Cobra Connex Stolen Vehicle Recovery system for the Honda Accord

Here’s more info on the Connex Stolen Vehicle Recovery system that is currently an option with the Accord.

The system is actually by the Cobra vehicle security company, and is pretty reknown. For example, the Italian company’s Connex systems are being used by alot of companies such as Audi France where they use Connex as the standard alarm and recovery solution for the Q7, A8, S, RS and V8-engined cars.

When you buy the package from Honda at RM3,660 inclusive of installation, first year annual service fee (RM360) and a compensation guarantee (optional and worth RM140), it will be installed at the Honda dealer. This package is currently for Peninsular Malaysia cars only, and comes with a 3 year warranty.

Cobra LogoNow what is the compensation guarantee? Basically if your car is recovered within 72 hours of theft management notification, you get cash of up to RM5,000 and bills of up to RM5,000. This covers bills for repair and replacement of damaged parts.

If the stolen vehicle is not recovered within 72 hours, you get a cash compensation of RM15,000 and a RM15,000 subsidy at Honda dealers for a new car if the car is not recovered at all. If recovered after 72 hours, you get a RM5,000 compensation for repair and replacement of parts related to the theft.

The system operates based on GPS to track the vehicle location and a GSM-based communication device that runs on the cellular networks to communicate with the Cobra Connex operation center. The annual fee of RM360 (first year free) covers the GSM device charges, you will not have to pay any extra cash to maintain the Connex system’s GSM SIM card.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• castroman on Jul 22, 2009 at 12:26 pm

connex + roadtax = miskin

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 22, 2009 at 12:45 pm

Wow.. Worth every ringgit..

• 4G63T dsm on Jul 22, 2009 at 1:48 pm

I think GM's OnStar system is a much better system. But of course its only for GM vehicles in North America.

Yep, they are capitalizing your fear.

Besides, don't you have insurance for this sort of stuff?

For $30 a month I would expect GM OnStar level of service.

• Konan on Jul 22, 2009 at 3:17 pm

I think you're forgetting the cost of maintaining the 24 hours recovery team responsible to track and retrieve the car plus other maintenance cost? These kind of huge operation has high expenses, but at least it produces results unlike other products who require you to face the thieves yourself. SMS data transfer is but a small cost as you've mentioned.

• Honda accord got problem with their lock in the bonnet. 2 accord at my house have been broken into through the bonnet. they should fix the lock

• Klangman on Jul 22, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Car can get stolen anytime and anywhere when we are least expected of it. NO one can predict when our car can be stolen.

It's not fair to say that Rm 30.00 per month is way too much. The operation centre have to be in operational mode 24 hours daily even though we are having our sweet dreams at home.The recovery team also have to be employed 24 / 7 .

With all the compensation built in , the benefits clearly outweigh the cost for us to have a more ease of comfort in our mind of losing our cars.

For an asset worth around 150,000! , what is Rm 360 per year.

• Azmi K on Jul 22, 2009 at 4:52 pm

Barring that GSM jammer, anyone interested to get similar system can have it at the cost of mobile phone only. The trick is a feature called Friend Finder by Digi or Maxis. Leave and hide this mobile phone in your car with adequate power or tap into car's electrical. Further details of this feature is here

So, if luck is not on your side and your beloved car stolen, all you have to do is send SMS (FF FIND mobile_number_of_your_car) to 2000. Just make sure that mobile number is active.

• Azmi K on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:16 pm

I remember the other day about theft using GSM jammer to steal car equipped with GPS-GSM device. This offer is really a bold claim and to me, another marketing hype as they could lose out if stolen can't be recovered. I've seen that GSM jammer and no electronic device can circumvent it.

• Kuku_Nan on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Sound expensive, but worth it!… (keep on eye on "terms and conditions").

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:27 pm

@Azmi K yeah i have seen gsm jammers on sale online as well, but dare not order, sure sekat at customs. well they do have that RM15k compensation if they do not manage to recover your vehicle, that exceeds the cost of installation.

• King Samurai on Jul 22, 2009 at 6:42 pm

Just a marketing hype. RM30 monthly services charges is way to much as the GPS module is in sleep mode unless activated whenever there is a theft alert. The system will only works when alerted and start sending tracking signals thru GSM SIM card (SMS data transfer) where the charges is very-very small, few cents only and your car sure are not being stolen every month rite!..

Summore nowadays advance tracking system used in fleet management for logistic companies are already using GPRS instead of GSM…Honda and its counterparts are making easy money out of nothing…no wonder they dare to pay RM15k if the car not recovered!

• mystvearn on Jul 23, 2009 at 2:08 am

The old Honda Accord 3 generations back had this skyguard system. Can locate, start, stop, unlock, lock car. But that was free as standard- due to the economic crysis and honda was struggling with sales.

For this amount of money…I think its a waste of money for a car. Unless you are you live in a neighbourhood that is bound to be robbed and you are the only one left not robbed. Or your honda accord is made of gold. But then there is 1st party insurance right?

• roti naan1 on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:33 pm

To prevent the car being stolen, DO NOT buy an Accord.

• torque (Member) on Jul 23, 2009 at 11:05 pm

roti naan1 said,

July 23, 2009 @ 11:33 am

hahahaha….or don't buy a Camry…

• madboy on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:19 am

torque said,

July 23, 2009 @ 3:05 pm

roti naan1 said,

July 23, 2009 @ 11:33 am

hahahaha….or don’t buy a Camry…

—————————————————————-

or even a car…..

Take note that there are some insurance company that refuse to accept expensive car unless it is installed with some kind of extra security other than the standard alarm.

• schah24 on Jul 28, 2009 at 1:30 am

sapa2 berminat ngan Cobra Connex leh contact saya;- [email protected]

• rosdi on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Boleh pasang pada Proton Exora tak?