Is this the new Proton MPV?

Proton MPV

This photo has been circulating around the internet and many have been posting it up claiming that these are leaked promotional images of the new Proton MPV. It does look very good. But no, this is not the new Proton MPV. This is actually an unknown person’s Photoshop job of the Mazda 8, which Naza World started selling in Malaysia recently. If you look closely, the alloy wheels still have the Mazda logo on them.

But still, response to this design as a “Proton” in the many forums around the internet so far has been very good, and alot of people seem to believe it is Proton. Kudos to Mazda’s designers for designing a nice looking MPV, and congratulations to the creator for producing a Photoshop job that many believed.

Have a look at more shots of the Mazda 8 MPV after the jump.

Related Links:
Mazda Hong Kong’s Mazda 8 page
Mazda Japan’s Mazda MPV page
First sighting of new Proton MPV-related test mule
Proton MPV due in early 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:23 am

Obviously its a Mazda…However Paul, I did hear rumours Proton will JV with Mazda in terms of platform sharing or what not with this model a few months back..that might be the reason behind this doctored pic..I assume.Any
    leaks on those kind of info?. I think the Mazda 8 is a pretty nice model, not sure whether it sells well in Malaysia ?.

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:44 am

I’m waiting for you Proton MPV. I will trade in my NAZARIA aka PETROL SUCKER.
    But it will only be if Proton use a good quality material. And not forgotten, a good looking one.
    I hope it will not be a resized JUWARA aka THE MATCH BOX.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 8:24 am

Every new Mazda cars never failed to impress me in terms of design. Proton should hire their designers or sent the R&D stylist to learn from them.

But sadly, the brand image is not that strong compared to Honda or Toyota here.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 8:40 am

hahaha… almost got me there, i was wondering where did i see this be4… lol

hope proton does a good juara replacement, then they can still join our club :D

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 8:56 am

The chopper forgot Proton’s logo is now black and white, no longer coloured.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:04 am

what a careless ripoff, can someone do a “Proton” badged Pagani Zonda next time please?

• hazri99 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:28 am

who is responsible started this rumour of the proton mpv using this fotoshop foto should clarified back ;this is not protn MPV.. this is Mazda.. kidergarden children also can no.. that is a faked..

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:38 am

Or is this a marketing strategy …jz like a teaser …to create that curiosity also feedback from customers for their new MPV…Any news from Azlano on their MPV …?hehe..

• BW (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:45 am

This better be the new Proton MPV coz it looks darn good… Hope this really IS the new MPV…

• xenith (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:52 am

Mazda makes nice cars…

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:53 am

Looks like the tiger in the logo is facing left. Shouldn’t it be facing right?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:56 am

I suppose we can’t blame them for being fooled. Our general public is quite “underexposed” to the world outside.

Mazda always made nice cars, but they have been on a roll lately with the new models. Unfortunately, they do not have a good presence here due to marker perceptions. I would really like to see better priced Mazdas in the near future.

the 6-7 seater MPV is a popular market niche if Proton wants to exploit. Unfortunate is not easy to play catch up. Especially if they “insist” on coming out with thier own development….

Naza and the rest of the rebadgers (and the grey importers) have a faster time to market timeline than Proton will be able to. What Proton has an advantage is at price. However, I’m sure Perodua is not sitting there twiddling thumbs. Big Brother Toyota probably has a host of ready to go products for Perodua. Naza would have KIA to back them out, and if the Rondo is anything to go by, it would be a good product to counter Proton’s MPV.

Wonder if Naza’s recent “cheap sale” of the Ria and Citra RS has anything to do with new models coming out soon…… the sub 70k Citra RS will take some wind out of Proton’s MPV.

• KF (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 12:37 pm

a rebadged Mazda 8 for the forth-coming Proton MPV ??? Hmmm judging from the pics of the Mazda 8, why not ?

