BMW M Bike: Don’t worry, I’m still rear-wheel drive!

We’ve posted about smaller BMWs going front-wheel drive, but here’s a small BMW that keeps it true – it’s by the M division, lightweight and rear driven! This limited edition BMW M Bike features disc brakes, a cool matt anthracite frame, leather saddle and stylish rims and handles. There are M badges too, of course.

BMW says that with the M Bike you’ll “attract a lot of attention – at least for a few seconds” as “the high total gear ratio transmission delivers astonishing speed” – they’re talking about the light and robust Shimano SLX gear system there. No turbos here, speed depends on your legpower, but at least you’ll be seated well on the fi’zi:k saddle (with red inlay) designed for comfort and superior grip. Other notable components include the Manitou Match suspension fork with 80 mm spring deflection. The M Bike weighs 12.9 kg.

It is available in June online at www.bmw-shop.com, which also sells a full M Collection for you to look like a riding advertisement. Profits go to making real M cars. Larger image after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=979]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tis cud b expensive to own too…..

• Leonardo on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:44 pm

I have seen such bicycles from established manufacturers such as BMW, Audi, Merc, Alfa, etc, as and extension of their branding at motor shows overseas. But the price is not cheap – easily RM20-30K, partly due to the forex and the exclusivity of such bikes.

BTW, i like the mechanical look of this bike – it means business.

• w_lighter (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Can i have this lowered suspension? Hahaha….

• King Samurai on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

What happened to Proton's bike?

• someone on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:53 pm

this is cool!

• Raymond on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:56 pm

SLX? They could at least throw in XTR sets

You can get SLX parts on any sub 1.5k mountain bikes nowadays

• wochomi on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:03 pm

M3? What is this? Here's a list of things gone wrong with this bicycle:

1) No LED BreakLight

2) No rear adsorber so sakit punggung

3) No angeleye headlamp, salah dari sis undang-undang

4) No pre-tensioner butt-belt

5) No BMW kidney-grill

6)…. you guys add lah… hehe

• Mysticmind on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:04 pm

demn funny danny. hahaha

• surot on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:14 pm

King Samurai said,

March 19, 2010 @ 9:46 am

What happened to Proton’s bike?

—————————-

The bike sales dwindled, and I believe the production ceased. This is due to better bikes brands in the market with cheaper price, etc.

• Alpha on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

well,the only nice bike i've seen sold in msia is the MINI bike~

• niamafufu on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:18 pm

how much is the break horse power? gt traction control o not?

• pulge on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Get this and tell everyone in your neighboorhood "I own a BMW".. hahah

• SLX? why not XTR..

• moha774 on Mar 19, 2010 at 6:55 pm

this one looks like a MTB, with road tyres or a Hybrid

• frossonice (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 7:14 pm

I'm with Raymond here. And at 12.9kg, it is heavier than some of the more affordable brands.

• g-spot on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:05 pm

better go for cannondale.

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:10 pm

What ever it is, thats one awesome looking bike!

• 12.9kg for a hardtail!!?..man, plain too heavy, u can get a full susp 5 inch all mountainbike for that weight, plus very low end kits

They can fools those none bikers….

• rexis on Mar 19, 2010 at 9:06 pm

cum'on

Its just a bicycle. Just get a lerun.

• bLo0d on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:05 am

when is the BMW M-ToiletBowl is coming out?? i'm waiting for it here~ come on BMW!!!

• FINALLY !

A BMW M series that I can afford! w000t!!!!!!!!

• vroomvroom on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:40 am

better buy a motobike with that money

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:49 am

Its got a bmw badge on it, so maybe it cost RM5k?

• nighttrain on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:34 am

do I thate in my Giant Yukon for this one?

• Rulered on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:40 am

I cycle a bit, so I'm a bit compelled to tell you that my bike is only 12.2kgs, and it's not even high end brand. You wanna get serious about bikes, then see what those guys use in the international championships (depends on either roadbike or mtb). The BMW bike above is no where near them, so just a suggestion, just stick to building cars.

• nighttrain on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:52 am

trade in, I mean.. My phone, nuts.

• bobdbilder on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:48 am

Ferrari had a Pinarello MTB. So this could be a Cube or Corratec? Hard to top Pinarello dudes. Question would be; is it Carbon on Titanium? Oh, on a bike, when you want to go fast, you won't be sitting. And if its only got 44T on the big Chainring, its not going to go fast. Form over functio eh? Sounds like an X6 to me.

• i own a chevrolet bike, nothing special about it leh, got it at a 2nd hand store somemore.

• Machi on Mar 20, 2010 at 9:32 am

My 10.7kg Merida bike will smoke this M alive!! hehehe

• the fighter on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:17 pm

moha774 said,

March 19, 2010 @ 10:55 am

this one looks like a MTB, with road tyres or a Hybrid

its hybrid bike, certainly for fitness training or evening ride…

…and person who buy this bcoz of its BMW, not for performance…

so it doesn't matter the how the price tag is..

• rexis said,

March 19, 2010 @ 1:06 pm

cum’on

Its just a bicycle. Just get a lerun.

——————————————————————

Some ppl take their cycling seriously….anyway, BMW should just stick to moto & cars, serious roadie will go for those bianchi..etc while MTbiker will go for santa cuz/intense..etc

• megamoe on Mar 23, 2010 at 4:36 am

just less 0.5kg fr my Jamis MTB. must be kidding a sane MTBiker will buy it.

• BM.. X on Mar 23, 2010 at 10:19 pm

i do own a Proton MTB and with an Shimano Alivio specs, its about 14.0kg at RM1600. much more cheaper no?

• this kind of bikes will be bought by people who’s money came from “not working” source which means don’t know wat to do with the money or even illegally.

• what a joke