Hyundai Veloster with heavy disguise spied in Glenmarie

By the looks of it, the Hyundai Veloster is in town – a car looking suspiciously like it, wearing front and rear anti-spy cladding, was spotted over the weekend in Glenmarie by reader Akmal, who has graciously sent us the photos he snapped of it.

There are giveaways – that distinctive door line that rises sharply to the C-pillar, the striking wheels the car wears and the equally distinctive exhaust configuration.

It’s already confirmed that the RHD variant is bound for Australia, expected to arrive in the market in late 2011, so it’s looking quite likely that Hyundai-Sime Darby will be bringing this one in, if the mule is any indication.

More photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2232]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• roxas on May 11, 2011 at 9:16 pm

i saw this thing at north south highway at nite, its blue color without masking = =

• mini cooper freak on May 12, 2011 at 9:11 am

No no more Korean car, it is an eyesore on the road.

• bringing in this car?..i think SD should consider bringing in the new elantra and the new sonata hybrid first rather than this car..

• say no to Hyundai Sime. They are not doing a good job, wasted those nice hyundai cars. Sime is always a let down

• ericmaxman on May 11, 2011 at 9:25 pm

i work in glenmarie and didn’t see this >:(

• nolan on May 11, 2011 at 9:29 pm

the car look fabulous…..very futuristic and sexy lines….

• deftones on May 11, 2011 at 9:35 pm

hyundai has came up rapidly..
    their new designs is very refreshing..ex: camy n accord looks is nowhere near compare to the sonata..the design is european alike and it doesnt look fake at all..

hope they’ll bring in the genesis coupe eventhough i maybe cant afford..but its just to spice up the market

• Maserati on May 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Please dont bring in anymore Korean junk.Ur Sonata cant even sell well,i20 is nowhere to be seen,even ur cheap i10 is not selling welll.

Pls pls,nobody is going to by this piece of crap no matter how good it is.cuz its KOREAN!

• Doink on May 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Sonata not selling well? Which planet are you on? Sonata sold more units than Camry and Accord for couple of months now.

• totally watched too many episodes of top gear….

• maserati is driving an old junk 1st gen dugong vios. everyday he gets smoked by cheaper korean cars like 1.6 kia forte. pity him.

• mini cooper freak on May 12, 2011 at 9:06 am

Maserati, what you say is fact but most of the time facts hurt. Got to agree with you, Korean car is junk, and don’t think their can sell well in Malaysia.

• Korean car are away more advance now than pricey awkward T n H car… open ur eye le mini cooper… oops mini so small..cannot see clearly..haha

• mid-income earner on May 12, 2011 at 1:49 pm

“Sonata can’t even sell well” is not a fact. Go look at the stat..

• I got a feeling you and “maserati” is the same person. go far far and play.

• naim jonn on May 13, 2011 at 10:08 am

kasihan!!!! u really dont know ur words brah.. eventho SD is NOT doing a good job. the waiting list for Sonata & tucson is unbelieveable.. u should go for a TD.. 300k KM or 5 years warranty is something othe manuf can only dream. u also should listen to Honda new cars owners, esp the FD2 civics.. the r so many problems…

• jalan54 on May 14, 2011 at 2:41 am

You want fact? Just got news that Hyundai Sonata has the highest booking in Malaysia for the first quarter compare to T & H. So this is the fact.

I know, its hurt, but this is still a fact… lol

• AP shit on May 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Why bring this car in? with AP it will be too expensive, best to stay with buatan malaysia like that the govt want us to. :(

• AP? what AP involve in this? i think if they bring in it will be official not grey import bro

• Apparently the RHD version will have the 2 doors shifted over to the left so that car might be the LHD model.

• Where is the all new Elantra ? Where is the all new Accent . Please bring in these 2 models first before approaching into coupe or sports

• samyyd on May 12, 2011 at 9:45 am

SD is too coward to compete in that segment with others like honda, toyota, kia, mazda and peugeot even ford. now cherry also come, SD pee in their pants already. nobody buy their i10 and i30… so now they focus on higher end market start from new sonata.

