Proton launches Waja and Neo in Indonesia

neoindonesia.jpg

PT Proton Edar Indonesia has launched the Proton Neo and the Proton Waja at the 15th Indonesia International motor Show, the biggest automotive event in Indonesia.

This means Proton’s model line-up in Indonesia now has a total of 4 models. The Proton Neo (known as the Satria Neo in our own market) is sold from Rp 175 million (RM66,305) and the Proton Waja from Rp 158 million (RM58,864), and are available in both manual and automatic versions.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 9:09 pm

indonesians only buy cars like avanza,unser n those cars that r boring in a suicidal way !

• siacw (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 9:29 pm

neo more expensive than waja? whao!

• waja_fr3ak (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:02 pm

aikzzz..neo more expensive from waja meh lol

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:14 pm

RM66k without the VLM and CPS, it is quite expensive for indo, and even for us…

• mzfnd (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:17 pm

Ahh.. 175 million. I like the sound of it. Makes our national car sound so expensive and luxurious. Jangan tak beli ya bapak-bapak semua!

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:18 pm

Trying to position Neo as entry level coupe?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:31 pm

good move proton!!!and they wont be as demanding as malaysians!!!!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:37 pm

hopefully this will help proton!!…

• altimate (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:39 pm

Frankly, Neo has got the looks.. even on the pic above.. i think it will sell well over there… but Waja ??? oh no.. the current “thermometer” version is really fugly.. i was hoping Proton would get rid of this model off their line-up in the next couple of years.. looks like it will stay for a veeryyy long time.. sigh..

• jeanloo (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 10:47 pm

You can get a TOYOTA RUSH 1.5 with VVT-i at Indonesia for 155 million rupiah. Vios and City also around that range. What makes you guys think this will help Proton?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Paul, is the waja there the same spec as the current Waja? With leather seats, ABS n twin airbag as std? If it is, then Jeanloo, I believe it is worth it for an extra 3M rupiah.

Bt my God, the Neo is goddam xpnsv. So much for the claim that Proton sells cheaper in overseas countries, eh? This obviously isn’t.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Log on below: –

http://www.toyota.astra.co.id/cars/price/?code=8

Neo selling at Rp 175 juta and Waja Rp 158 juta

What kind of Toyota car they can buy in Indon!

1. Avanza
    G M/T M/TB MINOR CHANGE Rp. 116.200.000
    1.3E M/T Rp. 106.200.000
    1.3G M/T Rp. 118.700.000
    1.5 S A/T Rp. 141.300.000
    1.5 S M/T Rp. 131.300.000

2. Kijang Innova
    2.0L E M/T10B Rp. 161.550.000
    2.0L G A/T11 B Rp. 196.300.000
    2.0L G M/T11 B Rp. 182.800.000

3. Limo
    TAXI Rp. 137.100.000
    1.5 M/T Rp. 153.500.000
    1.5 M/T LIMITED Rp. 170.000.000

4. New Dyna
    110 ST Rp. 134.800.000
    110 ET Rp. 143.500.000
    130 LT Rp. 161.300.000
    130 HT Rp. 164.550.000

5. Rush
    1.5 G M/T Rp. 155.400.000
    1.5 S M/T Rp. 165.400.000
    1.5 S A/T Rp. 179.400.000

6. Vios
    1.5G A/T Rp. 185.400.000
    1.5 G M/T Rp. 174.400.000
    1.5E M/T Rp. 163.200.000

7. Yaris
    1.5 E M/T Rp. 150.400.000
    1.5 E A/T Rp. 160.600.000
    1.5 S A/T Rp. 170.500.000
    S LIMITED A/T Rp. 176.800.000
    1.5 E M/T SUPERMAN Rp. 159.800.000

So, NAP is suck! See how P1 can entice Indon to buy this 2 models! Best of the best “luck” to them for these milo tin on the wheel facing the steely jaws of Toyota! See how this jaguh kampong fair with world class Toyota!

