Honda Stream RST facelift unveiled in Japan!

Honda Stream RST

Honda has updated the Stream MPV for its mid-life facelift, or Minor Model Change as Honda usually calls it. Like before, two different powerplants are offered in Japan – a 140 PS 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC and a 150 PS 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine, both from the R-series of engines.

With the pre-facelift model you had the RSZ, a model that had sportier looks. With this minor model change Honda has added another variant called the Honda Stream RST, which joins the Stream RSZ and Stream X up to a total of 3 variants.

Other than different exterior looks, the RST also uses red instead of blue backlighting for the instrumentation panel.

Honda Stream RST

These variants are further broken down into front wheel drive and 4WD variants. The 2.0L front wheel drive models get a CVT while the rest use a 5-speed automatic. With the Stream only just getting updated to the RSZ model here in Malaysia, this minor model change could take some time before arriving on our shores officially via Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd. Naza might bring it in first.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new Stream.

[zenphotopress sort=title number=99 album=336]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Michly on Jun 19, 2009 at 10:29 pm

It will be overpriced here.. as Honda always be.

• toyota92 (Member) on Jun 19, 2009 at 10:43 pm

nice…

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 19, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Nice model made by Sayama Plant..but local made..think twice

• King Samurai on Jun 19, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Cosmetic only…Looks like the side mirror turn light is using the previous model Jazz VTEC (06-08)'s old parts..now recycled..

• Save your money for the pugeot 3008!

• King Samurai on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:13 pm

According to the spec sheet RST model only have 5 seats…So now no longer mpv category la…it becomes a station wagon then…

• the stik on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:23 pm

yo'o yo'o je ko samurai ckp camtu..

• BODOW on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:52 pm

The front headlights are a real turn-off …. lame designs , no projector …

even Kia can do better

• hardrisk on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:21 am

ok aku beli yang ni laah..

• hOnda interior always Look nice…and 1 step futher than other manufacture..

• Gajen on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:42 am

the new wish is way better…this is too plain and boring…hardly see any on the road too…

• Wak Rempit on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:48 am

Honda have to decide what they want the Stream to be… MPV, Sport wagon (like Caldina) or a Stationwagon?

Initially it is launched as MPV but now with the RST and current facelift (RSZ?) it is leaning towards becoming a sportwagon… like trying to win the hearts of Caldina owners. No wonder the car is "tak laku" it is a little confusing to the buyer.

They should follow Subaru who finally decided the Forrester is no longer a stationwagon but a SUV and targeting SUV fans or do like Pug & Citroen where their MPVs always a MPV no sporty facelift, no fancy color just comfort and practicality.

• scottloeb on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:56 am

Stream is better than Wish! Ada aircond belakang wa cakap lu! And the ergonomics are much more better, 5 speeder vs 4 at in Wish, weh who need wish lah. Kaat Msia je org priceit too far plus competition dgn grey import wish. In Singapore org go for Stream, not Wish.

• King Samurai on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:16 am

the stik: Amende yang yoyo 'o nye ko cakap nih??

Wak Rempit: Agree with you…since Caldina no longer on sale (stop production, only 2nd hand ada) in Japan…Honda engineers feels that they can fill the gap by sacrificing the 3rd row seats and define Stream RST as new breed of sports wagon..

scottloeb: 3rd Gen Stream mana ada rear blower? dulu punya ada laa..

• King Samurai on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:17 am

Sorry…bukan 3rd gen..2nd Gen Stream…this one only face lift..

• madimat on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:23 am

King Samurai , look at those pictures carefully…. it's a 7 seaters lah.

• VTECkiller on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:46 am

hmm.. Honda design is kinda nice.. Look at this MPV, den look at our Malaysian Made Exora, we shud reli ''bangga'' dgn Proton! -.-"

• akupalau on Jun 20, 2009 at 2:16 am

Just Beautiful.

• initial R on Jun 20, 2009 at 2:44 am

actually i doubt that this stream 3rd gen are MPV or Sportwagon coz if u put this stream & volvo V50 u can see it would see more wagon than MPV. just my 2 sen

• Automotive_Critics said,

June 19, 2009 @ 2:45 pm

Bro, you can't become an auto critic as your NO-ledge below par. The Stream from Japan, whereas the previous model from Indonesia plant. Equip yourseld first ok before comment.

Your head NOT (sick) heart. HM never assemble Stream. Sorry.