• Wait a minute,

what is the point of bringing this Veloster in to Malaysia? The Mini Clubman isn’t that great in sales, won’t the Veloster follow the same path of doom?

• so that ppl have more choice, genius!

• you don’t have a smarter and more dignified approach at answering justified musings?

• Crazee on May 13, 2011 at 7:47 am

Mini Clubman was made for more or less niche market. It’s not meant to be a quantity seller. The main focus is still MINI Cooper, Cooper S, MINI One, MINI JCW to be the money puller. But then again isn’t it a two different market altogether between MINI and Veloster?.

Btw i guess Veloster also will have a niche market, so call bring in by order or they stock it at a very minimal unit. Heard rumors saying the new Avante will be coming 3rd quarter this year. Hopefully it’s true, can’t wait to test drive them.

• do u have a better question? u want some mass production car? or do you want saga FL Special edition?? that is not niche right? your cup of tea?? bloody genius.

more choice, ppl ask why niche car.

less choice, ppl itchy wanna change car but only city and vios in view….u sure is a genius

• zero respect to these kind of dungus, thinking of insulting people, thinking you are so smart. keep saying “bloody genius”, one day you are gonna get bitten.

• jalan54 on May 14, 2011 at 2:50 am

I have different view in this car. I’m not so sure of Mini club man as I never really have a look at it before.

But look at the design of this car, it is very special and this is the first time I see car with such design. Which they actually call it a coupe, but it has 1 more door on the passenger side which makes the car more practical.

So, for those people who has small family and actually like coupe, they will consider of getting one. Last time I used to heard people said that, I like coupe, but I can’t buy it because it has only 2 doors and my wife wouldn’t agree on buying one because it is just not practical.

My opinion is that it has its market, but then, this is just a guess, a lot of other issues that determine the acceptance of the crowd, one big issue is how they price the car, whether it is reasonable. This also has to depends on the distributor which is Sime Darby.

• Mini Clubman is expensive!…if this sold below RM100K, tht be a seller

• David on May 12, 2011 at 5:54 pm

DK, this car is actually a niche product in Malaysia, and is an indirect competitor to the Scirocco and CR-Z. However, with a sizeable price advantage, as well as the design, technology and practicality, it can sell.

• Weird looking car !

Veloster will compete directly with Forte Koup.

Strange move, killing own sister brand.

• it leads to healthy competition,when there is competition car makers will strive to produce better cars,indirectly resulting in better design,tech and safety as they try to out do each other.thats how we improve.ish

• vw_fan on May 11, 2011 at 10:26 pm

the more choices the better for consumers.

at least now our roads are going to be more colourful and exciting.

• reasda on May 11, 2011 at 10:49 pm

the 3rd door is at the right, so they are using the LHD here? if it’s RHD, the door is just redundant? or maybe they are just testing for hot weather?

• halim on May 11, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Its great, but we need more hybrid variant in our market, by the way korean cars is great, plz drive the latest one b4 giving out -ve comments k

• haha, its funny to see those Hyundai basher or butthurt T & H owners’ comments here. The most stupid comment is DONT BUY HYUNDAI, NO MATTER HOW GOOD IT IS, ITS STILL KOREAN, LOL? WTF? Also Hyundai Veloster compete with Kia Forte Koup? You sure?

• bot a butthurt TnH on May 12, 2011 at 9:53 am

butthurt TnH….. i like…..

those butthurts, really tasteless and got no souls….. that is y they drive TnH

• car lover on May 11, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Hyundai cars looks very nice….but the problem is, in malaysia 2nd hand value for hyundai, kia are not as godd as toyota and honda….why huh!!!
    Cannot fix this problem?

• cos there are lots of ignorant and narrow minded ppl like maserati around, the truth is hyundais cost less than toyota to maintain these days and are just as reliable.

only a matter of time before ppl realise it.

• mini cooper freak on May 12, 2011 at 9:23 am

Idioat, everybody is entitle to their opinion, why you labelled who ever have different opinion from you is narrow minded.

• jalan54 on May 12, 2011 at 12:34 pm

This issue can be fixed, and I believe naza kia is doing it now, as for sime darby hyundai, I still don’t any of their move to move towards the second hand value thing, maybe they feel that this is not important.

