Mazda Axela Sport 1.5 Smart Edition: now cheaper!

Mazda Axela

Mazda Japan has just announced the Mazda Axela Sport 1.5 Smart Edition (the Mazda 3 is called the Axela in Japan), which is over 160,000 yen cheaper than the base Axela 15C model, an obvious sales move to push the last of the Axela stock before the new 2009 Mazda 3 arrives. This version features a 1.5 litre DOHC engine mated to a 4-speed automatic, and the only additional equipment is a rear roof spoiler and an Alcantara case for you to store your vehicle inspection certificate. At 1,498,000 yen and an additional 11,860 yen recycling fee, that’s only slightly over RM 59,000!

Don’t you just love those open market price tags?

Mazda Axela

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• catdeco (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:37 am

open market price tag is only rm59k?
    wew cool.
    going to be high after entering the malaysian market.
    haiz.silly tax.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 12:12 pm

obviously the price will shoot high when it enter market here…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:47 pm

hopefully bermaz will bring this in, hahah. its probably a cheap economical car that will trump the honda city

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Yea sure, bt I dun like the price of food n house in Japan. The grass, is not always greener on the other side.

Just be rich, then anywhere oso nice. The poor, will sux no matter what country u are.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:11 pm

Malaysia should practise open market n do away with gov protection, but then poor proton will die a natural death, right? In the meantime, buyers hv to fork out more for non-proton cars. Haiz!

Gov should gv tax relief to those who purchase proton vehicles bcos Gov built proton with tax-payers money. Proton then built cars n sell it back to tax-payers. Double tax here?

Applies to P2 also.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:24 pm

waiting for this day, open market in malaysia… sure P1 and P2 will colse shop. this car jus rm59.000 , do u all still prefer to buy persona SE ? my bro jus accident at time square around 2am morning last few day… the camry hit behind the proton saga iswara 1.3 areback model…u know wat happen ? the 2 safety belt at the front were BROKE ! do u think this mazda will like this ?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:56 pm

aeroback?

what year?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 3:36 pm

Proton and Perodua can be ready to close shop and declare bankruptcy in Malaysia in 24 hours after Government were to announce ” OPEN MARKET ” system in malaysia…..

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Open mkt, ….P1 & P2 can survive but would need to reduce cost and cut fats, Persona would need to sell at RM35k & still mkg profit, purchase parts from real low cost supplier from anywhere in the world..etc..etc…ie, do real business,

Now they won’t need to do those coz of the protection, why sweat when u can enjoy an easy life…hehehehe…

• vivio (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 4:46 pm

hey my senior have it here in japan
    quite comfyy

• I my (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:08 pm

just look like the Sti VER 10..??!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:12 pm

no one will buy this car, because the majority of them will probably be buying a Toyota Vios thats selling at RM58,500

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:22 pm

i always love mazda design…

open market? no tax?

then i might be get proton saga below RM20K
    cheap what? sparepart oso cheap… can buy like baby diapers.

then buy another new saga one again and again..

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:22 pm

NAP is coming……yeah

• pippen (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 5:51 pm

In the world of economy, only open market will create competition and improvement. Creative destruction is unavoidable, means on the strong will survive. For the past 20 years, we have been abuse in the name of the nation to buy expensive car with lower quality. Civic also selling that range of price only. Petronas or the G should support through provide funding to them to sell lower price, not close market and force the consumer to buy higher price of low quality product. We are eliminating competition to benefit certain group of so-call-enterprenuer to be made even after 30days we cant see a single one. opps, forgotten some AZA company just open some seafood store.

• natworks88 (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

tokmoh said,

Yea sure, bt I dun like the price of food n house in Japan. The grass, is not always greener on the other side.

Just be rich, then anywhere oso nice. The poor, will sux no matter what country u are.

