Perodua maintains 195k sales target despite Japan disaster, new Myvi to be launched before September!

The triple disaster that hit Japan in March has severely affected the automotive industry, as carmakers and their various levels of vendors saw production disrupted or stopped completely in the aftermath. Overseas CKD operations aren’t spared, as vital parts still come from Japan.

But of those affected, Perodua seems to be weathering the storm pretty well – and as proof, the company is maintaining its 2011 sales target of 195,000 units, instead of lowering the figure. This was announced by Perodua MD, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh in a media briefing this morning, where he also declared that plans for the launch of the new Myvi is on track and not affected by the Japan disaster.

Click to enlarge image

As to when the sequel to Malaysia’s most popular car will be launched, he was tight-lipped, but did let slip that September 2011 would be too late, as the new Myvi will be the main factor in hitting the 195k target. We’re into May already, so it could be anytime from now till August – stay tuned!

As you can see from the graph below, there’s some catching up to do in terms of figures. Aminar said that by June/July, Perodua’s production will ramped up to make up the shortfall, with overtime thrown in. By the way, throughout this period since March, production in Rawang was still at two shifts, and the only slow down was the removal of daily and weekend overtime.

Click to enlarge image

The fact that Perodua is so lightly affected is down to a few reasons, chiefly the high degree of localisation (up to 90% for their latest model, Alza) and the priority given to Perodua by stakeholder Daihatsu. Malaysia is the biggest market for Daihatsu outside of Japan, so this makes sense.

Among the affected parts are 23 engine components and accessories from Japan, as well as the paint supply, but as mentioned, Perodua expects production to be fully normalised from June, barring any unforeseen circumstances.

Aminar also said that the Japan disaster might expedite the process of making more components locally. As previously revealed, an E-AT (electronic automatic transmission) plant will be built here (location not yet finalised), and it will churn out gearboxes for local consumption before exports start.

Construction of the RM200-250 million plant will start in the fourth quarter of this year. This will help Perodua reduce costs as part of the company’s preparation for market liberalisation.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mfahd_88 on May 04, 2011 at 4:48 pm

not new myvi la paul
    but new FACELIFTED myvi
    nothing new with this myvi except some minor change

• nebula87 on May 04, 2011 at 5:03 pm

actually its Danny..not Paul…XD

• LatukBandar on May 04, 2011 at 5:13 pm

couldn’t agree more. am so sicked and tried of myvi, everywhere u see myvi… like a Russian communist states where everyone drives a LADA, nothing but LADA.

There are so many designs for small form factor, look at suzuki, fortwo, mini cooper… man, they just have to use the same body frame and then do some minor tweak to it…. tada… the brand new MyVi.

Am not a proton fan, neither a perodua fan. They ought to know that the reason why people ditch proton when MyVi was launched is because people are sicked and tired of Wira and Saga. This new MyVi will see a drop to Perodua sales and a spike in Proton’s sales. All proton needs to do is improves their services, lower the price and offer something similiar and slap a 5 years warranty on it.

• 4g63t dsm on May 05, 2011 at 8:41 am

why?

People flocked to buy the Myvi is because they are sick of Protons BAD QUALITY. Protons from 1998-2004 were absolutely garbage, coupled with horrible service saw their market share dwindle from 60% to 30%.

Not to say Perodua’s a much better in that respect but then again, Malaysians arn’t exactly spoilt for choice.

So yes, the success of perodua is a direct function of Proton’s failure. If proton can improve (more so improve its percieved quality and value) then you will see a turn of tides.

• aminlife on May 04, 2011 at 5:18 pm

mybe new engine? :P

• HirumaKecil on May 04, 2011 at 5:37 pm

i’m not myvi lover, but i think we should wait till this new myvi is on the road.. so then we can make conclusion, new one or facelift one… Even GTR 32 and 33 also look like a same car and also with mit evo 1,2,3&4,5,6 Also 7,8,9.. They look like the same car, but they are not just a facelift..

• Kimahrileo on May 04, 2011 at 5:45 pm

This is funny.. the news itself tells us something, PERODUA DOES NOT PRODUCE ITS OWN CAR! They assemble cars only.. Obvious for the smart people to see it..

• you are so so funny …
        ALL car maker are merely a car assemble …
        many of their parts is order from other supplier and assemble them into a car !
        they just design or buy the design , and ask other to produce for them !
        do you know campro engine have parts there are made by perodua ?
        do this example make you clear ?