• mazda fan on May 12, 2011 at 4:09 pm

the problem is resale value for a car in malaysia is dictated by people’s perception.alot of our buyers still hold to the principle that anything other than TnH is not reliable,high maintenace cost and so on.this leads to lack of demand,which in turn pushes down the price.our customers buy cars based on perception of a brand,not for the car itself.u can see many good cars for a very affordable price these days,eg:KIA forte,hyundai sonata and tucson,even chevrolet cruze but people are still stuck with old thinking.haiz.when will our market change,i oso dunno.if the market grows,some companies might even consider bringing in cars like Opel or Seat,or even promote overlooked cars like Citroen,Renault,Chevy and so on

• if this wearing a H/T badge u guys will said BAGUS, LAWAK, MUST BUY….. But when look at Korean badges no matter how good the design n spec are you guys will criticize like brainless little monster…pening with typical m’sia mentally…

• akupunya on May 11, 2011 at 11:15 pm

ini baru nama spyshot.
    spyshot persona -R buang masa ja…
    hyundai yang hebat..

• farghmee on May 12, 2011 at 10:31 am

spyshot?
      sheeshh….kalu kete dh kuar, bukan spyshot lg dh.
      rajin2 kn jari google “hyundai veloster”. period.

• Korean made and Sime Derby…PERFECT…. make this car become low quality. Veloster resemble Ford Fiesta front facelift I suggest better take Ford Fiesta Sport than this Veloster some more Conti made mar….

• Both Ford and Hyundai is under Sime Darby. Better than Naza anytime. Sime Darby is quite focusing on the sale of Ford Fiesta. But I believe, the perception of Malaysia towards Europe or Korean brand need some time to build up back.

• in the malaysian context, ford fiesta is a joke. way too expensive and way too small, neither here or there. no paddle shifter, 1 airbag, transformers dash, poor resale value, crap after sales service.

at that price range, a city, vios swift will be a better buy. as for the handling & 6 speed, nothing to shout about.

• If u says Fiesta is expensive….Jazz at more than RM100K! so how?…if in UK, both Fiesta and Jazz compete wt each other and price more or less….go figure

• bla bla on May 12, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Agree. in uk fiesta also competes with polo and course VW has a better brand perception. but its still cheaper than jazz and polo here . in fact its cheaper than city.

• Aaron on May 11, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Sime Darby should really take a good look at their current line up and stop selling outdated model. They should bring in the ix20 to compete with Jazz/Yaris and the new Elantra to compete with City/Vios. The Hyundai brand is coming up pretty strongly all over the world and it is sad, Malaysians dont get to enjoy it.

• 4g63t dsm on May 12, 2011 at 8:29 am

The Elantra/Avante is a direct match to the Civic/Corolla.

I think you meant the Accent/Verna if you are comparing it to the B/C segment Vios/City.

Whatever it is, the Koreans have been racking better crash safety ratings as compared to the japanese…. the aAccent/Verna already gets 5 star crash ratings.

If anything, the budget offerings from Hyundai is better than the Japanese’ Asian offerings.

The Velostar would be interesting though. I wonder why they are testing a LHD model.

• nimusy89 on May 11, 2011 at 11:34 pm

hope the next satria is better than this..

• aminlife on May 12, 2011 at 12:35 am

waa…see…Hyundai actually sell korean design here.

• jalan54 on May 12, 2011 at 1:05 am

I saw the tucson diesel a year back, but they didn’t launch this diesel version of tucson. I also saw they have the genesis coupe in Glenmarie a year ago, but not being launched also, so I doubt this veloster will be launched here in malaysia.

• Tucson diesel is in short supply world wide….heard in Australia, waiting period for the Tucson diesel is more than 6 months, ….the tucson 2.0 R-series diesel is the gem of the range….390nm of torque!!…

• jalan54 on May 12, 2011 at 12:39 pm

I’ve been hoping that they launch the R-series diesel for tucson, but they only launch the R-series diesel for santa fe…

• SeriuosSAM on May 12, 2011 at 1:14 am

I hope “NEW” myvi will use this type of bungkus depan belakang for their next spyshot tour

LoL

• Joanneshu on May 12, 2011 at 1:25 am

test drive veloster while in busan, the interior is amazingly plush, can feel the quality is really good as continental cars.

funny part is the rear door only available at the right side (for LHD tested).

eventhou the roof looks quite low but a 7 foot tall fella like me can still fit nicely inside it with no visibility blockage like satria neo.

