Honda Malaysia’s production to fully recover by August

Honda Malaysia announced today that production at its Alor Gajah plant will resume full output of two shifts by 1 August. Not only that, the Melaka plant will also try to boost production by operating additional hours on weekdays and Saturdays to catch up with the shortage of supply from April through July.

“Honda associates in Japan have worked tirelessly with our suppliers since the disaster in March to recover the supply of component parts from Japan. Hence, we are pleased to announce that we are able to resume full production much earlier than previously expected,” said Honda Malaysia MD and CEO Yoichiro Ueno.

Ueno also added that HM will resume taking new bookings of the Insight Hybrid from today (1 June), after suspending order taking on 7 April. The RM99,800 CBU from Japan Insight has been a hit since Honda launched it at KLIMS 2010 – Honda sold 1,830 units of it in the first quarter of 2011.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Way to go Honda swift recovery.
    Insight sales has been over whelming, Good Job.
    It Hybrid era.
    Yet those kimchi muncher is still fiddling with old Mitsu GDI tech.

• Way to go Honda swift recovery.
    Insight sales has been over whelming, Good Job.
    It’s Hybrid era.
    Yet those kimchi muncher is still fiddling with old Mitsu GDI tech.

• johndoe on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:37 pm

this is wat happens with 3rd world malaysians like Jolo still reading Utusan in a kampung hut…not realizing the actual era at all…..Koreans have come out with class leading GDI Turbo engines with superb mileage and superb power n torque even better than those lousy Japs Hybrids……All Japs have is the fuel guzzling decade old IVtecs n low tech hybrids for uncles cauz they couldn come out with a efficient Petrol engine….

• mizzuddin on Jun 06, 2011 at 2:33 pm

http://autos.yahoo.com/news/10-most-disappointing-cars-of-2011.html

• xtremeboyz on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:03 pm

when r they going to release the jdm version of 2012 civic???

• sbanboy on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Hopefully my booking is early enough to buy the Insight at the old price of RM98k instead of the new increased price… keeping my fingers crossed.

• city_conscious on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:41 pm

oh yeah, i didn’t even notice that there has been a slight price increase.

• Pilof on Jun 01, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Now I’m cancel my Forte booked and go for this one Honda Insight.

• Bob Tahar on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Will it give negative effect if we change the sport rims to bigger one.

• gofigure on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Booked city high spec in April was told to wait, till now still no news. Now decided to save and instead will cancel my booking and instead book new Myvi.

• city_conscious on Jun 02, 2011 at 12:48 pm

i booked my city in april also, and my SA told me i’ll get it this month…when exactly i still don’t know

• Whatever on Jun 01, 2011 at 5:34 pm

I booked my Honda city. And they said car should be arrive by august

• Is that a typo on the price? Isnt it RM98,000?

• Is that a typo? Isn’t the price for Insight is RM98,000?

• takeshi99 on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:37 pm

now price RM99800!!!!

• Correct…Just check Honda website…

• sbanboy on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:21 pm

No typo … I called my SA and he said he received a memo on 1st of June that price increased to RM99800, Hopefully I can still get the old price.

• Sigh. I booked mine 2 weeks back. Wonder if still can get back the old price :(

• Carl Wong on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:52 pm

GOOD.

• Honda Fan on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:10 am

I am driving the Civic and contemplating buying Insight or Fiesta for my son..due to price increase, will buy Fiesta ler…

• likehondanotsomuch on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:47 am

will this car be the hybrid benchmark,,,since its 30 k cheaper than prius and reaching 3000 unit by yr end,,,dont u think

• I had booked my Accord (facelift) on March 15th, and after some miscommunication on delivery dates, first they told me April mid then April 28th and then May 29th, I finally decided to cancel my booking. I drive a superb slightly used white Accord which I got from a friend. I am extremely happy on my decision to save a lot of money. Honda Malaysia is still suffering with their delivery dates and nobody is sure when are they going to recover fully. Civic had to be launched in August ‘2011 but I heard that it’s going to be launched now next year (date unknown).