• I believe that Kimahrileo is saying that Perodua dont have a design or a make of their own. SO, PERODUA DOES NOT PRODUCE ITS OWN CAR. They produces others’.

You cannot expect car manufacturers go mining for iron ore or go plant rubber trees for the tyres. Outsource is a term widely used.

I know you are smart enough to know this…so, don’t loyar buruk to others.

• perodua don’t have design ? i’m sure you can tell the different between passo and myvi , passo sette and alza.
            daihatsu is perodua mother, it’s nothing special when perodua assemble car from daihatsu.

if you all open your eye wider, see vw group
            that group have an excellent example of cosmetic change car.
            most of the vw car are based on the single car. which is golf, other are just cosmetic change to glue your eye. check for detail and you would find out all about vw sharing the same old platform across its range of car

• single people’s definition of assembler and manufacturer
          assembler: company that assembly cars
          manufacturer: company that produce their own cars
          can see the different now?
          proton = manufacturer
          perodua = assembler
          get it?
          yes, perodua produce campro cylinder head, but is campro perodua’s engine?
          it’s common for any manufacturer or assembler to source parts from other manufacturer/assembler
          i tot bashers are getting smarter

• you sure proton is a manufacturer by its own ?
            persona chasis from who ?
            waja chasis from who ?
            they are from mitsu

how about gear box ?
            most proton gearbox are from mitsu as well

so proton also campur this and that into a car. nothing really different.
            proton design the interior of the car and so do perodua.
            proton design the exterior, perodua mod the exterior
            proton and perodua both do not do the following
            1) design gearbox
            2) design chasis

• wahedenator on May 05, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Excuse me, you are forgetting Satria Neo. It is truely Proton’s without any ciplak2. Yes they started by copycat mitsu (Lancer) but Proton is developed. Unlike Perodua, since beginning till now no originality.

• wtf is wrong with you
            persona is based on gen2 platform, developed by proton
            waja meanwhile is the first full platform developed in-house by proton
            seriously dude you need to study a lot about proton history before start posting comments like that
            perodua “design” chassis?
            LOL seriously that’s just stupid
            do you even know what chassis means?

• Nizam80 on May 09, 2011 at 11:53 am

Persona’s and Waja’s chassis are from Proton themselves. Only gearboxes are from Mitsu. To be honest, based on my personal experience, their 4-speed auto sucks. Tp yg lain semua tip top.

• no comment on May 05, 2011 at 6:46 pm

i dont want manufacturer… ppl just want good car with cheap price!

• So what`s the big deal with the bloody manufacturer or assembler status? Is it so important to you?

Naza is an assembler but they can offer us cheaper 308 turbo pug and KIA.
            Sime Auto Bavaria / Inokom is an assembler but they give us the bimmers
            DRB-Hicom (MTB) is a mere assembler and they put up more affordable 3 pointed stars on Malaysian shore and VW with their line up cars is coming soon.

If you perceive Perodua as an assembler..so what? i can live with that.

• learner on May 05, 2011 at 10:27 am

really? how much they spent for R&D?

• Nissan on May 04, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Why are you so sure that there is no change under the bonnet?

• puipui on May 04, 2011 at 6:34 pm

whoa serious ? then inside engine all still same ?

• malatona on May 04, 2011 at 6:39 pm

If u look carefully at the Author’s Picture right above, the guy smiled with a black spec is not Paul, neither is the taller white rabbit beside the guy.

But some say the white rabbit cld be the author.

A mystery remains.

• ya… its just a complete facelift… interior and exterior facelift…
      same chassis… just 1.5L engine on its way…

and its launch got delayed alrdy…

• well…
      if you are blind then i don’t blame you.
      don’t you see the yellow colour myvi spyshot ?
      don’t you see the interior of this new myvi ?
      even the dimension of the car are different where a facelift couldn’t done !
      if you aren’t blind…
      pls go and check the rear door of both new and old myvi… if you still saying it is the same, i recommended you to see a eye doctor first !

• VoidDance on May 04, 2011 at 4:59 pm

“Malaysia is the biggest market for Daihatsu outside of Japan, so this makes sense.”

This makes A LOT of sense. Can we take back Perodua’s national car status then? Hehehe.

• Who are you to revoke Perodua national car status? And on what basis you wanna do that?

• captain_gaban on May 04, 2011 at 5:03 pm

ZZZZzzzzZZZzzzZzZzzZZZZZzzzzZZZZzzz…….hoh????!!!!! another new Myvi??? ppfffttttt…..zzzzzzZZZZzzzzzzZZZzzzz……

• Kambing Gurun on May 04, 2011 at 5:10 pm

What triple disaster? Myvi itself is a disaster.