• Speed Racer on May 12, 2011 at 2:18 am

looks nice. but i will reserve more judgement till we know how it drives.

• Proton, please work out on new muscle for Satria, make sure it less than 60k….hope to see a healthy competition

• maserati on May 12, 2011 at 5:53 am

Yes sonata is not selling well. Pls lah ” doink” , i see more of the new bmw 5 series than the sonata. So yea , for a car thats suppose to sell so much more, its only touching the surface.

Hyundai cars hv failed miserably here, those who buy the, well goodluck to you. Dont belief me, buy one then you will talk less.

• I do not own a Maserati on May 12, 2011 at 11:34 am

Mr Maserati who I presumed drives a Maserati, have you ever gone out of your house? There are so many Sonata out there on the road. If not, take a bold step out, open your eyes and see that there is a whole wide world out there. If you still think Korean cars are bad, then you probably need to grow a brain.

• this just shows that ur the type of customer that plays safe,don’t dare to try something differrent.come on la.we only live once,why not buy something that u want to drive,instead of buying for the sake of resale value,image or branding even though its a crappy car actually

• jalan54 on May 12, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Depends on what do you mean by not selling well. If you compare to the 5 series, maybe 5 series are selling better, but if you compare with their previous generation of sonata, it is selling damn well and I can see that it is increasing on the road nowadays.

I don’t know why you hate Hyundai so much, maybe it is your previous bad experience or maybe you are just someone who doesn’t open your mind to new things or maybe you are just another T & H sales rep, I’m not sure which one you are.

Anyway, if you are just a unsatisfied customer of Hyundai, what I can tell you is that it is not Hyundai that is not good, it is just the distributor here sucks. Just like me, I own a naza citra before, and I have a lot of bad experience with that car and I even told myself not to buy any vehicle from naza anymore, but then now I have different perspective to naza, they are improving not only on their sales rep quality, but also on their services.

You have to understand, things will change after years, maybe it will be better, or maybe it will be worst, it is all depends of the management of that company. What I see now, T is becoming worst, maybe they are selling too well until they forgot what is supporting them for all these years, it is time for them to fall so that they learn what is important to them.

• what do you mean by Hyundai fail miserably here ? They are all over the road. Own one , and still driving it for seven years now. Sales for the new Sonata is almost on par with Accord now.

• Suren69 on May 12, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Sonata is selling pretty well & i must say Korean brands are producing good stuff these recent years.

I assume you are one of those Japanese car hardcores. To be honest, I am too. But you can deny the fact Koreans are getting better and better. You must be thankful to them because they are the only reason Japanese manufacturers like Honda & Toyota feel its necessary for them to add more features to their vehicles. Before this u only get super basic T & Hs.

• Stop typing useless comments, everyone knows that you are a Toyota salesman and you drive junk Vios.

• droll on May 12, 2011 at 6:38 am

who cares about 2nd hand value, weird looks, etc. as far as i am concerned, this just means MORE choice for consumers, which is a good thing for us. quit complaining and just enjoy an additional model. i’m actually happy the m’sian market is slowly maturing as we get more choice (sg has been like that for years and it’s sad to see us with the bigger market having limited choice – yeah yeah i know about the purchasing power etc argument).

well done sime darby!

• ericmaxman on May 12, 2011 at 7:34 am

dawn of interesting cars coming in. first was the koup, then this. bring on the CR-Z pls !!

• As long as the car has a great quality, low maintenance cost and have good resale value, No matter what ppl say, I’II buy one. As simple as that.

• gtmaniac on May 12, 2011 at 8:33 am

If you squint ur eyes, the side profile looks like a Lancia Stratos.. i meant the glass area.

• sahlan on May 12, 2011 at 10:55 am

hyundai have an excellent design rebranding the i-flow concept, but Malaysian people not really recognize them…
    by the way Sime Darby not doing well to manage it….

