Freak Civic: Honda dreams to be two separate Toyotas!

Making a car look like something else is something. Making it look like TWO other cars is truly rare. This Thai Honda Civic spotted at a PTT petrol station mimics the Lexus IS at the rear but takes on a Toyota Crown Athlete persona from the front. This freak is actually quite convincing, and there aren’t many hints of the car’s roots if you don’t see it in profile, where the Civic’s curved roof betrays it.

The owner is obviously a big fan of VIP-style tuning, with Junction Produce badges (in gold, no less!) adorning his Lexus rear, big shiny wheels and slammed suspension. Perhaps the sight of this “challenge” might inspire some to cut and paste some freaks in our own backyard!

More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1404]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• aiyo.rendah sungguh kereta ini.confirm sangkut kalau lalu jalan ade bump.haha

• heman on Aug 13, 2010 at 5:17 pm

shows dat one can do things in other places :-)

• Rhys Millen on Aug 13, 2010 at 8:13 pm

In Malaysia there is one vehicle that is a outta which has been converted to look like a R34 GTR but nothing like this.

• danoneism on Aug 14, 2010 at 1:48 am

air-suspension la bro… normal la for VIP mod cars….

• ilikeit on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:40 am

good workmanship…maybe should do something to the door….not so fit haha…

• BaLesta_RX on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:43 am

1st!!! haha..
    damn.. wt a black beauty this is..
    i call it.. “Black Diamond”.. XD

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:43 am

oh my… *puke* what did the civic do to deserve this monstrosity? ='(

• Saw this in the BKK international motorshow :D

• It looks like a piece of sh*t

• albag on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:52 am

coollll… kereta potong is nais!

• Salamander on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:56 am

Ah Beng car… look terrible

• I wonder how he does it. How about Merc & Bimmer potong join ^^

• mitlanevo on Aug 13, 2010 at 12:22 pm

omg, speechless…

the owner very brave and extreme, haha….

• motorist on Aug 13, 2010 at 12:44 pm

Sawaskee-krup.

Taste is a matter of personal preference & this mod is certainly not mine.

However. the finishing is very well done. Not many ppl know this but the workmanship in Thailand is very good.

• i suppose there is nothing wrong with splicing the genes of cars and get yourself a different car. you have cross dressers, transsexuals, you name it in thailand so this kind of car modification is expected.

if i have the resources, i’ll definitely cut and paste 2 of my all time favorite cars:

TIARA + JUARA = ???

theophilus chin, need your help! hahhhahhaa!!!

• DonkeyKong on Aug 13, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Now I feel like getting an old Kia Optima / Hyundai Sonata and tack on a 3-series coupe front and a new C-class rear or some other odd-job nonsense like that..

• pomen_gtr on Aug 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm

but remember u got ahbang puhlis and ahbung ja-pi-jay smilling wide at u…

• bystander on Aug 13, 2010 at 1:26 pm

the finishing so good, show the mod power of thai is no less than the japs. In tokyo autosaloon, there r all kind of these project cars to demonstrate their superior mod skill n art, it is one of its kind indeed but they dun call it “freak show” though…sounds negatively biased lah, y using tt for gallery name? freaking unique or freak alone is another matter.

not my cup of tea but salute to the modder!

• jolly_idiot on Aug 13, 2010 at 1:40 pm

OMG. Civic no good? Wanted so much for toyota? Why don’t buy toyota straight away? This is an insult to Honda.

• he just been creative..the looks of the civic was so good when he combine it with the IS..its looks even better..not many people can do this..this is pure job, pure hand made..like we’re do to our car..like some guy own Putra and his seem love the GT-R looks, and he copy/combine it..its all about your own taste..you have a money and its your car..just do it..BTW..I’m salute Thailand people..even their country have some problem nowadays they still going be proactive..finger cross :-)

• mokkf82 on Aug 13, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Dump in four scisor doors then you have a black dragon which can fly.
    Love the workmanship. But not my kind of taste.

• azrai on Aug 13, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Sure JPJ cannot lepas. This is creative though. This really make us to think taht the car in Thailand is cheapo thing since they can come out with this for a Honda car.

• it is very neat actually..
    but the fender is too big to match the door..should be smaller than it would be alright..

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Aug 13, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Amazing!!!anybody malaysian dares???

• amonrei on Aug 13, 2010 at 3:47 pm

This actually looks nice. Unlike our Wajalution X…
    I remember a certain S13 with S15 front and R34 rear in ZTH forum. x_X

• honda convert ke 2toyota pon kate bagus..”typical Malaysian”. og luar buat semua bagus kan….
    ape kaitan honda dgn toyota???
    lain la P1 dgn Mitsu..ade jugak link.

• tokmoh on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Hello ah bengs. Look at your Honda. Now back to me. Now back at your Honda. Now back to me. Sadly, it isn’t like mine. But if it stopped looking stock and switch to Toyota(s), then it could look like it’s mine. Look down. Back up. Where are you? You are at a bar. You are with the car your car could look like. What’s in your hand? Back at me. I have it. It’s a claypot with two tickets to that ladyboys show you love. Look again. The tickets are now rice seeds. Anything is possible when your Honda looks like Toyota(s) and not stock. I’m on an elephant.

