Proton Emas Concept and 25th Anniversary Edition Cars unveiling at gala dinner last night

Here’s a video we recorded from last night’s dinner, where the Proton Emas concept was shown in Malaysia to the public for the first time, along with the trio of 25th Anniversary Edition cars. This particular Emas was done up in a blue paintjob, and I think this is the first time we’ve been able to see the Emas headlamps light up in an actual video. Also, look at the gallery after the jump for more shots of the blue Emas concept at the dinner hall.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1308]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• do you have the anniversary video?

• takin on Jul 10, 2010 at 4:59 pm

stunning by proton!!!
    proud to be malaysian :)

• Cucukman on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:09 pm

PM pun nak try sangat-sangat sampai nak duduk di seat belakang :P

• Joshua on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:37 pm

I would not trust a car when they cant even get their BASIC right. Look at the Chairs!

• Siewperman on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:08 am

Err what do you mean by look at the chairs?

• other car maker do it worst for concept car

• malaysia memang boleh on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm

The car shown is only a concept,not production model,so we can wait in few years time for the production model,maybe around 2012.By around the end of 2011,maybe we can see many test unit of the Emas cruising on the road.

• udasalleh on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Its a wonderful practical town car… then again city ‘terrain’ (read potholes and uneven roads) n flooding makes me wait for Proton’s suv / crossover. Fingers crossed.

• PakAbu on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:40 am

Me too!
      I hope the rumored suv will look sumthin’ like this Emas thing.
      And hopefully priced cheap n cheerful too.

• fasgen on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:58 pm

sgt dinanti-nantikan. harap harganya nanti adalah murah. kalu 35k pun dah ok. kalau rendah lagi lagi ok sebab tak guna minyak. bentuk dang sagt cantik dan advance… hmmm … harap harganya tak sampai ratus ribu.

• 2012…seem too late..might get outdated

• Knoxx on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Disagree with u.. in Malaysia the 2012 still ok (not outdated).. coz currently people still focus diesel car in malaysia coz of the affordable price.. but for long term planning people should get hybrid..

or maybe u are not malaysian.. ????

• qozh moreno on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:29 pm

its normal for prototype to take few years b4 it can hit production… all new cars r production are being done in that way for all maker….

• other car maker do it much more later than 2012

• The_King on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Wow ! That Emas front lamp more ‘roarrrr!’ than an audi. Paul, give us more detail for persona and saga 24th Anniversary.

• mfahd on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:42 pm

dislike the rims
    the original one looks better

• frossonice on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:59 pm

By the looks of it, EMAS is definitely going to be mass produce soon and I do think it is a great replacement to Savvy as Proton’s city car. Proton need not to sell it here as a hybrid only. They can put a decent petrol or even diesel engine to reduce the cost. I have doubt whether that LED headlights will make it as final product but it is surely gorgeous to look. But the the taillights, man.. damn cool.

• i think our Dr.M will get this 1..Najib 1..Nazmi will get 1 too..hehe..

• ha..dato syed also get 1..

• altimate on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:17 pm

very nice effort.. looks fantastic.. i really like the idea of built in tail lamp.. thats what we call futuristic design..

thumbs up proton !!.. you deserve it

hope most of it will be reflected in the actual production version

• guys..i love that EMAS..i swear..i badly love that car..wakawakaeheh

• fauzi on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:23 pm

thanks to VW own company ,Italdesign Giugiaro S.p.A

• animous on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:21 pm

why should we thanks to themm??? we pay for it. we build it. they are designer, we the one who build it.

• qozh moreno on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:26 pm

agreed…. no need to thank them….

• ShaSha on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:54 am

No Need to thanks them, but we are using Lotus Engine, wasnt Proton’s…. hmm… may be Proton should launch a young designer among Malaysians, i mean, people who dare to comes up with stunning design, then work out with Professional Malaysian Engineer to build up One Totally Malaysian Car, then i will be proud… this one proud also, but still Italian…

• frossonice on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:26 am

Exactly why we should thanks VW? EMAS was develop well before VW bought Italdesign. And there is risk with VW might copy some ideas from EMAS for their own gain.