If the dealer losing monies, so and so ask Indon G to compensate them lah just like our PEDA still not happy with RM 150K but want RM 300K compensation when rugi! Ha, ha, ha, ………………

Really all this cronies thingy is when earn monies maximize profits under NAP, capitalist system adopted and all monies go into their pocket, rakyat also suffer as they are make captive market under NAP.

When losing monies, then socialist system take place ask G to compensate them! propose scrapping policy, this and that eventually rakyat have to bear their failure as well!

• xylencia (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:04 pm

one thing i would like to ask jeanloo and the rest of you communist detractors is, “how does your negative comments benefit you?” And how wouldn’t a successful malaysian business entity NOT benefit you?

give it a thought.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:05 pm

See this link to find out what Toyota offer in Indon.

http://www.toyota.astra.co.id/cars/?Model=Crown

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:07 pm

http://www.toyota.astra.co.id/cars/price/?code=8

Yaris price in Indon

1.5 E M/T Rp. 150.400.000
    1.5 E A/T Rp. 160.600.000

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:15 pm

Err… I think they are going to cheat the Indonesian people on what satria neo is? If they found out that satria neo is cheaper in Malaysia.. do u think they will buy? Even at that price, is hard to fight again toyota yaris and honda jazz.. Not to be remember Suzuki swift also cheap!

• mofo (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:21 pm

Mayb they think Neo is better than Yaris. Indeed Neo look better than Yaris but…. Will they able to sell it ? I don’t think so. Good luck

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:26 pm

Semoga berjaya pak proton di sana ya…slowly2 introduce kamu punya mobil !! tentang harganya enggak bisa komen kerna harus cuba dulu dengan ini harga kalu ok teruskan aja, kalau enggak ok kasik diskaun..macam tula kalau mahu penetrate sini punya market..toyota punya harga average macam itu kerna sudah lama bertapak di sini..lagipun sini pun ada plantnya, sendirik bikin..sekalik lagik semoga berjaya ya pak proton…
    Proton – good move !!..cheers.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 11:36 pm

FXXX i just found out that the new 08′ Subaru is cheaper then its predecessor.. Why they can do it with new model, with more better quality? But why us need to be more expensive with added quality? Maybe coz of the new design? LOL!

http://www.thetorquereport.com/2007/07/2008_subaru_impreza_will_start.html

• nmh (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 12:03 am

Suddenly i feel proud to show our neighbour the malaysian product…..me=proton basher

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 3:16 am

based on the price list form Joe Ooi i definitely will buy Toyota. just from my opinion and i’m not talking bout any other ppl.
    price wise is more expensive than in bolehland

• azrai (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 7:27 am

A good move and effort by Proton even though quite late. Please don’t just bash Proton. Give a good comments, not just criticise.

• stewpid (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 8:05 am

what?? Yaris and Vios are cheaper than Neo in indon? its very obvios that all toyotas are overpriced in bolehland.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 8:16 am

what if the cars actually sell, proton carve a niche for themselves in indonesia and actually turn around their business overall?

will you guys still say they are “lucky”, or “cheated” the indonesians..etc?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 8:30 am

Joe Ooi said,
    July 19, 2007 @ 11:02 pm

wao ~ how u get the price ??? … damn if i in indonesia i will buy Rush ~ P1 already have bad name & history ~ did indonesia will buy this model ~ indonesia more model then malaysia … and cheeper then P1 ??

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 8:33 am

I would say Proton is selling their Neo in Indon at suck a ridiculous price tag. I bet they are marketing it as a “LOTUS” sports car to make up for the price tag.

They are repeating their strategy to sell Proton Waja 1.6 in Australia for $27,990-$29,990 when you can get a Honda Civic 1.7 $23,950, Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 $23,490, Hyundai Sonata 2.4 $23,990, Subaru Impreza 2.0 $25,990 and Toyota Corolla 1.8 $24,590. Their so called overambitious marketing by calling it “Asia’s Answer to BMW” is a disaster.

url: http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.aspx?ArticleID=7862

• rexis (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:05 am

mmmm… mahal, are they really planning to sell some cars? Didn’t they see how big is indon market is for budget car considering their population?