• 388900wow on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:58 pm

wat the hell u r talking~

• torque on Aug 14, 2010 at 11:17 am

That’s a good one tokmoh!! I lovin’ it…i get the drift.

• tokmoh on Aug 14, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Should’ve put a title “The Honda your Honda could look like” hehe.

Somehow, got voted down a lot =.= Msians don’t have sense of humour… or cuz I poke fun at their ah beng-ness (can be seen by how positive most people’s reaction here)? hehehe

• Kambing Gurun on Aug 15, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Probably in denial state after spending thousands at Ah Beng and still their cars look like…

• maybe the owner only likes civic’s interior..

• learner on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:25 pm

mmmmmm, i have personally seen many monsters like this on malaysia roads. but as long as the mix and mixture are correct they will be good. this one is an example, but sadly said the monsters that i saw on malaysia roads none can get close to this one, especially myvi with BMX grill, yucks!!! no offense.

• michishige on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:37 pm

tokmoh why are you copying ‘old spice’ advertisement style ?

• tokmoh on Aug 13, 2010 at 9:50 pm

… for the lol? I don’t see much logical reason why the owner turned his Honda into two-half Toyotas, unless he for some reason thinks it’s a man’s thing in Thailand to make his car manly, man!

• this is an EG or EK?

• tommyButton on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Guys, the rear light reminds me of New Mazda 3 sedan,

I tested both the Civic 2.0 and Mazda 3 2.0 and the rest in the segment,

I still dunno which to get this Raya,

Any Comments?

It’s Friday, i know guys, u r very Free to Chat here.

• Get Mazda if you like how it looks, get Civic if you like its reliability, others not sure.

My personal thinking

• Initial R on Aug 13, 2010 at 5:03 pm

For modded Idea can get 8 from 10… But for taste…. Hmmm… it’s 2 from 10. If so like toyota, why not buy toyota & put all the toyota staff on it… It insult all Honda owner’s especially Civic owner. But true Danny said… it’s freeks…..

• E-View on Aug 13, 2010 at 5:06 pm

Definitely looks better than OLD style Honda Civic.

• wakaka on Aug 13, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Actually the workmanship is quite good… compared to our malaysian pimpsters…
    The only thing that’s left is to convert the front to Lexus IS as well. Maybe his next project would be to convert to IS-F perhaps?
    But anyhow, rarely see Honda being converted to look like Toyota…coz Honda and Toyota are always the best rivals.
    I guess the ride is using some sick air suspension or hydraulic. Any idea what’s under da hood? Any hints of K20A?

• Yeah, it definately has the air or hydraulic suspesion like other VIP cars, the car is so low that the tyres are almost inside the body!

• Joseph on Aug 13, 2010 at 5:58 pm

In Thailand you say? No surprise here, the Thais have skills in these ‘cosmetic change’, shown by the quality of their ‘akua’.

• look nice.
    But China guy can make better. Their can maker BYD can make mass production with car:
    Front= Toyota Altis
    Back= Honda City

• learner on Aug 13, 2010 at 7:08 pm

china guy can turn ordinary car into lamborgini galardo look somemore.

• Bt china only know how to copy, all copy here and there, handphones, cars, even foods! They sucks

• See this link for more details…….
    http://www.byd.com/showroom.php?car=f3

• toyotaguy on Aug 13, 2010 at 7:05 pm

haha this prove many honda user actualy wan have toyota bt coudlt afford

• MINI FREAK! on Aug 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm

anything is possible in Thailand, thumbs up!

• Supertram on Aug 13, 2010 at 8:34 pm

i dont think its an insult to anyone. some people loves to mod, purely out of enthusiasm. i remember reading up abnout a moder , mod a FD1 1.8 into Type R n the overall cost can get a brand new Type R already, so why do it? Pure enthusiasm that is.

By design, its kinda weird but from a modder point of view, its a wet dream.

Kudos.

• scuddie on Aug 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm

It’s seems like this honda civic owner just couln’t afford neither Is series nor crown athlete…he then chosen to convert it instead…kinda like those ah beng in malaysia who love to convert their protong wira to evo by nature…no offence..

• number plate india

• jazni gani on Aug 14, 2010 at 12:45 am

this car will sure flattened all the bumps a the housing estates.

• namerku on Aug 14, 2010 at 4:55 am

at the back juz like nissan sylphy..hehe

• Peter on Aug 14, 2010 at 11:17 am

Wow, the bodykit looks good…

But really wondering how abt cornering and “drifting”….

Either the kits seems to be too low or the rims too big…..

• no need to do that..this car are made just to showoff and tell everyone, his car are better than anyone..like it…

• jason.k on Aug 14, 2010 at 1:04 pm

hand-work is very good man.. like it..

• Annoy-nimal on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:16 am

I’ll never make my car look like another brand… like some waja who tries to look like evos… or putras who try to be R34s. First of all, these cars fail to look like who they want to be, second they look honestly ugly, third… kesian… look so desperate.

• Annoy-nimal on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:18 am

Having said what I said though… the workmanship on this car is superb and seems better than your average ahbeng bodykit shop. And the changes doesnt seem out of place and doesnt disturb the lines of the car much. So, good try.;

• They should have fitted different no plates front and back, that will do the trick…to the car owner…”GET ANOTHER HOBBY!!!!!…..