Delhi 2010: VW launches Indian made Polo, Race Polo

Volkswagen has launched its made-in-India Polo at the Auto Expo 2010 in Delhi. The latest generation supermini is produced at VW’s Chakan plant, which has a 110,000 unit annual capacity. Europe’s largest carmaker also previewed the Race Polo for the Volkswagen Polo Cup, a one-make race scheduled to start in India by June.

The road going Polo, which will go on sale in March, is available in two 75 bhp 1.2-litre engines. The petrol version at has 110 Nm of torque while the TDI diesel version comes with 180 Nm of twist produced at 2000 rpm. Both are paired with a five-speed manual gearbox; no DSG for the Indian Polo.

Three trim levels are available (Trendline, Comfortline, Highline) with dual airbags and ABS standard across the board. VW highlights body coloured bumpers, green tinted heat absorbing glass and a galvanized body with six years anti-corrosion waranty as significant features for India.

The Race Polo meanwhile comes with a 1.6-litre TDI engine with 130 bhp and 250 Nm mated to a six-speed manual. The track ready car is equipped with Sachs adjustable suspension, uprated exhaust and brakes, 17-inch wheels wrapped with slick tyres, FIA approved roll cage, HANS-ready six-point harness, data logger and fire extiguisher. Yummy!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• initial R on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:51 am

erkk… I want 1 of this….

• hope to see in wrc…

• hrishi on Jan 07, 2010 at 2:06 am

wow POLO racer car is will be a passion for youth now!

• littlefire on Jan 07, 2010 at 2:29 am

Wah.. The Race Polo really smells yummy…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 07, 2010 at 2:57 am

hey…..this actually looks exactly like the polo. i thought they were going to make some cheap ripoff. good job volkswagen =)

• klaka seram on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:01 am

we in m'sia can only dream Race Polo. Even the basic Polo will cost a bomb

TQ G, we luv U

• alldisc on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:22 am

one make race series? brilliant!!

• loveyourdidi on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:41 am

now everybody want to venture in India..even to the extend of building the car there..

russell peters must be very proud now eh heheheh

• A 1.6 TDI engine with 130hp? 81.25hp per liter?

Not too bad for a Diesel…

A Ferrari 456M has 5.5liter and 442hp: 80.36hp per liter

But the Ferrari runs on petrol…;)

• theanswer on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:14 am

vw polo gti is always been one of my fav car.

• Neo.S on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:50 am

i hope to see this in 1500Max Asia Touring together with Neo, Vios, Swift, ……………………etc

• The Loner on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:01 am

If you SMELLLL what VW is cooking.

Turbo diesel engines becomes sporty. Hopefully it'll arrive here, PROVIDED our diesel has been "cleansified" to meet high standard environmental requirement as in European countries or our neighbor, Singapore.

• subhero on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:46 am

why indian launch so many2 car?..

pelik nye

• Gajen on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:37 am

race polo is awesome….better than neo cps…cps's interior is a huge let down…

• geram on Jan 07, 2010 at 7:24 am

Wasted opportunities when VW approached us.

If not we'll all get to drive a VW too.

• It could have been a local made polo GTI …but because of ………

• mouse on Jan 07, 2010 at 9:56 am

yeah, that P is too kiasu and thought the're one of the best..

• firdausasri on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:52 pm

They should have waited for newly anticipated 1.4 TSI Polo GTI and work the Cup version from there. 280bhp out of 1.4 is already done and proven :)

To say that excessive torque from turbo diesel can overcome lacked of rpm is so premature.

• arch808 on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:03 pm

dare to dream my fren. and along the way surely there'll be element of discouragement and pessimists such as (few and not all) Paultan forummers.

• ahhh i envy those lucky indians. damn it Big Bro.

• Ottoman on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Walla walla..

Nice view

Go Polo Go :-)

• (yaaa i know some ppl will say kalau u tak suka ini negara, u boleh pindah sana)

• Mufasa on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:33 pm

any body could provide info about our diesel car cost recently? (road tax+fuel charge) i not clear about that…should malaysian passanger car move to diesel engine?

• arch808 on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:50 pm

yaaa, I aso know some ppl who hates their countries, decided to switch nationality (and in the process have to foregone their former nationality). now they're regretting their decision and stuck in between…. wakakaka.

all just bcoz they dont have enuff money to buy felali, and blame something else for their incompetency and stuck with the so-called "run-down" car.

• nighttrain on Jan 07, 2010 at 7:32 pm

They could assemble GTi in India and sell in SEA markets at marked down prices. Reckon sale should be good…

• Welcome Polo.

Goodbye Proton

• Peter on Jan 07, 2010 at 8:57 pm

This car will be quite expensive even if it is made in india…..

• Peter,

from what I know, this car costs only RM45k. Good huh?

• klaka seram on Jan 07, 2010 at 10:33 pm

GW, the RM45k price is before tax. After u add all the taxes it will be over RM100k. TQ G. we luv U

• mouse on Jan 07, 2010 at 11:52 pm

i say it will price some where around 90-100k. mk6 gti is at 215k.. and rocco at 249k.. head to head with jazz. but i still like vw

• No, what I meant to say was it is RM45k in India, not Malaysia. Forget Malaysian pricing, it is designed to kill the industry.

• Hello, No body giving details of Mileage per lt of Petrol/ Diesel for Polo ?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:43 am

india is great place