Hyundai i30 5-Door Hatch

i30

UPDATE: The i30 1.6 and 2.0 have been launched in Malaysia!

This is Hyundai’s new generation European car, the Hyundai i30. It is also the first in a new model naming scheme which will name models using a numeric series, with the i30 being the C-segment model. It was styled in the Hyundai’s Russelsheim Design and Technical Center in Europe.

Although it looks like it was inspired by a few other designs, like a Honda grille, a Mazda 3 side profile, 1-series rear, and etc the overall combination seems to look pleasing to the eye. On the interior, there is generous use of blue and white as these colours are easy on the eyes. Hyundai has also taken great care to ensure the ergonomics are good, with everything like gear shifters and steering column stalks within natural reach.

Engine options include a 1.4 litre DOHC CVVT engine making 108PS, a very commendable figure for a 1.4 litre engine indeed. The 1.6 litre engine makes 121PS, while the largest petrol engine is a 2.0 litre making 140PS. Turbodiesel options include a 1.6 CRDi with two outputs – a 90PS version and a 115PS version, and the top of the line oil burner is a 2.0 CRDi with a Variable Geometry Turbocharger, putting out 140PS, equal to the petrol version of similiar displacement.

More photos after the jump.

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

i30

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cnc (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 3:14 pm

A bit of everything makes the car looks good actually. I think the front does look very much the same as the nice Vauxhall Astra.

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 3:34 pm

A huge improvement for Hyundai.. espeacially the interior design and features..

The interior is better than exterior, overall not bad!!!!

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:04 pm

I would rather drive a GEN II or Satria Neo (at least they look original)rather than crap like this, if someone is driving this piece of crap, it will only let other people know that you will always be a follower (copycat), never a leader, because I believe you are what you drives. Hey Paul, I noticed they copied Myvi headlights too, they meter console is from Volkswagen or Skoda, Air-cond vents and audio set design from Lexus RX. Getting sick looking at it!

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:33 pm

The rear view like a 3-Series with longer A-Class backlight.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:37 pm

Cooolll!

Injecting some continental designs sure make the car looks good, in & out

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:57 pm

Looks nice, but I noticed the wagon version isn't much different in terms of space and looks, so why did they even bother designing it?

• avanza (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 6:06 pm

Everytime I see Hyundai advance in their automotive lineups, I can't help but see how far Hyundai has left Proton behind. Hyundai has a 10-year head start to Proton. But in terms of car lineups, it's light years ahead of Proton.

Back in the mid 80s, the Pony was just on par with the Saga. The Excel was again on par with the Wira. Hyundai was also using Mitsubishi engines. But now, Hyundai has leapt way, way ahead! Their engine can give the Japs a run for their money! Proton???

Kudos to Hyundai!

• 707 (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 6:38 pm

looks like the Kia Ceed!

• azrai (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 7:28 pm

New Impreza sibling?

• wmblade (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 9:17 pm

Interior is well-designed!

If only the exterior is as well.

• Kaboda (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 10:24 pm

This is a fantasic improvement for Hyundai, I drove an rental a car Accent and that was total rubbish.

Proton is definitely light years behind Hyundai not only are the engine output decent the interior is really good. Lots of space, cup holders etc, even the good old ipod slot.

Give these guys credit where its due.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:26 pm

the front design is good.it gets my approval.

• nmh (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:54 pm

interior looks good but suxx, why they face the center console to the driver while the design is symetry…its terrible..just make it straight. I dont want to buy this car just bcoz of this terrible design centre console

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 1:49 am

It is a ceed twin. Another shared model platform like Rio/Accent, Optima/Sonata and Sportage/Tucson. Only diff is that the hyundai version offer higher spec and trim. If not mistaken Kia doesn't use HID Projection lamp for ceed.

• jonjwlee (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 3:36 am

They basically took a cee'd, ripped off the body panels, clipped an Astra front end on it, took a pair of headlights from the Daihatsu parts bin (which, unknowingly to them, were from a Myvi), slapped on four doors from an A6 modified to fit, pasted a 1 Series rear, stuck an Astra rear bumper on it, hammered on it a pair of previous-gen Punto taillamps and say, "This is our new car. All rights reserved."

They even went up to sister company Kia and stole some pro_c'eed/ex_c'eed concept car wheels…

I guess that's what they meant by making their cars "premium-looking". One look at the rear-end and I bet my house you'll mistake it for a 1 Series.