Tokmoh, you’re absolutely right. The grass is NEVER greener on the other side. I was in Australia for a year, and I do have to admit its the worst year I ever had in my life… like what you said, food and everythign else is expensive. i was in Brisbane, and apart form the backward technology the country has, a can of coke is 3AUD. This should give you an idea how it is to live down under.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Don’t be selfish! ..
    managing a county economy is not as simple as your calculation.
    they (especially tun M – his era) have their own reason to do something like this and like that.

so you think, if all car heap, no proton, no etc you can get a better car one huh!? Or billions of our ringgit already send earlier to japan just like that without single engineering knowledge transfer and bla bla bla?

Indonesia might be can get a cheap car,.. coz no similiar to ‘proton’ there.
    but can many of them buy a car?

Think!

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 6:05 pm

note: i refer to the pippen..

Yes.. just like tok moh said.
    “The grass, is not always greener on the other side.
    Just be rich, then anywhere oso nice. ”

the problem is.. We are not rich enough!. :D

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 6:16 pm

5 wheels studs mean something.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 8:33 pm

the G should lower the import tax and excise tax if they still dun wan to open market

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 10:16 pm

GOGOobama said,

January 19, 2009 @ 2:24 pm

waiting for this day, open market in malaysia… sure P1 and P2 will colse shop. this car jus rm59.000 , do u all still prefer to buy persona SE ? my bro jus accident at time square around 2am morning last few day… the camry hit behind the proton saga iswara 1.3 areback model…u know wat happen ? the 2 safety belt at the front were BROKE ! do u think this mazda will like this ?

From which car? Proton or Camry?

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 10:18 pm

BTW, which car was your bro driving? Proton or Camry?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 19, 2009 @ 3:36 pm

Proton and Perodua can be ready to close shop and declare bankruptcy in Malaysia in 24 hours after Government were to announce ” OPEN MARKET ” system in malaysia…..
    ————————————
    yea, totally, suddenly malaysia can become dubai

• naz@proton (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:19 pm

to b fair open market to all industries, mayb ur father ur unle or ur latuk business die firs b4 p1. back to 2006 small trader of limau mandrin logged complain to gov , hypermarket selling below cost. why make noise if u support free market. i just cant imagine if we allowed doctors or professionals fr india,bangla n indon to practice here. ah chong ahmad aru clinics can closed shop n commit sucide coz no money to repay study loan……

• csv (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:44 pm

haiz, see, for a price of a proton, we could be well driving a Mazda.

if only i could blow up AP system into kingdom come. and those irrelevantly high taxes.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 1:57 am

competition will lower the price of any goods to a level where they should be. while it woudnt be as cheap as Obama land u can be sure it will be alot cheaper than what we have now. esp finanacial crisis now and they need to adjust prices accordingly.

natworks….you’re comaprison is flawed because you most likely were a student. its like making msian dollars and spending it in australia or maybe worse…UK or US. you need to be earning the local currency as in living and working there. all depends how much you make and how much you spend. the way i see it is that most people make as much USD or pounds or aussie dollar as they do in RM. but the purchasing power of the currency and market size make all the difference. so just work out how much money you can save a month without trying too hard and see how much that money can buy. some people saving in RM can also buy just as much but is much rarer.

Doesnt really matter whose grass is greener. just matters how much grass you have whichever side of the fence you are on. they are more or less green unless of course you’re in North Korea or some sheethole.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:11 am

sorry for that, my bro was in proton iswara 2000yr model, during accident, he told me the head/join click of seat belt for passenger and driver were BROKE….

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 7:54 am

it really looks like the subaru STI …

i dont think that will be the price if that car comes to Bolehland …

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:08 am

what is the japanese view for their system?

car price…
    food price…
    fuel price…
    house price…
    5year car maintenance cost…
    four seasons expenditure…
    road tax…
    driving license cost…

do someone know? share with us…

• hazxkh (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:21 am

how bout buying it at tax free region…. LAngkawi…… eh…. other car must be tax free too… how fortunate for the langkawi resident… i sleepy….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:15 am

I don’t mind paying for taxes if it was what it was indented to do. The rich subsidising the poor.

The problem malaysia has can be summed up by one single sentence.

Its the poor subsidising the rich.