• fauzi on Jul 11, 2010 at 7:54 am

this from what i think, by taking design from italdesign maybe it can change some malaysian people perception about our proton design and maybe can go for global market by putting ‘design by italdesingn’ batch . if this car mention by proton was design by them sure kena kutuk habis. this also have been done by hyundai on their matrix

• VW can’t just copy like that.. there is international law on everything… this not china…

• who cares/

• 112bz on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:05 pm

ha ha ..Adibah Noor is so funny. LOL.

• dickybird on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm

with so many hypermarts opening in the klang valley, do we really need a shopping cart with potentially toxic batteries running around? and what happened to govt policy about encouraging biofuel usage now that p’jaya is going to buy hybrids for usage trials? and if as the ceo so proudly boasts that they will compete in the foreign car markets by exporting protons, when are they going to be ready to compete in their home market? i say, govt should no longer discount the excise duty on protons since they are short of money.

• frossonice on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:32 am

Potentially toxic batteries? Hybrid like Prius and Civic Hybrid is not green then? Or only Proton? Putrajaya FYI are using CNG Buses for public transportation and you could not for public to buy hybrids of electric cars to be use in Putrajaya as it is not cheap to own one. Anyway, what all this got to do with Proton EMAS?

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:54 am

hello? do u even know what an EMAS is?

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:27 am

batteries unless they are made of your farts are toxic, just that in those advanced countries where the prius is sold there are mechanisms in place to recycle them. here? we just burn them to get to the precious lead inside.
        who said, p’jaya is using them for public transit? it is just the govt is gonna get to use the emas only bought with your tax money. kata tiada duit tapi boleh beli kereta potong?!

• Tommy on Jul 11, 2010 at 5:06 am

yah dude..what the hell proton gotta do with putrajaya and stuff dude? have you read the news? the foreign country would like to have Proton EMAS. WTF? typical proton basher. what does duty excise got to do with this car? short of money? he makes no sense la this guy.. NadiPutra putrajaya public bus, runs on CNG it costs RM0.50 per ride to everywhere around putrajaya. hahahaha… hahha

• PakAbu on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:43 am

I rather have the gov discount all cars.

• Neutral on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Nice! Kami doakan Emas dapat disiapkan dan dijual untuk rakyat Malaysia dengan berkualiti dan harga berpatutan :)

• Chinta Sifu Sabreena on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Kenderaan elektrik di Putrajaya – Peter
    10/07/2010 4:11pm

MIRI – Satu projek perintis berkaitan penggunaan kenderaan elektrik (EV) akan dilaksanakan di Putrajaya tidak lama lagi, kata Menteri Menteri Tenaga, Teknologi Hijau dan Air, Datuk Seri Peter Chin.

-congratulation Proton :)

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Can price it around 80k, vs Vios.

• Audi stail lah…………..Audi still teh best..World First Inventer…..!
    Thank VW Group…..Proton Love it…….!

• RiddDurchTechnik on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Audi stail lah…………..Audi still teh best..World Premium Inventer…..!

• RiddDurchTechnik on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Audi stail lah…………..Audi still the best..World Premium Inventer…..!

• Tommy on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Why does it takes too long to be on sale? haih… love it!

• this is what i call real engineers…not like some other company which hire “gaji buta” engineers to “design” so called limited edition models

• zul135 on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:48 pm

pm me best price.. “-)

• Kill Perodua sales for sure….

• P1 just have to offer it with an affordable price…. just put in a 1.1~1.5 engine enough & price less than Rm40k? ^.^

• Siewperman on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:13 am

This car does nt use the gasoline engine to move around.. Pure electric motors. Engine is only to repower batteries once batteries are running low. So there is no worry about what the displacement is, coz even if u have a 1.5, it’s not going to power the drivetrain.

