Hamann kits up the BMW 5-Series GT

Hamann 5-Series GT

Hamann’s take on the new BMW 5-Series GT still seems as much as wrong as the original. And it still looks like a puppy somehow. I dunno, maybe, just maybe this particular model will look better in the metal… maybe. That’s still some pretty wishful thinking. Can’t wait for the F10 sedan to be out. Look after the jump for a full gallery showing the car with various different Hamann wheels.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=412]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• l3ryan on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:30 am

an ugly BMW made even uglier by the hands of aftermarket tuners..

is it a hatchback? estate? coupe? SUV? make up your mind before signing off new designs please BM.

if this is the beginning of the post-bangle era, i cannot imagine how awful other new models will look like.

• fertittabro on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:46 am

this car is for those who wan suv sedan lol.

wat a bulky sedan oh no it is a sedan too.

this car looks like it is fuel sucker.

somemore has weird looks.

• takin on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:52 am

damn ugly bmw ever made!!

• nabil on Aug 03, 2009 at 10:01 am

the front wheels,front fender,front bumper all messed up donot match at all,n thrs so much space between tyre and fender…

• Paul Tan on Aug 03, 2009 at 10:01 am

I still maintain that this is not a 5-Series GT, it's actually a 7-Series hatch.

• anderson on Aug 03, 2009 at 10:14 am

wow! did BMW launch the GT? But anyway it is just a simple add-on program, or maybe just fitted with new set of rims.

• willpower on Aug 03, 2009 at 2:39 pm

ugly Beemer i have ever seen

• KuchingMali on Aug 03, 2009 at 3:28 pm

It looks 'cute'. Animal from Farmtown (Facebook.com).

• This bmw GT looks weird becoz of the big rims and low profile tyres..

• proud2bemalaysian on Aug 03, 2009 at 3:48 pm

~FUGLY~

• droll on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:05 pm

i just can't get over that weird looking rear slope of the C pillar to the boot. the panamera suffers from the same weirdness. haih……..

• teslaman on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:34 pm

sucks! everything out of proportion!

• RunnerUp on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:37 pm

"BMW better."

Oh wait, this is BMW.

• mitlanevo on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:46 pm

where is Mr. BMW Better? haha…

ugly car just get uglier, wtf…..

target market: D-U-B-A-I

maybe ppl there will paint it orange or gold, then with 30" diamond spinners…

• stephen on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:54 pm

oh my god??? so ugly…

• CatmaN on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:58 pm

u're right Paul…it sure does resembles that puppy look…!! LOL

• the proportions just don't seem to fit. but being a BMW there will still be takers especially if it costs a bomb just so that the neighbours can know that they can afford such an expensive(albeit ugly?) car

• BMW LOVER on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Get back Chris Bangle …. current range all looks like HOGS.

• theanswer on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:40 pm

smaller sibling of x6. looks ugly..what hamann? i cant see any kit..only set of sport rims. in fact the car looks a bit high with proper skirting.

• ambipur on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:07 pm

it just looks wrong.

• pumpkin on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:19 pm

sorry…i really can't accept the design of this 5series-GT… :-(

• This is one ugly car…..

• regadas on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:36 pm

weird, i love the design. look so masculine to me :)

• kimi_ on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:38 pm

Haha, ugly like hell….

Where is that JULIAN_LEE????

• Banga Jd Ank M`sia on Aug 03, 2009 at 10:08 pm

nice sport rim`s! love it!

• stevewy on Aug 03, 2009 at 11:18 pm

nice car…i mean.

rim only….xD

• IsYaF on Aug 03, 2009 at 11:19 pm

ugly

• 'where is Mr. BMW Better? haha…

ugly car just get uglier, wtf…..

target market: D-U-B-A-I

maybe ppl there will paint it orange or gold, then with 30? diamond spinners…'

Wait some time until the Japanese start copying the BMW design as they already did in the past.

I'm quite sure that the next Camry, Accord, City or Vios will have some design characteristics of the GT. Maybe you will change your mind then… ;)

• normal_user on Aug 04, 2009 at 12:46 am

The GT is the result when a 7-series & X1 mated together. Some more the child is born with down syndrome & genetic mutation, after injected with the H1N5 Hamann virus.

