Brake assist with GPS data for new Nissan Fuga

Nissan Fuga

Nissan has announced a new driving aid system called the Navigation-Cooperative Intelligent Pedal which basically uses data from the car’s satellite navigation system to help smoothen the drive when it comes to a curving road.

How many times have you approached a bend and then suddenly realised you’ve gone in too fast? Can you see ahead past a blind corner in a bend? Some bends can sharpen mid-way… and then you panic and have to deal with understeer or worse! If the system detects that you are about to do this, it sounds an audible warning.

If you persist, the system moves the accelerator pedal upwards to assist the driver to release it. Once the foot is lifted off, the system will smoothly reduce vehicle speed by braking. The system will debut on the new Nissan Fuga when it is unveiled in fall 2009. As it currently is, the Fuga is the Japanese name for the Infiniti M.

A similiar system was introduced earlier this year on the Toyota Crown Majesta, though it doesn’t work exactly the same. The Toyota system uses gear changes and engine braking to help slow the car down in anticipation of a corner (the car is aware of this via the in-car GPS system too) or a toll booth.

In addition to that, the Toyota system will activate a brake-assist function if it thinks the driver is too late in decelerating when approaching a stop sign or a junction.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Andrew on Jul 26, 2009 at 3:25 pm

Way too much intervention…

• newbie on Jul 26, 2009 at 3:30 pm

I hope this wont turn most of us drivers to drive like granpas around the corner.

• sounds good. lets hope it works la

• i dont think it works perfectly… current GPS tech has +-10m variance in accuracy, no?

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Jul 26, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Nice…!

• bmpower on Jul 26, 2009 at 7:55 pm

DC said,

July 26, 2009 @ 8:38 am

i dont think it works perfectly… current GPS tech has +-10m variance in accuracy, no?

I second that..

but little mistake i think..

not 10M (minute), but 10milisecond.. :D

• caseychan on Jul 26, 2009 at 8:42 pm

looking forward to have that Fuga on our road

• fastcx on Jul 26, 2009 at 8:58 pm

bmpower said,

July 26, 2009 @ 11:55 am

DC said,

July 26, 2009 @ 8:38 am

i dont think it works perfectly… current GPS tech has +-10m variance in accuracy, no?

I second that..

but little mistake i think..

not 10M (minute), but 10milisecond.. :D

i think he means meter

• GPS data/routes are not always updated

rite?

1st..

• p2_permanent_basher on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:15 am

I hv got a question, as we know GPS can sometimes get the direction wrong. What will happen if the map indicates that there is a turning to either a left or right just right in front of you but all you can see is a straight road?

• scorpio_10 on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:58 am

1st!!!

• scorpio_10 on Jul 27, 2009 at 1:02 am

x rock ar…x leh nak drift nih…semua nak assist..last2 lesen kete pun x yah amik….

• apanih on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:47 am

i think the toyota system of engine breaking n gear dropping is better. better traction control instead of breaking b4 corner n not being in the right gear midway in corner or wtv.

• P2_permanent_basher on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:02 am

hehe poor 1st posters malu :P

• fauzi on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:12 am

may be in future we dont have to drive a car anymore just ask our car to bring where destination that we want.may be like KITT from knight rider

• old timers on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:05 pm

Gile, mana gi hilang skill pemandu kite sume ni..sume nak kene assist. Anyway, now, in Fuga, we can just floor the pedal without worries anymore…

• dont like it

• Wak Rempit on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:47 pm

No doubt it's a good technology, but it only works well with your mom and auntie.

I hope it's not automatic or something you can turn on and off. What is the point to drive a car with the best driving dynamics but having feature onboard… Borringgg!!!

• Toothless Zombie on Jul 29, 2009 at 1:18 am

Fuga, what a name for a car. Looks like the creativity didn't stop at the breaking mechanism.

• Human will become useless in the future!