• Emas, i’ll surely wait for you..until 2012 fuel price gonna be like volcano..

• law won ho on Jul 11, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Lithium battery not toxic lah!. It can be recycled >90% by content. Emas is a series hybrid. Expect to be more expensive than your regular car but should be cheaper than Toyota Prius. Hope that will give tax incentive to Proton or rebate to Emas buyer.

The Lotus engine-electric generator generate 15kw at 1500RPM and 35kw at 3500RPM. This looks good to enough for Emas which is primary a urban vehicle.
      If daily traveling range is not more than 40km then charging the battery at home should able to bring running cost down. If the car need to ply 50 to 70km daily then some sort of soft ware would be needed for the car to recognize the route it is plying , and perhaps the way it is being driven, and come up with best effective charging mode.

Example: The cars recognize it is on its normal travel route that requires 20 to 23kw/hr of energy expenditure. It then run the gasoline engine at 1500RPM most of the time thus allow battery to deplete gradually . Minimizing heavy charging mode would extend battery life. Basically to get home with about 25% remaining charge for cheaper home charging.

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:32 pm

lithium batteries recycled in a 1st world country yes but we are not 1 yet so dream on. anyways, that is if we get lithium batteries before proton decides to cut costs and give us nickel metal hydride ones. charging the battery with what i wonder when you stay in an apartment or condo where you have to park outside the covered parking? petrol i hear you say, wow isnt that going to be expensive!?!

• borres on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:20 am

considering how tall Najib is, this car is anonymously spacious. Surely all the European size people can dig in it. No more petrol, or less of it. sweet.

• brossprocps on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:43 am

• sedusaX4 on Jul 11, 2010 at 1:35 am

I can’t help but to notice that the 25th Anniversary Edition Proton Saga BLM actually has 4 power windows switch on the driver door console and has dual airbags……….. thats like a special model, what other stuff do they have?

• Katak on Jul 11, 2010 at 1:39 am

Just remember the quality of the Gen 2 & u be very worry about mountain of issue that one gonna face when Proton start selling it.
    I hope you’re can still keep the smile on your face….Anyway, this concept look out of place for Malaysian road. Imagine dressing up like Ultraman for a kampung wedding dinner!

• there are people who lazy to read, then talking trash.. VW bought italdesign after italdesign designing the car.. building the car might take 2 year.. that mean this design maybe was made-up 2 years ago.. doesnt matter lah, but for sure, this design never have any to do with VW.. we have to worried that VW will use this design and make it better that EMAS.. then they’ll say Emas was made inspired by their model..
    what proton doing now is not only for Malaysian, but globally.. forget the petrol engines, we have to use alternative resources.. Proton is building it one, give support lah..!! this is tipical malaysian who never support our own product.. if you think malaysia s**k, give back your IC, then go anywhere you like.. stupid..
    BTW, this car definitely will cost around 100k.. but for sure, it will be worth..

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:52 pm

laughable to equate proton with malaysia, either you are that narrow minded or just plain uneducated. and if malaysia was like proton, we would have been a failed state long ago.
      proton sucks and has been sucking the lifeblood out of malaysians for far too long. if she is ready to export to foreign markets as her ceo proudly boasts then let the hard-up govt of malaysia do away with the discount on excise duty that proton receives so she can competes fairly and squarely in her home market.

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:01 pm

if your narrow mind cannot accept a diverse opinions on proton, why dont you just move to proton city in tg malim and never turn on the internet again.

• Salamander on Jul 11, 2010 at 3:15 am

The Rear light damn nice la wei

• danoneism on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:16 am

hurm… i thought perodua and proton had some sort of aggremment which perodua will do compact cars and proton more on full-size car????

• ema=gold=expensive.

• azrai on Jul 11, 2010 at 7:04 am

Perodua should replace its aging Myvi it seem to be now.

