BMW 740Li M Sport available in Malaysia: RM848,800

The BMW 7-Series is now available with the M-Sport package in Malaysia though numbers are very, very limited. There are only two units in Malaysia for now – both are 740Li models with the 3.0 litre twin-turbocharged inline-6 mated to an automatic transmission.

BMW 740Li M Sport available in Malaysia: RM848,800

The M-Sports package features a different bumper with more chrome at the front, glossy black window trim, and a bumper featuring a faux diffuser design at the rear.

The premium for the M-Sports package is about RM30,000, which is probably pocket change for the CEO who wants his chauffeured ride to look a little meaner. The BMW 740Li M-Sport retails for RM848,800, up from the regular 740Li’s RM818,800 price tag.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=345]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wowow on Mar 29, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Wow.Almost 1 million. Can buy 17 Myvi or 10 Inspira. I don’t think is worth it in Malaysia unless you’re earning easy money.

• Yes, you’re right.

My neighbour build a house for RM50.000

Don’t know why some people need to build a house for RM500.000 or RM750.000. Can buy 10 or 15 houses for that money… ;)

• inline 6 on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:08 am

ya.. u r right.. different car suit different people.. this car is still worth it unless it is so common like Myvi then its worthless for RM900K

• Haha..Wait for a couple of years more, then u’ll see many of these 7 series ‘grey import’ flooding m’sian roads… Much cheaper than new!

• then u should get 50 2nd hand kancil instead of myvi or inspira and tell d whole world that u own 50 cars..==””

• ferum on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:59 pm

just wondering…the car already 1Mil……their house ???

• Dang… no V8 sound!

• chuakz on Mar 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm

paul….no update on audi a8 debut here?

• zerouzer on Mar 29, 2011 at 7:59 pm

the white 740d is also available with Msport pckage?

• sutheshkumar on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:48 pm

all 7 can be equipped with t M-Sport but we are getting the 740Li only.

• this is a very beautiful and spacious car!

• Spongebob on Mar 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Paul, i dunno whether 7 is CBU/CKD …..
    Any hint?

• This car costs RM200k more than an equivalent Audi A8L 3.0TFSI yet offer virtually the same performance? Why?

• Alvin Goh on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Because ”its a BMW” mar, as simple as that.

• 8 gear mah.. my kancil auto ony got 3 je… walau weh…

• With the outdated brand perceptions we have in Malaysia, I kinda understand that. But we’re not talking about a RM20k difference, not even a RM100k difference. It’s RM200k! You gotta be a totally insane BMW lover to still buy a 740Li with this kind of discrepancy.

• Adrian on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:49 am

BMW – Burn My Wallet….

• Silwen on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Because they can.

• tycoon88 on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:59 pm

fren…there are plenty of die hard BMW fans in Malaysia who wud opt for this beemer over merz despite d hefty price tag.

audi is for the trendy entrepreneurs / yuppies but old bald headed big tummy towkays normally go for d top 2 conventional choices.

• Hafidz on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:14 am

2nd that!

Merc:
        *S-Class – Towkay Uncle aged 45++, Late Success in Life, Minister (Family type person)
        *E-Class – Manager 35++ almost successful or can be Towkay Uncle as well
        *C-Class – Successful young lads, 30++ Executive or been provoke by wife to buy for her own use :D

BMW:
        7er – Towkay Uncle aged 45++, Late Success in Life, Minister, Young at heart, Love night life (driver drive the car and hide,takut kantoi)..hehe
        5er – Manager 35++ almost successful or can be Towkay Uncle as well (love attention) or maybe MLM person who reach gold platinum level! (sigh)
        3er – Successful young lads, 27++ Executive..love show off,love night life, got money to mods to //M style etc..and most of all owned by MLM people who like to show cash and thumbs up in their facebook profile..LOL

AUDI:
        A8 – Towkay Uncle aged 45++, Late Success in Life, Minister, Young at heart..or can be young CEO as well in regard to position himself among other old CEO..got taste
        A6 – Manager 35++ almost successful, not a towkay..but maybe part of shareholder or high rank partner who got money..family oriented person..but sometimes love to speed and playaround speed..
        A4 – Young lads who got money by succeful in his business, young manager 30++, love nightlife, wants to be different, particular in details..

dats what my research so far..

• redboy on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Young lads for BMW3, Merc-C or Audi-A4? what kind young lads can afford that in Malaysia? we not living in Euro. RM200K car you basically need to pay Rm3K per month. Our real-life salary is not what the Government portrait what it is like!

• firefox4 on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm

i drive lexus, u done any research? pls share.

• ForteLover on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:29 pm

bring in the Hyundai Equus and this problematic bmw can tapao!

• BMW fanatic on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:15 pm

The BMW 730Li costs RM 648,800 …. closer to the Audi A8L 3.0 at RM 658,800 although not as powerful.

• Definitely will get this over S class if I have the mooooo

• khaix19a on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:21 pm

MAFIA CAR to chase ah beng car HAHAHA period

• 2fast on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Looks very good for a top end luxury car. Next should be the Msport kit on the new 5 series.

• Ed's friend on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:52 pm

With this kinda price tag, sometimes i wonder why this brand could be stranded at the emergency lane…. i encounter not once, but several time. I honestly want to know why…

• rallyfan00 on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:25 pm

its not a toyota hahhaha.. but honestly, all cars have problems with reliability, and quality problems to a certain extent. there is no such thing as a perfect car.

my whole family including myself own german cars, and not once have any of us been stranded on the roadside, but it doesnt mean the cars are 100% bullet proof.. but good maintenance and at least some understanding of how your car operates or likes to be operated helps a lot.

