Volkswagen launches a new 1.2 TSI engine for the Polo, Golf and Golf Plus

Volkswagen announced that a new 1.2 TSI powerplant is now available for the Polo, Golf and Golf Plus models. The engine is able to output 105 PS and 175Nm of torque that is achieved from as low as 1,500 rpm. As the term TSI suggests, the engine is fitted with a turbocharger and features direct injection.

The 1.2 TSI motivator is treated to an aluminium crankcase and a completely re-tuned direct injection system to help make the engine lighter and more fuel efficient. It also enables to the engine to achieve smooth power development and output lower emissions. The above mentioned features are also used in the 1.4 TSI, an engine that has been awarded the prestigious “Engine of the Year” award three years in a row since 2006.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Can get same performance at half of the cost – buy Satria Neo, support our local industries

• barca on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:37 pm

S9E said,

October 23, 2009 @ 12:45 pm

Can get same performance at half of the cost – buy Satria Neo, support our local industries

————————————————-

if the time comes when VW manufactures Polo/Golf/Golf Plus at Proton's Tanjung Malim plant, i'll support the 'local industries'

• Ultraman on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Got turbo diesel version?

Malaysia ada?

• Lightning McQueen on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:47 pm

S9E… ur right… If you want to buy cars same class that is not produce by P1 or P2 go ahead if available here better buy local one la… or else u buy those imported cars, at the end u never change the timing belt etc…

LOVE MAlaysian Product

• Littlefire on Oct 23, 2009 at 11:30 pm

LOL~!

'at the end u never change the timing belt etc…'

Hit P1 very hard on this… Even P2 new DVVT engine already going back timing chain..

Besides that, i can believe that without tax those VW Polo & Golf should be cheap also.. Maybe around RM60-80k..

http://fwd.five.tv/cars/supermini/volkswagen-polo

Cheapest Polo 8356 pound * 5.7 = RM47629.2, expensive 12,774 pound * 5.7 = RM72881.8…

U think our Proton Satria Neo can survive? Even now, i seldom saw a new one on the road…

• CiViC_7900 on Oct 23, 2009 at 11:36 pm

it's a matter of taste i suppose.i used to own a waja for 3 years.there was not much that was bad about the car.just those power windows.rather than that, proton cars-they're ok.

• mr_3m on Oct 23, 2009 at 11:56 pm

what is satria neo got to do with this VW 1.2TSI post? at half the cost? what cost are you people talking about? you are not talking about a SAME LEVEL playing field, are you???

Come on la… If u want to highlight the "strong" points of the Neo, ask Paul to create a separate topic for that laa…. Unless you people have test driven a Golf or Polo with a 1.2TSI engine and want to make comments on it then go ahead…. otherwise, keep your Proton post elsewhere, please…. and take your local industries with you too, out of here….

• mr_3m on Oct 23, 2009 at 11:58 pm

and don't even dare bring Campro into this topic… it's way out of league to be compared with TSI engine etc etc

• initial R on Oct 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

mr_3m said,

October 23, 2009 @ 3:58 pm

—————————————————————-

Not to compare but the selection you get for same size car body & engine displacement. Say like this, U have money on your own pocket (or bank loan) so U can choose :

1. Polo > Latio > Swift > Colt > Jazz > Savvy

2. Golf > Impreza > Civic > Lancer sportback (incoming) > Satria Neo

Ok or not. Price also diffrance. So you choose base on your suit..

• 308fans on Oct 24, 2009 at 3:01 am

mr_3m said,

October 23, 2009 @ 3:58 pm

—————————————————————-

Not to compare but the selection you get for same size car body & engine displacement. Say like this, U have money on your own pocket (or bank loan) so U can choose :

1. Polo > Latio > Swift > Colt > Jazz > Savvy

2. Golf > Impreza > Civic > Lancer sportback (incoming) > Satria Neo

Ok or not. Price also diffrance. So you choose base on your suit..

hello! u missed out the gorgeous PUG308~

• hmm, nama Proton naik lagi…

• S9E said,

October 23, 2009 @ 12:45 pm

"Can get same performance at half of the cost – buy Satria Neo,"

175Nm at 1500rpm ? What Satria Neo is that ?