• cepat lah kuarkan model nih,,, adoijgn lengah lengah.. kang ade lak yang rebadge org nye taruk logo die hahaha… price kalau leh munasabah sikit tak pun ikut spec, pengguna nak pun ok gak… u buy what u pay hahahaa…

• Barkcrack on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:39 am

Sigh, this car will shattered to pieces if crash to lori. Better buy Toyota, more safety car

• nv respect on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:09 am

from the video, we could see our _ _ nv show respect to his mentor.. come on, respect our mentor always. always let the mentor move first then only masuk car la..u think u siepa?

• Izhar on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:26 am

maybe i can replace my iswara with this car….hehehe…agak2 u all how much???

• bawksy on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

The color blue does not suit this car. It looks better in the earlier pictures where the color is something like grey/silver.

• Love those rims!!!

• henryee on Jul 11, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Huh, Perodua can produce sedan already, coz Proton limits its competitor (Perodua) from producing a sedan~
    Come on Perodua, we want ur sedan!!!

• Malaysians will surely buy the car at a much higher price than the export and selling price in ohter foreign countries. Proud that Proton cares them more than own Malaysians. That’s fact.

• nostradamus on Jul 11, 2010 at 7:01 pm

N.A.T.O !!!
    LED lights is everywhere now…. even old Wira and Saga driving around town
    with LED everywhere. From bumper to number plates….
    Abang shop plenty-lah same like the AV system and leather seat
    at Abang shop Melambak-lah !!

• Here comes the p2 killer…..

• A masterpiece. Speechless.
    Good job proton.
    Just don’t make it too late into the market.
    The auto-world is changing fast.

• Goniothalamus on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:22 pm

Hey, very bad spokewomen.. hate to hear it.
    however, EMAS is cool, as like as we want. 2012 is still fresh for this energetic design.

cant wait to know the detail of saga and persona limited. this what we called limited, not the ‘pink’ V one…

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Perhaps Najib will get the export version after the next election…

• elite on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:23 am

can’t even produce a good conventional car….now want to showcase an eco car….
    hire foreigners to design for you…and business as usual coz u have price advantage…

• Prince Caspian on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:18 am

I’m totally PROUD to BE MALAYSIAN… MALAYSIA BOLEH.. :)

• Civic EK on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

Good jOb proton! :D

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Congratulations P1.

Salam..

• Freaky555 on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Jangan terlalu gelojoh..nak beli je bila tengok video. Itu prototype bro..mass production bukan gaya macamtu. All back to basic. small and standard rims.. colour as well. This for showroom, sure they use good colour and polished them up sampai nak giler..Harga jangan harap murah lah beb..kalau betul pakai battery…battry tak popular di malaysia..berapa lama boleh dicas semula dan dimana??Petronas koisk??satu hari battery akan kong!! beli baru..nak beli kat mana tu..Proton service?? berapa harga???bukan sesenang macam bateri motor kapcai yang boleh beli kat kedai apek repair motor.Sure berani potong kuku the reall one is not like this video..

• dickybird on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:57 pm

sokong! tapi masih ada yang daydreaming dan ignorant. sigh!

• Facts:
    1. There are still a lots of our people who can’t accept modernization.
    2. Said that 2012 will be outdated for production. (Back to the future II: 2015 where you can see flying cars)
    3. Too many negative ions in their brain.
    4. Bash 1st, read never.
    5. Bently Phantom with Tata Nano pricetag..

You can see all of these categories of comments whenever Paul write something about our local cars or our admit-local-cars..

• miss u TUM DR M

• dickybird on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:14 am

in the land of lobotomized peoples (read brainless for all those of you whose engrand not so powderful) the senile tun is king, nay God! ptui!

• bujang sarawak on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:10 am

wauuuu….best lah proton boleh…i realy proud with proton….i like it……orang yang selalu kutuk proton better u bikin sendiri kereta oh….