• hahaha no need to worry laa. P2 will send their cars to ahbeng’s bodykit centre, change here and there. Take out alza engine n put into myvi and wallahh here is the new myvi for perodua kipas susah mati!!!

• Haha and you are so funny. You are the one who always send your car to Ah Beng bodykit shop aren`t you?

• Ehehapatuh on May 04, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Want launch,just launch … no need to tease when and when…
    at d end oso gona launch… i challenge perodua launch on next year if they dare… LOL

• C99_4G93 on May 04, 2011 at 5:33 pm

are you serious its just new facelift…?
    there are sources that said the new myvi is in 1.5 and price around 60-65k….
    hmmmm….
    just wait and se..

• MoFaz on May 04, 2011 at 7:54 pm

60-65k? wahahhahaha… i can buy 2 Saga.. berbaloi baloiiii :)

• Yup good idea..go and buy yourself two Saga then. Nobody will prevent you from doing so.

• Kimahrileo on May 04, 2011 at 5:47 pm

this news itself tells us something.. PERODUA DOES NOT PRODUCES CARS ON ITS OWN>> they only assemble parts from Toyota n Daihatsu. I never take Perodua as our Nation’s pride..

• whatever

• ko malu saje... on May 04, 2011 at 6:12 pm

195K malaysians are gullible.

• seriusSAM on May 04, 2011 at 6:47 pm

unless that “new” Myvi can transform itself into decepticons robot .. only than it is worth to do a proper mega event launch.

• rao2100 on May 04, 2011 at 7:43 pm

Given the choices and the budget of most first time buyers this is one of the most value for money cars. Also considering the resale value.

On the design, I wish they would come up with new design, but the then again alot of cars have not changed their designs much too. E.g vios, jazz etc…

• Whatever on May 04, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Keep. Going delay. I am fed up with your excuses perodua.

• P2Sick on May 04, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Yeah… wait till all pictures leaked in the net

• keep delay ??
      are you serious …
      second gen myvi are expected tor release on april and its now official before september. just 4~5 month delay …

DO YOU KNOW HOW ABOUT EXORA TURBO ??
      THE ORIGINAL LAUNCH DATE WAS Q4 2010 ! CHANGE TO Q1 2011. AFTER THAT CHANGE TO Q2 2011 NOW ! NEWEST PIECE OF NEWS … PROTON OFFICIALLY DELAY EXORA TURBO TO Q4 2011 OR MAYBE EVEN WORST Q1 2012 ! THIS IS CALL KEEP DELAY !

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 9:46 am

Proton’s delay is due to their R&D processes which have not been perfected yet. Perodua’s delay is because Perodua is highly depending on Daihatsu / Toyota. Clear enough?

• perhaps you dont get the clear picture here
        why cant that dude accept perodua’s delay?
        cos they only rebadge/redesign other company’s complete product
        shouldnt take 2 years should it?
        for proton’s case, it’s understandable as almost everything is their own sketch

• Proton`s doing their own sketch…haha. Yo dude, Proton is no better than Perodua itself.

If what`s Proton doing you call doing their own sketch then same can be said to Perodua.

• Prismo on May 05, 2011 at 3:54 pm

YOU ARE SUCH A BLIND PERODUA SUPPORTER. A DIE HARD FAN ONE. KIPAS SUSAH MATI…

• masak satay on May 04, 2011 at 9:22 pm

i not a myvi user,n i dont why they like it….nethertheless,its a top sale car in malaysia,even when ppl in here bashing around,they end up buying it…..i bet among the ppl who bash here,there’s one who actually own a old myvi but get piss off by the new one…ironic.isk isk……

• P2Sick on May 04, 2011 at 10:02 pm

P2 is sick… What you wanna launch? All those pic already in the net…
    I bet there’s no surprise if they still wait longer…
    Maybe aminar not surf net ah?

• What..by leaking the bloody photos in the net you call new model launching ? You..yourself is sick. You think how many percent of Malaysian`s population got the luxury of surfing the net like you? And tell me is there any car manufacturer in the world tell the public that they have launched the new model by snapshot or spy photos leaking in the net?

Aminar is talking about official launching where it`s going to be officiated by the premier or his deputy (typical for Malaysia case) with a wide coverage from Mass Stream Media.

So just wait and see…don`t be so sickening.

