Hyundai Veloster right-hand drive conversion confirmed

The Hyundai Veloster is one of the main stars of Detroit 2011. As an affordable coupe with lots of tech, striking looks and a unique “third door”, it was bound to be a hit at the Cobo Center. Click here to see the pics and a video.

The third door is only on the passenger’s side, which is the right side on the showcar. But if Hyundai plans to rework the car for right-hand drive markets, will the third door be moved to our passenger side, which is the left, or will they just leave the LHD arrangement as it is, like the MINI Clubman.

Well, it looks like Hyundai will invest in a RHD conversion. Hyundai Motor Company Australia has announced that the Veloster will be launched Down Under. “Launch timing has still to be locked in, but most likely will be late 2011,” the statement read. “Veloster’s unique three door layout will see one door on the driver’s side and two doors on the opposite side allowing easy rear seat access,” it added.

There we go. It mentions two doors on the opposite side. Perhaps Hyundai-Sime Darby might see a case for bringing the Veloster in, perhaps…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• i thik i like it

• ahBeng on Jan 13, 2011 at 3:16 pm

the rear sloping top look a bit kemek,
      almost like the rear headrest going to “touch” the roof-top.

• laluan sehala on Jan 13, 2011 at 11:32 am

at least the koreans are investing in r&d for rhd – this i applaud them. the europeans couldn’t care less for rhd markets. just look at the many european cars sold here with features that only benefit lhd markets. ackward hand brake levers, strangely opening centre arm rests, wiper directions, having the fuse box in the glove compartment! and the list goes on.

• wow, hyundai geting better & better… my next car will be hyundai…Goodbye honda..hahaha

• Yes, I’m next drive still will be the Avante….. hope can change to new avante… thumb up to Hyundai!

• rossi46 on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:21 am

My current car is a 5 yrs old Honda & a 6 yrs old Hyundai….the Honda had been having all sorts of reliability prob for the past 5 years while the Hyundai had been very2 smooth so far…..Yeap, will definately buy a Hyundai again

• Jimmy on Jan 13, 2011 at 11:58 am

Always wish other companies can overtake Toyota/UMWA in M’sia.
    Toyota actually is not really that good nowadays, and yet their cars are very much overpriced. Have you seen pretty new Toyota cars that have problems that UMW cannot fix despite multiple attempts? I have, two cases.
    Do you dare to buy the first batch Camry CKDed in MALAYSIA?
    Veloster is CANTIQ!

• Shiny Morning on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm

i can say that… this is VW Scirocco asian car rival

• Edmond on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Wow!!! Much nicer than Audi A1.

• Ash Menon on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Dear god I hope so. We need something funky like this to spice up our market.

• mohsin on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm

For a niche market!

• Black Dog on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm

If it is affordable as mentioned, it might be more common than a Civic!

• bobby on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Please please bring it here and had a good price range.

• Darn Sexy on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Man this is a darn sexy car.. HYUNDAI Rockz!!! Now only if they also develop and sell Hyundai hybrid cars in Msia..

• skyblue on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Hyundai cars are getting nicer… Hyundai is indeed improving just that they still behind the German car makers in performance and handling. I think they are closing in on the gap. Hope Hyundai will bring in turbo charge versions into Malaysia.

• Notakosong.com on Jan 13, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Now HSDB, u have been selling those stone-ages getz for so long, u ditch the i20 just for the sake of selling getz, now i demand u please, stop selling getz, and bring in this VELOSTER!!

Seems like other T and H are a joke compare to Hyundai, when looking at this car, :P

• dream on Jan 13, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Hope the Hyundai rep here can see the vast potential to capture the market…

• ahcon on Jan 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

do u like justin bieber?

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 13, 2011 at 5:11 pm

If they don’t do the door swap for the RHD version it would be a rather pointless endeavour, just like the clubman. But then again, they have to re-engineer the entire car (rood, quarter panels, glass works all have to be different) so unless Hyundai thinks they can sell loads of these RHD cars, they wont do the door swap.

The rear door is supposed to make it easier to load/unload passengers curbside, not into traffic. Try strapping a toddler down to its child seat with the doors wide open into traffic. Rediculous. Pretty much negates the need of the 3rd door, no?

A lot of cars don’t get the LHD to RHD conversion done just right…ie, 3 row MPVs with the 2nd row 40:60 split fold on the wrong side….or Frenchies with the signal indicators on the wrong side. (Why Proton decided to follow the frenchies is beyond my comprehension)

• go KOREAN !!

now I should get a korean girl fren !

• S.Neo on Jan 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm

it look similar to Renault Megane

• khairi on Jan 14, 2011 at 1:41 am

agree with u.. The rear at the side view looks like Megane coupe

• c14man on Jan 13, 2011 at 8:28 pm

looks nice…
    but rear passenger will sure get many knocks on their heads everytime the car go through any irregular surface…
    even Gen2 suffers from this problem…

• armandd on Jan 13, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Bring them in Hyundai. Don’t repeat Honda’s mistake for not bringing in the CR-Z. Personally, I think the Veloster is better than CR-Z in almost every aspect. Autoblog has the preview, check it out.

• nolan on Jan 14, 2011 at 12:45 am

i like Hyundai design nowadays…..but the Japanese control my mind…..help me pleaseeee……

• Shiny Morning on Jan 14, 2011 at 11:30 am

The VW Scirocco asian car rival..

• K-Bro on Jan 14, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Does it really look like Sirocco?? Bro open your eyes!! It looks like Megene 250 lah! This car is brilliant if they put in the 2.0L turbo engine! price around Honda Civic 2.0L!

• when will this car coming to M’sia market? can’t wait to test it ^_^