• happy looks….nice smile :-)

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 20, 2009 at 3:41 am

Automotive WORD of the YEAR… 'FACELIFT' :|

• perolima on Jun 20, 2009 at 4:20 am

According to wikipedia, this is Compact MPV/5-door minivan.

Base on Honda website, it was in the minivan catalog with Stepwagon, Elysion and Freed.

• kimi_ on Jun 20, 2009 at 4:31 am

This is the REAL mpv….

Look at the EXORA and you will thhought you are in 90s..a laughing stock

People now are want mpv with smaller size and drive like a car eg GRAND LIVINA and WISH……compared to outdated RIA and ESTIMA

PITY EXORA OWNERS :)

• scottloeb on Jun 20, 2009 at 6:07 am

Kimi: If you think Estima is outdated, then I have nothing much to say to you.

• linear_system on Jun 20, 2009 at 6:18 am

"kimi_ said,

June 19, 2009 @ 8:31 pm

This is the REAL mpv….

People now are want mpv with smaller size and drive like a car eg GRAND LIVINA and WISH……compared to outdated RIA and ESTIMA

PITY EXORA OWNERS"

u never drove an exora rite?so stop complain about the handling..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 20, 2009 at 6:25 am

finally, they give red backlighting for the instrument panel, the blue one was just awful. the worst is the one found in the honda cr-v. and also the Akihabara effect on the Mazda 6 is horrible.

• waimak on Jun 20, 2009 at 6:26 am

this is absolutely gorgeous!!

• chyan on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:54 am

I simply think this facelift really is worth it.

it does stands out better than the last one.

KUDOS!

• firdaus on Jun 20, 2009 at 9:10 am

Just got my RSZ last week… Now RST plak.. aiyoo!!!

• akupunya on Jun 20, 2009 at 3:23 pm

my next car is stream..estima pun cun jugak…

• sadin on Jun 20, 2009 at 4:45 pm

kimi_ said,

June 19, 2009 @ 8:31 pm

This is the REAL mpv….

PITY EXORA OWNERS "

what a comment. Still want to relate to exora. MPV is for practicality and the package is subjective. If u want small mpv can go for chana, apv, kangoo or eveb jazz, want big go for alphard/elgrand, want this want that..err better not to continue la

• sadin on Jun 20, 2009 at 4:50 pm

scottloeb said,

June 19, 2009 @ 10:07 pm

Kimi: If you think Estima is outdated, then I have nothing much to say to you.

Hahaha, ya laa, too exited to condemn things. I think the best ride is the one in his garage; always futuristic one. At least at his eyes…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 20, 2009 at 5:05 pm

Wonder when will Toyota change the Wish. Its getting a little long in the tooth.

These 2 are almost the perfect sized MPVs, not too big but enough to ferry 7 short distances. My wife likes the Stream, but I am favouring the Toyota. But given how much these 2 are overpriced, even the full sized Grandis ends up looking like a good deal being only slightly more…unfortunately the wife doesn't like it being too large.

Scotleob, you seem to be the Stream supporter, but I'm not aware that the Stream has rear row air con vents the last time I visited the showroom? Which model are you talking about?

5speed with 2 overdrives is not always better than the 4 speed. Yes it might save more fuel on high way cruising, but it feels more lethargic on the lower 3 gears. We have an Accord 2.0 with the same 5 speed…not very impressed with it. I prefer the Wish's better driving feel. Seems the gearbox and power delivery is more responsive.

• korang semua jeles pasal tak mampu nak beli….kalau dah beli, baru lah puji mcm2…jgn poyo

btw, it is a nice car to drive.

• The design is nice and sporty.

I've had my Wish 2.0 (local) for 2 years.The 4 speed gears are not a problem and seems to be more responsive than my friend's stream. these 2 cars are suitable if you need 5+2 seats for short distances. I took my in-law's and my family from Ipoh to Kuantan non stop and the kids(aged 13 and 10) felt cramped and hot.So if you regularly take 7 people for long distances you will need a full sized MPV .

• mpvHero on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:52 pm

yea totally agreed with s60T mentioned above, But, the proton Exora MPV, tested the other day, really disappointing mpv, the ceiling fitment is so terrible, go have a look at the real car u ll know what i meant.

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:59 pm

Karl said,

June 19, 2009 @ 6:49 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

June 19, 2009 @ 2:45 pm

Bro, you can’t become an auto critic as your NO-ledge below par. The Stream from Japan, whereas the previous model from Indonesia plant. Equip yourseld first ok before comment.

Your head NOT (sick) heart. HM never assemble Stream. Sorry.