• P2 Sick on May 07, 2011 at 4:45 pm

You are much more sick than me…
        Why you have to defend P2?
        The case here is about launching…
        No point you wanna call all press for the so called launching as the photo already in the net…
        If u think most malaysian dont have luxury to surf the net then do you think they wanna spend money to buy paper just to see the launch news?

• sure my friend want na try its saga with this produa myvi n he will laugh loudly…. ~lalallaaaaa

• Myvi and most of Perodua cars are extremely lousy, dangerous and not even worth a single cents! Waste of time and money :(

• tats p1 talking… hahaha if not worth a single cents, how come p2 can become national market leader for 5 years in a row? Both have pro contra la bro.. P1 with sedan, p2 with compact segment.. Most of my fen bought small car 1st (viva, myvi n saga) then after 3,4 years, they get married, then they will consider bigger car such sedan or mpv.. Most will choose Honda, Toyota and now they have another choice hyundai and french lion….

• Prismo on May 05, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Oh.. does it mean P2 was absolutely better than T, H, Merc and BMW? Become a market leader doesn’t mean P2 car was superior… try to understand what he trying to say…

• Yes definitely. P2 car is a better choice for a country where most of the population can afford a monthly nett salary below RM 2K. He doesn`t mention P2 car is superior whatsoever..he said P2 is a market leader where it implies the best choice that can suit perfectly with public demand. You yourself seems don`t really understand what he is trying to point out.

• So can you tell me what car is not lousy, not dengerous and worth every single cents? And kindly tell me what car is not wasting your time and monies. Maybe by telling that, it would be more constructive comment you can give.

• So how much can you pay me for telling you this constructive comment?

• kecohlebih on May 04, 2011 at 11:42 pm

same old junk song just new twist…

• All P2 cars are just marvellous, Those people who keep on bash it just don,t know what to write, where in fact they are P1 owners who just can accept P2 cars are people choice. And again all p2 owners are actually a very smart people.

• Julian-Lee on May 05, 2011 at 8:03 am

I buy BMW better

• So what..you wanna tell people that your are rich enough?..You know dude..the Bimmers great owners don`t really tell people that they wanna buy one..whatmore in the posting where people are discussing about a compact car segment selling price at RM 50k..that would downgrade their wisdom.

• kozekx on May 05, 2011 at 9:09 am

I like the monthly registration trend 2010 vs 2011 chart.

Looks like P2 has a lot of catching up to do to match 2010’s sales of 188,600 as every month so far this year is below last year’s monthly sales. Yet, they are still focusing on 195k sales.

Good luck to them. Maybe there’s gonna be a super special deal by P2 in the 2nd half of this year?

• MouMouRen on May 05, 2011 at 9:11 am

Just stop complain our local car lah. Wht u see n wht u get. If u are so rich, go buy Toyota or Honda or BMW or Ferrari. Don said this car ugly or wht. Just like u chose a wife, local wife ugly cos only have dual air bag and N/A Engine. Then import wife pretty cos got dual and side air bag and big turbo Engine. So, go kahwin import wife lah.
    Just voice out my cos everything are expensive …… hahahah
    Sure my comment will Thumps Down….

• bebek on May 05, 2011 at 2:10 pm

toyota vios also local car maa

• MouMouRen on May 05, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Toyota Vios Local car??? But brand TOYOTA from Japan ler..

• johndoe on May 06, 2011 at 12:00 pm

so wat the brand is Toyota…..only engine from Japan…Dugond IS LOCAL car no matter the brand is wat…most parts from Thailand while the rest build in Shah Alam…then con people in believeing the high price due to tax…duh…

• Toyota Vios is a locally assembled Japanese brand car. Hope you get clear on that.

• Unforgiven on May 05, 2011 at 9:52 am

Is Proton better than Toyota/Perodua?

• bebek on May 05, 2011 at 2:58 pm

ekceli produa n toyota are far better from p1…..in term of cheating rakyat..

• Oh yeah and Proton is nothing better though..they are the champion in term of sucking the rakyat.

• learner on May 05, 2011 at 10:36 am

someone tough this new myvi with 1.5l engine will be priced around rm60k, if this is the case, obviously current myvi with 1.3l engine will still selling at current price. in other words myvi with 1.3l engine will also be ‘new’ right? other wise people will said the myvi 1.5l ‘newness’ will be just a variant aka facelift with new engine thus, not really ‘new’.

• EncikKariPintar on May 07, 2011 at 12:23 am

Suddenly, w/out enuff knowledge, Malaysian seems to consider themselves ‘engineers’ by commenting such lowly comments.

Please, for God’s sake, study the things you commented.