BMW 135i: new engine and 7-speed DCT

The BMW 135i Coupe and Cabriolet will be updated with the new N55 single turbo engine for models produced this year. It loses one turbo (though the specs sheet indicate similiar performance with power and torque) but gains a transmission gear – the 6-speed auto has been replaced by the non-M version of the 7-speed DCT twin clutch transmission that found its way into the 335i earlier.

With these changes, the combined fuel consumption figure for the Coupe drops to 8.5 litres per 100km which BMW says is nearly 1 litre less than the model equipped with the twin turbo engine and the regular automatic gearbox. If you want to learn more about the new N55 engine, check out our previous post!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• no matter what improvements(engine,transmission,etc)..we average rakyat still unable to buy..

• how bout turbo lag?

twin clutch is cool

• winteringtourer on Jan 22, 2010 at 2:26 am

i tot BMW dun like to turbo their cars?? cerita lama or wat ?

• Andrew on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:13 am

Actually, they changed their mind back in 2007 – where have you been?

:)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:41 am

fry said,

January 21, 2010 @ 5:26 pm

how bout turbo lag?

twin clutch is cool

—————–

vroom vroomm no more lag

• Ferruccio on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Hardly any noticeable lag these days in modern cars

• Bismark on Jan 22, 2010 at 7:17 pm

big improvement on FC and less CO2 emission.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Ferruccio said,

January 22, 2010 @ 10:55 am

Hardly any noticeable lag these days in modern cars

———————-

lol actually i sometimes wish there were lag, like that more thrilling when the turbo kicks in.

• winteringtourer on Jan 23, 2010 at 12:32 am

hmm… ya shall i say, deflated ideals??

• I wonder how reliable is this engine????

• @winteringtourer

BMW had to make the switch to survive… BMW can now meet the stricter emissions standards and not sacrifice (actually improve) power and fuel efficiency with a lighter smaller displacement engine.

The turbocharged inline-6 has similar power and more torque than BMW's old heavier and thirstier 4.0 liter V8.

By the way, before the recent turbo BMW models, they already had 2 production Turbo cars before, the 1973-74 BMW 2002 Turbo (turbocharged 2.0 liter inline-4) and the 1979-86 BMW 745i (turbocharged 3.2 liter inline-6).

• Ferruccio on Jan 23, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Turbo(forced induction) with smallerr cc is the way forward in order to meet future EU regs for emissions and fuel consumption targets while still giving power. Merc, Audi, BMW all are headed that way