Honda’s facelifted Euro Accord to be unveiled in Geneva

Honda will be debuting its facelifted European Accord sedan and Tourer models at the Geneva Motor Show. Both forms will feature a number of minor changes – besides revised exterior styling and detail changes inside the car, engines have been tweaked to offer better emissions and economy, and ride and handling aspects have been improved.

Exterior revisions include small but noticeable changes to the headlights – with the previously amber indicators now in a clear finish – and bumpers. Bi-xenon units, featuring Active Cornering Lights, come as standard on higher-end variants of the form.

The bi-xenon-equipped cars will also feature a High Beam Support system. A CMOS camera fitted to the windscreen in the area of the rear view mirror helps detects oncoming headlights or taillights of a vehicle in front and automatically dips the headlights onto their normal setting if they are on high-beam.

Meanwhile, the grille has been subtly remodelled, and the cooling duct and fog light recesses on all models have been re-profiled, tapered to offer a more aggressive line.

On the sedan, the rear lamps have been subtly enhanced, and a light chrome garnish gets pasted above the rear licence plate; on what’s called the Type S grade models, this garnish is finished in dark chrome. Three new colours join the lineup, these being Alabaster Silver, Graphite Lustre and Celestial Blue Pearl.

Inside, the changes are again subtle, with new seat materials and door linings leading the way. The Type S models get half leather seats in a dark grey finish and black headlining to further distinguish them. Elsewhere, the metal-look finish interior trim now comes in a darker hue, and the footwells are now illuminated blue when the headlights are on, with Type S’ being red.

Mechanically, low friction wheel bearings and reduced rolling resistance tyres have been introduced, as have underbody aerodynamic aids, including a larger front air dam, underfloor and a rear subframe cover.

Internal revisions to reduce frictional losses are the order of the day for the automatic transmission (which also features re-optimised ratios) and the 150 hp 2.2 litre i-DTEC diesel engine, which of course brings about improved fuel economy and emissions.

Improvements are also to be had with NVH levels, with the adoption of higher density foam in the under bonnet/dashboard areas and revised underfloor noise insulation among the suite of noise reduction techniques.

As for ride and handling, the dual-mode dampers have been refined to offer improvement in both high speed stability for highway driving and a significant improvement in ride quality, even over poor road surfaces.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tikus on Jan 29, 2011 at 1:14 am

Honda diesel engine got Vtec ah?

• Mr. Biggy on Jan 29, 2011 at 8:07 am

i believe it’s called iDTEC. The concept is pretty similar to the diesel turbo common-rail engines we have here. It’s a pity we don’t have them on ordinary sedan cars here..

• Scoobydoo on Jan 29, 2011 at 9:45 am

Dtec???? Haha…

• Gajen on Jan 29, 2011 at 6:27 am

no matter how good they facelift this accord euro,it will never be as good looking as the old one…the old accord euro is one of the sportiest sedans ever

• michael on Jan 29, 2011 at 8:22 am

When is Honda Malaysia going to introduce Diesel Accord in Malaysia? Chicken and Egg story. Only when car manufacturers start doing so, then the government will have no choice but to push for Euro 4 Diesel.

Now only BMW and Ford is doign thier part. What is Hond and Toyota doing? And what is Perodua and Proton doing?

People like to talk big about creating hybrids to save consumers money but existing technology already exist (diesel) and yet, nothing is done, Everybody in the world now knows diesel is a cleaner fuel than petrol and it emits far less emissions than petrol. In addition to that, it gives higher power (more torque), and much much more mileage. A full tank can easily give you 1000KM.

So, no point talking crap and showing off prototypes of hybrid and petrol lah. Show your sincerity by pushing for diesel.

• bryan jones on Jan 29, 2011 at 3:57 pm

macha, govt plan to intro euro4 diesel & euro4m petrol soon.

• lalala on Jan 31, 2011 at 3:08 pm

bryan, i am not against ur opinion but to add 1 more thing.

Govt have the initiative to reduce emission gases. thats why in last yr budget they extending reduction of tax for hybrids. For record porpose they did not touch anything on diesel; eventhough MARD is capable of ‘refining’ biodiesel. One of the reason is subsidy issue. higher euro grade= higher price. P1 project on Wira 2.0 diesel busted in early 90’s. The only car co dare to bring diesel passanger cars into MY were BMW & Ford. The engines are fine working with lower quality of diesel. If Im not mistaken MY diesel grade is Euro2

conclusion: Do u think what G did to date hints introduction of so-called higher euro type fuel? I rest my case.

• tIANcI on Jan 29, 2011 at 10:04 am

I love the looks of the Tourer, a nice estate from Honda! Guess if this arrives here it will be in the 200+K range for sure

• cikuludes on Jan 29, 2011 at 11:10 am

I think i love wagon type cars, including this one.
    Especially V60, or V70.

Unfortunately, Volvo Malaysia did not offer these models.
    Too bad.

In addition to that, Honda also did not offer Accord Wagon type body.
    Which, if they did offer, sure be fanboys like me to get one.

Volvo V50 facelift too outdated.

• TianCi on Jan 29, 2011 at 5:00 pm

We can go buy together la. I loved the V70 that I drove. An Accord estate would be nice to own.

• clement on Jan 29, 2011 at 1:20 pm

i want the tourer in malaysia. :)

• Alan Lee on Jan 29, 2011 at 1:53 pm

HM should bring in Euro Version instead of current ugly old style US version…

• hpkevin951 on Jan 29, 2011 at 4:33 pm

i love honda’s cars nice pictures honda is always reliable for me.

• rapidshifter on Jan 29, 2011 at 8:04 pm

a manual accord… sweettt..

• rossi46 on Jan 29, 2011 at 9:45 pm

honda msia, pls bring in the idtec. . . .those i vtec are too thirsty & gutless, need to cane it to make any progress

• HoNet on Jan 30, 2011 at 1:04 am

With EURO2M Diesel don’t try to use this DTEC engine because with 500ppm of Sulphur content in our diesel, it will damage the engine as soon as your 10,000 km warranty achived.

• anthony on Jan 30, 2011 at 7:32 am

Honda should introduce the Accord Euro into Malaysia,as its a far better car than the old mans Accord,but also more expensive,and aimed at a diffirent buyer.

Competes with Audi,VW,Mercedes,and BMW.

Very good looking and sporty,in both sedan and wagon.

• At least the Euro accord looks so much sweeter than the current Acura TSX. The front grills on the TSX is so horrendous.

But on the flip side, do y’all think Malaysia Honda will bring in the EU Accords? Would like to own one. Preferably the 3.0 V6 model.

• rossi46 on Jan 30, 2011 at 11:41 am

hopefully once msia move to euro4, we can say goodbye to those gutless & thirsty i vtec and vvti. . , i-dtec & d4d make more sense

• Sahipul on Jan 31, 2011 at 11:16 am

Please Honda Malaysia, can you bring this version to our market?!

• Why... on Sep 07, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Just wished the exterior design could be just much better……