Volkswagen Tiguan facelift revealed in China

Volkswagen’s Chinese division has launched the facelifted Tiguan at the Guangzhou Auto Show. However, this particular model is expected to be sold in the Chinese market only as Volkswagen’s head office in Germany did not reveal further details regarding this refreshed compact SUV. At the same, the European version should be revealed soon and we in Malaysia should be getting that particular version.

The European version should be treated to similar styling probably with some subtle changes. Looking at the new Tiguan that was revealed in China, you can notice a reworked front fascia that includes a new grille and a restyled front bumper. No changes are evident at the rear section. Changes on the interior include a new steering wheel and a redesigned climate control area. Work has been carried out on the instrument panel as well. The centre LCD screen looks a little different and two smaller gauges have been incorporated into the larger gauges. Look for more images after the jump.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• LAST!

• seliparjamban on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:27 am

whoaaaa~

• huiyoo on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:30 am

nice.

• Gajen on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:31 am

nice front

• vr32-like

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:06 am

made in china? then bad

• queen B on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:17 am

the head lamp is sooo like honda civic

• BrakeFader on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:18 am

Mazda 3 MPS, you're such a genius!

• mockviper (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 7:58 am

Its a good looking Tiguan. i like this new facelift.

………

Mazda 3 MPS said,

made in china? then bad

——>

did you know that Nanjing factory also makes Mazda 3?

then Mazda 3 is a bad car. ;)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:05 am

mockviper said,

November 24, 2009 @ 11:58 pm

Its a good looking Tiguan. i like this new facelift.

………

Mazda 3 MPS said,

made in china? then bad

——>

did you know that Nanjing factory also makes Mazda 3?

then Mazda 3 is a bad car. ;)

—————-

yes, made in china mazda 3…bad…

mazda 3 made in japan….good….lol

• petrol-head on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:39 am

hopefully VW reach an agreement with Proton then came up with Proton Harguana since Tiguan (tiger+iguana) which is where this name was form then all Msian can enjoy German technology

• the grille make the front look cleaner but also duller. the current one has more "flavour".

well, design is subjective.

• keluangman on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:03 am

Tiguan? Not interested since it's lacked the capability of running on RON 95. Next!!!

• If U’r Rich B on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:05 am

If you “have money“ to buy Tiguans and the like then stop whining if it cant use RON 95. I just don’t understand these bunch of so called filthy rich people. They like to show off they fcukin expensive car, but when it comes to paying taxes, parking fees or even fuel they’ll be the 1st to start complaining. I’m not surprise when they raised this issue in parliment recently, they even have the cheek to say their car engines get spoilt because of RON 95. Why the big fuss? Awwww… boo hoo… No money to buy expensive RON 97 is it? You bunch of stinkin freaks never cease to amuse me.

• Tiguan? Not interested since it’s lacked the capability of running on RON 95. Next!!!

Rom 95 is not good at all.. I don't bother using it…

• Ariff on Nov 25, 2009 at 2:09 pm

lolz~~Tiguan with ABT bodykits rocks my sock!!n i love the rear.kinda like Passat CC~~and the price for a Tiguan is reasonable too!only ppl can add few K's more to get a recond Toureg or Cayenne.

• shawal on Nov 25, 2009 at 2:24 pm

VW in europe its like toyotas in japan, bread-n-butter cars , its not a premium brand , slightly above vauxhall/opel …. too bad our tax is wayy to high for european cars…..

• faster JV.. then we can have proton-vw tiguan… RM135K :P

• mitlanevo on Nov 25, 2009 at 4:14 pm

Tu Guan = tu kua = pig liver, LMAO~

• Gooddaymate! on Nov 25, 2009 at 7:52 pm

Here in OZ, tiguan much cheaper than nissan xtrail diesel, how much does it cost in our bolehland?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:33 pm

tiguan sounds like a drug…like marijuana in tijuana

• ??po ton on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:55 am

Some malays are funny! Do you have a problem with a model dedicated to mainland market with a Chinese name? It amazes me some of you sneered at its name with Malay pronunciation! Okey, Proton, in Mandarin, sounds like Po Tong that means "broken bucket", see that?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 6:34 pm

??po ton said,

November 25, 2009 @ 11:55 pm

Some malays are funny! Do you have a problem with a model dedicated to mainland market with a Chinese name? It amazes me some of you sneered at its name with Malay pronunciation! Okey, Proton, in Mandarin, sounds like Po Tong that means “broken bucket”, see that?

—————

this is why italian names are the best