Toyota Rush snapped with taped up badges!

Toyota Rush Undisguised but Debadged

UPDATE: The 7-seater Toyota Rush has been launched in Malaysia! – Click for details, specifications, photos and pricing.

Two units of the Toyota Rush – one goldish and one blue have been snapped on the Putrajaya-UPM highway by reader Halim. These are definitely long wheelbase units, and whispers through the grassroots say that Toyota SAs around the country have informed of a launch before the end of the month, which is less than a week away!

Just as a recap, the Toyota Rush is available in various configurations around the world, but all come with a 1.5 litre VVT-i engine. You can have either a 4X4 or a 4X2 drivetrain, and either 5 seats or 7 seats. We will have to wait and see which models are offered here in Malaysia – the only thing that’s for sure now is the long wheelbase, with the short wheelbase model most likely to be used a Kembara replacement sometime in mid-2008.

View a short ad clip of the Toyota Rush after the jump – it’s been posted before but serves as a refresher.

SPYSHOT: Toyota Rush long wheelbase on trailers
Toyota Rush long wheelbase suitable for Malaysia
2006 Daihatsu Be-Go (short wheelbase)
New Perodua Kembara Replacement due mid-2008

VIDEO: Toyota Rush Indonesian TV Commercial

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• droll (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:52 am

nice!!!!!!! more choice for consumers! i wonder how this will affect the recently launched Livina.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:24 am

Hmmm, the ad, so Bollywood
    Anyway, hoping to see the Bego soon

• abtm (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:05 am

i’m more interested in the strength of the boat instead of the car, it can take the load of the car without a scratch (obvious bs), compare this with the 2F2F boat deck which collapse in the even of a car landing on it…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:16 am

huhu not real la the ads.

• azrai (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:26 am

Nice looking car. It gonna kill Livina and its sibling Avanza to (I think so). Wonder how about the Kembara replacement. The pricing especially. Is it 1.5l? What is good is, we have more choices. Do you realize lately the crude oil fall drastically to only USD88 instead of USD100 a few weeks ago? No way for the G to justify the petroleum price increase in near time right. Sigh.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:27 am

wow looks like the 1.5 engine is so powerful and the body can shrink.What a great car.

• shaif (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:04 am

Hopefully the price of Avanza 1.5 going down when Rush enter the market.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:05 am

This is imiginary,Please do not try this action….Do they really think people are that stupid?Perfect landing on the boat?With the underpowered engine i bet the furthest jump is 0.5 meter.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:32 am

this long basement rush really sell by Toyota ?? … that means … no new kembara … if sell by toyota the price must be high then avanza … :( no hope
    just can c ppl drive …

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:37 am

Why are u guys comparing this Rush with Livina. Its totally in a different segment. SUV vs MPV???

For a 1.5L Small SUV made in Indon, UMW should be more considerate with the pricing. Put it above RM80K, I think it’s bloodsucking expensive. There are other bigger & better-made SUV with 2.0L capacity which worth more than this.

Hope the consumers can evaluate Rush fairly with other competitors, not just looking at the brand only. So far, UMWT has manipulated us all with its unfair pricing.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:50 am

No…will not buying it.

• williaml (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:58 am

Majority Malaysian compared vehicle by pricing, not by class or model, don’t even mentioned Segment at all…so always can see people talking Rush vs Avanza or Livina here. Most important, for them, as long as produced by T brand, definitely a good one.

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:18 am

cant afford to buy one…… just wait proton design suv maybe can afford lol or waiting p2 rebadge ones…..

• droll (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:24 am

yup. m’sia is a super price sensitive market due to the high taxes. as for oil price drop – don’t the oil companies and govt HEDGE this???? you don’t buy oil on daily prices. that’s pretty crazy.

• ojlee1 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:26 am

Heard from Toyota dealer that will launch b4 CNY. But with tht size come with 1.5L, i think will be underpower and petrol wise not so good. Anyway the respond will show to all.

• ChipS (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:29 am

Launching date 1st Feb, next Friday. Price range 85k-95k.

• ojlee1 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:33 am

Additional info i heard from the dealer, it will only available in 2WD version in Malaysia market. To be competitive with other brand here & quote it cheaper price.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:38 am

I saw one heading the Putrajaya/Cyberjaya yesterday. It was tailgating me too. Earlier I thought it was a RAV4 at a glance

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:00 am

LOL….crazy advert….and dirty too…”Unleash Yourself”…LOLZ

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:13 am

first its look like americam movie,
    but it ends like hindustani ,,

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:13 am

first its looks like americam movie,
    but it ends like hindustani ,,

• wuichi (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:52 am

I wonder what the price range would be for this car, nice vid of the rush.