• Dogster (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:08 am

Another NOT-exciting news brought to you by PROTON…. Yawnnnnnnnnnnnn….

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:15 am

Waja is cheaper than Neo, WHAT?

Sorry Indo, you have to support us to BUY BOLEHLAND MADE product now since we had hired SO MANY Million Indonesia Labour and Maid in Bolehland. Now is your Payback time! Ha..ha

• transformer (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:16 am

i don’t think P1 real competitor are those new cars….
    BUT…. old second hand car imported from Singapore and Malaysia…
    MOST OF THESE ARE STOLEN !! still remember last year, Northport found 7 container smuggling “KERETA MEWAH” to Pulau Batam……. 5 series, CAMRY, X5, Hilux, Merc & etc… at discounted price.. thought Gov had intervened but still there are some…. guess how many of Malaysian stolen car makes their way to Indonesia….Sigh…. nextime when someone lost thier new car, remind them no need to search around as their car (might)already landed on our neighbours…. after this WAJA and NEO become more popular for car thief as these unit can be supported(maintain) by PT PROTON EDAR !

btw, you can see a lot second hand car that are in good condition flourished in Indonesia… a ’99 Civic Ferio ask for Sgd8-18K

So there no way for P1 to compete with other new cars.. EVEN STOLEN CAR!!

Anyway its a good move! Best of luck! REALITY ARE CRUEL!
    WELCOME TO OUR REAL WORLD!

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:17 am

YARIS
    1.5 E M/T SUPERMAN Rp. 159.800.000

Yaris Superman.. LOL..
    yaris is damn cheap over there!!! priced it with that price over here, im sure it will sell wayyy better than the expensive yaris we have here..

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:21 am

BrakeFader said,
    July 20, 2007 @ 8:33 am

They are repeating their strategy to sell Proton Waja 1.6 in Australia for $27,990-$29,990 when you can get a Honda Civic 1.7 $23,950, Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 $23,490, Hyundai Sonata 2.4 $23,990, Subaru Impreza 2.0 $25,990 and Toyota Corolla 1.8 $24,590.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:48 am

dont mention stolen car lol, case sensitive…

just dont buy proton la…

actually those are introduction price
    later will change to…

16 million discount..or even by Neo free Waja,,,

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 10:52 am

Prem3377
    “good move proton!!!and they wont be as demanding as malaysians!!!!”

why r we having such people with such mentality in Malaysia… no wonder it will be hard for us to achieve Vision 2020….

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:07 am

Let the battle begins..on the flattened land of Indonesia.
    It will be a fair match without any stinky suppressed invincible ‘hands’.

Let’s see how each warrior in this automotive battlefield determine their survival in the challenging but fairer arena with their tactical strategies.

And let’s wait to see who will be hailed and who will be drained. Who is wiser and who is just another fool.

By the way, with current publicized strategy they’ve engaged, all the lads and sundry know whether P1 is a glorious or just another…..

Let the battle begins….YEAHHHHHHH !!! General, deploy your armies…charge !

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:22 am

And please don’t tell me..At the end of the day, those Neos and Wajas are going there just to be another engagement in Indonesia Taxi fleets.

Anyway P1, don’t worry. All the Protonions are always behind you but all the true warriors out there are waiting excitedly to rumble you….Yeah keep coming boy !
    All the armies of Sunrise Land are always in position, ready to engage your advancement.

Let the battle begins…

• joe203 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:39 am

If there is one product from proton that can compete internationally, it is Satria Neo. The looks are second to none. The quality.. we just have to wait and see.