• Euro Machine on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Logical question… Pay more … better quality …better engineering and reliability

• azlan on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:53 pm

fully imported from Germany, it cannot stand Malaysian weather, that’s why..

• adehhh on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:59 pm

u need to have driver for this…if not ppl say its not yours

• firefox4 on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:12 pm

normally driver sit behind, boss drive the car, scare kidnap mah..

• BadBET on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:02 pm

M-sport and ‘regular’ .. that regular sure is 1000 times better than my ride, yet still consider ‘regular’ …

• people who buy this cars doesnt know how to drive, they have driver

• nerdo on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:57 pm

i thought only the 5series had the 8sp auto. I am sure that only the F01 V12 engines had the 8sp auto and the others still have the 6sp auto?

• sutheshkumar on Mar 30, 2011 at 1:13 am

only 760 and d 740d xDrive gets the 8 speeder. from the brochure, it states like that. :D

• nabill on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:32 am

Looks nice.bt i definatly go for da previous generation 7 series dat looks like no other car,

• rental mobil jakarta on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:46 am

sports means more chrome on bumper?
    lol
    it looks rubbish to me, the ordinary bumper got better looks

• Dipak on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:57 am

Hope it doesn’t get the usual rubbish M-Sport suspension too.

• That’s the only thing that make me hate the 320d. Just really hate the m sport suspension. The fatigue after driving the car is even worse than sitting a kancil

• it’s this kind of silly country that has car dealers pluck a random number out of thin air to price their cars… come on … 848,800 ?

As ridiculous as the Nissan 370z being priced at RM370,000 …

Woah so Ngam meh ??

lanjiao.

• Euro Machine on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:25 am

848K now but on how about resale value couple of years down…
    BMW dont hold their value as good as a Merc….

Then again why doesn’t it hold its value compared to Merc?

• If one can afford RM848K who cares about 2nd hand value?

• Euro Machine on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Again can someone give me a logical answer why BMW doesn’t hold value like a Merc.
        a) Is it becos of its inherent reliability issue?
        b) Is less prestigious than merc.?
        c) Bank give less loan compared to merc?
        d)
        e)

why why why……

• 2nd hand value? they have their RM8 million bungalow holding value already…..and appreaciating.
      go buy a kancil or viva if you want better 2nd hand value

• Lexus LS600h beats this any day!!

• Lexus is NOT BMW and never will be.

• Hafidz on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:02 am

Lexus will never be near or even can smell the border line of Continental and build quality like German Cars..it should be Lexus Ls600h got beaten everyday! :P

• Euro Machine on Mar 30, 2011 at 4:30 pm

“Build quality like German Car” Where are have you been in the past 30 years….
        It is a known fact quality = Lexus and
        BMW = workshop ha ha sorry could help myself…

The best euro car is Merc….

• longjaafar on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:26 am

The Audi A 8L is a better buy. It pumps out 290 bhp with a body weight of only 1880kg. It is quattro driven and at RM656k is a steal compared to the 740. There are several options, such as the rear entertainment package where all controls can be done from the centre console; a full LED headlights and also a B&O sound system, which is about the best in the world today. After all that , one would still be able to have some money to get a Golf TSI to use for the weekend supermarket run.

• Norman on Mar 30, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Agree! I will buy an A8 anytime if I was in the market shopping such ride!
      And for the change, I would top up a little and get a VW EOS for weekend drives.

• husin lempoyang on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:35 am

Hopefully there will be F10 550i M-Sport coming in to Malaysia!
    Cant wait for that! Yippiee!

• husin lempoyang on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:56 am

Paul, still sleeping ka? Hahha.. sorry for disturbing.

• resale value?rich man don ever care or worry about it!

• I could live in a luxury hilltop bungalow with that kind of money…@_@

• alamakiah on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:54 pm

luxury bungalow hiilltop cost rm848,000??? where u bought? still got stock available?

• Ricky on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm

new 7 siries.. it’s a great car, wait for 2nd hand leer..or recon new.around 300k

• Ricky on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Bmw ultimate driving machine..more than u can effort..cool 7 siries..i love it..

• redboy on Mar 30, 2011 at 3:40 pm

when some dato can buy 5million house in cash. What is this 848K for them? and what is resale value for them?

• Joseph on Mar 30, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Mercedes / AUdi way better than BMW!!! BMW always give lots of trouble!! Junk car!!! Front grill totally look like pig nose… BMW —> PIG NOSE car…Tak halal

• bcoz of this pignose la no wonder
      there’s myv, blm, waja, persona go to ah beng mods….. :)

• Seriously on Mar 30, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Still uncomfortable.

• MouMouRen on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:33 am

This amount of money can buy house oledi. Ya, I know is BMW. But. if u r RICH PPL, will say. “Wah, murah ooo.” For the low income, “Walau, can buy two house lot oledi”
    So, better buy house. House got Value, CAR no value. hahahha

• kuching on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:11 am

not attractive at all. toooooo expensive

• Tu Lan Proton on Mar 31, 2011 at 4:49 pm

US market. BMW 740Li Sedan, 3.0L, 315HP, 6 speed. USD72,000, approx RM220,000.
    Why do we have to pay RM819,000?

That’s RM600K more than the US of A people who makes much more money than us.

• Media on Apr 01, 2011 at 2:15 am

LOL, bunch of you, should stop complaining and find ways to earn money.

It’s already proven that plenty of Malaysians can afford a couple of ferraris and homes worth 4-20mil, and they worked hard for it,

i suggest you start doing the same =)

• HAHAHA,, 2 high end villa on the road!!

• C’mon there are alots of young lads that can afford 3, C, and A4… Dont be such a pessimist la. Yes, our car might be expensive. But i still can see alot of those nice cars. Y must we live in euro to drive those cars?