AP, closed market, cronism, corruption, what have you. All down to the same thing. Ok so I’m not advocating socialism and maxism, but still…..some lgic sould/could/have to prevail.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:36 am

csv said,
    January 19, 2009 @ 11:44 pm

haiz, see, for a price of a proton, we could be well driving a Mazda.
    —————

As usual.. most ppl think proton cars is not taxed…..

• raverus (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:48 am

AP oh…….. AP, pathetic, poor Malaysians.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:50 am

natworks88,

Haha, I hv a fren currently studying in Sydney, which he said is the MOST expensive city in the world. Although, from what I googled, it’s 18th most expensive in 2008. Sauce: http://www.citymayors.com/economics/expensive_cities2.html

Nway, back to my fren, I recently met him n he told me he bought a car there, a daewoo hatchback. Buying it is cheap, ard AUSD2,500. Maintaining it…… is making him bankrupt so he’s decided to sell it back when his hols is over nxt month lol.

topgunthang,

Well, yes, that is if, u have a job in the 1st place. As we know, most 1st world countries are in recession, including Japan. To have an idea of how bad its like during recession, try reminiscing back 97’s econ crisis that hit us.

Oh sure, we’ll soon be hit by recession, but hey, just savour this moment while it lasts.

• BB (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:59 am

that’s why proton cant compete in oversea. just marely survive in own land with solid tax protection from government.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:16 am

BB said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 9:59 am

that’s why proton cant compete in oversea. just marely survive in own land with solid tax protection from government.

————————–

maybe you should read this first before posting the next time BB.

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/01/14/proton-savvy-a-top-10-car-of-2008-in-thailand/

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:18 am

BB said,

………………………

Well in case u r blind or deaf……. proton have been competing outside malaysia for quite sometime…. UK, China, Iran, Turkey, Indonesia, Thailand, Australia etc….

still living inside ur own world i see….

• szw (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:31 am

if this engine made it our shore, honda and toyota have big time going against such good looks.

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:32 am

Competing? Definitely.

Competing well? Nawwwwww.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:36 am

Zephyre_ said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 10:32 am

Competing? Definitely.

Competing well? Nawwwwww.

competing nonetheless

• DRC (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:37 am

Ha, ha. I want money from heaven (while lying on bed only) until 2020. By then I will appeal again to extend until 2050.

• kjryth (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:42 am

not rich enuff? eheheheh should work more smarter then…

work smart, harder..

• mahs (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 12:17 pm

not us not smart hardworking enough,
    is proton need to be hardworking, be strong no need government “CC”
    open market drop the stupid ap let the better thing benefit our lovely malaysia.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 12:32 pm

unitedtas said,

January 19, 2009 @ 2:11 pm

Gov should gv tax relief to those who purchase proton vehicles bcos Gov built proton with tax-payers money. Proton then built cars n sell it back to tax-payers. Double tax here?

By tax relief, I meant income tax, NOT taxes imposed on Proton cars.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 12:57 pm

unitedtas said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 12:32 pm

unitedtas said,

January 19, 2009 @ 2:11 pm

By tax relief, I meant income tax, NOT taxes imposed on Proton cars.

but tax payers have more choices today.. they can buy a perodua, or a naza rebadged model, or even an actual korean.. also, there are now more affordable japanese models in the mid-range around RM70k. failing which, you can buy any type of car you want in the 2nd hand market.

i suppose you also want tax relief for your road tax, electric bills, water bills, etc.., since all these things stem from something that was built using tax payers money?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:07 pm

LogicallyMad said,

January 20, 2009 @ 10:18 am

BB said,

………………………

Well in case u r blind or deaf……. proton have been competing outside malaysia for quite sometime…. UK, China, Iran, Turkey, Indonesia, Thailand, Australia etc….

still living inside ur own world i see….
    ——————–
    yes but does anybody over there want a proton….no…..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 2:59 pm

some does… the MEM Rally Team

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:04 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 20, 2009 @ 2:07 pm

————————–

Think abt this… since u r smart (congrats to u), if u have a company, would u sell ur company product at places where ppl dun want it…???

the fact that proton sell their cars at those places is because there is demand for it…

to answer ur question… even if only 1 car is sold at that place.. i would say… “yes there is somebody who wants proton’s car…”

• kevenloo (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 4:24 pm

Chana Era CM8 Standard Solid RM 38,888.00
    so let us wait and see how much is Proton & Perodua MPV this year…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:31 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 19, 2009 @ 11:03 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————

—————————————

the best part is can see Bugatti Veyron…. Until now there is no bugatti in Singapore yet though got few yellow Paganni Zonda’s here… and i don’t think so there would be a bugatti in singapore in the near future as well bcoz most of the bugatti’s were already fully booked by European and North Americans….