• ong chin aun on May 12, 2011 at 11:11 am

Well, perodua should produce 1.5 L or 1,6L Passenger car. and the price below rm 6500.

• Georgie on May 12, 2011 at 11:47 am

Ahh.. the car market right now is so interesting! Either its korean, japanese or continental, if I like it I just by it. I’m eying the new Pug as a weekend car, but then again this good looking hatchback is arriving to town. If the price is right, might as well buy one for the kids.

• Suren69 on May 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Very true. We are no longer restricted to very few models/marques like last time. Used to Proton/Perodua or Toyota/Honda or Mercedes/BMW. Something like that..

• RamuNik on May 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Personally I hate those bashers comment and so called “salesman kind” comment. Mentang2 paultan does not charging us any single cent we just put anything we want here. Freedom of speech mean that we can say anything. But since we are looking forward for mature automotive market, why can we as commenter- with or without purchasing power be more matured here?

I follow the top gear series- UK, US & even australia & also fifth gear. Some of them suka hati kutuk kaw kaw other brand. But eventhough they slam the maker, the reasonably price car is still a korean- Chevrolet Optra- Read as Daewoo (RIP) & now Kia Cee’d.

Chill up guys!

• Car Driver on May 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Yes.. Bring in more choices of cars. Hybrids, turbo petrol, turbo diesels, cheap cars, Sports and Compacts, electrics,japanaese,chinese,europeans, americans,koreans,indians. Make sure affordables to the masses.. Rakyat the consumer rules..

• no need to gado2 la…ppl want to buy korean,go on..dont listen to bashers,as they r too concern about the T n H badge..no matter how bad the car is…n this kind of ppl dont care paying more for cheap things…drive jazz ’05 and getz ’05..feel it,is it worth almost twice the price of is it overpriced?maintanance?surely getz cheaper…been driving it for 6years now,no problem except for wear n tear parts which is normal…pity when saw T n H drivers so pround by just owning a dugong and city ,so most of young malay guys like me..sacrifce for personal loan just to get an old ’94-’97 civic ek-eg for rm30k++,rm40k++ and already felt like they own a mercedes~~well…typical malaysia…never open eyes,accept new ideas…alwyas dulu,kini n selamanya~~

• maserati on May 12, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Hie ” jalan54″ , why keep comparing sales of new sonata with old sonata? Of course its better than the old one lah.why coccoon urself and bluff urself saying sonata sales is good whereas in reality,it hardly affect accord or camry sales?

Stop comparing with old sonata lah, compare with other more established brands then only can you improve.

Obtw, i know korean cars have improved but dont forget , by the time koreans hv reached jap level, the japs hv already reached the german levels.

So stop protecting ur lousy korean makes . I hv test driven so many korean cars but none hv impressed me at all.

So i am asking simedarby to stop wasting resources bringing in more korean junk and worst still try to sell it at almost jap kinda pricing..

• jalan54 on May 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

How would you know that by the time korean car reaches jap level and jap already reach german level?

Do you know that the sales of Hyundai is now the number 4 auto car maker around the world? I bet you don’t, or else you wouldn’t say something like “by the time korean reach jap level and jap already reach german level”. You are such an ignorant.

For what you don’t know, korean’s cars level is already overtaken japanese cars, like it or not, this is a fact.

Please read this if you don’t believe me…
      http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-trucks/daily-news/090819-Hyundai-Passes-Ford-As-World-s-Fourth-Largest-Automaker/

• AhBeng on May 13, 2011 at 3:09 pm

do you know they have this model called Equus? i don’t think they would only want to reach your so called jap level or german level though.. they just want to shout out “this is korean, bring it on you bitch.”

• maserati on May 12, 2011 at 1:51 pm

I would take a peugeot 308 turbo over a lousy kia forte koup, or a sonata, or this veloster crap.