You might misunderstood my a broken english. "local made" i meant for models assemble by HM. Stream is assembled in Sayama plant, Saitama prefecture Japan. I don't know whether its predessor was assembled in Indonesia so far i know only in Japan.

I'm sorry about my knowledge very low as industry layman but i will learn more next time before posting any comment.

About "think twice" to buy HM models, you can refer to my previous post if you aware. My point is those model assemble in Japan is superb in quality where they use cutting edge manufacturing equipment but looking to HM, you'll get bolt loose before you start the engine. Even they are without engineers in plant. SC also so poor even wheel misalignment also can't solve and keep pushing customer witha sweet word until the warranty ends. Finally, at Rm2000, under tree mechanic solved the problem. whata a shame HM.

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/19/honda-stre…

• Srotong on Jun 20, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Agree with you s60T, tried both H.Stream and K.Ria on trips to K.Baru fr. K.L. with 6 on board – 4 adults, 2midsize ealy teens. H.Sream good for driver but pain for others. Dinosaur Kia good for all and driver seated higher. But in terms of f.c, cannot talk lah. Probably same true for Estima/Alphard vs. Stream/Wish.

Exora vs. smaller Avanza/Rush/Kangoo – same applies.

So cannot compare large, mid and small MPV's in terms of comfort, f.c. & performance.

But for 'occasional' MPV role, nothing beats the Stream, especially this new version.

• Rulered on Jun 21, 2009 at 5:17 am

I'm still driving the 1st generation Stream, yes it has an aircond blower on the third row as for second generation Stream but not the third generation. The 1st gen Stream is Vtec 4speed engine but was upgraded to iVtec 5speed susequently. Eventhough it is almost 8 years old, it still drives like an angel and no ratlling sound in the interior. For some reason, I have always liked station wagon, when I got my eyes on the 1st gen Stream many-many years ago, I thought it was a wonderful and clever concept to have such car that can ferry 7 individuals and at the same time have the option of an extra space if needed, very practical. I think Honda was the first to introduce this kind of concept where cars like Wish, Livina etc was not heard of at that time. Of late I've seen this idea has evolve into something I really cannot comprehend where a small MPV especially Stream and Wish is being projected more like a high performance car/fastcar or whatever you want to call it and being driven by younger age (almost always alone) which I always find a bit awkward and defies the original idea. Well, I think somehow the Europeans have always stick to the original script where an MPV is an MPV or SUV is always SUV or station wagon a station wagon whereas Japanese sometimes wonders away from the original 'script' . I'm a practical guy and this is just my 2 cents and finally I just to ask, what's sport wagon for?

• Victor Lee on Jun 21, 2009 at 5:39 pm

In most of the country in asia, consumer prefer honda cars than toyota cars is because toyota cars is normally use for public transport as you can see at sing, hk, thai, indo. i wont buy a car that use widely for public transport.. y they choose toyota cars as public transport? is not because their car is comfortable, is because is cheap.

Is that really matter the projector lights does matter or the whole look?

like a altis compare to civic… OMG no need compare, but still got ppl buy new altis =.= some said because of the electronic seat…. if the car is for ur own, how often u play with ur electronic seat? damn when i drive a car, i prefer the feel, the gadget, the technology the safisfaction and the LOOK.

Honda create a car to suite the customers need with safety, tech, etc even do the price is not as competitve as toyota, but because honda knows how important the safety, not like toyota, example vios e spec a single airbag? OMG because they wan to sell they car, they can create a car lack of safety.. yet the J SPEC more worst… rm70k no airbags… =.= beli kereta buatan pun sama. THink bout it.. Rich buy honda, poor buy toyota. AGREE?

as always, honda is always thinking future.. not some cars company. lack and dont have sense of STYLING..

• Kojai on Jun 21, 2009 at 9:18 pm

My current ride is RSZ. My next MPV will be definitely Estima ACR 50 …. :)

• nothing much change in facelift…sigh

• Victor Lee on Jun 22, 2009 at 1:39 am

In most of the country in asia, consumer prefer honda cars than toyota cars is because toyota cars is normally use for public transport as you can see at sing, hk, thai, indo. i wont buy a car that use widely for public transport.. y they choose toyota cars as public transport? is not because their car is comfortable, is because is cheap.

Is that really matter the projector lights does matter or the whole look?

like a altis compare to civic… OMG no need compare, but still got ppl buy new altis =.= some said because of the electronic seat…. if the car is for ur own, how often u play with ur electronic seat? damn when i drive a car, i prefer the feel, the gadget, the technology the safisfaction and the LOOK.

