Volvo S60 – accessory packages galore for the new boy

It’s already comprehensively equipped, the just launched second-generation Volvo S60 is, but if you think you’d like to personalise it further, well, here’s some lovely news – there’s a host of accessory packages you can strap on to it to make it even Sweder (okay, that’s a bad one).

There’s a skid plate for the front bumper to be had, as well as a deco frame. You can have a skid plate too at the back, and replace the standard exhaust tip with a rectangular end pipe.

Elsewhere, there are optional sports pedals, side scuff plates and a boot lid spoiler in the dress up list, and for infotainment and electronic assist gadgetry the list is made up of a multimedia RSE system and RTI navigation system in addition to a rear park assist camera and front blind view camera, the last only able to be installed to the car with 7-inch screen already fitted.

Update:The pricing list for the accessories package as issued originally by Volvo Car Malaysia has been revised (April 25), as in the graphic above – there were some errors in the initial list released, which have been corrected. The offer still runs until May 15; do check with your local Volvo dealer for more details.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• aminlife on Apr 11, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Proton should take this as benchmark for future and next car production.

• lkf0512 on Apr 12, 2011 at 4:09 pm

And charge 1.2k for a boot lid spoiler!?!?!?

• aminlife on Apr 13, 2011 at 8:44 am

What meant is car technology and gadgetry used. Perhaps P1 or P2 can consider this in next production, instead of re-badged. At least, local made with high-quality accessories with reasonable price. by the end of this post, “rich person” is already booking Volvo S60.

• bloody expensive!

• AudiFan on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:25 am

….in Malaysia!! Its actually RM 95000+ in US..

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:00 am

Dont vote this governent maybe we will pay rm 95000+ for a volvo too…….. Change is always in our hands..

• rapidshifter on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:10 am

yeah.. and 3 year max loan only… who can afford??

• DonkeyKong on Apr 11, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Bootlid spoiler – over RM1200 for a small strip of painted plastic?? I bet Volvo totally believes that there’s a sucker born every second!

• Ahmad on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:17 am

…and its “offer price”. Retail price RM2k ! =_=”

• droll on Apr 12, 2011 at 8:47 am

yup!!!!!!!!!!! that was my first thought. oh they can justify this with all the crazy excuses about R&D but common guys, a piece of plastic / fibre at the back that costs RM1.2k????!!!!!! gila ah? if it’s that expensive, they should refrain from offering it to save business reputation.

• deftones on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:40 am

i’m not surprised to see original spoiler for 1.2k…
      bcos i was asking at proton for similar spoiler for my sister proton saga blm,
      and you’ll be surprise to know the price is RM800…
      and that is proton..this is volvo..no big deal

• RM543 for “sport pedals”?? ie, two pieces of metallic things that you just strap to existing pedals that only the driver can see, for a few seconds before he sits down? Why not just get better shoes.

RM6,053 for a navigation system??? This thing better drive the car to your destination too. Otherwise how can beat a simple Garmin or Papago GPS with very well updated free maps, or even your iPhone/Android??? I think for RM6K I will buy and install six Android phones all around the car interior. It’s infinitely more kickass.

• pomen_merz on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:08 pm

thats what we call a ‘top car brand’..who cares bout price…only rm6k for navigation..you guess how much navigation system for mercedes???(or they call telematics system)…the high end system -only the radio set built in with navi can cost bout RM40K+++…..dun believe???better believe it!!!!! =)

• puipui on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:18 am

ppl like u mind 4 all this things shows that you afford a proton ciplak car….proton sell everything so cheap … look in the end the quality…FYI… ur not paying just the package.. ur paying 4 the professional workmanship too…. wan cheap n low quality,go 2 proton

• Mr Wancer on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:38 am

It seems that you have a lot of money then spare to us some….

This is really a RIP OFF!!! and everyone knows it…only ‘RICH’ uncles like you will even consider getting this accessories which is available @ kedai Abang @ way cheaper price. Even branded GPS like Garmin wouldn’t cost 6k…

If it’s a FERRARI then i get it why it is expensive…but it’s a VOLVO?

• shawal on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:29 am

RM 288,000 for the frikkin car, but SatNav & rearview cam is optional??? This is insane!

• gila

• SoMeOnE on Apr 12, 2011 at 3:27 am

well this is how car buying is done in the rest in the world where manufacturers give u loads of options and this enables them to price the car much lower..this means that a 20000 pound car can even hit 40000 pounds all specced up ! though some think this is daylight robbery..i feel the buyers have more choice as some of us may just one the car and not much else..trouble is we asians (me included) love toys and frills in every aspect of life and we are bound to crazy with the an options list (like the one above)….

however,as always due tot the way cars are priced here means the most of us are foreign to this sort of car buying an aspect everything but the kitchen sink for our hard earned money….being able to choose options is one of the luxuries (among many others) the open car market has over us and it can be quite exciting when it comes to choosing our next car…volvo is trying to transmit that feeling into the local context..i feel they should be commended for their bravery in doing so in a market that is alien to this so called ‘options list’…it is still far from comprehensive as the open market lets u spec the car exactly the way u wan it with thousands combinations…its a start though….

if car prices ever come down here….it be quite an experience to get u next car as opposed to the current practice of walking into proton,perodua,toyota,honda, and just selecting one of 3 trims that have been ‘decided’ for you..

• The accessories price list is a welcome addition to the S60 range but the price is very much left to be desired. Very expensive to say the least. For such price I expect R design items. Anyway I am still holding off getting the rear wing/spoiler for my XC70! Still likes the clean look. A spoiler doesn’t do much when I can’t much drive beyond 105km/h on the highways due to the speed traps.

• confused on Apr 12, 2011 at 8:13 am

china’s trying to make some money lol

• crazy prices…..better go to outside shop and fit

• Malaysia Bull on Apr 12, 2011 at 10:45 am

Nowdays Malaysia really boleh liao. Volvo lagi boleh.

Crazy car price with crazy accesories prices.

Owner just buy a kosong s60 starting at RM288K

lol

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 12, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Issue of price expensive or not aside, the operative words here is ‘options’. Malayisan are used to highly kitted cars, where all the stuff given is all in-built into the prices, so don’t feel/see la… Then suddenly ‘options’ are given and people start jumping… Then it becomes a case of, buat salah, tak buat pun salah… ape da…

• redboy on Apr 12, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Volvo: Since no one is going to buy our S40 or S60, i cant get the volume, so I just raise the price up so those suckers stay in buying is paying like 5times more :P

• pomen_merz on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:10 pm

why shock???the price is still acceptable for those who have lots of money….ehehehe =)