Paul Weller designed MINI Cooper up for charity auction

Following his headline performance at MINI’s 50th Birthday extravaganza at Silverstone last year, mod rock legend Paul Weller has collaborated with the BMW owned brand to create a one off car which will be sold in a live global online auction. All proceeds from this one month auction will go to charities Nordoff Robins (music therapy services) and War Child, which helps kids living in war zones.

Weller’s inspiration for the design – featuring pink and brown stripes with a single silver line running up the bonnet and over the roof – came from the colours of a Ben Sherman shirt he designed for the clothing brand some years ago.

“I’ve always loved and driven MINIs so when I was given the opportunity to design a bespoke Cooper I wanted to create something that reflected the mood and colours associated with the Mod era, which was also the classic Mini’s hey day. I’d already expressed these colours in a shirt I designed for Ben Sherman a few years ago, so it made sense to me to continue the theme using a MINI Cooper as a palate,” said Weller, also known as the The Modfather.

Weller’s MINI is a 2009 Cooper with 17” Crown Spoke alloys, black leather, Bluetooth, front heated seats, and Chili Pack. Bidding started on 11 November at www.paulwellerminiauction.com. The car is on display in MINI’s flagship showroom on Park Lane, London for the duration of the auction. Images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1692]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Paul Tan on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Apa ni? Kuih lapis?

• boss coffee on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Please don’t insult the humble kuih lapis

• azrai on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:34 pm

3 seringgit dik. maybe Dato’ Seri Ng Yen Yen influence the design when launching the Malaysian kitchen in London.

• lkf0512 on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:50 pm

I bet even if you “cincai” do will be better than this “kuih lapis”…

• mitlanevo on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:30 am

more like kuih kacang merah, haha~

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:29 am

normal kuih lapis is red-white layers. this one maybe western kuih lapis, with strawberry and chocolate layers.

• Fervent reviewer on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Looks weird. Don’t know why sometimes I notice that Mini Cooper looks like Kelisa at certain angles.. anyway, charity rocks !

• yup… cuma bsar n mahal skit…=p yet… it’s still mini (compact car =p)

• lazyf on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:11 am

who copies who?
      Kelisa copy Mini or Mini copy Kelisa?
      Hahaha…

• i think there create this car for women mybe…hehe

• P2 can use this in their upcoming ‘edition’ of Myvi or Viva. e.g. Viva Elite Stripes Edition.. lol

• ZJ3CK on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Paul Weller, the MOD Legend :D btw, i agreed with u paul tan, the mini looks like kuih lapis.. hahaha..

• andymervingeorge on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Looks yummy.. hope its not too smoky flavoured if I take a bite :P

• Cocobear on Nov 15, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Paul Tan designed MINI Cooper……….

• mini decade on Nov 15, 2010 at 5:28 pm

This design inpired by Kamen Rider Decade.

• Jarum on Nov 15, 2010 at 5:38 pm

An Eddie Van Halen design would look more interesting.

But what Paul Tan failed to mention is that every year Mini does this by inviting celebrities to redesign their cars and then later auctioned for the benefit of HIV/AIDS research and awareness. This year they invited music legend Paul Weller aka Modfather and Modfather here is not because he modifies cars. Its just his nickname. LOL!

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 15, 2010 at 5:58 pm

it’s an amazing machine … yes, indeed

• nebula87 on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

We all cant understand what designers were thinking..

• shawal on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Just DIY and save yourself the trouble..

• Russpartikelfilter Vergleich on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:42 pm

OMG, I want this MINI!!! In those colours, it is exactly my type of car. Unfortunately, I won’t participate in this auction for financial reasons. :(

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:31 am

buy kelisa then paint similarly la..
      owh, no more brand new kelisa.. buy 2nd hand also can.

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:01 am

adoi! looks like Skippy’s Peanut butter with grape jelly stripes! LOL!

• If u dig this & buy yourself into the world of Mod, then you need to complete the ‘transformation’ and buy a Vespa, and dont forget the haircut too.

• Steve Cooper on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:25 pm

I bought my brand new Mini Cooper S . It was performing great for the first year but then as it got older although it was under mileage in 14 months of ownership, the engine experienced annoying pinging sound specially while on idling.