LoL!

• aksMs on Aug 04, 2009 at 12:55 am

Ugly MoFo. What has happened to BMW? They should really-really consider giving this model a nose job. This one looks so wrong in every way. Well, the bum look acceptable. But would you go out with a lady with the bum of JLO but has the face of….. Let's not name names shall we. It's just UGLY. (Somehow I think the pig got better looking nose).

• BEEMER TUUT on Aug 04, 2009 at 12:57 am

super hot, this is one of the most beautiful thing ever happened to BMW and mankind (im a retard)

• WULIAN_LEE on Aug 04, 2009 at 12:58 am

BMX better

• big gen.2 !?

• jolly_idiot on Aug 04, 2009 at 2:31 am

We sud mod our Junk2 to match this.

• BMW or Gen.2 made in Germany? Copycat

• paparazi (Member) on Aug 04, 2009 at 5:18 am

wow lan eh! this brilliant design must be inspired by some species of animal.

• yeah, alot of people waiting for the sedan, as least we know it will be good.

• narrowband on Aug 04, 2009 at 6:24 am

good for limousine fleet. ugly for private ownership -.-

• Elvis on Aug 04, 2009 at 7:37 am

Very Gen.2 except bigger and UGLIER….

• Analyzer on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:24 am

BMW really got lazy and just stuck on the 7 series face on to it.

As Paul said, a 7 series GT hatch. Lol

• fertittabro on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:57 am

i rather buy 10 gen2 become taxi / car rental laaa. aiyoyo.

• fertittabro2 on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:58 am

i rather buy 10 gen2 become taxi / car rental laaa .aiyoyo.

• albagmane on Aug 04, 2009 at 1:52 pm

seems that BMW designers get the gene of Porsche on creating ugly weirdos these days… Hamann should have taken some crazy drugs to make themselves a freak!

• car lovers on Aug 04, 2009 at 4:05 pm

clearly all the childish comments here came from non BMW owner, It's a small niche high end market that they are targeting this car at. It's meant to look masculine and expensive. Not Ah Beng bodykit type, … look at Hummer … Simply just a box with wheel .. but … only the wealthy can own it

• nighttrain on Aug 04, 2009 at 7:47 pm

I seem to recall when they first introduced Chris Bangle's new direction for the whole BMW line. Lots of negative response. Non traditional la, not classic BMW design la, no one will buy it la…. BMW didn't seem to care then. Same difference here. So, who's in charge of design for BMW this time around? Will he be as famous as Bangle? This here is about taking corporate risks. By BMW's calculation, they can afford it. Critics and motorheads can say all they want.

But the buyers will always consider the PROVEN tagline, 'the ultimate driving machine'. German precision engineering. Personally, I think BMW never loses out on any of their undertakings. Except for F1, of course.

• BEEMER TUUT on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:17 am

weii GEN TU(ken tu) is a damn nice car, dont compare it to this shitface

• c14man on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:02 am

BMW sure sedih to read all these feedbacks…

but it seems like BMW is realizing there are more young execs out there to buy their products. hence the reason to move away from a more conservative design to something more "exotic". well it does look like a shorter version of x6.

it just need time to be accepted by the market.

• syamness on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:00 am

Looks like a pig

• muammarhafiz on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:29 am

to me its a nice design..lain dari yang lain!

I LIKE IT.as long as its a BMW hehehehehe..

• bmw9700 on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:28 pm

real ugly car…..mercedes has the handsome cls..

• TIULIAN_LEE on Aug 06, 2009 at 12:00 am

Better than proton.

• muammarhafiz on Aug 06, 2009 at 2:19 am

"Better than proton."

is this a joke?

LOL

• raybrig85 on Aug 06, 2009 at 3:10 am

JULIAN LEE's fav ugly car…

• bella italia on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Nice design lain dr lain?

ko buta ke ape? keta mcm space ship jer…design paling bodo continental car penah design….

yaks!!!!!

5 series owners can find other alternative now before this beast invade Malaysia….