New Audi A5 1.8 TFSI

Audi A5 Face

Audi has slotted in a new model at the bottom of the Audi A5 range – one powered with a 1.8 litre TFSI engine mated to a 6-speed manual transmission. Note this is not the old but popular turbocharged 1.8 litre Audi engine that is in the B7 A4 1.8T currently sold in the Malaysian market, but a newly developed 1.8 TFSI.

The 1.8 litre TFSI turbocharged direct injection engine makes 170 PS at a rather low 4,800rpm and 250Nm of torque from 1,500rpm up to 4,800rpm, giving the baseline Audi A5 a 0 to 100km/h acceleration of 8.4 seconds.

Audi A5 Coupe press photos leaked
Audi S5 Coupe press photos leaked
Audi A5 convertible and Audi RS5 in the works
Audi A5 Coupe Photo Gallery
Audi debuts new 2.8 FSI V6, 1.8 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:36 am

this is one beautiful car

• transformer (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:05 am

Audi engine are very cool these days…. especially TFSI and FSI !

• megadisc (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:12 am

sorry no money..

stick with persona than Myvi

• mytouch (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:27 am

Mitsubishi new Evo X siblings? Now donno whos copy whom…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:47 am

yeah//light the led lights.. awesome man!

• I my (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 9:18 am

Most of the time is jap copy the EU, but the jap is the one who can offer the better price.. hehe

BTW, ah Paul.. do this 1.8 TFSI 6 speed manual come w/ quattro? As Audi r good in this dept. Also hope the local dealer can see this point.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 11:25 am

Nice excutive-looking car, and with the 1.8L engine, I’m sure Malaysians will love it :)

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 3:35 pm

mytouch said,
    October 17, 2007 @ 8:27 am

Mitsubishi new Evo X siblings? Now donno whos copy whom…
    ————————————————-
    audi evolves from audi itself,
    the big grille start to be generated from this y2000 model

http://www.careos.com/pics/BiblioPHO/net/a4_2001.jpg

as u can see the lower chrome line is in line with the upper one

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:32 pm

‘For your eyes only’…very lovely car that most of us can’t afford. If there is ever going to be a collaboration (or takeover) between VW group and Proton, a Proton car of this standard would still be beyond the reach of most M’sian.

• szw (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:22 pm

fighting wif benz !

• wong (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 2:03 am

the only thing I don’t like about this the big grille,not so nice,..but this a great car alongside with Bmw and Merc,….

• jamsbong (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:09 pm

I actually like the BIG grille and broad shoulder appearance. Makes the car look strong and robust.

Interestingly, the engine RPM has been reduced significantly! for a 1.8L German quality engine, it should easily go over 6500rpm. I think this is a drastic measure to reduce fuel consumption and CO2 emissions. Since EU introduced the emission caps, european cars have suddenly become so much more fuel efficient!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:39 pm

my touch

d dsg is purely from audi…so…dis car nt tiru2 itu evo x…

de silva claimed dat this is d most beautiful car he ever dsg…bt for me…i prefer the a4…and paul…new audi a4 has been released…so…no cover frm u??

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 10:13 pm

an affordable a5, great job audi

• jctan on Jun 21, 2010 at 2:46 am

Now is 2010. Where is the car? I was actually looking forward to get 1 by now…