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:41 am

dont tipu indonesians la… already pity them because natural disasters always hit the land. hopefully they dont export gen2=disaster

• neo2 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 12:30 pm

@xylencia, here is a thought. One of the major reason Proton car is priced at the higher than any other cars in Indonesia is because the materials sourced from Malaysia is “extremely” high. Coupled with inefficiency in manufaturing and lack of economy of scale (meaning Proton is currently producing way below its break-even capacity due to unable to market its poor cars in Malaysia as well as oversea market, if there is ever an oversea market), that is the selling price calculated by Proton.
    The major reasons behind the “extremely” high priced materials is due to P1 sourced its supplies from its pathetic political-linked cronies who supplies inferior materials at very high margin price to P1. The supply chain that causes the fall of P1 is silently allowed by Bolehland G. Why Toyota can even challenge the mighty General Motor in the US very land? Its rigorious quality control in manufacturing and sourcing highest quality materials at lowest price are their strategies. Toyota has advanced manufacturing and investing their profit into R&D, investing hybrid engine, constantly improving engine technology and of course most of all manage the company on professional basis.
    When I look back at P1, it just a grown-up spoilt child that is contended with its poor success in its very own Bolehland. How long do you think that P1 could survive without G’s umbrella? 200 years when other car makers are making hydrogen cars? I pity you, P1.

• wheregotcar (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 12:37 pm

i have a fren back in jakarta, who is thrilled to have neo in their shores! they’re so used to all toyota cars that they jz dont feel all the hype that we malaysian have for them. those cars are cheap, so most middle class ppl can afford them. Plus, vios and avanza are commonly used for taxis and rented cars. with proton cars entering indon market will provide variety, change of taste and the luxury of choice for indon consumers..

not like in bolehland we u all gloat and bangga over a mere vios, city or civic.. padahal org indons n thais sume yawn and kata “boooriinggg…”

• ylss (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 1:17 pm

Hi am an Indonesian working as a consultant here in Malaysia. I own cars both in Malaysia and in Indonesia.

A few weeks ago, I visited my home country and saw a little Savvy in a jammed street of jakarta and I was delighted, I thought it is about time Proton enter Indonesia market. And Savvy was a good choice to begin with, because I believe there is nothing directly compete with it.

When I came across the this article, again I am happy to see that Neo and Waja are coming to Indo. I think the style is modern enough to draw the interest of people there (don’t think Wira will cut it) and I have respect to Proton because it has become an established national car product (while we don’t have one).

When I see the price, I can’t help to think, it is too high ..
    Reason, Honda Jazz is about 155 million rupiah (about same as Yaris, FYI jazz is so overpriced here in Malaysia, because in Indonesia, Jazz is always cheaper than City). Those are the cars Neo competing with directly. With the service support network of Honda and Toyota in Indonesia, Proton has to be so much better in quality than those offered by Honda and Toyota.

Those are just my opinion … cheers ..

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 1:22 pm

i tot indon ppl more prefer 4wd rather than coupe/sedan rite?
    watever lah, just wait and see how the sales going on later.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 2:28 pm

wait and see

thats all WE can say…..no more crap….

• thecrash (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 3:14 pm

Price for new SEDAN.. soft launch tomorrow, launch 15 Aug.

Basic – rear drum brake
    1.6MT Solid —– 45,350
    1.6AT Solid —– 48,350
    1.6MT Metallic — 45,800
    1.6AT Metallic — 48,800

Medium – airbag, rear disc brake,foldable RR seat, fog lamp,mp3, rear spoiler
    1.6MT Metallic — 49,800
    1.6AT Metallic — 52,800

High – Captor, airbag, abs, mp3, rear disc brake,foldable seat, fog lamp, safetint, rear spoiler
    1.6AT Metallic — 55,800

All inclusive insurance, EWP, first aid kit, safety triangle

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 3:57 pm

kinad cheap for all that huh? dont y’all agree?

• szw (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 3:58 pm

i wan proton waja CPS.
    i heard it hav 125 bhp.
    woohoo !

