BMW Concept 1 Series tii

If you remember earlier, BMW promised there would be a car on display at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show based on the 1 Series chassis, and some speculated it to be perhaps the X1 or an M-badged 1-Series. At the press day today at the motorshow, BMW unveiled the BMW Concept 1 Series tii, a design study based on the 1 Series.

The BMW Concept 1 Series tii is an interpretation of classic BMW brand values, with specific motorsport requirements taken into account in the design of the car. BMW says they emphasized on agility, lightness, youthfulness and superior sportiness when designing the car.

On the exterior, body aerodynamics is optimised with the front air dam design, side-sills and rear air dam. Special wickerbills generate additional downforce on the rear axle. Weight has been reduced through the usage of lightweight engineering and carbon fiber components such as the bonnet, mirror caps, and front air intake inlays. There is no usual vertical bar kidney grilles on the Concept 1 Series tii, instead air flows into the engine bay through a wide honeycomb grid.

On the interior some of the enhancements you have are the sports bucket seats with integrated headrests and side airbags, three-spoke sports steering wheel, and a gearshift knob with alcantara cover. The use of dark alcantara on the door linings and instrument panel prevents reflections on the windscreen. For this concept, the meter panel’s rev counter now has a white face.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 8:55 pm

2002tii
    http://www.bohp.net/blog/pict4/news060331b2002tii01.jpg

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 9:00 pm

im buying that

• sam1983 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 9:37 pm

If introduced in M’sia, I believe it may cost at least RM400K.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:17 pm

Look small and doesn’t look luxury! Must be expensive piece of metal if import into here.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:47 pm

“buttock extension job” to existing model!

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:52 pm

Sh*t…. I WANT ONE!

• mikemmery (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:53 pm

hey paul. million thx 4 droppin @ my site, it’s an honor. Tis is my first time commentin on urs too. Not really a car enthusiast though :)

• avanza (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:23 pm

BMW enters Fast & Furious. HA HA.

• BW (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:36 pm

Wow…. Love the butt and the head… Love everything… Perfect!! But i think they should make a 4 door one as well…

• cyborgx (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:40 pm

omg it looks so flugly. A super-tuned down M3? The front light = Yuckkkkk!

• neoracing87 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:57 pm

be-u-Tii-ful… nice very nice… anybody want to donate one to me?

• BMW fan (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:29 am

The view from the back gives me abit of a proton feeling, not grand enuf…other than that its looks ok…

• wong (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:38 am

Expensive but don’t look expensive…

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:47 am

Odometers color 2 tones, like abit cacat to me.

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 2:49 am

The only question lingers in my head is, why BMW chose the ‘boyot’ lines for the 1-series? This portion of the car that I cannot stand. It looks ‘garang’ but when you look at that under belly….eewww!!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 9:34 am

if u check the history, the 60s toward 70s model such as bmw 1602, bmw2002 and within that theres model 2002tii as it moves to 80s its the wit begining of 3 series until now,

but, in the interest of reviving the tii spirit, bmw use 1 series,
    so it clear the the latest 3 series has lost its 3 series-ness, its a vulgar car,
    1 series is a compact model and fun model that captures the essence of the old fun of 1602, 2002, and some early 3 series,..i think,

• king (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 9:50 am

BigFish said,
    October 24, 2007 @ 10:17 pm

Look small and doesn’t look luxury! Must be expensive piece of metal if import into here.

sometimes looks dun really tell …..must feel it in person to appreciate the luxury

• king (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 9:51 am

however those seats looks like the same materials as the E46 M3CSL

• mattyboy (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 10:05 am

Very similar is size, weight, power and overall concept to the original E30 M3 – just the car I was hoping this concept would be – perfect!

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 10:15 am

loving it…jst that its a bit weird to see a continental brand going into Jap style design modds yeah

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 1:11 pm

The rear light looks like Waja only…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 2:00 pm

omg..its kontot ( short )

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:20 pm

seriously, people can relate anything to proton, even the arse of this beauty..

anyways, it’s a good concept from bmw, a lightweight stripped out 2 door coupe, i think this would make much better basis for a performance coupe for bmw compared with the new and BLOODY FAT M3, which has grown to an obese 1650kg, unacceptable for a M3 IMO.

this 1 series tii, could it be the upcoming M1?
    if bm could cut around 100~200kg of the 1400kg of the standard 1series coupe and make this baby, i reckon it could even be mightier than the E92 M3.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:25 pm

BMW should ditch the front fascia…fugly….
    and the side skirting on the Tii same as the skirting on gen2(australian version)

• szw (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 10:37 pm

love dat…

• wong (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 11:30 pm

still prefer the E36 and E46,..the front lights looks too big, like a fish or something..but for sure very nice to drive..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 8:39 am

“BigFish said,
    October 24, 2007 @ 10:17 pm

Look small and doesn’t look luxury! Must be expensive piece of metal if import into here.”

this is not a luxury car. is a sports performance car, and it is small being a 1 series and a coupe as well(smallest car in the bmw range).

but if you insist on wanting some luxury(eventhough any bmw from the 5 series downwards in europe is not considered a luxury car), think again. look at the huge expanse of alcantra on the dashboard as well as the seats.. thats some pretty darn expensive seat and dashboard coverings there.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 2:13 am

CONCEPT ?!

I’d say it’s a poor attempt to tell people :” Hey, we know the 1 series doesn’t look THAT good, but you can pimp it.” Jaaa ..

CONCEPT. I hate BMW always uses this word for their production+spoiler cars.

• SupaCarFan (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 8:42 pm

Probably a good sports car with a reasonable performance,as well as some style!!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Oct 28, 2007 at 2:42 am

hmm nice sport car. at some view look a little bit classic.like old bmw from 70’s 80’s. from my point of view the rear looks like proton car . hmm always like bmw cars.