Volkswagen New Compact Coupe live at Detroit

Day 2 of the Detroit Motorshow was certainly more interesting than the first day, as alot of the world premieres that were held on the first day are now in the hall. Cars like this Volkswagen New Compact Coupe concept were only revealed in private halls on Day 1, so they could only move it to the main hall where everyone is on the second day.

So here we are, live photos of the new “Jetta Coupe” which most probably also previews what the 4-door new Jetta will look like. The coupe is gorgeous, though in real life I feel it would probably look nicer if the roofline were a little lower.

The Hybrid badging on the front grille refers to its combination of a 1.4-litre TSI engine with 148 bhp and 220 Nm and a 27 bhp electric motor VW calls E-motor. The motor is sandwiched between the TSI engine and a 7-speed dual clutch transmission, and everything goes to the front wheels. Interestingly, the car has a “coast mode” where only the motor powers the car during situations like low RPM highway cruising.

Enjoy the live photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=755]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• leonhart on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:13 pm

first…superb gorgeous…..loving it

• The rear is so Audi!! No?

• Nice

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:44 pm

i dunno, but the behind looks too much like the A4. I know they're sister company and all, but c'mon!

Otherwise, its gorgeous and hump-worthy.

• mystvearn on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Looks more like a refurbished model of the audi A5

• mohd hafizzul on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:45 pm

wow…nice 2

• fazzy on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:47 pm

i want one!!!

• linear_system on Jan 13, 2010 at 3:54 pm

looks like production ready..maybe will be in amrket next year..luv it..good luck VW.

• droll on Jan 13, 2010 at 4:02 pm

it's only a concept?!?! daaaaaaammmmmn…..vw has got a lot going on in wolfsburg!

• good job..

• Mohd Nazri on Jan 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm

this is so going to be one evil car

• marsaila on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:35 pm

exterior damn cun.. interior damn ugly!

• VAG group is d leader now in automotive industry….

thks for Audi for it R&D in technology while great mktg startegy from VW.

PORSCHE/SEAT/SKODA will benefits a lot ……

maybe in future, they will incorporate some features from Lambor/Bentley into day to day cars…..

• sicilian_defense on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:22 pm

wow if its a concept its an embarrassment.. I mean this is just so so audi man.

• Five variants are av on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:21 pm

simple n nice… clean cut~!

• audi + bmw + honda…BTW really super WOW!

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:03 pm

YES! give me one of this~ Neat n clean cut line~ looks damn nice~

• bored.de on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:06 pm

like BMW, VW group also ran out of idea in designing exterior. maybe after this, this shape will have SEAT & Skoda emblem on it

• perkasa on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:54 pm

white interior? hmmm..not suitable 4 me

• wan_knox on Jan 13, 2010 at 11:04 pm

I really hate the beetle.. I dun know why.. but when it comes to another model such as Golf Gti, I feel like to withdraw my saving just for the downpayment.

Superb VW!!

• Aryan Deus on Jan 13, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Haha! Audi A5 re-badged as VW Golf Coupe

• Andrew on Jan 14, 2010 at 12:17 am

Hmmm…. the more I look at it… the more I like it… And when the hell is VW going to bring in the 1.4 TSI to our shores??

• VGM did bring in some Jetta & Touran 1.4 TSI but tak laku here. I’ve test driven it but way beyond my budget….sigh!

• Shiny Morning on Jan 14, 2010 at 12:34 am

yerp.. this is really nice.. nice car!, watch out merc n bmw!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 14, 2010 at 12:57 am

fantastic piece of design

• So audi, rear looks 99% A4

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 14, 2010 at 1:01 am

WOOW, DELICIOUS YUMMY YUMMY, DELICIOUSLY YUMMY, YUMMMY DELICIOUS

• jolly_idiot on Jan 14, 2010 at 1:34 am

If they make this a 4 door sedan. I bet it'll sell like hot cakes.

• very audi-ish…

• mirror mirror on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:00 am

Lovely.

• the front nose almost the same on all their model nowadays.

• FIXER (Member) on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:01 am

I thought i was looking at the A8 pics.Until i saw the 2doors.The rear three quarter looks almost identical.WTH!

• Abzaja on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:29 am

cool…but interior color should be darker IMO

• LotusLover on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:34 am

cool!!! i love it!

• c14man on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:02 am

very nice and clean look… seems to suit all occasions from business to party. =)

and ya, agree with Abzaja, interior should be of darker tone.

clean and simple interior, VW as always. =)

wonder how much it will be for the production model…

• c14man on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:05 am

by the way, everything look so production ready…

if not mistaken, any cars that are showcasted 6 months before production can be considered as concept car.

one example is BMW X1. when it was showed, it look so production ready, and the production car is hardly any different from the concept car.

• luanpa on Jan 14, 2010 at 10:18 pm

It is a nice car, and look nice too

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 15, 2010 at 3:30 am

jolly_idiot said,

January 13, 2010 @ 5:34 pm

If they make this a 4 door sedan. I bet it’ll sell like hot cakes.

————————–

i think this is going to be the jetta