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 4:33 pm

i did own honda ,toyota -good car ,problem yeah sometime not much,
    but, its boring, dont even car to wash it, never appreciate how its look, just a plain car,

with fault and comments somehow i can appreciate proton,

• haroldz (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 6:02 pm

d indonesia change so much after pak suharto stepped now.
    they bcome more liberal n secular.
    dat explain y their Indonesia pop sound better than msia pop.
    opss, wrong topic.
    my colleague from indonesia said japanese car r cheaper there.
    by selling more expensive models, wot make proton think they can outsell their competitors?
    risky move

• 2ST (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 7:03 pm

Its trial and error by proton marketing monkey team.Same goes by design donkey team.
    Remarks : People who support proton here are the same people who support malaysian football team.no life at all.kahkah.sorry dude.

• zulkifli6 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 7:47 pm

kat indon, vios dgn honda city jadik teksi je, sebab harga dia murah kat sana. proton letak harga mahal, konon2 nak tunjuk kerete tu best la.

• zulkifli6 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 7:50 pm

kat indon indon ramai yg kaya2, berlambak 7 series kat jakarta tu.

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 8:46 pm

What??? Neo is pricier than Waja?? Ridiculous price!

• wong (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:11 pm

wish proton all the best ,dont understand why some some people are always angry, cheer up, let them do their job,

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:45 pm

szw said,
    July 20, 2007 @ 3:58 pm

“i wan proton waja CPS.
    i heard it hav 125 bhp.
    woohoo !”

125 bhp or 140 bhp?? heheheheheh…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:53 pm

2ST said,
    July 20, 2007 @ 7:03 pm

“Remarks : People who support proton here are the same people who support malaysian football team.no life at all.kahkah.sorry dude.”

Wrong. People who support Proton here are the same people who support Liverpool, Man Utd, Chelsea, and Arsenal.

• blake (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 10:25 pm

I’ve created this poll to see which car people prefer.

Proton Waja vs Neo Poll: http://polls.hopto.org/polls.aspx?poll=88&partner=0&Desc=Proton-Waja-vs-Proton-Neo

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:12 pm

http://img174.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc00411aq6.jpg

i like it too

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:58 pm

blake said,
    July 20, 2007 @ 10:25 pm

I’ve created this poll to see which car people prefer.

Proton Waja vs Neo Poll
    ——————–
    Why don’t cow vs bull, or crack pot vs black kettle?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 8:30 am

July 20, 2007 @ 9:21 am

BrakeFader said,
    July 20, 2007 @ 8:33 am

They are repeating their strategy to sell Proton Waja 1.6 in Australia for $27,990-$29,990 when you can get a Honda Civic 1.7 $23,950, Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 $23,490, Hyundai Sonata 2.4 $23,990, Subaru Impreza 2.0 $25,990 and Toyota Corolla 1.8 $24,590.

It is Waja 1.6 only sell $ 28k ??? how come Honda can sell 24k ?? Lancer 24k?? r u sure ppl will look for waja ?? the most expensive o

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 5:35 am

indonesioan minded not like malaysian mehh
    Most malaysian hv mindset “Japanese is always good”.. sebab dulu kena jajah dgn jepun
    but not Indonesian… Bravo Indonesian.. u dont hv 1st class facilities but ur mentality is 1st class “kewl”

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 6:24 am

the indonesia country is more update and modern than us. we are still old fashioned

• normalcardriver (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 8:47 pm

I say let the Indonesian decide what is good for themselves.I think it is not fair for us to say what is right or wrong for them.Let them judge if it is good they will take it.
    They might want to buy for a different reason than us and there is no point for us to do free advertisement for the Japanese.
    Indonesia and Malaysia have been close for many years and is even moving closer.It is only natural that they support their neighbours effort to improve its automotive industry.

• Anak Gaul on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:14 am

Malaysia-Malaysia..

We love Japanese car, if you want to know how about Proton in indonesia

Just take a look at TAXI, WAJA is now TAXI in INDONESIA, Proton Wira too, then Persona and friends aren't Bought now.. See you 4 years later proton, hope you'll go back to Malaysia