe bcoz a lot of proton cars on the road so u can hear a lot of problem too. other cars, for sure there s a problem too but very seldom u ll hear it coz the quantity…make sense.

————————————————–

thats actually wrong. thats actually an excuse made by one of the proton PR people to brush off the problems. you go beleive his horse crap. ive owned a 10 year old honda. no problems with windows or small issues. driving 6 year old corolla. not even a small problem throughout its life. nothing breaks or breaks down. harder to beleive that this toyota is a budget car in international car markets.

• Ralliace (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 5:40 pm

Well, Honda proved of their might again when they won their class in the MME 2006 yesterday. Well done!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:24 pm

yes they will keep winning ….if somebody do make a race between coupel of toll gates..Honda will still beat the Proton because "Proton ddriver need to open door when pay tolls"….

P/S proton power window problem is the major problem, they cant even solve it for the last 22 years.if they can solve the power window problems how will they solve other problem?

• mohd zurhismal zarith on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:24 pm

cantek betol