F10 BMW 5-Series Sedan Artist’s Impression

F10 BMW 5-Series
Click for enlarged image

BMW’s recently unveiled BMW Concept 5-Series Gran Turismo previews an upcoming third variant of the 5-Series family, but also serves as an early glimpse of the design language that the Sedan and Estate models of the same family will share. Resident photoshop artist Theophilus Chin whipped up these artist’s impressions so we can have a preview of how the new F10 5-Series will look like. The new 5 is expected to share the new 7’s engine line-up, which means at least a 530d, a 540i and a 550i for the top end models. Markets with a penchant for smaller and more fuel efficient engines will likely receive the 523i, 525i, and 530i models, just like the current E60. The new M5 will be powered by a stronger version of the 4.4 litre twin turbo engine in the 550i.

Look after the jump for two more angles of the car.

F10 BMW 5-Series
Click for enlarged image

F10 BMW 5-Series
Click for enlarged image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Feb 17, 2009 at 12:43 am

Hmm, cool. Looks better than current 5!

• keeekeee on Feb 17, 2009 at 12:44 am

em ….. current E60 look better :)

yeah fist one comment being first one !! hehehehehhehe

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Feb 17, 2009 at 12:44 am

Cool . . .looks better than current 5!

• the back light is awful

• The anorak (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:06 am

It is looking rather well, like a mini 7-series.

Like the idea of making a smaller model by decreasing the size.

The 7-series is massive for everyday use, this might just do it.

The front end looks like the one in the new Z4.

• c'mon….the e60 looks sleeker and more modern than this…

• shan0025 on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:11 am

sumhow reminds me of ford mondeo…

• the new version get wider and big nose.haha..like 7series..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:22 am

It woulld be better to translate this car into 3-series…. not 5-series…. The current 5-series looks better and aggresive than this one…. I prefer E60 compared to this,….

• c14man on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:26 am

if i'm not mistaken, this design gets its cue from the BMW CS Concept, which hinted on future 8-series.

well i think the rear windsreen should be more sloped, as in the BMW CS Concept side profile.

The new design has somehow lost it's sportiness look, the current 5 looks more macho. Anyway this 5 Concept was not really targeted for young execs.

Like the BMW back light in their newer cars, X6, new 7, new 3. Looks cool and modern. Soon other manufacturer will follow, just like LED's and side mirrow indicator lights.

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:29 am

German-made. My type of 4-wheelers.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:59 am

well, when the E60 was launched, everyone was also shocked, and many were very angry even with the design direction.

but since the E60, i find this new 5, less of a shock, whether in a good or bad way, i'm not sure yet. but it definitely retains its bmw'ness imho.

• 1ENZO1 (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 2:09 am

still looks like a 7-series though.

• lambov12 on Feb 17, 2009 at 2:31 am

the front looks 7-ish, back looks 3-ish ..

overall, a lot better looking than 7-series ..

• acceptable for me, at least.

trend is sedan-estate-coupe nowadays.

New Skoda SuperB is similar to this design.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:08 am

Looks really boring. Not great and not bad either.

• gods twin (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:15 am

BMW has lost it with this,this design language has lost the Ultimate Driving Machine cues. Thier new designs look wierd and awfull. The current E60 looks much better.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:17 am

c14man said,

February 16, 2009 @ 5:26 pm

if i’m not mistaken, this design gets its cue from the BMW CS Concept, which hinted on future 8-series.

well i think the rear windsreen should be more sloped, as in the BMW CS Concept side profile.

The new design has somehow lost it’s sportiness look, the current 5 looks more macho. Anyway this 5 Concept was not really targeted for young execs.

Like the BMW back light in their newer cars, X6, new 7, new 3. Looks cool and modern. Soon other manufacturer will follow, just like LED’s and side mirrow indicator lights.

——————————————————-

exactly…. the rear windscreen should be more sloped and should be a bit elongated so as to give more sleekier and bulkier look….

• Akazamabamaboo on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:25 am

Theophilus for President! =D

• denaihati on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:35 am

Nampak ada perbezaan sikit dari modal sekarang. Yang aku suka BMW yang sekarang ni lampu depan tapi belakang tak berapa syook..harap latest model will improve design belakang.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 3:50 am

still no for me…E60 still my fav 5er

• when the e60 was launched….i was shocked at how beautiful the car was…

why are they using the f01 taillamps here?

• vivio (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 4:44 am

noooooooo

• I just hate the front design.

• Chai Cheon Ghim on Feb 17, 2009 at 5:22 am

First i thought i saw a new 7 series. Anyway this one do look smarter although less sporty. Rear design looks great.

• Theophilus Chin on Feb 17, 2009 at 6:40 am

Hmmm… "Resident photoshop artist" sounds like a good title. Me likey!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:01 am

raybrig85 said,

February 16, 2009 @ 7:50 pm

still no for me…E60 still my fav 5er

—————————————————

seriously… me too…. The current E60 looks much better than this one…

• Gajen on Feb 17, 2009 at 7:04 am

nice…esp the front…the back is so-so only

• mct (Member) on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:16 am

this would be good if it is a 3 series

more garang then c class .

about the led rear light, lexus have using it before bmw on lexus LS

• Silverado on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:31 am

Theo, make the wheels smaller and the Hofmeister kink more rounded.

• chaku on Feb 17, 2009 at 1:02 pm

prefer e60

• ericfoong81exe on Feb 17, 2009 at 4:27 pm

The front grill part remind me the old BMW 7 series…

• normal_user on Feb 17, 2009 at 4:53 pm

ooh I hate that front grille.

• Autobahn on Feb 18, 2009 at 12:13 am

this is good

• Amir Hussin on Feb 18, 2009 at 8:50 pm

Why is the BMW design these days following the likes of the Mitsubishi Lancer X, just with extra nose hole :-(

• Based on the spy photos, the 5-series sedan & Touring has a shorter wheelbase that the 5-series GT.

Here's something I made, posted this in CarSpyShots:
    http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/1566/2010bmw5s…

• Hassan on May 28, 2009 at 5:38 am

They should design better than this.. looks boring. front end just remind me Volvo cars..

• Doesn't look much bigger or grander than the 3-series. It's okay. Doesn't do anything for me.

• hfgjhbn on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:22 am

the new m5 will have 600 bhp with a 6L twin turbo v10