BMW X6 Teaser Video

BMW X6

Chris Bangle explains the BMW X6 in this video titled “BMW Concept X6 – The Idea”. Some of the questions you have in your mind about why the X6 exists in the first place are in the video, and Bangle attempts to answer them. Video after jump.

Video: BMW X6 Teaser

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 5:52 pm

looks takes priority,

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 5:53 pm

i swear the back looks like Gen2 in the camouflage form……

• proton.com (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 5:56 pm

Gen 2

• ojlee1 (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 6:32 pm

‘BMW’ & our local pride—- Proton totally come from different classes. How to imagine both got related…….
    I think it’s more to follow the Ssangyong Actyon to develop another new trend or market to ‘SUV’.

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 7:58 pm

it looks like a jacked up gen2… like those high wiras that we always see on the road… anyways, is this 2 door or 4 door? the rear roof looks really low..

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 7:58 pm

OMG, the car looks so cool!!! Like an SLR on steroids!!! Lolz!!

• owaief (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 8:03 pm

when covered….the back really do like a gen2……the shape of the boot and all……. i guess proton can sue BMW and squeeze some money out of BMW!! can help its financial troubles…..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 8:11 pm

gen2 elder brother….

• szw (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 9:15 pm

nice…

• nanashisan (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 9:21 pm

teaser like persona teaser. 70%-80% similar

lol wut!!

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 9:33 pm

An oversized coupe? I listened to everything Chris said, but still I ask, why?

• jehutyz (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 10:27 pm

Hahaha check out this pic….
    So look like Gen2.
    http://www.worldcarfans.com/9070904.005/mini7/new-bmw-x6-shows-front-and-rear-design-ahead-of-frankfurt-debut

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 11:20 pm

jehutyz,

I tried not to believe it looks like Gen2 until I saw your link.
    And my comment is… bwahahahaha!!

• tariq (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 11:20 pm

gotta buat and simpan duit for this….i can still appreciate and relate better to Caldy, tho..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 1:37 am

yah la..after looking at the pic from the link..now i think BMW did copy from proton or maybe refered to GEN2 design for its X6…proud of proton…

• wong (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 7:33 am

New ideas?nowadays is copy,borrow or steal…

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 8:54 am

dam mat saleh kutuk proton pas tu tiru lah pulak hahahahahaha proton guys open ur eyes and ur brain to produce something like this

• aj3377 (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 9:29 am

Who is copying who now………?…??…

• n0oB (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 10:08 am

really look like Gen2!!! Jacked-up ride with different grill+bumper..even d headlights look almost similar..

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 10:35 am

Toyota also copy Proton what. Don’t any of u guys tink the new Vios’ rear lights look veeeeeeeerrrrryyyyyy familiar?

• heavymetal (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 10:48 am

nampaknya design gen2 boleh pakai lagilah..akan datang banyak lagi model akan tiru Bmw ni,atau….tiru…

• gogo2 (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 1:34 pm

gen2. Why BMW copy Gen2 after bought Proton’s Augusta MV?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 2:17 pm

gogo2, bmw didn’t buy proton’s MV augusta. Proton already sold off the company almost 2 years ago, and it was BMW motorcyles that bought the brand, not BMW car. They different companies.

Also, BMW actually bought only the “Hsqvarna Brand”, which is a subbrand under MV A.

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 2:17 pm

gen 2 owner should proud with their gen2 tukar depan sikit terus jadi bmw cayalah………….

• cureorcurse (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 3:16 pm

Guys,
    Check this out –>
    http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/secret_new_car.php?sid=863&page=1

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 4:22 pm

this serously look cool..like it better than any BMW SUV…

http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/images/article_images/BMWX6spyroof_1_560.jpg

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 7:04 pm

The video is cool..the presentation is cool, Chris Bangle is undeniably cool…but the car is not cool at all..of course judging from my first impression looking at the silhouette.

But..yes there’s a but, after looking at the clear pictures rendered by cureorcurse and Kei9, i changed my assumption.I’ll say this car is damn cool and perhaps the first of its kind.By the way boys and girls, please don’t ever again acclaim BMW copied Proton Gen2 for this model.The allegation sounds so cheap and credulous!! Or to be decent and fair,i’ll consider all your plaudits as just a funny joke and not serious acclamation.

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 10:52 pm

I do not think Mr. Bangle designed the X6 based on an inferior car from an inferior car maker (Proton owners, excuse the word). But 2 angles out of 3 say there’s an uncanny resemblance. And that’s what makes this Beemer a bummer. Hopefully the rear end, which we haven’t seen, will remove the similarities altogether. What ever it is, if you plan to buy the X6, don’t ever paint it sky blue.

• kerelbort (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 2:48 am

let see if anyone wanna buy this car and complaint about the rear headroom…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 11:31 am

id say rear headroom is ‘sufficient’, for any make who infavour of coupe or fastback since the purpose is beauty ,sporty, dynamically look fast even at stationary,

they still producing cars of this type,

• prangin (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 12:16 pm

Nice vid. just from the silhuette, this car looks sporty n befits the X6 tag. guess we’ll be seeing more crossovers from other manufacturers.. d murano receivd 5 stars from JC, if i’m not mistaken. wonder how this ride is gonna fair with d discerning n fat-wallet buyers..

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 2:26 pm

prangin you’re right…..but in some cases, if JC got the problematic batch of murano..it wouldnt be 5 star because of its electrical system.
    But luckily he did’nt gto that for the review.

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 3:45 pm

Gen2 macam la..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:20 pm

gen2 is no x6, gen2 was made using a curved ruler, x6 was not, by the way, is chris bangle still working for bmw?