• theanswer on Oct 24, 2009 at 4:59 am

hahaha funny when p1 'salesman' start open their mouth..nonsense statement!

• The greedy Torino should lower their Bravo's prices if they are serious to compete in the local auto industry

• Jabar on Oct 24, 2009 at 5:05 am

Satria Neo, way out of the league. Count back the maintenance cost, quality standard and safe standard, I would rather go for Japanese or European maker… Proton I can say build lousy car except for Gti & Perdana which I find it rather acceptable. Others are just too many plastic and poor design. Furthermore, thanks to the gov for protecting the industry, we are struggling to pay-off our car installment and car maintenance with our current salary.

• come on man, the TSI whoops the campro's ass anytime anyday, with one armed/piston tied behind its back.

TSI is truly a revolutionary engine, campro is your run of the mill 4 cyclinder.

• riswan on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:27 am

ahhh ooooiiiii….what laaa comparing vw and proton. both of brand not on the same leval.

vw was founded in 1937 and is 72 year ago.

proton is only was established in 1983 and 26 year ago.

plus more Volkswagen Group owns nine active automotive companies. (car)audi, bentley, Bugatti, seat, skoda, (truck) MAN, Scania etc lahh

how about proton ? so …still want compare proton with vw?

just keep in mind. who ever lucky and proudly drive imported supercar, you still got your own generation to cari makan here at bolehland. Maybe their not lucky as you and have to use "local industries" car for their entire life.

be wise laahhh…..

RR

• Littlefire on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:51 am

Still got someone comparing year… Is like a 72 year old man vs a 26 year young man… Who will win in the day?!?

If the young man is well educated, financially helped by pama but still fail, what that tell u?

• riswan on Oct 24, 2009 at 8:06 am

Littlefire said,

If the young man is well educated, financially helped by pama but still fail, what that tell u?

EXPERIENCE

lack of experience and b'coz still under pama arm.

why ?

if you're Malaysian, you should know why.

pama will let their son "fly" soon. just a matter of time.

all of us will see…. and witness the history.

• bobdbilder on Oct 24, 2009 at 9:23 am

Some people sendiri put head under stone ma…Orang lain dah tau…dia sorang sorok diri bawah tempurung.

Rumors lah;Management Buyback. Budget also stated already. Tunggu masa aje.

• Savvy's 1.2 renaulth engine has a turbo brother in a Clio.

• phas3r on Oct 25, 2009 at 9:27 pm

"Can get same performance at half of the cost – buy Satria Neo, support our local industries"

Dude, do you know perdana's 2.0 V6 engine has only 179Nm of torque? with this you get a potential award winning 1.2L turbo engine with 175Nm, comes at much lower in the rpm compared to the perdana even.

• ignas on Oct 25, 2009 at 11:21 pm

ppl treat it like kancil in china

• How about a Satria Neo CPS with turbo… 1.3 or 1.6 CPS turbo? Sure will be a very good hot hatch.

• Albert on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:37 am

Yo…

I'm from Singapore and loved proton. Used to own 2 the saga then wira. Was about to buy the gen2 but gave up after test driving. It's horribly underpowered. My wira 1.5 outperforms this anytime! Am now with a colt coz it's almost the same price here with a gen2! My malaysian mechanic told me if same price, would be stupid to go for proton again…

• Craig biggs on Jan 05, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Why are people still talking about damn protons? This is a vw link isn't it?

Anywho, I've got the golf 1.4tsi 170bhp and the engine is awesome. It's twincharged (supercharged and turbo-charged) hense the ts in tsi. Would I be right in saying the 1.2tsi is the same? If so what a bargain that will be. I pay low tax and insurance and this will be less, for a new driver this will be crackin. Not to mension a lot of fun.