BMW updates iDrive with a load of new stuff

BMW have updated its iDrive in-car computer with a few new features mainly to do with connectivity through its ConnectedDrive system.

Through Google’s Panoramio service, iDrive’s navigation module will download images of the destination to provide the driver with additional navigational aid. The navigation module can also provide drivers with current European weather and temperature information updated at two-hourly intervals, at map scales starting from 1cm to 20km. Of course, these features start with Europe first so they may not be of much significance to a Malaysian BMW driver for now.

There’s also a feature called iPod Out, which allows display and control capability for iOS 4 devices using the on-board monitor and vehicle controls, including custom playlists, and the Genius function. BMW says they’ve changed the way they interface with iOS devices to the new iPod Out system to ensure future devices can be used with the vehicle on a long term basis. iDrive’s audio player can now also display Cover Art on the on board monitor.

For BlackBerry users, iDrive will now be able to access your phone’s emails via Bluetooth. Emails can be viewed on the control display or be read out via a text to speech feature so you don’t have to take your eyes off the road. The first BlackBerry to support this feature from launch is the Pearl 3G 9105. You can also access your calendar entries, SMS, tasks, and memos, not only from your BlackBerry but from a list of compatible smart phones. Any image file accompanying a stored contact can be displayed on the on-board monitor, for example when there is an incoming call.

For the F01/F02 7-Series, BMW has now added a full fledged telephone to the car – you do not need to pair your phone to the car via BlueTooth to access telephony services now. You can use the phone via a cordless handset integrated into the centre console of the rear compartment.

Next, BMW has finally caught up with the many other manufacturers offering on-board WiFi services. The WiFi access point uses an internet connection from either a mobile phone that supports SIM Access Profile integrated into the vehicle using a snap-in adapter, or a SIM card drawer which you can insert a data-enabled SIM card. The car switches between UMTS and GSM frequencies – no HSDPA here. Interestingly, BMW says the WiFi hotspot function is available as a retrofit function for all current BMW models as long as it is equipped with the latest generation of iDrive and has the mobile phone preparation with Bluetooth interface option.

Undoubtedly one of the gadgets that a BMW passenger will be using in the backseat is one of those new iPads, so BMW is cashing in by selling an iPad holder, which is an add-on to the optional Travel & Comfort System, which functions as the base carrier where holders can be hooked on. This Travel & Comfort system will debut with the new BMW X3 and will be available for all other models from Spring 2011. The iPad holder can be turned 90 degrees for a vertical or horizontal display, and tilt angle can be adjusted in the vertical mode.

Lastly, there is a something for vehicles that are not equipped with iDrive. There are plenty of such models in Malaysia, such as the 320d, the entire X1 range, and etc. BMW seems to be suggesting you use your iPhone as a replacement, such an “extremely high-quality BMW Station for the Apple iPhone” (press release language can sometimes be hilarious), which can be equipped to the 1-Series, 3-Series, Z4, X1, new X3 and outgoing X3. It allows the iPhone to be docked without any visible cable connections and also comes with a handsfree kit with a directional microphone, a radio mute function for incoming calls, and a charging function.

To complete the whole pseudo-iDrive experience, BMW will be releasing an iPhone app soon called BMW Link, which is sort of an in-car interface for your iPhone. Other than your usual telephony and music player functions, BMW Link also offers certain services from BMW ConnectedDrive such as breakdown assistance.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill on Sep 19, 2010 at 2:27 pm

what hapened to those times when driving a car was jus about driving ?!!

i applaud the technology , bt its jus too much …

• bryan.jones on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

by your statement, i bet u’re still using those dinosour phones.. well, its all bout calls & sms..

• Tiadaid on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:47 pm

It’s not about technology, it’s about taking too much out of the driving experience for a driver. What’s the point of having a fast, nimble, capable car if you have to spend time fiddling with the computer? You’re driving a performance car, and while you’re driving you check your email? What’s the point?