• ganz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:01 am

ooo.. it is posible for a perodua debadge product.. kembara replacement model.. :D

• blunt (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:10 am

wuichi…there was a post abt the price range..just scroll up.
    For me 95 k for the highest range if a big steep for Buatan Indonesia..add 5-6 K more, u got grand Vitara Buatan Jepun..with better spec and interior and offcourse workmanship also.
    U..W always want untung lebih, yet at the same time put the blame on the gov..and the best part, their so called fan, will believe it without any prejudice..

‘what say you about the ad…sure good one, T ma, if P1..sure kena hentam habis-habisan’

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:19 am

“Majority Malaysian compared vehicle by pricing, not by class or model, ”

There will be definitely a differing factor when it comes to choosing between a livina or a rush. for one thing, an SUV will usually have higher fuel consumption, as well as tyre wear..maintenance..etc. Especially an SUV, with poorer aerodynamics, higher ride height.. small engine, more weight..

My prediction is, the current MPV’s will continue to sell as they are now, and this Rush will not make much of an impact on their markets. It will definitely not have an impact on livina, thats for sure.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:38 am

will this rush to be replacement of avanza ??? or another new selling SUV ?? … just wait n c the price of the car … will kembara design also look like this ?? hope only change bumper only … like Myvi ( Passo ) change a bit only …

• andre128 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:52 am

nice video…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:08 pm

looks nice…bt as for perodua,say buy to R&D , say hello to jus re-badge the damn toyota and sell it off !

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:18 pm

bego mean stupid in indonesia language.
    hehehhehe

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:31 pm

-nabilll said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 12:08 pm

looks nice…bt as for perodua,say buy to R&D , say hello to jus re-badge the damn toyota and sell it off !

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 2:38 pm

UMWT is still Malaysian, through majority share ownership by PNB in fact still eligible to be called GLC.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:20 pm

Ill stick with livina over this. 1.8 of course

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 5:17 pm

i saw the car just now in a carwash, washing and waxing. also with the latest number plate.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:42 pm

Let’s see how much UMWT will tag the price on this elongated RUSH then you guys will get a hint for how much the price of Kembara replacement will be.

It would make sense that the Perodua brand will be cheaper than Toyota’s. Yet it still hard to guess since Toyota Rush is made in Indonesia while Kembara replacement will be CBU-ed from Daihatsu Kyushu Japan. The only things that will differentiate Kembara replacement with the original Daihatsu Bego design are the bumper and emblem. Mark my words guys !!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:26 pm

from the ending part of the advert, the background perspective and the car placement doesn’t match, made the whole advert fake la.

• darkwizard (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:49 pm

Why the spy shot photo don’t have fuel cap cover? Got stolen at the port? This kind of car if price more than 70K will not going to sell well as Malaysia has more choice of better car above 70K region.

Hopefully perodua can reengineered/rebadge it and price the car right. Else they will be out of business after saga baru hit their market.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:27 pm

at the end of the adv
    sit on the ‘extended’ kembara n show off~~

puke~~

landed on the boat n slide less than 4-inch??
    no way !!
    or toyota is making new physic law?
    how many velocity need 2 take off tis >1500kg car by 1.5L engine
    and how sophisticated the tyre grip tat hav to be?

puke^10

• wilbrightj (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:24 pm

From insider n internet info…1.5vvti..same engine with Vios n Avanza..i hope toyota increase the torque for the rush engine..well the weight of the three cars are not much different..so i guess underpowered wouldnt be an issue..if im not mistaken VIOS=1000kg , AVANZA=1100kg , RUSH=1200kg…correct me if im wrong paul tan or toyota experts..From my point of view rush is more an urban SUV..just dont bring it off road..(but suzuki grand vitara looks like a better buy,made in japan and 2000cc but i guess the brand its not as strong as toyota)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:07 am

It will be under 100k right?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:08 am

vios and avanza 1.5cc not same engine…bt im sure its gonna feel under powered….specially in a 4wheel drive spec…bt its gonna be a good seller…those compact high driving position cars are usually popular…specially with ladies and their superiority complex issues…!!

• wilbrightj (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:15 am

Yeah less than 100K mystvearn…well its not a 4wd e-nabilll..its only 2wd..if comes with 4wd it will be more than 100K..

• vai (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 3:16 am

sources said price from RM85K onwards…

• king (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 4:19 am

sxe10r said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 11:38 am

will this rush to be replacement of avanza ??? or another new selling SUV ?? … just wait n c the price of the car … will kembara design also look like this ?? hope only change bumper only … like Myvi ( Passo ) change a bit only …

_____

hello….do you know anything about cars? don’t even know whats the difference between an MPV and SUV?

avanza is an MPV (multi purpose vehicle) essentially a people carrier….other examples are stream, wish, citra, estima, livina etc.

this rush is supposed to be an SUV ( Sports Utility vehicle…which normally has 4WD capabilities)….and heavy duty body parts …..other examples are X5, xc90, harrier, fortuner, CRV, X-trail etc.

