Mazda RX-8 to be renamed RX-9 in next generation, will be joined by new RX-7

Mazda

Edmunds Inside Line has an insider scoop story about the future of Mazda’s rotary engine cars. According to their sources, the company is working on a new Mazda RX-7, and a next generation Mazda RX-8 is also in the works but will be called the Mazda RX-9.

What’s wrong with the RX-8 name you ask? Probably nothing, I think the change is being made to bring the naming scheme in line with what they have with the SUVs, the Mazda CX-7 and CX-9. The engine powering these new sports cars will be a production version of the RENESIS 16X, with its displacement upped to 1.6 litres thanks to dual 800cc rotors instead of the current 1.3 litre dual 654cc rotor design. Fuel economy will also be improved by 20%, much needed to help the RENESIS shed its fuel guzzler reputation.

The 16X will also be getting a twin clutch 6-speed transmission, which will finally allow automatic versions of the RX cars to rev as high as their manual counterparts, since a twin clutch transmission’s internals are more similiar to a manual gearbox than a slushbox. The only thing is with the introduction of a twin clutch, will there still be a manual version?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Axent on Feb 15, 2009 at 1:18 am

they put a smile on its face :)

• lambov12 on Feb 15, 2009 at 12:46 am

the front looks more lamboghini-ish ..

• Love Mazda's design language.
    Sweet.

• ReactiX on Feb 15, 2009 at 1:47 am

just thinking, is the car hood so small? hmmm…

• ignas on Feb 15, 2009 at 2:08 am

smaller version of lambo it is

• torque on Feb 15, 2009 at 2:40 am

It's about time they replace the RX-7 but what's wrong with the RX-8 name?! What ever lah…RX-8 or RX-9….I'm more interested with the new engine displacement…1.6 for rotary is still a lot of boost in power…yeah…300 bhp should be no problem….yummy!

• amphibia007 on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:24 am

I think the new RX9 is more of a street legal "furai" that dreams come true to all of us. In fact, RX is a legendary icon with the number of "9" means "infinity". Go Go RX-9.

• sonyman on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:42 am

i just love mazda

• when it will be out ?

• the strange thing is, mazda has always said that the RX8 is not an RX7 replacement.. damn weird..

• budleee on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:31 am

owh really.. so will the rx7 be a smaller rx8 and the rx9 a bigger rx8?..
    i absolutely worship the current rx8.. and its something i look forward to have in the future.. i do hope the future rx7 will retained the rx8 unique 4 passenger configuration..

• williaml on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:49 am

New fouth generation RX-7 will still be a two seater sport car I believe, and new RX-9 replaced the predecessor, when a new benchmark of 16X Rotary engine on RX-9, should have a new model name instead of using RX-8.____Zoom Zoom…

• Anti Stupidity on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:53 am

I thought the RX-7 was out there to compete with 911's at its time??
    RX-8 is a lot less hardcore than the RX-7 used to be.
    And the RX-8 is cheaper as well ( I mean new one)
    Don't expect the same 4 door, 4 seat, lots of space that you get in the RX-8.
    Only the RX-9 will have them I guess.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 3:27 am

mazda RX-8 kinda better car i guess in their line ups…. but rx-9 gonna be more superb i guess…. we hav quite a number in singapore…. mostly girls love them here….

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:12 am

So RX7 is a lower version of the RX-9? Is this something like Porche 911 and 911 turbo?

• Anti Stupidity on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:55 am

mystvearn said,

February 15, 2009 @ 8:12 pm

So RX7 is a lower version of the RX-9? Is this something like Porche 911 and 911 turbo?

——-

I think no, RX-9 succeeds the RX-8, which is a more comfortable, practical and less performance-oriented car.

New RX-7 will be the car that is of much higher performance, much more hardcore sports car as compares to the RX-9, I guess.

GTR used to have quite a few competitor like Supra, NSX, RX-7

(though in my opinion non of them is better than the GTR)

and now the new GTR is taking on those 911's, not sure this new RX-7 will follow the new GTR's path or not??

If it is, its gonna be exciting!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 6:05 am

cant hardly wait…

• hidtogentank on Feb 16, 2009 at 8:15 am

only the best from the masters of rotary from hiroshima. looks way better than any weird lambos. for the uninitiated, rx8 is the lesser car compared to the rx7(not that its at all bad), in terms of power o/p capability + tuning potential.rx8 = less power, less of a guzzler, more reliability (mazda intended this) for everyday motoring. this is why some drifters retrofit the rx8 with the pre-renesis 13b for proper drift capability. rx7 has gained an unshakeble cult status now from all over the world (especially in austalia, the US, japan ofcourse). this is not going to change now…rx9=rx8 replacement and rx7 will be the crown jewel of over 40 years of mazdas effort in rotary engine development.

————————————————————–

ps;(dont try and correct me unless you are a mazda rotary advocate like me, hehe)

• hidtogentank on Feb 16, 2009 at 8:18 am

16x is awesome…..word is, it will be coupled with a hybrid drive sustem.

CANT wait for that!!!

• keyboard.rosak on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:58 pm

RX-7 – 2 door, 2 seater, 1.3 Twin Turbo

RX-8 – 2+2 door, 4 seater 1.3 NA

so most probably the new RX-7 will be a 2 seater sports car (with turbo??)

and RX-9 will be a 4 seater sports sedan (with new Renesis 1.6)

BTW ReactiX (just thinking, is the car hood so small? hmmm…)

of course the hood is small, it's using rotary engine, a lot smaller than piston engine

• torque (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 9:02 pm

Hmmm…last time I check when the RX 7 came out, the price is quite rather expensive (since it aim to fight the 911) but I couldn't agree more since up to this day….I still think that the RX 7 is much more sexier than the RX 8. Really hope the new RX 7 doesn't cost a bomb to own…oh wait! Dang…I live in Malaysia…performance cars here does cost a BOMB!!! Hehehe…cheers everyone! :-)

• Michael on Apr 06, 2009 at 3:23 pm

Well, I really can't say I am in love with the Kabaru… It's just too odd looking.

I hope there are tweaks to the aesthetic design, especially the rear, to improve the appearance before it goes into production. Can you say "Chopped off in the back with a knife"? WHACK! Not good. The front is also way too deep vertically.

The RX-8 really has the best aesthetic appearance (IMO of course). Sports cars are as almost as much about appearance as performance. I mean, who cares if you have a twin turbocharged hemmy in your PT Cruiser? Or that your Dodge Magnum can go 0-60 in 3.9 seconds because you installed a supercharger and a V8?? PT Cruisers are hideous and offensive. Dodge Magnums are station wagons trying to be cool. (and also equally offensive to look at). Please!

Appearance counts. And the Kabaru needs work on appearance.

• Jack88 on Apr 27, 2009 at 8:09 am

[quote comment="210351"]Hmmm…last time I check when the RX 7 came out, the price is quite rather expensive (since it aim to fight the 911) but I couldn't agree more since up to this day….I still think that the RX 7 is much more sexier than the RX 8. Really hope the new RX 7 doesn't cost a bomb to own…oh wait! Dang…I live in Malaysia…performance cars here does cost a BOMB!!! Hehehe…cheers everyone! :-)[/quote]

ya , malaysia's car is damn expensive becoz of Pro**n

1.6L rotary engine should be nice but hope the new version

of mazda performance car will be in the market as soon as possible

cheers for mazda