• rally_fan on Sep 20, 2010 at 10:42 am

its just a fact of life. people who buy these cars today want features like these. just coz we think we don’t need it, doesn’t mean thousands of bmw customers out there don’t need it…

• Arthur on Sep 20, 2010 at 3:54 pm

I beg to differ. It’s about THE technology. BMW’s is an executive cars, and should cater the target driver as such. Most of us spent likely more then 70% of our daily commute in town/city driving, in which involve hours of romance with the ever famous traffic jam; be it in KL, or any other big cities. And being an executive as I am, I spent a hefty portion of my daily life checking on incoming emails. An integrated system that link my phone to my car is a welcome feature.

The normal series BMW’s is not a performance car. Pretty fast(not mind boggling fast, mind you), nimble, capable? Sure, yes. But if you want a performance car, and claimed that you’re driving a performance car, do yourself a big favour, buy a real performance car, or at least buy the M series.

• Izhar on Sep 20, 2010 at 4:24 pm

agreed….just live in the car….no need to buy a house….
          it is same like niger VIP cars with diamond accessories…

• ‘The car switches between UMTS and GSM frequencies – no HSDPA here.’

…and i thought HSPA (HSDPA/HSUPA) is deployed on UMTS frequencies.

• bryan.jones on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:04 pm

well said.

• Annihilated on Sep 20, 2010 at 7:18 pm

HSPA works on existing umts / wcdma frequencies but with upgraded protocols.
      Both back-end infra and CPE have to support the extended protocols to make it workable.

does it work like charm?
      yes – according to your telco marketing team..
      rarely – if u know what small asterisk * means..
      ;)

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm

BMW is more advanced, but in Malaysia most people will still prefer Mercedes, just like Toyota vs Honda.

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Toyota is regarded as more prestigeous compared to Honda, same like Merc vs BMW.

• more advance doesnt means it more reliable and more problem free.. People felt more secure with toyota compare to honda and merz compare to bmw.

• don’t think toyota is more prestigeous than honda.

• Korean on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Ah Pek will prefer Toyota and Merc. Young and athlete people prefers Honda and BMW.

• h.ong on Sep 20, 2010 at 12:32 am

well said ! there;s honda n udm at my garage

• Japanese on Sep 20, 2010 at 1:43 am

And u are the young and athletic person who prefers honda and bmw? I think it’s not right to label people who prefers merc and toyota as ah pek..

• Korean on Sep 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm

That is the fact, in average more Ah Pek prefer Merc and Toyota. I am Ah Pek myself, but I prefer BMW and Toyota.

• BeemerFan on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:32 pm

any idea when will this update be available in Malaysia? and also if the e90s purchased in 2010 is entitled for such an update?

• bmsalesmalaysia on Sep 20, 2010 at 7:36 pm

Yes the update ll b available Jan 2011. Yes e90 in 2010 is entitled for update, Free of Charge. Buy more now, Free more.

Best rgds,
      sales team.

• BeemerFan on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:16 am

Thanks for the info bmsalesmalaysia.

I will be taking delivery of my e90 this week, its a pre-reg car registered in May 2010. I noticed my nav is the 2009 version, and heard there of a new release for 2010.

Am I entitled for a free update for the idrive and its navigation maps?

Appreciate your help, thanks again.

• Lim Kopi on Sep 20, 2010 at 11:21 am

WELL DONE BMW, you are truly the best in ICE … not even Merc, Audi or VW could match up to you ….

If you only u had better design direction though …. :)

• Fifteen on Sep 20, 2010 at 5:53 pm

BMW needs to focus on the ultimate driving machine. Leave the IT stuff to Microsoft and Apple.

• eVilsin on Sep 20, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Sorry, off topic where is the new lotus elite news??

• Lifted Trucks on Sep 20, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Isn’t it too tech oriented..!! I mean, do Drivers really need this type of comfort level..!!

• CocoBear on Sep 20, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Why would people need to surf the internet while driving/sitting in a car? You own the machine or being OWNED by the machine?

• keluangman on Sep 20, 2010 at 7:46 pm

instead of using iPhone for docking with non-iDrive bmws, I think it would be better if BMW would include to dock with Ipad as well, dontcha think?

Think the size of the screen and the wonders you can do while driving, haha. Internet surfing, GPS, and movie playback….

• Master M on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:35 am

I happen to own a 328i. I got a lot of wow from my friends. These features are built for safety so you can access them via voice command and iDrive. They are so convenience at your reach. You wouldn’t know how its like until you actually own it.