BMW X6 sloping coupe roofline exposed!

bmw_x6_roofline.jpg

Finally that heavy masking has come off the upcoming BMW X6 test mule’s rear end and we get to see how the roofline of the X6 slopes like a coupe… they weren’t kidding apparently. Looking at the downwards curve of the roofline from the B-pillar onwards, the BMW X6 could end up with GEN2-like rear passenger headroom – the keyword here is limited. The BMW X6 will be a 4-seater, with a center console dividing the rear bench into two much like the 3-Series Coupe and 3-Series Convertible.

Somehow I can’t help but notice I’ve seen this whole concept somewhere else before this, which means BMW isn’t really the first one out there with SUV sporting an outrageous coupe-like sloping roofline. Look after the jump for an SUV by another manufacturer that has already gone into production which features this design element.

ssangyong_actyon_suv.jpg
The Ssangyong Actyon Coupe SUV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 7:36 am

hope the rear passenger headroom canbe compensate by 4 seater design but not 5..

for me..is still reasonable since X5 and X3 already with 7 and 5 seater respectively..

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 7:55 am

Hopefully it doesn’t turn out like Ssangyong Actyon Coupe SUV
    Ugly

• nescartel (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:03 am

hmmm… does anyone else feels that this car resembles a proton Gen.2? :p

• nescartel (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:05 am

looks like a Gen.2…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:35 am

huh ?? coupe with 4 door + 4×4 ??? it is now latest ppl favorite ?? y not bmw design a double cab lol … soon ~ more model will coming

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:27 am

The rear seats could be sunk deep. Anyway by the looks of it this is not for those who wants total practicality. If this doesn’t make you happy, go for a X5, X3, Fortuner etc. etc.

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:30 am

look like Gen 2 at the front…

• nazuaf (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:37 am

Hell!!! Looks like a jacked-up Gen2 for me.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:47 am

Well, I’ve seens many of the upcoming BMW X6 spy photos including interior photos. The sloping downward roofline at the rear might look nice for SUV but does it give enough head rooms? Anyway, you have other models to choose if this model not practical for you.

Sound familiar, don’t blame on Proton comes out all the bad designs as you claimed. Who knows better? You or them. So do BMW guys, they know what they want and for which market they targeted for each model. You can choose other models if this model not suit you.

So cheers all.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:18 am

LOL! The disguise looks like a zebra to me.. lol.. Anywayz a bit like Actyon coupe also..

• szw (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:20 am

BMW is 1 step ‘higher’ then Mercedes.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:25 am

Haha..follow Gen 2 specially rear headroom. Even mat salleh/BMW designed the rear headroom with this height how can malaysian claim that Gen2 not suit to them??

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:50 am

very GEN2-esque.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 11:00 am

To Infinitt. Agreed. Please read my post too. Different model targeted for different market segment and people.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 11:28 am

Nice, I’ve seen many 4x4s with coupe rooflines before, but all those remained as concepts, these ones will be going into production.

Seriously, when people are willing to part with so much moolah for these cars, practicality’s probably the least of their concern, limited headroom not a problem hehe. When’s the last time you actually saw a X3 or X5 with full passenger load anyway? :)

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 12:11 pm

It seems that BMW has covered almost every automotive segment in the market. Only two more territory left for them yet to sale, which is to compete with the full sized SUV like the Range Rover, Audi Q7 & Merc GL class, & MPV segment.

• carsut (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 12:45 pm

a bigger version of GEN2 i think…BMW pun tiru proton??? a very good start to proton..:)

• carsut (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 12:46 pm

a bigger version of GEN2 i think…BMW pun tiru proton??? a very good start to proton..:)well done P1

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 1:13 pm

Capt Shopalot said,

July 23, 2007 @ 7:55 am

Hopefully it doesn’t turn out like Ssangyong Actyon Coupe SUV
    Ugly
    ———————————
    U still cannot read Bangle’s design language? NONE of his creations ever turned up to be a work of art, they’re either boring, plain, or ugly, I swear to God, he watched too much Korean dramas when designing for new BMW models.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 1:18 pm

Infinitt said,

July 23, 2007 @ 10:25 am

Haha..follow Gen 2 specially rear headroom. Even mat salleh/BMW designed the rear headroom with this height how can malaysian claim that Gen2 not suit to them??
    —————————————————-
    BMW nvr learnt from the 1-series. As Paul has put it, it’s better off called a 2+2 rather than a 5-door hatchback. The rear seats are completely useless for human. They’re more for ur pet hamster. Or fly.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 1:40 pm

… It’s an SUV, probably much bigger to begin with than the malaysian hatchbacks. Thus, a sloping roofline on a bigger car will accomodate large people more easily.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 2:17 pm

if ur drivin’ a BMW…you’ll get much faster heartbeat…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 3:27 pm

rear end looks almost like that of the E46 3 series.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 3:56 pm

BTW does anyone believe that human being will eventually run out of designs one day?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 4:33 pm

looks as its priority, but still within its allowable or sufficient measurement of average rear occupancy, gen 2 as well

• Iknowstuff (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 4:34 pm

Sorry to put this way, but I feel it’s silly to keep comparing one car’s design to the other without a deeper look into a car’s purpose.

All car makers inevitably have design directions that follows on what’s trendy and the result usually is a ‘samey’ design just like the X6. Or the Gen.2 for that matter,which was accused of having cues of the Renault Megane (albeit not the current model).

The C-pillar slope is what the industry calls a ‘coupe’ profile, so it’s not the sole property of any car design work of any car maker.

And, I very much doubt that BMW will make the mistake of the Gen.2 and carve out a cabin space less accomodating for 90 percentile of the X6 buyer’s profile.

I’m sure BMW will keep those revolutionary sculptures coming for us to enjoy!

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 5:10 pm

like gen2 owh…yer..haha

• owaief (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 5:31 pm

rear visibility=0

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 8:11 pm

adoi!!! ini macam punya kita ambik Gen2 pun boleh buat serupa!!!!

who is the exterior designer of X6????

• Aril (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:03 pm

Preety same huhh

• angelo2689 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:48 pm

That is something P1 can proud of, BMW’s X6 looks like Gen-2!!!!!
    lol~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• prangin (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 10:58 pm

not everyone wants a foot of air above d head when seated in the back of a car… nice design, me thinks :-)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:13 am

anything koreans also say ugly….

• AboutJane (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:19 am

wah..ingatkan gen2 tadi..

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:12 am

Gen-2 on 4×4 wheels, haha.

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:27 pm

mmmm..the bmw looks nice..very gen2ish design..

• stevarac (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:31 am

Just wondering what would be the comments if the above photos is a new P1 models. I believe the expert comments would come fast & furious + vicious.
    Most probably will be something like this :
    1) Not creative – copy version of gen-2
    2) Fugly
    3) Roof too low for Malaysian !!!!
    4) Why can’t design like those BMW , Japs , Cont cars
    5) Why exhaust no longer in the center.
    6) Rear light boring….

Key word = typical western admirer.

• badsoulfly (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:15 pm

i think X5 more pretty and tough…waiting for LAMBORGHINI 4WD