Unfortunately the variant that we will be getting doesn’t have 4wd option. probably to cut down on the already high fuel consumption. My colleague calls it FSUV…meaning Fake SUV.

• azrai (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 7:37 am

We know what is MPV and what is SUV. The main point is because it is a 7-seater that’s why many of the comments compare it between the two instead of their different league. The term for SUV which does not really act as SUV (eg. 4WD) is ‘crossover’. Nissan X-trail is one of the example. Do not bashing each other. Hear what they said, don’t look who’s saying it. (Imam Ghazali if I’m not wrong)

• tommyboy (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 8:51 am

Hello, hello! Does everyone knows that our currency has strengthened from 3.8 to 3.3 against the USD!!!???This is not cheap and same goes to the rest of the cars like SX4, Mitsubishi etc. When our currency devalue, gomen gives reasons for increase when currency strenghtened EVERYBODY keep quiet?? It is still NAP that rules. Consumers should be controlling the demand and price not the sellers or gomen. I bet you that if we all brothers stopped buying any cars for 3 months in Malaysia, they will be on their knees!! Buy wisely my friends! Don’t be duped!!

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:12 am

king said,
    January 26, 2008 @ 4:19 am

sxe10r said,

_____

hello….do you know anything about cars? don’t even know whats the difference between an MPV and SUV?

Sure i know difference MPV & SUV … but i dunno wat is FSUV lo … if this rush base on 4×4 meh SUV lo if only 4×2 meh MPV lo … so understand what i saying ??

• aizat (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:16 am

its going to be launched on monday(according to The Exchange,tv3 last night)….

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 11:09 am

to tommyboy,

u really made me laugh at you, boy. the dealer can increase or decrease their price anytime but they also need to cover all the loses due to currency changes and other external factor. before they launched the car, they already made business plan so that the price can last for 3-4 years with projected profit even there is a forex changes and other external factors which can change their revenue. that is japanese style.

if u look at how german style, they can increase/decrease the price in short period of time. for eg. BMW, Lexus, Mercedes after a few months government reduces the tax for higher CC car, they reduce the prices quite significant, from RM5k to RM80k differences varies to certain affected models.

so the one should be blame is not only the government, dealer also need to be blame, big time. for example toyota, they have build and renovate alot of 3S facilities (i think 10-20 facilities) nationwide in almost 3 years, yeah.. very short period of time nationwide. their allocation for each 3S facilities about RM10-20million. so in total, that is alot. thats why toyota are overpriced especially its OEM parts. this is just one example. so you need to ponder around the automotive industries before u made the conclusion. this issue is very sensitive to disscus. correct me if some of my statement is wrong.

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 8:55 pm

i just went to toyota showroom, i wnet there for vios test drive and at the same time i asked about the toyota rush and the brochure. after test drive, they showed me the brochure. the brochure is in blue color. model variant is from low spec 1.5G M/T, 1.5G A/T and high spec 1.5S A/T. however the price is not indicated in the brochure. the salesman said. they only had 1 brochure in the showroom. so i believe each showroom has 1 brochure. if it is not available, go for toyota 3S showroom and secretly ask for the brochure. too bad i cant take it away since one piece is available at that showroom.

well, im looking forward this new model in the market.

• king (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:22 am

sxe10r said,

Sure i know difference MPV & SUV … but i dunno wat is FSUV lo … if this rush base on 4×4 meh SUV lo if only 4×2 meh MPV lo … so understand what i saying ??

_____

its obvious that even if this rush doesn’t come with 4wd, it was still intended to be an SUV… especially with a spare wheel at the rear. ( older SUV design cue ). Another cue is the huge 235 / 60R 16 Inch tyres. MPVs don’t normally come with such huge tyres. In no way is this model intended to replace avanza.

• paultan on Oct 23, 2009 at 12:35 am

nice car

• hi, i am considering this car to replace my vois. advice needed. thanks in advance !

• already well considering? i need more comment and advice especially from owner. pls… !

• Saffinee Sulaiman on May 26, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Toyota Malaysia response to my complaint about “floping” during driving this SUV.. and they ask me for a comparision driving with another unit.. with “floping” characteristic along the test driving session. I could feel this “floping characteristic” at 40km/h 70km/h, 90km/h and 110km/h. Then, Toyota CS come with a statement : “floping” is a characteristics of toyota Rush Model. You willing to spend RM90K for a SUV with floping characteristic? Nonsense.. My customer tribunal could solve this problem.