• yeah,u would..as u already know how bad korean car by just looking at it..as our brand keep on signalling “honda!honda!…toyota!toyota!”hehee…world gonna b bored if its filled up wit ppl like u…n surely those japs laughing out loud thinkng how stupid msia bought they cheap car for high pricetag..n felt like owning a premium car while its just an entry level car~~hahahaa~~owh..dont 4get expansive parts too..i.e cheap eneos n pennzoil oil 4 high price…n wait,u keep on updated with korean car r u?u commnt quite a lot..heheeee

• turbo on May 12, 2011 at 3:59 pm

get ur maserati first lah,then can talk about other cars

• mini cooper freak on May 12, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Korean girl is nice, but Korean car is damn lousy.

• hahaha, i also think japanese gals damn nice, but japanese cars not nice enough la

• oopss…typo..”as your brain keep signalling “honda!honda!…toyota!toyota!”

• hondacabuk on May 12, 2011 at 4:14 pm

me currently used H 2003, wanna change to K…how the spare part?easy to get or not?

• David on May 12, 2011 at 5:52 pm

It’s quite okay to be honest, as long as you use original spare parts. Don’t bother those who keep on complaining that Koreans are hard to maintain and expensive, ’cause i own 2 Hyundais and the service is constantly not more than RM300 for every 10,000 km service. Quite reasonable, considering the fact that i get fully synthetic Shell oil, and parts direct from Korea, rather than locally made spare parts.

Give it a shot dude. It doesn’t hurt trying, and you’ll be happy with your ride, despite the flaws. Cheers.

• Huh side looks like VW Scirocco and rear looks like Renault Megane!sorry Hyundai coz i choose VW over u.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 12, 2011 at 8:39 pm

Korean car is for people that can not afford T/H and yet not willing to go for national car.

• squawk on May 12, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Just buy Jazz lah. Got facelift ok. Don’t play play. :-D

• Paul or Danny or any admin of this blog, can you all guys lend me a tiny help? Please stop or ban that Maserati guy from posting any comments as he really ruin this community. Thanks!

• Retthgh on May 13, 2011 at 9:27 am

Why?? because he has a different view from you? are you communist? I always believe Paul Tan’s blog is democratic and promote freedom to speak.

• dun worry, toyota salesmen are like that. always talking bad about other makes. let him say whatever rubbish he like. otherwise how he can sell his 90k s-spec but still damn kosong 1.5 dugong vios when kia forte 2.0 is the same price?

• yes, i agree we practice democratic and free speaking, but of course we prefer people speak up with their mind not their @ss …

• agreed. As we are labeled as peasants let’s ignore Maserati aka rich spoiled brat. I know some people just participate forums to “cari gaduh”. As they say “empty vessels make the most noise”

• maserati on May 13, 2011 at 11:59 am

You know something, i dont really care what you guys think of me, cuz at the end of the day , you are still miserly peasants working for people while i am enjoying the pleasures of life.

• we all know you enjoy your big fat 10 month bonus every year from toyota as a salesman. no need to brag here…

• jalan54 on May 13, 2011 at 3:08 pm

You know what, I really don’t like to bash people personally, but you are really such an idiot. You can have your own opinion and other people cannot? What the hell? Are you the boss here?

You can support whatever you want, but please, people are discussing and having a very nice conversation here about the korean car, if you don’t like it, just leave, why the hell you care and keep commenting rubbish around? You can go to the topic regarding toyota, honday, or whatever you like and give any comment there you like, why the hell are you here? Just to make people believe that you are right and they are wrong? What the hell is the point? Because you are too free and have nothing better to do? What is wrong with you man?

You mentioned you tested all korean cars, so what??? I’ve tested more than you know, I’ve even tested bmw, merc, audi and etc. Honda, toyota and all korean cars are nothing compare to those, but why compare with premium cars? Korean cars are not in that level yet. Some more, you said you’ve tested all korean cars, base on your PERSONAL OPINION, they are not good and sucks, but not others.

So, you want win, we can all just let you win… HEY ALL, GIVE A ROUND OF APPLAUSE OF OUR WINNER HERE!!! YEAH… HURRAY…

Yes you win, so what you gonna do now???

• khylie on May 16, 2011 at 2:52 pm

driving a vios is a pleasure of life??

• WTH ..i rather hyundai bring something like sonata hybrid or i40 instead of this..