Chery to build Dodge subcompacts for DCX

dodge_hornet_5.jpg

Some news regarding collaboration between DaimlerChrysler and Chery. Previously it was reported that Chrysler will name it’s subcompact car partner by the end of 2006, with talks currently on-going with a few partners. Subcompacts which are known for frugal fuel consumption – important in these high fuel price days – account for 1% of the overall US market currently, but it is expected to double in amount next year.

DaimlerChrysler is said to be in final talks to build cars in China and export them to the US under the Dodge brand to take advantage of the cheaper costs there. This move will follow Honda Motor Co’s recent recision to export vehicles built in China. However, DaimlerChrysler is keeping mum on the issue, and it is said that this collaboration is very controversial within DaimlerChrysler, with opponents questioning whether cars produced in China by Chery can meet quality standards.

Other partners being considered are Mitsubishi Motors Corp, and Hyundai Motor Co Ltd. “We know we can’t do it alone. The capital expense alone would be very high, said Chrysler Group CEO Tom LaSorda.

Source, 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Fox (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:19 pm

#

auctioncenter2u said,

September 28, 2006 @ 7:55 am

China’s designed car got Engineering doubt, now plus Proton assembly got Production doubt = What kind of product will be come out? (Problem unknown product)

** Taken from the previous comment when we read that Proton's going to essamble Cherry Car…. Wonder what this guy will say about DaimlerChrysler + Chrry plan. Yadda..yadda..yaddaa

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:42 pm

it's GLOBALISATION = Economy (Eco No Money) of Scale

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:43 pm

personally.. i can't except this kind of vehicle. i just don't know why..

• drM (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:00 pm

i thought its quite similar to the one I saw in 'Rides' sometime ago? If I am not at mistake, that produced by Ford.. how come quite similar?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Germany-USA Designed and engineering control plus China's Cheap workforce and Quality production (China is World factory) = What product will be…….should be Cheap and quality product!

This collaboration is good I think, the only problem is they choose the wrong Model to start. Who wish to buy such kind of Bully-Ulgy-Compact beast. Good luck to them.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:30 pm

Nowadays everybody wanna to ask China to produce their products, whether Japanese, German, American, Italian, France,……..one good example the "Gucci" which is a world well known brand some product also Made in China. Don't be surprised even your branded Underwear might as well made in China too, don't mind check it out now. Ha..ha..ha…. :P

Don't under estimate the Chinese…….

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:31 pm

its prefectly fine for other car companies to work with chery, but its totally unacceptable for proton to work with chery. in fact, its totally unacceptable for proton to work with any other company in the world, unless it means we can buy rebadged as proton VW or rebadged Merc, BMW, etc. for about RM30,000 a pop… suddenly, i wake up from my dream.

• Fox (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 8:34 pm

auctioncenter2u said,

September 28, 2006 @ 11:30 am

Bro, Its not about Race… It's about Economics of Scale…..

• jeanloo (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:01 pm

drM, the one you saw is a Ford Gorillaz, it's a ford concept urban vehicle for those rough neighbourhood like where those hip hop artist came from. The concept is totally different from this car. The Gorillaz is a Mini Armoured car while this is a mini car.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:48 pm

Lets hope the interior remains. Not cheap China make parts like they have in China.

• szw (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:29 am

is dis car coming in to m'sia ?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 7:31 am

Chinese market for passenger car is more than 4th largest behind USA, Japan and German. "Auto production stood at 5.71 million units in 2005, and sales of new cars totaled 5.92 million" (bjreview.com.cn).

There is a doubt on quality by today but future reality is they are the world market. Our market only see the Chinese brands but never taste the quality of foreign brands car manufacture and assemble in China like Toyota, Honda, GM, VW, BMW, etc.

Quote – "According to statistics from the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), China’s top economic planning body, auto production capacity in China has reached 8 million units, with 2 million of that considered surplus. Nevertheless, some 2.2 million units of production capacity are under construction, with another 10 million in planning stages.

Chen Bin, Deputy Director of the Industrial Department of NDRC, predicted that, by the end of 2010, national production capacity could exceed 20 million units, or double the actual demand."

More info click on: – http://www.bjreview.com.cn/06-10-e/bus-2.htm

So, by 2010, we Bolehland can built how many units?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 4:58 am

Aiisehhh…the shape reminds me of an old toy car I once used to have in the early 70s…guess what…" Made in China" !!!!

• pendek (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:27 pm

what is the diffrence between

1. Daimler design a car then ask cherry to produce it in china for export to US to exploit the cheap labour advantage.

2. Alado wanted to sells a copied cherry MPV in malaysia ask proton to assemble it to avoid high tax.

haha