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 2:05 pm

i think people relate proton and mazda ,
    because its clean body design, but still mazda design still has its japanese character, not ging to be simillar,
    and i belive proton have their own way of doing,

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 4:35 pm

its a very nice MPV… from Mazda… too bad for the photoshop on the wheels… but for proton – don be copycat on other models and put the tiger badge in front lor… hope their MPV is their OWN CREATION lor…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 5:24 pm

guys… this picture only photochop of mazda 8
    and some one put this picture on the internet…

i do believe that proton mpv totally different from this mazda 8…

cheers… !

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:20 pm

I dont think the new P1 MPV will be based on this Mazda8.

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:44 pm

It’s work.
    so i should keep safe my money from buying another car right now.
    i like citra, but proton more ever and ever.. muah..
    please relese the models asap !

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:34 pm

wats the point of this post?
    to show that proton is unoriginal?
    everyone knows that already

Paul Tan says: why would it show proton is unoriginal when they had nothing to do with this photoshopped image?

• ilmondo (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:10 pm

what is the point of this post?

well.. i’m not paultan to actually answer this, just giving my views.

its really obvious that it is mainly a clarification over the MPV issue, as many people are unsure about this. Proton being unoriginal, haha! well.. at times, i think we need some level of unoriginality to develope. u may think that i’m pro-proton, but do take a look at proton’s progress now. and i think that it is unfair to generalize your comment that everyone knows that proton is being unoriginal, as there may be some % of people who disagree with that point.

just my humble opinion on that. didnt mean to offend.

back to the proton MPV.. any idea what platform will it use? current waja/gen2 platform? Mr Sifu?? Mr Azlano?? excited to see Proton grow!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:17 pm

I really wish Proton take designs from the Lotus APX put on the MPV. Do whatever it takes. A more garang triangular front lights, and rear lights will appeal to all. Can someone photoshop a Lotus APX-Toyota wish= Proton MPV?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:26 am

if really the upcoming Proton MPV is exactly like the 1st photo, then i think other MPV manufacturers should balik kampung tanam jagung……hehez…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 7:46 am

mitlanevo said,

March 25, 2008 @ 12:26 am

if really the upcoming Proton MPV is exactly like the 1st photo, then i think other MPV manufacturers should balik kampung tanam jagung……hehez…

if proton improve their QC and the other problemla…then…other mpv manuf can balik kampung tanam jagung…bt if it is still d same…so proton tanam jagung kat kampung sendirila…

• waimak (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:06 pm

If really the upcoming Proton’s MPV looks like this, I say it is a great design. This chop was however badly done with only the batch slammed to the grill.

Great design comes with great commitment, to improve and continuously looking for fresh ideas, that’s is important I think. P1 has addressed the powertrain issues, now come the design, and then the issues mostly associated with the brand, QUALITY. However, my observation tells me that quality issues is a process and it keeps on evolving.

MPV was considered a bit of an up-market segment then. Now almost every marques introduce its MPV and people dont see it as an up-market segment anymore. I do hope that Proton’s MPV carries those features associated to an up-market segment, if not all, maybe partly such as image, NVH, practicality, ride quality and latest technology.

Just my 2 cents.

• mrell (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 1:42 pm

my friends said that the new Proton MPV looks like Toyota wish.
    and using campro CPS engine.

• want_diy (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 11:01 pm

this is absolutely not their MPV….totally not….their design far more better then this..hahaha~~~~

• waimak (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 8:53 am

So back to the obvious, is there any spyshot yet???

• zaki78 (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 4:06 pm

my friend said at the front like honda jazz saiz like innova and maybe use engine campro cps (1.6) or engine nissan for 1.8 and 2.0.

• carmaniac on Mar 16, 2010 at 11:06 pm

I think proton should create a better design as the market for other brands are so competitive. Saying design…….proton should have make a better workmanship and quality interior.(looks cheap) especialy the door panel plastic OMG.

The main issue here is quality tak ada tapi nak keluar banyak unit untuk jual…mana boleh…..other prefer to get a recon car even better condition compare to proton quality.