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:56 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

January 20, 2009 @ 12:57 pm

but tax payers have more choices today.. they can buy a perodua, or a naza rebadged model, or even an actual korean.. also, there are now more affordable japanese models in the mid-range around RM70k. failing which, you can buy any type of car you want in the 2nd hand market.

i suppose you also want tax relief for your road tax, electric bills, water bills, etc.., since all these things stem from something that was built using tax payers money?

Aiya, silly you BMW! Road tax only JPJ, electric bill only TNB, water bill only Jabatan Air. No need for tax relief here.
    I pay – JPJ approx RM1300pa for all my vehicles ; TNB average RM400pm ; JA exactly RM40pm. I don’t complain abt that.

But cars, Proton cars gv tax relief then more of rakyat will buy, even bashers I suppose, bcos they are going to be much lighter on rakyat’s pockets!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:22 pm

Hello, tokmoh, again complaining about Japan?

Ya, I agree with you, some minor stuffs like taking drivers license, maintainence of car, even petrol is higher than Malaysia.

But guess what? THEIR SALARY IS ALSO HIGH!!! And MUCH higher than in Malaysia as well. Their fresh grad in Tokyo earn as much as senior exec in KL ok?

Not like us, salary low, but when you add together, expenses as much as them. Kena screw by the G, thats what we get.

Btw, I would say your friend is quite stupid. A student, sure lah he get screwed by the high maintenence and petrol. Duhhhh. Depend fathermother money mah.

But if he’s working? I think we all agree he can 100% afford the car. And it will definitely be a much nicer car than a the rubbish Saga BLM/Viva our fresh grad in KL can afford.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:51 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 1:22 pm

have u ever been to japan and experience their lifestyle in total?

if yes… then, i will agree with u…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:41 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 20, 2009 @ 11:31 pm

January 19, 2009 @ 11:03 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

————————————

—————————————

the best part is can see Bugatti Veyron…. Until now there is no bugatti in Singapore yet though got few yellow Paganni Zonda’s here… and i don’t think so there would be a bugatti in singapore in the near future as well bcoz most of the bugatti’s were already fully booked by European and North Americans…
    —————————-
    lol, even if i have a bugatti, i won’t drive it here. its crazy. i’d keep it in germany or italy.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:36 pm

Ferrari,

My fren told me Mokhzani Mahathir has recently got himself a Veyron. The world’s first right-hand Veyron. lolwut Msia boleh?

not_ah_beng,

lol, zatso? Den why dont u go work there?

Of cuz there’s always some nice thing in other countries, bt just dun get too hung up la.

Our G screw us so much, den change it la. Mayb we shud emulate the Thais to get Najib to realise that we dun want him as our nxt PM. KLIA under siege? bahh…….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:11 pm

tokmoh said,

January 21, 2009 @ 11:36 pm

Ferrari,

My fren told me Mokhzani Mahathir has recently got himself a Veyron. The world’s first right-hand Veyron. lolwut Msia boleh?
    ———————–
    u have an idea now how shittily corrupted mahaithir is?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 8:45 pm

tokmoh said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 11:36 pm

Ferrari,

not_ah_beng,

lol, zatso? Den why dont u go work there?

Of cuz there’s always some nice thing in other countries, bt just dun get too hung up la.

Our G screw us so much, den change it la. Mayb we shud emulate the Thais to get Najib to realise that we dun want him as our nxt PM. KLIA under siege? bahh…….

————————————————————

i heard before…. but it might be true coz he flew to bugatti official showroom and took a bugatti and drove it all the way to London… So, the car might be belong to him… may be he’s scared to bring the car here for now….