Good job, Hyundai. Well done.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:41 am

nce but then not sure if it will appeal that long come production time

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 6:35 am

Even it is copy cat, it looks very nice from exterior and interior, it is great improvement from Hyundai, wonder do we change to get this model in malaysia? Cannot believe it is Hyundai design, very nice…

• transformer (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:46 pm

some ideas comes from Corolla to 1 series…

but anyway its a nice car…. but when it reach our shore, doubt many of those nice gadget would not be included….. or downgraded! SIGH! (If only it would reach our shores!!!)

Love to see diesel car here…. maybe have to wait after 2020…

• dr aidil on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:38 am

FINALIST AUSTRALIAN CAR OF THE YEAR AWARD 2007

1. Hyundai i30 CRDi (94pts)

2. VW Golf GT TSi (86pts)

3. Mazda2 Maxx (75pts)

4. Mitsubishi Lancer VR (71pts)

5. Mercedes-Benz C280 (66pts)

6. Holden Ute SV6 (56pts)

7. Ford Mondeo Zetec (37pts)

8. Subaru Impreza RS (32pts)

9. BMW X5 3.0d (31pts)

10. BMW 335i sedan (25pts)

11. Volvo C30 T5 (21pts)

• Marzonian on Jul 30, 2009 at 12:40 am

"seancheaw said,

April 16, 2007 @ 9:04 am

I would rather drive a GEN II or Satria Neo (at least they look original)rather than crap like this, if someone is driving this piece of crap, it will only let other people know that you will always be a follower (copycat), never a leader, because I believe you are what you drives. Hey Paul, I noticed they copied Myvi headlights too, they meter console is from Volkswagen or Skoda, Air-cond vents and audio set design from Lexus RX. Getting sick looking at it!

"

Gen 2 and Satria Neo …. -.- whats wrong with copycat, followers of great leaders are better than leaders of kampung kurap….

• Arthas Lee on Jul 30, 2009 at 12:48 am

i30 = 9xk = expensive

GenII,Neo = 5xk = cheap

i30 = copycat = follower ?

GenII,Neo = original = leader ?

conclusion :

GenII,Neo = cheap leader, eg leader of kedai runcit

i30 = smart follower

Seanchew, u better be not working but having ur own business, cause working is following others also, u copycat?

If you have ur own business, you better be selling Alienwares, else you also

copycat crap….

• hello everyone,

for me i30 is a very nice and smart car. hope i can grab this car soon. Many improvement frm Hyundai. good work.

• jazzer87 on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:35 am

i totally agreed wif Arthas Lee & Marzonian rather than seancheaw(plz dun forget Myvi is taken 99.9% design from toyota passo or daihatsu),tis car realy a nice one in overall especially the interior part…i think it can give a high competition towards the japanese cars at tis price range such as vios,city,jazz,yaris,low spec altis n civic 1.8*(mayb or totaly not effected)…tis car even has some features of the high end japanese car like harrier (4 auto power windows & etc)…i have a great impression towards tis car n gonna step into hyundai showroom for a visit(which i never did)…if the rear lamps could b equipped by LED nicer…hehe…tq…

• John, the Wearyone on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:22 pm

I cant understand the comment re centre console; looks in-line to me, as it was in the model I tested, could be the photo angle. A very nice well put together car. I'm not too worried whether it's a copy of X,Y or Z. I'm looking forward to getting my i30 CRDi 1.6 Style end of August.

I just wish all motor manufacturers would go back to having a proper front/rear bumper. My old Citroen ZX's soft black plastic bumpers withstood several minor impacts without ever showing a mark. A misjudged parking maneuver(by another) can cost upwards of £300.

• seancheaw, what the hell u been talking?

Did u heard that proton implement something new?

campro engine? that 1 is piece of shit, ok?

even the latest campro CPS is tuned by Lotus, not Proton.

Did they introduce Proton Exora with Proton-tuned ride and Handling technology? wake up bro……

pls review how korean car maker make their business, then look back our Proton history, U WILL BE AMAZED…

Even Kia manage to do better than Proton.

• do you know Myvi is daihatsu sirion car , bulat bulat from sirion , just change the logo only,please la.who copy

• sutera is chevrolet car , in china is cheely car , hundred percent the same look. i30 is quite good got everything in side.

• wah… all fighting so gan jiong… @@”
    overall its a nice car ba.. :) cheers !