Honda create a car to suite the customers need with safety, tech, etc even do the price is not as competitve as toyota, but because honda knows how important the safety, not like toyota, example vios e spec a single airbag? OMG because they wan to sell they car, they can create a car lack of safety.. yet the J SPEC more worst… rm70k no airbags… =.= beli kereta buatan pun sama. THink bout it.. Rich buy honda, poor buy toyota. AGREE?

as always, honda is always thinking future.. not some cars company. lack and dont have sense of STYLING..

• honda rsz on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:40 am

previously i owned mit airtrek non-turbo, good car very gd in handling, powerful. but my wife bored with it keep on ask me to change car.

So i owned stream rsz now, if compare with airtrek, hmm. i think stream less power with airtrek, but handling stream is just like driving normal saloon car + point for it. Stream FC far more better than airtrek.

if compare with stream with wish, i think both the same. for info i haven't drive wish before but i sat on it before so can feel the performance. but if the RM150k i will not go for a 2nd hand wish.

just my 2 cents worth of opinion.

• sam620 on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

dont think it will too cheap, i just bought RSZ few months ago 156k

this RST look much better than mine like 2 tone interior, side mirror lamps, contoller in steeering, and the tail lights look great

but the grille just so so… look like accord

my friend in HK bought RSZ end of 2006, here only launch at 2009… this model may wait few years come to Malaysia

• King Samurai on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Bro sam620, dont feel regret after owning your RSZ. RST is now entering a different segment already since its now a 5 seater…Check this out

http://www.honda.co.jp/STREAM/type/type_RST/

For info this 2nd Gen Stream launched in June 2006 and Honda Malaysia having many hurdles to bring this model to our homeshore as this models only limited to Japan and East Asia (HK, China only gets 1.8L) as other part of the world will be getting a smaller scale MPV on Honda's global small car platform which turns to be Honda Freed…eventually will be supplied to asean countries from Indonesia. After many negotiations, backed by HM counterpart in Singapore (Kah Motor) where they suffered more from the grey importer; Honda Motor finally released their 1.8 model (very basic one, even the rims are locally fitted) for Singapore then Malaysia…almost a year and a half after launched in Japan. So there goes…ONLY Malaysia & Singapore have this MPV in their model line up..very basic 1.8 model. Since it was too 'kosong'…product planners from Kah Motor Sing & HM managed to request for the sunroof version to be imported from Japan..We will never get the 2.0 version, reason very simple…Too many complains for CVT..definate no-no to be sold outside Japan. But we can still have from Naza or other importer with exorbitant price tag..damn AP kings! So now in 2009 finally Honda Japan allowed HM to the RSZ 1.8 model to sold here..maybe to clear stock before RST hit Japan showroom? I dont know…dont ask..

• Ime Lee on Jun 29, 2009 at 10:32 am

i don't think that rich people will buy honda (stream) & poor people will buy toyota (wish).. i think that toyota is less maintainance compare with honda. That why u can see lot of public transport using toyota compare with honda coz toyota we can drive rough. In Japan, toyota & nissan are more famous compare with honda. I never saw honda car for rough/tough use even in the race such as for desert or 4×4.

i dont know about engine but in my point of view, if engine 4 gear equal to 5 gear that mean.. the 4 gear is good enough compare with 5 gear.

i plan to have mpv.. but i dont know which 1 to buy.. wish or stream

• ("(^_^) on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

WHERE CAN I GET THOSE STREAM RSZ WITH "S" PACKAGE BODYKIT & ACC???? DAMN…GOOOODDDD, 7 SEATER RSZ + 5 SEATER SPORTS RST…

• TheTitan on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Sure i fall in love with Stream a lot than other mpv models,

compare within Wish and Stream definately the Stream good in fuel consumption.

I heard a lot through my boss who was use toyota brands such as Estima,Unser and altis. Toyota have bad handling with too soft suspension but sure still feel safety,and Honda have good handling at all.

You can watch from youtube which japan was make the comparison,and a lot of honda brand were powerful and nice drive.

• yup.. i agree that honda tecnology is powerful n efficient. however i pilih elissyon laa.. it's bigger n very roomy u ae punya family laaa.. betul tak.. moreover.. has no comment toh…

• fariq on Apr 02, 2010 at 1:33 am

I’m currently driving a stream RSZ… wow what a vehicle.!!!… complete package for me in term of the look, perfomance, space,acceleration and handling… with the paddle shift at the stering it make me crazy driving at Karak highway;p….